DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims:
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 12, 13, 18, 19, and 20 are amended
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The following subject matter recited in claims 1, 12 and 20 is in question: “…and generating a three-dimensional perspective effect from the enlarged state two-dimensional canvas by rotating a first plane on which the enlarged state two-dimensional canvas is located around a horizontal axis in the screen…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 8 and 12 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Board Games” et al. (Settlers of CATAN Gameplay | PC game) in view of “hoodilton” et al. (MINECRAFT 2020 - Ultra Realistic Graphics Comparison) and Chen et al. (US 20200265618).
Regarding claim 1.
“Board Games” and “hoodilton” teach:
A method for adjusting a virtual scene on a screen performed by a terminal device (“Board Games”: The video referenced displays a video game which shows how the screen will adjust based on certain actions in a game) (“hoodilton”: 3:11 – 8:00 shows the gameplay and way the scene is manipulated),
the method comprising: receiving a scale operation on a virtual scene, wherein the virtual scene is in a global state (“Board Games”: The timestamp of 2:50 – 3:15 shows the screen moving around adjusting the scale in both states, a global state (zoomed out) and an enlarged state (zoomed in)) (“hoodilton”: 5:15 – 5:30 shows ways of enlarging or zooming in and out);
in accordance with a determination that a scale ratio corresponding to the scale operation is in a scale ratio interval corresponding to an enlarged state; replacing the virtual scene with an enlarged state two-dimensional canvas on the screen; (“Board Games”: The timestamp of 2:50 – 3:15 shows the screen moving around adjusting the scale in both states, a global state (zoomed out) and an enlarged state (zoomed in)) (“hoodilton”: 5:15 – 5:30 shows ways of enlarging or zooming in and out):
causing a first angle between the screen and a first plane on which an enlarged state canvas is located, the enlarged state canvas comprising a ground layer and a grid layer, wherein the grid layer including a plurality of grids is displayed grid layer based on first transparency and the ground layer including a ground material of the virtual scene is displayed grid layer based on second transparency (“Board Games”: timestamp 9:00 – 10:00 ) displays more ways that the screen moves and adjusts the scales and angles between the multiple modes, allowing for the user to be moved around a bit to show specific information. The layers being focused on “transparency” is also taught between timestamp 11:00 – 12:00 of the video. The applicant does not specify the level of “transparency” that are claimed. The grid layers (the hexagon grids) and the ground layer (the multitude of different terrains) (“hoodilton”: 5:00 – 6:00 shows multiple moments where many blocks or grids are shown. Some of these blocks or grids contain a certain type of transparency to allow for different stylistic choices);
and displaying an attachment layer above the ground layer on a second plane based on third transparency, wherein the second plane is parallel to the screen (“Board Games”: The “attachment layer” as claimed above in the specification refers to “ [0096] For example, the attachment layer includes different types of attachments arranged on the ground layer. The types of the attachments include: interactive buildings, obstacles, and virtual invaders (for example, virtual monsters).” In the figure below, the attachment layer includes the buildings, or the “robber” on the tile “5”) (“hoodilton”: 5:00 – 6:00 shows certain “attachments” that may include grass or other types of buildings which are vertical to the other blocks.
Figure 1
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of “Board Games” with “hoodilton” and Chen. Having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible and being able to make a pseudo 3d effect by rotating 2d images, as in “hoodilton” and Chen, would benefit the “Board Games” teachings by allowing for multiple ways to see different layers to be visible to the user. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible, to yield predictable results.
“Board Games” and “hoodilton” fail to teach:
And generating a three-dimensional perspective effect from the enlarged state two- dimensional canvas by rotating a first plane on which the enlarged state two-dimensional canvas is located around a horizontal axis in the screen
Chen teaches:
And generating a three-dimensional perspective effect from the enlarged state two- dimensional canvas by rotating a first plane on which the enlarged state two-dimensional canvas is located around a horizontal axis in the screen (Chen [0126] In response, computer system 600 may translate and rotate the 3D image so that the 2D plane is presented in a reference 2D plane of the display with an orientation parallel to an orientation of the reference 2D plane, where, prior to the translating and the rotating, the angular position is different than that of the reference 2D plane and is different from a predefined orientation of slices in the 3D image.)
