CTNF 18/630,902 CTNF 86200 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 7 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the at least one condition is based at least one of a pattern defining…” should be changed to “wherein the at least one condition is based at least on one of a pattern defining…” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 Claims 11 and 24 recites the limitation "the scheduling information”. Its relationship to “enhanced scheduling information” is unclear. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, 7-15, and 20-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 2019/0207662) and Li (US 2022/0150912) . Regarding claims 1, 14, 27, and 28, Zhou teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 30, 36-38, wireless device), comprising: at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the UE to (Fig. 39): receive first signaling configuring the UE with physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources for periodically transmitting channel state information (CSI) reports (Fig. 30, 34, 36-38, abstract, par. [4, 421-424, 456-475, 481], the configuration may be transmitted as a MAC CE via a physical downlink channel (e.g., PUCCH), from the base station to the wireless device, the configuration indicates the wireless device may skip SP CSI reporting), wherein the first signaling indicates at least one condition for CSI report skipping (Fig. 30, 34, 36-38, abstract, par. [4, 421-424, 456-475, 481], after configuration the wireless device may skip SP CSI reporting, e.g. if the value of measured CSI parameters does not meet a threshold value); and transmit enhanced scheduling information on the PUCCH resources (par. [263], f the PUCCH resources are configured in the default UL BWP, a wireless device may retune to the default UL BWP for transmitting an SR). allocate uplink resources to the UE based on enhanced scheduling information (par. [263, 301], in response to SR, BS may allocate resourced). Although Zhou’s teaching is mainly directed to SP CSI reporting, Zhou states that “While information reporting may be described with respect to channel state information (CSI), semi-persistent (SP) CSI, and some particular examples, it is to be understood that the description can apply to any wireless communications and any information reporting.” Zhou at par. [4]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to apply Zhou’s teaching related to SP CSI reporting to the CSI (regular/periodic reporting) information reporting mechanism. In addition, although Zhou teaches transmitting enhanced scheduling request (SR) on the PUCCH resources (Zhou at par. [263]), Zhou is silent as to the SR being transmitted if the at least one condition is met. Li teaches transmitting SR on the PUCCH resources if the at least one condition is met (Abstract, par. [5], if the state of at least one SR is positive, skip transmitting the CSI, and transmitting an SR instead). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to implement transmitting of the SR when the CSI is skipped, as taught by Li, into the information reporting system of Zhou, in order to schedule uplink transmission for a buffer status report or actual data transmission. Regarding claims 2 and 15, Zhou teaches wherein the first signaling comprises at least one of a downlink control information (DCI), a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (Fig. 30, 34, 36-38, abstract, par. [4, 421-424, 456-475, 481], the configuration may be transmitted as a MAC CE) or radio resource control (RRC) signaling. Regarding claims 7 and 20, Zhou teaches wherein the at least one condition is based at least one of a pattern defining when CSI report transmission is to be skipped (Fig. 30, 34, 36-38, abstract, par. [4, 421-424, 456-475, 481], the pattern is if the value of measured CSI parameters does not meet a threshold value), a percentage defining when CSI report transmission is to be skipped, a threshold of change in CSI over a defined duration (Fig. 30, 34, 36-38, abstract, par. [4, 421-424, 456-475, 481], if the value of measured CSI parameters does not meet a threshold value, measurement are taken during a specific time period), or a duration. Regarding claims 8, 21, and 23, Zhou teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the UE to receive second signaling updating the at least one condition (Fig. 30, 34, 36-38, abstract, par. [4, 421-424, 456-475, 481], the base station may transmit, to the wireless device, one or more messages comprising one or more of: configuration parameters (e.g., one or more parameters for one or more SP CSI configuration(s)) (e.g., as in step 3504A), one or more indications of an activation and/or a deactivation of one or more SP CSI configurations (e.g., as in step 3504B), and/or a skip indicator (that may indicate whether the wireless device may skip an SP CSI report)). Regarding claims 9 and 22, Zhou teaches wherein the second signaling comprises a downlink control information (DCI) or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (Fig. 30, 34, 36-38, abstract, par. [4, 421-424, 456-475, 481], may be transmitted as part of an RRC message, a DCI, and/or as a MAC-CE message). Regarding claim 10, Zhou teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the UE to skip transmitting CSI reports on the PUCCH resources when the at least one condition is not met (Fig. 30, 34, 36-38, abstract, par. [4, 421-424, 456-475, 481], wireless device skips SP CIS based on the skipping indicator and not the conditions of the measured CSI parameters). Regarding claims 11 and 24, Zhou teaches wherein the scheduling information is transmitted via an enhanced scheduling request (SR) (par. [263, 301, 316], scheduling request (SR)). Regarding claim 12, Li teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the UE to receive second signaling configuring the UE to transmit the enhanced SR (par. [48 and 58], base station configures the SR via RRC). Regarding claims 13 and 26, combination of Zhou and Li teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the UE to transmit capability information (Zhou: par. [169], wireless device may send its radio access capability information) indicating that the UE supports transmission of enhanced SRs on PUCCH resources allocated to a skipped CSI report (Li: Abstract, par. [5], if the state of at least one SR is positive, skip transmitting the CSI, and transmitting an SR instead). Regarding claim 25, Li teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the network entity to: evaluate one or more conditions related to skipping a CSI report (par. [48 and 58], the base station determine priorities for SRs); and configure the UE to transmit the enhanced SR based on the evaluation (par. [48 and 58], base station configures the SR via RRC) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3-5, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 2019/0207662), Li (US 2022/0150912), and Kim (US 2017/0202009) . Regarding claims 3 and 16, Zhou is silent as to wherein the enhanced scheduling information comprises at least one of a current buffer size, a predicted buffer size, or a duration associated with emptying at least one of the current buffer size or the predicted buffer size based on a current or predicted throughput. Kim teaches enhanced scheduling information comprises at least one of a current buffer size (par. [17, 412], BSR is sent in the SR), a predicted buffer size, or a duration associated with emptying at least one of the current buffer size or the predicted buffer size based on a current or predicted throughput. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to implement enhanced scheduling information comprises at least one of a current buffer size, as taught by Kim, into the information reporting system of Zhou, in order to inform the base station of the current buffer size. Regarding claim 4, Zhou is silent as to wherein the enhanced scheduling information indicates at least one of a preferred time or a preferred number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions for transmitting buffer contents. Kim teaches wherein enhanced scheduling information indicates at least one of a preferred time or a preferred number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions for transmitting buffer contents (par. [17, 412], the eNB checks the size of the UL data to be actually transmitted by the UE in uplink through the received SR type (or BSR) and sends the UL grant for the PUSCH resource). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to implement enhanced scheduling information indicates at least one of a preferred time or a preferred number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions for transmitting buffer contents, as taught by Kim, into the information reporting system of Zhou, in order to inform the base station of the current buffer size and receive appropriate PUSCH resources. Regarding claims 5 and 18, Zhou is silent as to wherein the UE sets the preferred number of PUSCH transmissions to a value of one to indicate a preference to transmit the buffer contents in a single PUSCH transmission. Kim teaches eNB checks the size of the UL data to be actually transmitted by the UE in uplink through the received SR type (or BSR) and sends the UL grant for the PUSCH resource. Kim par. [17, 412]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to utilize the BSR to indicate by the UE how much uplink capacity it needs by indicating the amount of data that is in the buffer, if the amount of data is small, then a single PUSCH transmission would be sufficient for eNB to allocate, as taught by Kim and well-known in the art, into the information reporting system of Zhou, in order to inform the base station of the current buffer size and receive appropriate PUSCH resources . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 2019/0207662), Li (US 2022/0150912), Kim (US 2017/0202009), and Park (US 2015/0003371) . Regarding claims 6 and 19, Zhou is silent as to wherein the UE sets the preferred time based on emptying one of a current buffer size or a predicted buffer size. Park teaches UE sends a BSR and sets a timer (retxBSR-Timer), if the timer expires and data still exists in the buffer, UE sends another BSR. Park par. [72-77]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to utilize the well-known retxBSR-Timer to retransmit the buffer status if UE did not receive a reply to the first BSR, as taught by Park and well-known in the art, into the information reporting system of Zhou, in order to inform the base station of the current buffer size and receive appropriate PUSCH resources. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OLEG ASANBAYEV whose telephone number is 571-270-7236 . The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 8:00am - 5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, LAYLA LAUCHMAN can be reached at (571)272-2418. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /OLEG ASANBAYEV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 6221 Application/Control Number: 18/630,902 Page 2 Art Unit: 6221 Application/Control Number: 18/630,902 Page 3 Art Unit: 6221 Application/Control Number: 18/630,902 Page 4 Art Unit: 6221 Application/Control Number: 18/630,902 Page 5 Art Unit: 6221 Application/Control Number: 18/630,902 Page 6 Art Unit: 6221 Application/Control Number: 18/630,902 Page 7 Art Unit: 6221 Application/Control Number: 18/630,902 Page 8 Art Unit: 6221 Application/Control Number: 18/630,902 Page 9 Art Unit: 6221