DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the dimples of the subset positioned 120 degrees apart and at a common latitude of claims 1 and 12; the polar angle being no greater than 25 degrees of claims 2 and 14, no greater than 20 degrees of claims 3 and 30, and no greater than 10 degrees of claims 4 and 16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Restated, the angle created between the dimples of the subset and the “common latitude” shared by the “respective centroid” with a latitude no greater than 10 degrees should be shown in Fig. 5C. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 ,6, 7, and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sajima (US Pat. No. 6,540,625 B2) as evidenced by Simonds et al. (herein “Simonds”; US Pub. No. 2003/0153402 A1) and in further view of Hwang et al. (herein “Hwang”; US Pub. No. 2013/0288827 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sajima discloses a golf ball (Figs. 1 and 2 below) having an outer surface comprising a plurality of dimples disposed thereon that define a dimple pattern (Figs. 1 and 2 below), the golf ball being segmented into a first hemisphere and a second hemisphere (Fig. 7; item O” clearly showing imaginary segmentation into a first and second hemisphere; noting they are not physically segmented into two different pieces), each of the first and second hemispheres being defined by a plurality of zones (Figs. 7, 1, and 2; noting a “zone” can merely be half of each hemisphere; the Examiner noting that these zones are imaginary), and each zone being segmented into a plurality of spherical triangles each having a distinct dimple configuration (Fig. 1; noting a zone may be a half of each hemisphere, so triangles T1 and T2 for one zone, T3 and T4 for another zone; Fig. 2; noting T5 and T6 for another zone, and T7 and T8 for another zone; each spherical triangle has a “distinct dimple configuration” because those physical dimples are only found in the corresponding spherical triangle; restated, the Examiner does not construe “distinct” to necessarily mean a different dimple layout; the Examiner also noting that these spherical triangles are imaginary and are not physically present on the golf ball; alternatively, each quadrant may be a zone, see rejection of claim 10 below for details), wherein the dimple pattern has at most first order rotational symmetry about any axis of the golf ball (see Sajima entire specification; noting there does not appear to be any rotational symmetry whatsoever), and wherein the first and second hemispheres each include a subset of preferred polar dimples having dimple diameter and a respective centroid positioned longitudinally apart from each other and at a common latitude (see Figs 1 and 2 below; noting this is obvious), wherein the common latitude is defined at a polar latitude angle (Θ) from a nearest respective pole of the first and second hemispheres, and the polar latitude angle (Θ) is no greater than 30 degrees (Figs. 1 and 2 below; noting this is obvious, as the “subset of preferred dimples” are only one dimple off the pole; much like applicant’s Fig. 5C; and the preferred dimples are clearly positioned within the first 1/3 or 30 degrees off the pole of the golf ball), and wherein at least one additional polar dimple is disposed closer to the poles of the first and second hemispheres than the dimples of the subset of preferred polar dimples (Fig. 1 and 2 below). It is noted that Sajima does not specifically disclose that the subset of preferred dimples are identical and spaced 120 degrees apart. However, Sajima appears to show that the subset of preferred dimples are identical and are spaced 120 degrees apart (Figs. 1 and 2 below). In addition, Sajima would also inherently have some retractable mold pins used to create the “preferred dimples”, although the reference is silent on their exact location (col. 10, lines 21-32; Sajima clearly disclosing “injection molding” of the outer cover, and see Simonds: Figs. 26 and 27 and pars. [0205]-[0206] clearly evidencing that injection molding uses retractable mold pins that retract to create the “preferred dimples”). Finally, Hwang discloses a golf ball dimple pattern wherein the subset of preferred dimples are identical and spaced 120 degrees apart (Fig. 6, items 41, 42, and 43 and par. [0047]; noting they would inherently be 120 degrees apart based on position; see also annotated Hwang: Fig. 6 in “Response to Arguments”, the Examiner giving an alternative rejection based on outer dimples). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sajima to make the dimples identical and spaced 120 degrees apart as taught by Hwang because doing so would be use of a known technique (using retractable pins that also act as vent pins on three identical dimples positioned 120 degrees around the pole) to improve a similar product (a golf ball that appears to have three identical dimples positioned 120 degrees around a pole) in the same way (using retractable pins that also act as vent pins on three identical dimples positioned 120 degrees around the pole, the pins allowing air to vent from the injection mold cavity and the pins allowing the core to be positioned at the center during injection molding of the outer cover).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, it is noted that the combined Sajima and Hwang disclose that the polar latitude angle (Θ) is no greater than 25 degrees. However, regarding the exact polar latitude of the preferred dimples, it has been held that if a change in the relative dimensions over the prior does not make the claimed invention perform differently, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984)(see applicant’s spec, par. [00113]; applicant giving no criticality for the exact latitude within the disclosed range of 30 degrees). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the exact polar latitude of the preferred dimples would not make the invention perform differently: that is, the preferred dimple locations would functional as retractable pin and vent locations regardless of their exact polar latitude.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, it is noted that the combined Sajima and Hwang do not specifically disclose that the polar latitude angle (Θ) is no greater than 20 degrees. However, regarding the exact polar latitude of the preferred dimples, it has been held that if a change in the relative dimensions over the prior does not make the claimed invention perform differently, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984)( see applicant’s spec, par. [00113]; applicant giving no criticality for the exact latitude within the disclosed range of 30 degrees). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the exact polar latitude of the preferred dimples would not make the invention perform differently: that is, the preferred dimple locations would functional as retractable pin and vent locations regardless of their exact polar latitude.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, it is noted that the combined Sajima and Hwang do not specifically disclose that the polar latitude angle (Θ) is no greater than 10 degrees. However, regarding the exact polar latitude, it has been held that if a change in the relative dimensions over the prior does not make the claimed invention perform differently, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984)(see applicant’s spec, par. [00113]; applicant giving no criticality for the exact latitude within the disclosed range of 30 degrees). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the exact polar latitude of the preferred dimples would not make the invention perform differently: that is, the preferred dimple locations would functional as retractable pin and vent locations regardless of their exact polar latitude.
Regarding claim 6, the combined Sajima and Hwang disclose that the dimple pattern lacks any dimple having a centroid that is coincident with a polar axis of the golf ball (Sajima: Figs. 1 and 2 above, and Hwang: Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7, it is noted that the combined Sajima and Hwang do not specifically disclose that dimple diameter of the dimples of the subset of preferred polar dimples is not a minimum dimple diameter among the plurality of dimples and is not a maximum dimple diameter among the plurality of dimples. However, Sajima appears to show that the preferred dimples are either a maximum size or a one size below the maximum size (Figs. 1 and 2 above; noting from Fig. 3, they appear to be dimple “A”; the maximum size). In addition, Sajama clearly discloses that the exact dimple number, type, and placement can be changed with each spherical triangle (col. 9, lines 28-43). Finally, regarding using a dimple size other than the maximum or minimum dimple size, it has been held that if a change in the relative dimensions over the prior does not make the claimed invention perform differently, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984).(see applicant’s spec, par. [00110]; specifically stating that the preferred dimples “can have a maximum or minimum dimple diameter”). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that making the preferred dimples to have the maximum dimple diameter would not make the device perform differently: that is, the preferred dimples would still represent dimple locations with retracing pins regardless of their exact size as compared to the other dimples.
Regarding claim 9, it is noted that the combined Sajima and Hwang do not specifically disclose that the at least one additional polar dimple has a larger dimple diameter than the dimple diameters of the subset of preferred polar dimples. However, Sajima appears to show that the preferred dimples are either a maximum size or a one size below the maximum size and a dimple having a smaller size is positioned between it and the pole (Figs. 1 and 2 above; noting from Fig. 3, they appear to be dimple “A”; the maximum size). In addition, Sajima clearly discloses that the exact dimple number, type, and placement can be changed with each spherical triangle (col. 9, lines 28-43). Finally, regarding using a dimple size larger than the preferred dimple size, it has been held that if a change in the relative dimensions over the prior does not make the claimed invention perform differently, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984).(see applicant’s spec, par. [00110]; specifically stating that the preferred dimples “can have a maximum or minimum dimple diameter”, and see par. [0032] giving no criticality to the exact size of the dimple located between the preferred dimple and the pole). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that making the dimple between the preferred dimple and the pole to be a dimple with a larger diameter would not make the device perform differently: that is, the preferred dimples would still have a dimple between it and the pole regardless of the exact size of the adjacent dimple as compared to the preferred dimple.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, the combined Sajima and Hwang disclose that the zones are comprised of first zones, second zones, third zones, and fourth zones (Sajima: Figs. 1 and 2; noting each of the larger spherical triangle may be considered a “zone”’ so there are four total for each hemisphere), such that the first and second hemispheres each consist of one first zone, one second zone, one third zone, and one fourth zone (Sajima: Fig. 1, noting T1-T4, and Fig. 2; noting T5-T8), wherein the first zone consists of three spherical triangles including at least one first spherical triangle and at least one second spherical triangle (Sajima: Fig. 3 see below; noting this is exemplary for each spherical triangle disclosed by Sajima; the Examiner specifically noting that these “spherical triangles” are imaginary and are not physically present on the golf ball), the second zone consists of three spherical triangles including at least one first spherical triangle and at least one third spherical triangle (Sajima: Fig. 3 see below; noting this is exemplary for each spherical triangle disclosed by Sajima; the Examiner specifically noting that these “spherical triangles” are imaginary and are not physically present on the golf ball; see specifically Fig. 4 making obvious eh “second zone”), and the third zone and the fourth zone each consist of three spherical triangles including a fourth spherical triangle, a fifth spherical triangle, and a sixth spherical triangle (Sajima: Fig. 3 see below; noting this is exemplary for each spherical triangle disclosed by Sajima; the Examiner specifically noting that these “spherical triangles” are imaginary and are not physically present on the golf ball, see specifically Figs. 5 and 6 making obvious a “third and fourth zone”).