Regarding claim 2.
“Board Games”, “hoodilton”, and Chen teach:
The method according to claim 1,
wherein the method further comprises: displaying an atmosphere layer below the grid layer based on fourth transparency, the atmosphere layer, the ground layer, and the grid layer together forming the enlarged state canvas in a synchronously changing manner in response to the scale operation (“hoodilton”: The video game “Minecraft” which released in 2009 included clouds as at atmosphere. There are many grids as well in the game, the game is split into “chunks” which are plots of “blocks” that may also include all types of enemies, buildings, or sorts of other things. Clouds can also appear in these chunks which are transparent or can be completely opaque. The video at 2:40 – 2:50 also displays the different types of clouds which may be added).
Figure 2
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of “Board Games” with “hoodilton” and Chen. Having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible and being able to make a pseudo 3d effect by rotating 2d images, as in “hoodilton” and Chen, would benefit the “Board Games” teachings by allowing for multiple ways to see different layers to be visible to the user. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 3.
“Board Games”, “hoodilton”, and Chen teach:
The method according to claim 2,
wherein the displaying an atmosphere layer below the grid layer based on fourth transparency comprises: displaying, based on the fourth transparency, the atmosphere layer below the grid layer in a region with a visual field and a region without a visual field, the region with a visual field being a region that a virtual object once reached in the virtual scene and the region without a visual field being a region that the virtual object does not reach in the virtual scene (“hoodilton”: The clouds are only visible in some portions which allows the clouds to move around and create a realistic environment. Figure 2 shows the clouds and the video at 2:40 – 2:50 also shows the clouds how they can look).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of “Board Games” with “hoodilton” and Chen. Having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible and being able to make a pseudo 3d effect by rotating 2d images, as in “hoodilton” and Chen, would benefit the “Board Games” teachings by allowing for multiple ways to see different layers to be visible to the user. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 4.
“Board Games”, “hoodilton”, and Chen teach:
The method according to claim 1,
wherein the method further comprises: displaying a plot status layer between the ground layer and the attachment layer based on fifth transparency, the plot status layer comprising at least one material, a material on each grid being configured for indicating a status of a region corresponding to the grid (“Board Games”: The board in the catan game includes a material, in which this game regards as a their currency, more specifically it can be seen anywhere between 18:00 – 20:00 or any time in the video or in figure 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of “Board Games” with “hoodilton” and Chen. Having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible and being able to make a pseudo 3d effect by rotating 2d images, as in “hoodilton” and Chen, would benefit the “Board Games” teachings by allowing for multiple ways to see different layers to be visible to the user. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 5.
“Board Games”, “hoodilton”, and Chen teach:
The method according to claim 1,
wherein the method further comprises: displaying a human-machine interaction layer above the attachment layer, the human-machine interaction layer comprising at least one material attached to one grid and configured for human-machine interaction based on the grid.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of “Board Games” with “hoodilton” and Chen. Having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible and being able to make a pseudo 3d effect by rotating 2d images, as in “hoodilton” and Chen, would benefit the “Board Games” teachings by allowing for multiple ways to see different layers to be visible to the user. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 6.
“Board Games”, “hoodilton”, and Chen teach:
The method according to claim 1,
wherein a transition scale ratio interval is set between the scale ratio interval corresponding to the enlarged state and a scale ratio interval corresponding to the global state (“Board Games” in timestamp 2:00 – 2:30 it can be seen with the blue dots that multiple different areas include a way to interact with the board to build settlements or roads. Also during the video the user can interact to collect their materials or move the “robber”).
Figure 3
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of “Board Games” with “hoodilton” and Chen. Having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible and being able to make a pseudo 3d effect by rotating 2d images, as in “hoodilton” and Chen, would benefit the “Board Games” teachings by allowing for multiple ways to see different layers to be visible to the user. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 7.
