DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being of U.S. Patent No. 10937397. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regrading claim 1, both the present application and claim 1 of US Patent number 10937397 disclose the use of a pick comprising: a first contoured side; a second contoured side (see the first and second contour sides in figure 4); and a peripheral edge defined by an exterior perimeter where the first contoured side joins the second contoured surface (see the first and second contoured surfaces in figure 4).
Regarding claim 2, both the present application and claim 2 of US Patent number 10937397 disclose the use of a pick comprising: wherein the first contoured surface defines a first curved surface along an entire length from a first side of the exterior perimeter to an indentation on the first contoured side and a second curved portion along another entire length from the indentation to an opposite side of the exterior perimeter.
Regrading claim 3, both the present application and claim 3 of US Patent number 10937397 discloses wherein the first curved surface and second curved surface defines a concave curve, convex curve, or a combination thereof (page 4, lines 24-30).
Regrading claim 4, both the present application and claim 4 of US Patent number 10937397 disckose wherein the first contoured side comprises an elongated indention in a central region of the first contoured side providing directional stability for a user's finger positioned thereon.
Regrading claim 5, both the present application and claim 5 of US Patent number 10937397 disclose wherein the peripheral edge defines a first striking point and a second riking point, and the first striking point having a different flexibility than the second striking point.
Regrading claim 6, both the present application and claim 6 of US Patent number 10937397 disclose wherein the peripheral edge defines a first thickness at the first striking point and a second thickness at the second striking point to create different flexibilities of the pick during use.
Regrading claim 7, both the present application and claim 7 of US Patent number 10937397 disckose wherein the pick comprises a flexible material.
Regrading claim 8, both the present application and claim 8 of US Patent number 10937397 disckose wherein the flexible material comprises a shore hardness D of between 30 and 90.
Regrading claim 9, both the present application and claim 9 of US Patent number 10937397 disckose wherein the flexible material comprises polyester, co-polyester based thermoplastic elastomers, and combinations thereof.
Regrading claim 10, both the present application and claim 10 of US Patent number 10937397 disckose wherein the first contoured side comprises one or more combinations of curves at a striking point to define a striking angle.
Regrading claim 11, both the present application and claim 11 of US Patent number 10937397 disckose wherein the first contoured side comprises one or more combinations of curves at a second striking point to define a second striking angle different from the striking angle.
Regrading claim 12, both the present application and claim 12 of US Patent number 10937397 disckose wherein the first contoured side defines one or more curved surfaces to define a grip location.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, US Patent number 10937397 does not disclose the use of a set of picks, differing shore hardness’ and differing gripping locations.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed by the applicant to include a set of picks with differing shore hardness’ and differing gripping locations since sets of picks with a specific hardness having different gripping locations is conventional and well known in the art.
Regarding claim 15, US Patent number 10937397 does not disclose wherein the set of picks has one or more combinations of curves to define a gripping location that is different from the others of the set of picks.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed US Patent number 10937397 to include a set of picks with d the set of picks has one or more combinations of curves to define a gripping location that is different from the others of the set of picks since the use of curves that define a gripping location conventional and well known in the art.
Regrading claim 16, both the present application and claim 16 of Patent number 10937397 disckose wherein the peripheral edge defines two corners for striking a stringed instrument on a same side of the pick.
Regrading claim 17, both the present application and claim 16 of Patent number 10937397 disckose wherein the first contoured side defines a concave surface and a convex surface along a line traversing the pick, where the two corners are on the same side of the line traversing the pick.
Regrading claim 18, both the present application and claim 18 of Patent number 10937397 disclose, wherein a plane traversing one of the two corners containing the peripheral edge of the pick at the one corner is out of plane from a second plane traversing another of the two corners containing the peripheral edge of the pick at the another of the two corners.
Regarding claim 19, Patent number 10937397 does not disclose the two corners are linearly aligned to strike a same string of the stringed instrument simultaneously when the pick is in a first orientation.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed in US Patent number US Patent number 10937397 to include a pick with two corners as a matter of design choice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The “set of picks” is not found in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Martini (WO2023020886).
Regarding claim 1, Martini (WO2023020886) discloses the use of a pick comprising: a first contoured side; a second contoured side (see the first and second contour sides in figure 4); and a peripheral edge defined by an exterior perimeter where the first contoured side joins the second contoured surface (see the first and second contoured surfaces in figure 4).
Regarding claim 3, Martini (WO2023020886) discloses wherein the first curved surface and second curved surface defines a concave curve, convex curve, or a combination thereof (page 4, lines 24-30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martini (WO2023020886) in view of Lawrence (2,481,759).