Regarding claim 11, the combined Sajima and Hwang disclose that a first subset of the spherical triangles has a dimple configuration having mirror symmetry about a respective symmetry plane (Sajima: Fig. 3 above; noting a “first subset” is dimples A and B in the 1st triangle, produced in mirror symmetry about the line), and a second subset of the spherical triangles has a dimple configuration lacking mirror symmetry about any intersecting plane to the respective spherical triangle (Sajima: Fig. 3 above; noting dimples A in the 2nd triangle not having mirror symmetry; and/or the “B” dimple following dimples A also noting having mirror symmetry).
Regarding claim 12, Sajima discloses a golf ball (Figs. 1 and 2 above) having an outer surface comprising a plurality of dimples disposed thereon that define a dimple pattern (Figs. 1 and 2 above), the golf ball being segmented into a first hemisphere and a second hemisphere (Fig. 7; item O” clearly showing imaginary segmentation into a first and second hemisphere; noting they are not physically segmented into two different pieces), each of the first and second hemispheres being defined by a plurality of zones of a first quantity (Figs. 7, 1, and 2; noting a noting a zone can be equal to a quadrant, or ¼ of each hemisphere; noting as such the first quantity is 4), and each zone being segmented into a plurality of spherical triangles each having a distinct dimple configuration (Fig 3 reproduced above being exemplary of each “zone” or larger spherical triangle, each of the three lesser included spherical triangle has a “distinct dimple configuration” because those physical dimples are only found in the corresponding lesser spherical triangle; restated, the Examiner does not construe “distinct” to necessarily mean a different dimple layout; the Examiner also noting that these lesser spherical triangles and zones are imaginary and are not physically present on the golf ball), the dimple pattern having at most first order rotational symmetry about any axis of the golf ball (see Sajima entire specification; noting there does not appear to be any rotational symmetry whatsoever but that which would occur when the dimple pattern is rotated 360o about itself to repeat the pattern, see specifically col. 9, lines 11-16), and wherein the first and second hemispheres each include a subset of preferred polar dimples of a second quantity (see Figs 1 and 2 above; noting this is obvious; noting as such the second quantity is 3), the dimples of the subset of preferred polar dimples each having an dimple diameter and a respective centroid positioned longitudinally apart from each other and at a common latitude at a polar latitude angle (Θ) from a nearest respective pole of the first and second hemispheres (see Figs 1 and 2 above; noting this is obvious); wherein the first and second quantities are not identical (Figs. 1 and 2 above, and rejection above; noting the number of zones can be four, and the number preferred dimples is three), and wherein at least one additional polar dimple is disposed closer to the poles of the first and second hemispheres than the dimples of the subset of preferred polar dimples (Fig. 1 and 2 above; noting the Examiner construes this to only mean that one dimple is required). It is noted that Sajima does not specifically disclose that the subset of preferred dimples are identical and spaced equidistant apart. However, Sajima appears to show that the subset of preferred dimples are identical and are spaced equidistant apart (Figs. 1 and 2 above). In addition, Sajima would also inherently have some retractable mold pins used to create the “preferred dimples”, although the reference is silent on their exact location (col. 10, lines 21-32; Sajima clearly disclosing “injection molding” of the outer cover, and see Simonds: Figs. 26 and 27 and pars. [0205]-[0206] clearly evidencing that injection molding uses retractable mold pins that retract to create the “preferred dimples”). Finally, Hwang discloses a golf ball dimple pattern wherein the subset of preferred dimples are identical and spaced equidistant apart (Fig. 6, items 41, 42, and 43 and par. [0047]; noting they would inherently be equidistant based on position; see also Hwang: Fig. 6 in “Response to Arguments”, the Examiner giving an alternative rejection based on outer dimples). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sajima to make the dimples identical and spaced equidistant apart as taught by Hwang because doing so would be use of a known technique (using retractable mold pins that also act as vent pins on three identical dimples positioned equidistant around the pole) to improve a similar product (a golf ball that appears to have three identical dimples positioned equidistant around a pole) in the same way (using retractable mold pins that also act as vent pins on three identical dimples positioned equidistant around the pole, the pins allowing air to vent from the injection mold cavity and pins allowing the core to be positioned centrally within the mold during injection molding).