“Board Games”, “hoodilton”, and Chen teach:
The method according to claim 6,
wherein the method further comprises: when the scale ratio corresponding to the scale operation is in the transition scale ratio interval and gradually reduces:
controlling the enlarged state canvas and the screen to form the first angle that gradually increases, and forming a second angle between the enlarged state canvas and the screen when the scale ratio reduces to a minimum endpoint value of the transition scale ratio interval; and controlling a global state canvas and the screen to form the first angle that gradually increases, and forming the second angle between the global state canvas and the screen when the scale ratio reduces to the minimum endpoint value of the transition scale ratio interval, the global state canvas comprising a global map layer and a global cover layer displayed in the global state (“Board Games” time interval 2:55 – 3:55 shows multiple moment where interacting controls the canvas to zoom in and out with a gradual increase and decrease.) (“hoodilton”: 5:15 – 5:30 shows ways of enlarging or zooming in and out).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of “Board Games” with “hoodilton” and Chen. Having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible and being able to make a pseudo 3d effect by rotating 2d images, as in “hoodilton” and Chen, would benefit the “Board Games” teachings by allowing for multiple ways to see different layers to be visible to the user. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 8.
“Board Games”, “hoodilton”, and Chen teach:
The method according to claim 6,
wherein the method further comprises: when the scale ratio corresponding to the scale operation is in the transition scale ratio interval and gradually increases:
controlling the enlarged state canvas and the screen to form a second angle that gradually reduces, and forming the first angle between the enlarged state canvas and the screen when the scale ratio increases to a maximum endpoint value of the transition scale ratio interval; and controlling a global state canvas and the screen to form the second angle that gradually reduces, and forming the first angle between the global state canvas and the screen when the scale ratio increases to the maximum endpoint value of the transition scale ratio interval, the global state canvas comprising a global map layer and a global cover layer displayed in the global state (“Board Games” time interval 2:55 – 3:55 shows multiple moment where interacting controls the canvas to zoom in and out with a gradual increase and decrease.) (“hoodilton”: 5:15 – 5:30 shows ways of enlarging or zooming in and out).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of “Board Games” with “hoodilton” and Chen. Having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible and being able to make a pseudo 3d effect by rotating 2d images, as in “hoodilton” and Chen, would benefit the “Board Games” teachings by allowing for multiple ways to see different layers to be visible to the user. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 12.
“Board Games” and “hoodilton” teach:
An electronic device, comprising: a memory, configured to store executable instructions; and a processor, configured to implement, when executing the executable instructions stored in the memory, a method for adjusting a virtual scene on a screen including: (“Board Games”: The video referenced displays a video game which shows how the screen will adjust based on certain actions in a game. The video game is run on a computer which requires memory and processors to run) (“hoodilton”: 3:11 – 8:00 shows the gameplay and way the scene is manipulated),
the method comprising: receiving a scale operation on a virtual scene, wherein the virtual scene is in a global state (“Board Games”: The timestamp of 2:50 – 3:15 shows the screen moving around adjusting the scale in both states, a global state (zoomed out) and an enlarged state (zoomed in)) (“hoodilton”: 5:15 – 5:30 shows ways of enlarging or zooming in and out);
in accordance with a determination that a scale ratio corresponding to the scale operation is in a scale ratio interval corresponding to an enlarged state; replacing the virtual scene with an enlarged state two-dimensional canvas on the screen; (“Board Games”: The timestamp of 2:50 – 3:15 shows the screen moving around adjusting the scale in both states, a global state (zoomed out) and an enlarged state (zoomed in)) (“hoodilton”: 5:15 – 5:30 shows ways of enlarging or zooming in and out):
causing a first angle between the screen and a first plane on which an enlarged state canvas is located, the enlarged state canvas comprising a ground layer and a grid layer, wherein the grid layer including a plurality of grids is displayed grid layer based on first transparency and the ground layer including a ground material of the virtual scene is displayed grid layer based on second transparency (“Board Games”: timestamp 9:00 – 10:00 ) displays more ways that the screen moves and adjusts the scales and angles between the multiple modes, allowing for the user to be moved around a bit to show specific information. The layers being focused on “transparency” is also taught between timestamp 11:00 – 12:00 of the video. The applicant does not specify the level of “transparency” that are claimed. The grid layers (the hexagon grids) and the ground layer (the multitude of different terrains) (“hoodilton”: 5:00 – 6:00 shows multiple moments where many blocks or grids are shown. Some of these blocks or grids contain a certain type of transparency to allow for different stylistic choices);
and displaying an attachment layer above the ground layer on a second plane based on third transparency, wherein the second plane is parallel to the screen (“Board Games”: The “attachment layer” as claimed above in the specification refers to “ [0096] For example, the attachment layer includes different types of attachments arranged on the ground layer. The types of the attachments include: interactive buildings, obstacles, and virtual invaders (for example, virtual monsters).” In the figure below, the attachment layer includes the buildings, or the “robber” on the tile “5”) (“hoodilton”: 5:00 – 6:00 shows certain “attachments” that may include grass or other types of buildings which are vertical to the other blocks.
