DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting Rejection: Page 11 of the Remarks, Applicant argued: Applicant would point to the added features of, for example, the random access procedure being performed for each of at least one network slice and the configuration of the parameter related to the random access priority on a per-network-slice basis. Applicant would therefore argue that the added features render the independent claims of the instant application distinguishable over the '696 patent.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Patent ‘696 recites: performing a random access procedure for the base station based on the information on a random access resource and the slicing-related information, wherein the parameter related to a random access priority is set slice set-specifically. Thus, the added limitation is clearly recited in ‘696 patent claim 1; Therefore, the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is maintained.
35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) Rejections:
Regarding claims 1, 6, 11 and 16, pages 11-12 of the Remarks, Applicant argued:
“…Damnjanovic is silent on the very concept of network slicing.
On the other hand, the pending claims describe determining and applying random access behavior based on network slicing, and particularly based on which among one or more specific network slices is being accessed. It should be very well appreciated that determining random access parameters based on network slices is not directly related to a UE's class.
A network slice is an end-to-end (E2E) logical network of a UE and a counterpart node, so that a given UE may simultaneously access one or more network slices. As described in the present disclosure, network slicing technology features the realization of multiple software- defined virtual networks over general-purpose physical hardware. According to the present disclosure, when network slicing is applied, random access is handled in a slice-aware manner, whereby the UE may perform a random access procedure for each independent slice. Network slicing serves as a technical mechanism for satisfying distinct quality-of-service (QoS) requirements simultaneously, through the flexible isolation and allocation of network resources based on specific traffic characteristics such as ultra-low latency, broadband, or massive connectivity. Thus, the claimed method is useful for prioritizing random access, because different slices/services can have different random access requirements.” Examiner believes that this argument is not relevant because it is directed to subject matter not found in the independent claims. The independent claims did not define a network slice that has characteristics as shown in the arguments. Instead, the claims only recite “slicing-related information which determines a parameter related to a random access priority.” Therefore, Examiner’s interpretation of the random access priority based on UE classification was reasonable and appropriate.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 3, 8, 13 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14 and 16-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7; Claims 5, 10, 15 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,985,696 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 of the present application merely broaden the scope of the US 11,985,696 B2 patented claims 1 and 7 by splitting off to multiple claims.
It has been held that the omission an element and its functions is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also, note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (Bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one skilled in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-12, 14-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Damnjanovic et al, US Pub. 2010/0309877 A1, hereinafter referred to as Damnjanovic.
Regarding claims 1, 6, 11 and 16, Damnjanovic discloses techniques for accessing a wireless communication system (fig. 7), wherein a User Equipment (UE) in the system comprising: a receiver (fig. 7, transceiver 754), receiving from a base station information on a random access preamble and slicing-related information which determines a parameter related to a random access priority (fig. 9, 612, and p. [0096]: an apparatus 900 for transmitting random access signaling. Apparatus 900 includes means for determining at least one parameter value for at least one transmission parameter for random access signaling based on a particular UE class); and a processor (fig. 7, processor 770) performing, for each of the at least one network slice, a random access procedure for the base station based on the information on the random access preamble and the slicing-related information (fig. 9, 914: sending the random access signaling based on the at least one parameter value for system access); wherein the parameter related to the random access priority is configured on a per-network-slice basis (p. [0081]: the UEs may be classified into multiple classes based on their priorities, and different transmission parameter values and settings may be used for different classes of UEs. Different UE classes may be defined for different random access scenarios).
Regarding claims 2, 7, 12 and 17, Damnjanovic discloses wherein the UE receives information about the random access preamble and the slicing-related information through system information transmitted from the base station (see fig. 7, the wireless system comprises eNB 110 and UE 120).
Regarding claims 4, 9, 14 and 19, Damnjanovic discloses wherein the parameter related to the random access priority includes a parameter for a random access backoff value and a parameter for a random access transmission power offset value (abstract, [0009], [0083], [0084] and [0086]: The random access preamble may then be sent based on a target SNR value, a power ramp value, and/or a backoff time value for the particular UE class).
Regarding claims 5, 10, 15 and 20, Damnjanovic discloses wherein when the UE performs a handover from a serving cell to a target cell, the random access procedure is performed on a contention-free basis ([0039], [0047], [0052]-[0053] and [0082]: a random ID is assigned to UE to avoid collision) and a handover-related message of the base station includes at least part of the slicing-related information (fig, 5, p. [0052], [0055], and [0082]: handover to a target node).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Damnjanovic as shown above, in view of Wiberg et al (hereinafter “Wiberg”), US Pub. 2014/0079011 A1.
Regarding claims 3, 8, 13 and 18, Damnjanovic does not clearly disclose limitations recited in the claims 3, 8, 13 and 18. Wiberg discloses methods and arrangements for adapting random access resource allocations to UEs, wherein the random access preamble is one of a plurality of random access preambles, and wherein the parameter related to the random access priority is determined based on a preamble group of the plurality of random access preambles, the preamble group mapped to a frequency resource for the random access procedure (p. [0130]: The one or more mapping parameter values may then comprise one or more of: a number of groups of RA preambles defined for the cell, a number of RA preambles defined for each RA preamble group of the number of groups, a priority level defined for each RA preamble group of the number of RA preamble groups and a defined size of a RA resource allocation associated with each RA preamble group of the number of RA preamble groups; p. [0315]-[0324], and claims 34, 45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt features disclosed by Wiberg into Damnjanovic’s system in order to satisfy quality of service and customer service.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
WON, et al, US Pub. 2024/0357658 A1, discloses a method and system for accessing a network slice specific random-access channel resources pool at a user equipment.
HӦGLUND et al, US Pub. 2024/0389152 A1, discloses a method for handling access to a wireless communications network.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THAI DINH HOANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463