Martini (WO2023020886) discloses the use of a pick comprising: a first contoured side; a second contoured side (see the first and second contour sides in figure 4); and a peripheral edge defined by an exterior perimeter where the first contoured side joins the second contoured surface (see the first and second contoured surfaces in figure 4).
Martini does not disclse the use of an indentation.
Regarding claim 2, Lawrence disclosed wherein the first contoured surface defines a first curved surface along an entire length from a first side of the exterior perimeter to an indentation on the first contoured side and a second curved portion along another entire length from the indentation to an opposite side of the exterior perimeter (see the curved portions in figure 1 and the indentation between the curves).
Martini (WO2023020886) does not disclose first and second striking points.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Lawrence (2,481,759) discloses the use of a guitar pick where a peripheral edge defines a first striking point and a second striking point, and the first striking point having and creating different flexibility than the second striking point (based on the picks being capable of having differing thicknesses as recited in column 3, lines 15-18).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed in Martini (WO2023020886) to include first and second striking points as disclosed in Lawrence in order to provide a pick that is capable of strumming multiple strings.
Regarding claim 7, Martini (WO2023020886) does not disclose a pick that comprises a flexible material.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed in Martini (WO2023020886) to include a flexible material since flexible materials are well knonw in the art and since Martini discloses that his device can be made from different materials (column 3, lines 15-18).
Regarding claim 8 Martini (WO2023020886) does not disclose a pick, wherein the flexible material comprises a shore hardness D of between 30 and 90.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed in Martini (WO2023020886) to include a material since with a specific hardness since specific hard shore materials are well knonw in the art.
Regarding claim 9, Martini (WO2023020886) does not disclose the use of flexible materials that comprise polyester, co-polyester based thermoplastic elastomers, and combinations thereof.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed in Martini (WO2023020886) to include a flexible material since flexible materials are well knonw in the art and since Martini discloses that his device can be made from different materials (column 3, lines 15-18).
Regarding claim 10, Lawrence (2,481,759) discloses wherein the first contoured side comprises one or more combinations of curves at a striking point to define a striking angle (see the curves and striking point in figures 74 and 80).
Regarding claim 11, Lawrence (2,481,759) discloses wherein the first contoured side comprises one or more combinations of curves at a second striking point to define a second striking angle different from the striking angle (see the curves and striking point in figures 74 and 80).
Regarding claim 12, Martini (WO2023020886) does not disclose wherein the first contoured side defines one or more curved surfaces to define a grip location.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed in Martini (WO2023020886) to specifically define a grip location since specifically defined grip locations are conventional and well known in the art.
Martini (WO2023020886) discloses the use of a pick comprising: a first contoured side; a second contoured side (see the first and second contour sides in figure 4); and a peripheral edge defined by an exterior perimeter where the first contoured side joins the second contoured surface (see the first and second contoured surfaces in figure 4).
Regarding claim 13, Martini (WO2023020886) does not disclose a set of picks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed in Martini (WO2023020886) to include a set of picks as recited by the application since the use of sets of picks is conventional in the art.
Regarding claims 14 and 15 , Martini (WO2023020886) does not disclose the use of a set of picks with differing shore hardness’ and differing gripping locations between the set of picks.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed by the applicant to include a set of picks with differing shore hardness’ and differing gripping locations since sets of picks with a specific hardness having different gripping locations is conventional and well known in the art.
Regrading claims 16, Martini (WO2023020886) does not disclose discloses wherein the peripheral edge that defines two corners for striking a stringed instrument on a same side of the pick.
Leong (US20040194607A1) discloses wherein the peripheral edge that defines two corners (114,116) for striking a stringed instrument on a same side of the pick.
However, i it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed in Martini (WO2023020886) to include a set of picks and the two corners as recited in Leong to provide a
Regrading claim 17, Leong (US20040194607A1) discloses wherein the first contoured side defines a concave surface and a convex surface (see figure 1) along a line traversing the pick, where the two corners are on the same side of the line traversing the pick (see figure 1).
Regrading claim 18, Leong (US20040194607A1) discloses wherein a plane traversing one of the two corners containing the peripheral edge of the pick at the one corner is out of plane from a second plane traversing another of the two corners containing the peripheral edge of the pick at the another of the two corners (see the corner in figure 1).
Regrading claim 19, Leong (US20040194607A1) discloses wherein the two corners are linearly aligned to strike a same string of the stringed instrument simultaneously when the pick is in a first orientation.
/KIMBERLY R LOCKETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837