Figure 1
“Board Games” and “hoodilton” fail to teach:
And generating a three-dimensional perspective effect from the enlarged state two- dimensional canvas by rotating a first plane on which the enlarged state two-dimensional canvas is located around a horizontal axis in the screen
Chen teaches:
And generating a three-dimensional perspective effect from the enlarged state two- dimensional canvas by rotating a first plane on which the enlarged state two-dimensional canvas is located around a horizontal axis in the screen (Chen [0126] In response, computer system 600 may translate and rotate the 3D image so that the 2D plane is presented in a reference 2D plane of the display with an orientation parallel to an orientation of the reference 2D plane, where, prior to the translating and the rotating, the angular position is different than that of the reference 2D plane and is different from a predefined orientation of slices in the 3D image.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of “Board Games” with “hoodilton” and Chen. Having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible and being able to make a pseudo 3d effect by rotating 2d images, as in “hoodilton” and Chen, would benefit the “Board Games” teachings by allowing for multiple ways to see different layers to be visible to the user. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 13.
“Board Games”, “hoodilton”, and Chen teach:
The electronic according to claim 12,
wherein the method further comprises: displaying an atmosphere layer below the grid layer based on fourth transparency, the atmosphere layer, the ground layer, and the grid layer together forming the enlarged state canvas in a synchronously changing manner in response to the scale operation (“hoodilton”: The video game “Minecraft” which released in 2009 included clouds as at atmosphere. There are many grids as well in the game, the game is split into “chunks” which are plots of “blocks” that may also include all types of enemies, buildings, or sorts of other things. Clouds can also appear in these chunks which are transparent or can be completely opaque. The video at 2:40 – 2:50 also displays the different types of clouds which may be added).
Figure 2
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of “Board Games” with “hoodilton” and Chen. Having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible and being able to make a pseudo 3d effect by rotating 2d images, as in “hoodilton” and Chen, would benefit the “Board Games” teachings by allowing for multiple ways to see different layers to be visible to the user. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 14.
“Board Games”, “hoodilton”, and Chen teach:
The electronic according to claim 13,
wherein the displaying an atmosphere layer below the grid layer based on fourth transparency comprises: displaying, based on the fourth transparency, the atmosphere layer below the grid layer in a region with a visual field and a region without a visual field, the region with a visual field being a region that a virtual object once reached in the virtual scene and the region without a visual field being a region that the virtual object does not reach in the virtual scene (“hoodilton”: The clouds are only visible in some portions which allows the clouds to move around and create a realistic environment. Figure 2 shows the clouds and the video at 2:40 – 2:50 also shows the clouds how they can look).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of “Board Games” with “hoodilton” and Chen. Having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible and being able to make a pseudo 3d effect by rotating 2d images, as in “hoodilton” and Chen, would benefit the “Board Games” teachings by allowing for multiple ways to see different layers to be visible to the user. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 15.