Regarding claim 13, the combined Sajima and Hwang disclose that the polar latitude angle (Θ) is no greater than 30 degrees (Sajima: Figs. 1 and 2 above; noting this is obvious, as the “subset of preferred dimples” are only one dimple off the pole; much like applicant’s Fig. 5C, and the preferred dimples are clearly positioned within the first 1/3 or 30 degrees off the pole of the golf ball).
Regarding claim 17, the combined Sajima and Hwang disclose that the first quantity and the second quantity are each at least three (Sajima: Figs 1 and 2 above, and rejection of claim 12 above; noting the first quantity is 4 and the second quantity is 3).
Regarding claim 18, the combined Sajima and Hwang disclose that the first quantity equals four, and the second quantity equals three (Sajima: Figs 1 and 2 above, and rejection of claim 12 above).
Regarding claim 19, the combined Sajima and Hwang disclose that the first quantity is greater than the second quantity (Sajima: Figs 1 and 2 above, and rejection of claim 12 above; noting the first quantity is 4 and the second quantity is 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant is kindly reminded that specific citations from the written specification and/or the drawings should be cited to in support for any claim amendments. No such citations are given. Upon review, the Examiner assumes applicant gets support from previous claim 8 and par. [0032] (i.e. claim 8 is added to claim 1, claim 8 is added to claim 12).
For the record, applicant adds previous dependent claim 8 into claim 1. The rejection of claim 1 has not changed. Applicant also adds claim 8 into claim 12. This technically warrants a new grounds of rejection as the limitations of claim 8 were never considered under claim 12.
Previous 112(b) Rejection
In order to overcome the previous 112(b) rejection, applicant points the Examiner to basic-mathematics.com for what it means to be a “first order rotational symmetry”. This is the explanation provided by the website used to define the term.
While the exact language used is slightly different, the Examiner believes that applicant’s citation provides definiteness to the claim. As such, the Examiner construes “first order rotational symmetry” to mean that the dimple pattern (rotated around any axis) only repeats once when it is rotated 360 degrees (i.e. it repeats when positioned back at 360 degrees from start of 0 degrees).
103 Rejection
Applicant and the Examiner exchange annotated drawings of Sajima. Applicant argues that Sajima does not appear to show the dimple subset “centered about the pole of the golf ball so that the dimples are positioned at a common latitude” based on their annotated figures (see Remarks, page 2-3). The Examiner, on the other hand, believes that it does based on his annotated versions (see MPEP 2125; noting the drawings can be used for what they would “reasonable teach one of ordinary skill in the art”). As such, the Examiner and applicant can agree to disagree on this point. However, even assuming arguendo that the Examiner is incorrect, Hwang: Fig. 1, would make obvious dimples used at a common latitude (Fig. 6, items 41, 42, and 43; also see, alternatively, the dimples behind them, i.e. further from the pole as shown below).
Restated, even assuming arguendo that Sajima does not show or make obvious that the subset of dimples centroids are located at a common latitude, Hwang cures that deficiency.
Furthermore, even assuming arguendo that both Sajima and Hwang do not disclose placing the dimples at a common latitude, Simonds clearly evidences using dimples that are “approximately centered about the pole of the ball” (par. [0154]). As such, it could also be argued that Simonds makes it obvious that the dimples should also have a common latitude.
On page 3, applicant argues Hwang in isolation instead of what the reference would teach a person of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, Hwang also makes obvious the use of additional dimples between the subset based on the alternative rejection as noted directly above. Applicant goes on to argue that “it is not clear how one of ordinary skill in the art would combine the distinct dimple patterns from Sajima and Hwang to arrive at the presently claimed features”. Respectfully submitted, a POSA would understand from the combination (and as evidenced by Simonds) that the same dimple size at a common latitude about the pole at 120 degrees apart could be used to create the placement of injection mold pins. Restated, without further explanation, the Examiner is unclear what applicant is actually arguing.
No other arguments are advanced.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW B STANCZAK/
Examiner, Art Unit 3711
9/22/26
/MICHAEL D DENNIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711