“Board Games”, “hoodilton”, and Chen teach:
The electronic according to claim 12,
wherein the method further comprises: displaying a plot status layer between the ground layer and the attachment layer based on fifth transparency, the plot status layer comprising at least one material, a material on each grid being configured for indicating a status of a region corresponding to the grid (“Board Games”: The board in the catan game includes a material, in which this game regards as a their currency, more specifically it can be seen anywhere between 18:00 – 20:00 or any time in the video or in figure 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of “Board Games” with “hoodilton” and Chen. Having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible and being able to make a pseudo 3d effect by rotating 2d images, as in “hoodilton” and Chen, would benefit the “Board Games” teachings by allowing for multiple ways to see different layers to be visible to the user. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 16.
“Board Games”, “hoodilton”, and Chen teach:
The electronic according to claim 12,
wherein the method further comprises: displaying a human-machine interaction layer above the attachment layer, the human-machine interaction layer comprising at least one material attached to one grid and configured for human-machine interaction based on the grid.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of “Board Games” with “hoodilton” and Chen. Having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible and being able to make a pseudo 3d effect by rotating 2d images, as in “hoodilton” and Chen, would benefit the “Board Games” teachings by allowing for multiple ways to see different layers to be visible to the user. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 17.
“Board Games”, “hoodilton”, and Chen teach:
The electronic according to claim 12,
wherein a transition scale ratio interval is set between the scale ratio interval corresponding to the enlarged state and a scale ratio interval corresponding to the global state (“Board Games” in timestamp 2:00 – 2:30 it can be seen with the blue dots that multiple different areas include a way to interact with the board to build settlements or roads. Also during the video the user can interact to collect their materials or move the “robber”).
Figure 3
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of “Board Games” with “hoodilton” and Chen. Having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible and being able to make a pseudo 3d effect by rotating 2d images, as in “hoodilton” and Chen, would benefit the “Board Games” teachings by allowing for multiple ways to see different layers to be visible to the user. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 18.
“Board Games”, “hoodilton”, and Chen teach:
The method according to claim 6,
wherein the method further comprises: when the scale ratio corresponding to the scale operation is in the transition scale ratio interval and gradually reduces:
controlling the enlarged state canvas and the screen to form the first angle that gradually increases, and forming a second angle between the enlarged state canvas and the screen when the scale ratio reduces to a minimum endpoint value of the transition scale ratio interval; and controlling a global state canvas and the screen to form the first angle that gradually increases, and forming the second angle between the global state canvas and the screen when the scale ratio reduces to the minimum endpoint value of the transition scale ratio interval, the global state canvas comprising a global map layer and a global cover layer displayed in the global state (“Board Games” time interval 2:55 – 3:55 shows multiple moment where interacting controls the canvas to zoom in and out with a gradual increase and decrease.) (“hoodilton”: 5:15 – 5:30 shows ways of enlarging or zooming in and out).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of “Board Games” with “hoodilton” and Chen. Having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible and being able to make a pseudo 3d effect by rotating 2d images, as in “hoodilton” and Chen, would benefit the “Board Games” teachings by allowing for multiple ways to see different layers to be visible to the user. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 19.
“Board Games”, “hoodilton”, and Chen teach:
The method according to claim 6,
wherein the method further comprises: when the scale ratio corresponding to the scale operation is in the transition scale ratio interval and gradually increases:
controlling the enlarged state canvas and the screen to form a second angle that gradually reduces, and forming the first angle between the enlarged state canvas and the screen when the scale ratio increases to a maximum endpoint value of the transition scale ratio interval; and controlling a global state canvas and the screen to form the second angle that gradually reduces, and forming the first angle between the global state canvas and the screen when the scale ratio increases to the maximum endpoint value of the transition scale ratio interval, the global state canvas comprising a global map layer and a global cover layer displayed in the global state (“Board Games” time interval 2:55 – 3:55 shows multiple moment where interacting controls the canvas to zoom in and out with a gradual increase and decrease.) (“hoodilton”: 5:15 – 5:30 shows ways of enlarging or zooming in and out).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of “Board Games” with “hoodilton” and Chen. Having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible and being able to make a pseudo 3d effect by rotating 2d images, as in “hoodilton” and Chen, would benefit the “Board Games” teachings by allowing for multiple ways to see different layers to be visible to the user. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 20:
“Board Games” and “hoodilton” teach:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing executable instructions, the executable instructions, when executed by a processor of an electronic device, causing the electronic device to implement a method for adjusting a virtual scene on a screen including: (“Board Games”: The video referenced displays a video game which shows how the screen will adjust based on certain actions in a game. The video game is run on a computer which requires memory and processors to run as well a computer readable storage) (“hoodilton”: 3:11 – 8:00 shows the gameplay and way the scene is manipulated),
the method comprising: receiving a scale operation on a virtual scene, wherein the virtual scene is in a global state (“Board Games”: The timestamp of 2:50 – 3:15 shows the screen moving around adjusting the scale in both states, a global state (zoomed out) and an enlarged state (zoomed in)) (“hoodilton”: 5:15 – 5:30 shows ways of enlarging or zooming in and out);
in accordance with a determination that a scale ratio corresponding to the scale operation is in a scale ratio interval corresponding to an enlarged state; replacing the virtual scene with an enlarged state two-dimensional canvas on the screen; (“Board Games”: The timestamp of 2:50 – 3:15 shows the screen moving around adjusting the scale in both states, a global state (zoomed out) and an enlarged state (zoomed in)) (“hoodilton”: 5:15 – 5:30 shows ways of enlarging or zooming in and out):
causing a first angle between the screen and a first plane on which an enlarged state canvas is located, the enlarged state canvas comprising a ground layer and a grid layer, wherein the grid layer including a plurality of grids is displayed grid layer based on first transparency and the ground layer including a ground material of the virtual scene is displayed grid layer based on second transparency (“Board Games”: timestamp 9:00 – 10:00 ) displays more ways that the screen moves and adjusts the scales and angles between the multiple modes, allowing for the user to be moved around a bit to show specific information. The layers being focused on “transparency” is also taught between timestamp 11:00 – 12:00 of the video. The applicant does not specify the level of “transparency” that are claimed. The grid layers (the hexagon grids) and the ground layer (the multitude of different terrains) (“hoodilton”: 5:00 – 6:00 shows multiple moments where many blocks or grids are shown. Some of these blocks or grids contain a certain type of transparency to allow for different stylistic choices);
and displaying an attachment layer above the ground layer on a second plane based on third transparency, wherein the second plane is parallel to the screen (“Board Games”: The “attachment layer” as claimed above in the specification refers to “ [0096] For example, the attachment layer includes different types of attachments arranged on the ground layer. The types of the attachments include: interactive buildings, obstacles, and virtual invaders (for example, virtual monsters).” In the figure below, the attachment layer includes the buildings, or the “robber” on the tile “5”) (“hoodilton”: 5:00 – 6:00 shows certain “attachments” that may include grass or other types of buildings which are vertical to the other blocks.
Figure 1
“Board Games” and “hoodilton” fail to teach:
And generating a three-dimensional perspective effect from the enlarged state two- dimensional canvas by rotating a first plane on which the enlarged state two-dimensional canvas is located around a horizontal axis in the screen
Chen teaches:
And generating a three-dimensional perspective effect from the enlarged state two- dimensional canvas by rotating a first plane on which the enlarged state two-dimensional canvas is located around a horizontal axis in the screen (Chen [0126] In response, computer system 600 may translate and rotate the 3D image so that the 2D plane is presented in a reference 2D plane of the display with an orientation parallel to an orientation of the reference 2D plane, where, prior to the translating and the rotating, the angular position is different than that of the reference 2D plane and is different from a predefined orientation of slices in the 3D image.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of “Board Games” with “hoodilton” and Chen. Having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible and being able to make a pseudo 3d effect by rotating 2d images, as in “hoodilton” and Chen, would benefit the “Board Games” teachings by allowing for multiple ways to see different layers to be visible to the user. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having an atmosphere that can change over time and having multiple different layers that can be visible, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 9 - 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Board Games” et al. (Settlers of CATAN Gameplay | PC game) in view of “hoodilton” et al. (MINECRAFT 2020 - Ultra Realistic Graphics Comparison), Chen et al. (US 20200265618), and “CrazyK84” et al. (Supreme Commander Map Zoom & Nuke).
Regarding claim 9.
“Board Games”, “hoodilton”, and Chen teach:
The method according to claim 6,
“Board Games”, “hoodilton”, and Chen fail to teach:
wherein the method further comprises: when the scale ratio corresponding to the scale operation is in the transition scale ratio interval and gradually reduces:
controlling at least a part of layers corresponding to the enlarged state to be reduced for display in a fading-out manner according to the scale ratio, the at least a part of layers corresponding to the enlarged state being completely transparent in a case that the scale ratio reduces to a minimum endpoint value of the transition scale ratio interval; and controlling at least a part of layers corresponding to the global state to be reduced for display in a fading-in manner according to the scale ratio, the at least a part of layers corresponding to the enlarged state being completely opaque in a case that the scale ratio reduces to the minimum endpoint value of the transition scale ratio interval, all layers corresponding to the enlarged state and all layers corresponding to the global state having a same initial size (“CrazyK84”: In the video listed it can be seen as the camera pans and zooms/scales the angles may be changed to a point where certain objects become transparent. This is a use of Level of Detail streaming to help with performance and not to ender objects that are not needed.).
“CrazyK84” teaches:
wherein the method further comprises: when the scale ratio corresponding to the scale operation is in the transition scale ratio interval and gradually reduces:
controlling at least a part of layers corresponding to the enlarged state to be reduced for display in a fading-out manner according to the scale ratio, the at least a part of layers corresponding to the enlarged state being completely transparent in a case that the scale ratio reduces to a minimum endpoint value of the transition scale ratio interval; and controlling at least a part of layers corresponding to the global state to be reduced for display in a fading-in manner according to the scale ratio, the at least a part of layers corresponding to the enlarged state being completely opaque in a case that the scale ratio reduces to the minimum endpoint value of the transition scale ratio interval, all layers corresponding to the enlarged state and all layers corresponding to the global state having a same initial size (“CrazyK84”: In the video listed it can be seen as the camera pans and zooms/scales the angles may be changed to a point where certain objects become transparent. This is a use of Level of Detail streaming to help with performance and not to ender objects that are not needed.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of “Board Games” and “hoodilton” and Chen with “CrazyK84”. Being able to zoom out to a certain portion with allowing certain objects to fade out, as in “CrazyK84”, would benefit the “Board Games” and “hoodilton” and Chen teachings by allowing a way to zoom in and out to allow for the certain objects to be visible and some to not be visible. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to zoom out to a certain portion with allowing certain objects to fade out, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 10.
“Board Games”, “hoodilton”, and Chen teach:
The method according to claim 1,
“Board Games”, “hoodilton”, and Chen fail to teach:
wherein the method further comprises: when the scale ratio corresponding to the scale operation is in a scale ratio interval corresponding to the global state:
causing a second angle between the screen and a second plane on which a global state canvas is located, the global state canvas comprising a global map layer displayed based on sixth transparency and a global cover layer displayed above the global map layer based on seventh transparency, and the second angle being greater than the first angle (“CrazyK84”: It can be seen that there are multiple different angles and transparencies that are used in this example. This allows for the zoom/scale to be at multiple different angles and to allow the zoom to go all the way to show the entire map. The global cover layer may be used to describe an item such as the explosion in the video) (“hoodilton”: The video game “Minecraft” which released in 2009 included clouds as at atmosphere. There are many grids as well in the game, the game is split into “chunks” which are plots of “blocks” that may also include all types of enemies, buildings, or sorts of other things. Clouds can also appear in these chunks which are transparent or can be completely opaque. The video at 2:40 – 2:50 also displays the different types of clouds which may be added. This can be used to the describe the cover layer).
“CrazyK84” with “hoodilton” teaches:
wherein the method further comprises: when the scale ratio corresponding to the scale operation is in a scale ratio interval corresponding to the global state:
causing a second angle between the screen and a second plane on which a global state canvas is located, the global state canvas comprising a global map layer displayed based on sixth transparency and a global cover layer displayed above the global map layer based on seventh transparency, and the second angle being greater than the first angle (“CrazyK84”: It can be seen that there are multiple different angles and transparencies that are used in this example. This allows for the zoom/scale to be at multiple different angles and to allow the zoom to go all the way to show the entire map. The global cover layer may be used to describe an item such as the explosion in the video) (“hoodilton”: The video game “Minecraft” which released in 2009 included clouds as at atmosphere. There are many grids as well in the game, the game is split into “chunks” which are plots of “blocks” that may also include all types of enemies, buildings, or sorts of other things. Clouds can also appear in these chunks which are transparent or can be completely opaque. The video at 2:40 – 2:50 also displays the different types of clouds which may be added. This can be used to the describe the cover layer).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of “Board Games” and “hoodilton” and Chen with “CrazyK84”. Being able to zoom out to a certain portion with allowing certain objects to fade out, as in “CrazyK84”, would benefit the “Board Games” and “hoodilton” and Chen teachings by allowing a way to zoom in and out to allow for the certain objects to be visible and some to not be visible. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to zoom out to a certain portion with allowing certain objects to fade out, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Board Games” et al. (Settlers of CATAN Gameplay | PC game) in view of “hoodilton” et al. (MINECRAFT 2020 - Ultra Realistic Graphics Comparison), Chen et al. (US 20200265618), “CrazyK84” et al. (Supreme Commander Map Zoom & Nuke), and “RajCraft” et al. (How To Expand Maps In Minecraft).
Regarding claim 11.
“Board Games”, “hoodilton”, Chen, and “CrazyK84” teach:
The method according to claim 10,
“Board Games”, “hoodilton”, Chen, and “CrazyK84” fail to teach:
wherein the method further comprises: displaying a global map icon layer above the global cover layer, the global map icon layer being configured to replace the attachment layer displayed in the enlarged state, and comprising an icon corresponding to a material in the attachment layer, and a region other than the icon in the global map icon layer being transparent (“RajCraft” showcases how to use maps in the game Minecraft which have been in the game since 2011. These maps show certain portions of the maps and make other portions not visible.).
“RajCraft” teaches:
wherein the method further comprises: displaying a global map icon layer above the global cover layer, the global map icon layer being configured to replace the attachment layer displayed in the enlarged state, and comprising an icon corresponding to a material in the attachment layer, and a region other than the icon in the global map icon layer being transparent (“RajCraft” showcases how to use maps in the game Minecraft which have been in the game since 2011. These maps show certain portions of the maps and make other portions not visible.).
Figure 4
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of “Board Games”, “hoodilton”, Chen and “CrazyK84”. Having a way to see a whole map, as in “RajCraft”, would benefit the “Board Games”, “hoodilton”, Chen, and “CrazyK84” teachings by allowing a way see everything around a certain area. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having a way to see a whole map, to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant alleges: “that the pending claims 1-20 are patentable over the cited references, alone or in combination, and the rejection of the pending claims should be withdrawn.”
Applicant has amended the independent claims 1, 12, and 20 with the following:
“…and generating a three-dimensional perspective effect from the enlarged state two- dimensional canvas by rotating a first plane on which the enlarged state two-dimensional canvas is located around a horizontal axis in the screen…”. However, Chen was added in this office action to teach these amendments: Chen [0126] In response, computer system 600 may translate and rotate the 3D image so that the 2D plane is presented in a reference 2D plane of the display with an orientation parallel to an orientation of the reference 2D plane, where, prior to the translating and the rotating, the angular position is different than that of the reference 2D plane and is different from a predefined orientation of slices in the 3D image.
As well, the claims are now rejected under 112 due to the amendments not being taught by the specification. Therefore applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENIS VASILIY MINKO/Examiner, Art Unit 2612
/Said Broome/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2612