DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The double patenting rejection has been withdrawn based on the terminal disclaimer filed on 12/17/2025.
A new ground(s) of rejection has been set forth for the pending claims 1-38. Therefore this office action is a non-final office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8-9, 12, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LI et al. US (2010/0322178).
Regarding Claim 1, LI discloses a method comprising: transmitting at least two demodulation reference signals (DMRSs) corresponding to a terminal device, (see Fig. 3 i.e., RS (i.e., DMRS) sequences of antenna ports & Para’s [0005] i.e., a DRS is used to demodulate downlink data (i.e., “DMRS”) at a UE (i.e., “terminal device”), [0013-0014] i.e., generating a DRS includes generating an RS sequence of each antenna port, [0015] i.e., transmitting the DRS, & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups)
wherein the at least two DMRSs comprise a first DMRS and a second DMRS, (see Fig. 3 i.e., RS (i.e., DMRS) sequences of antenna ports comprise a first DMRS and a second DMRS & Para’s [0005] i.e., a DRS is used to demodulate downlink data (i.e., “DMRS”), [0013-0014] i.e., generating a DRS includes generating an RS sequence of each antenna port, [0015], & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups)
wherein a first sequence of the first DMRS and a second sequence of the second DMRS satisfy Cinit_m=f(nCDM_M), (see Para [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence of each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the RS sequence, calculating an initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) according to the initialization parameter (i.e., the initialization value depends on the initialization parameter and therefore the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) is a function of the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” )), and generating the RS sequence of each antenna port according to the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”), [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, generating N scrambling codes according to the initialization value, and multiplying each spread RS sequence by a scrambling code corresponding to the spread RS sequence, where N is a positive integer and is equal to the number of CDM RE groups for transmitting the DRS, [0019] i.e., the indexes of the CDM RE groups are further used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) in a mode for generating the N scrambling codes, [0045] i.e., initialization value is Cinit, & [0056] i.e., index of a CDM RE group may also be used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the scrambling code)
wherein f(nCDM_M) represents a function of nCDM_M (see Para’s [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence of each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the RS sequence, calculating an initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) according to the initialization parameter (i.e., the initialization value depends on the initialization parameter and therefore the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) is a function of the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” )), and generating the RS sequence of each antenna port according to the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”), [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, [0019] i.e., the indexes of the CDM RE groups are further used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) in a mode for generating the N scrambling codes & [0056])
wherein for the first sequence, nCDM-m represents an index of a code division multiplexing (CDM) group to which an antenna port of the terminal device used for the first DMRS belongs, (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence for each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter, [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, generating N scrambling codes according to the initialization value, and multiplying each spread RS sequence by a scrambling code corresponding to the spread RS sequence, where N is a positive integer and is equal to the number of CDM RE groups for transmitting the DRS, [0019], [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups, & [0056] i.e., index of a CDM RE group may also be used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the scrambling code)
wherein for the second sequence, nCDM-m represents an index of a CDM group to which an antenna port of the terminal device used for the second DMRS belongs, (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence for each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter, [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, generating N scrambling codes according to the initialization value, and multiplying each spread RS sequence by a scrambling code corresponding to the spread RS sequence, where N is a positive integer and is equal to the number of CDM RE groups for transmitting the DRS, [0019], [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups, & [0056] i.e., index of a CDM RE group may also be used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the scrambling code)
and wherein Cinit_m represents an initialization factor of a sequence corresponding to the CDM group, (see Para [0014-0015] i.e., generating the RS sequence of each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter for generating the RS sequence, calculating an initialization value (i.e., initialization value may be the “initialization factor”) according to the initialization parameter, and generating the RS sequence of each antenna port according to the initialization value (i.e., “initialization factor”), & [0045] i.e., initialization value is Cinit))
Regarding Claims 2 and 9, LI discloses the method according to claims 1 and 8, wherein the method further comprises: generating the at least two DMRSs based on M sequences that comprise the first sequence and the second sequence (see Para’s [0015] & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups), where M is a quantity of CDM groups that is greater than or equal to 2 (see Para [0054] i.e., CDM RE groups) and the CDM groups are associated with antenna ports of the terminal device for the at least two DMRSs, (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0015] & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups)
Regarding Claims 5, 12, and 27 LI discloses the method and apparatus according to claims 1, 8, and 23 wherein an antenna port corresponding to the first DMRS and an antenna port corresponding to the second DMRS correspond to different CDM groups, (see Fig. 3, Fig. 6 & & Para’s [0047], & [0054] i.e., Two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups, so as to randomize the DRS interference between cells)
and the different CDM groups correspond to different orthogonal cover codes (OCCs), (see Fig. 5 & Para’s [0047] i.e., each antenna port fixedly adopts one Walsh code…The mapping relations between Walsh codes (i.e., orthogonal cover code (OCCs)) and antenna ports may be determined by an index of a CDM RE group, [0049], & [0088] i.e., CDM RE groups for transmitting the DRS).
Regarding Claim 8, LI discloses a method comprising: receiving at least two demodulation reference signals (DMRSs) corresponding to a terminal device, (see Fig. 3 i.e., RS (i.e., DMRS) sequences of antenna ports & Para’s [0005] i.e., a DRS is used to demodulate downlink data (i.e., “DMRS”) at a UE (i.e., “terminal device”), [0013-0014] i.e., generating a DRS includes generating an RS sequence of each antenna port, [0015] i.e., transmitting the DRS, & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups)
wherein the at least two DMRSs comprise a first DMRS and a second DMRS, (see Fig. 3 i.e., RS (i.e., DMRS) sequences of antenna ports comprise a first DMRS and a second DMRS & Para’s [0005] i.e., a DRS is used to demodulate downlink data (i.e., “DMRS”), [0013-0014] i.e., generating a DRS includes generating an RS sequence of each antenna port, [0015], & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups)
wherein a first sequence of the first DMRS and a second sequence of the second DMRS satisfy Cinit_m=f(nCDM_M), (see Para [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence of each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the RS sequence, calculating an initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) according to the initialization parameter (i.e., the initialization value depends on the initialization parameter and therefore the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) is a function of the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” )), and generating the RS sequence of each antenna port according to the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”), [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, generating N scrambling codes according to the initialization value, and multiplying each spread RS sequence by a scrambling code corresponding to the spread RS sequence, where N is a positive integer and is equal to the number of CDM RE groups for transmitting the DRS, [0019] i.e., the indexes of the CDM RE groups are further used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) in a mode for generating the N scrambling codes, [0045] i.e., initialization value is Cinit, & [0056] i.e., index of a CDM RE group may also be used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the scrambling code)
wherein f(nCDM_M) represents a function of nCDM_M (see Para’s [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence of each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the RS sequence, calculating an initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) according to the initialization parameter (i.e., the initialization value depends on the initialization parameter and therefore the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) is a function of the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” )), and generating the RS sequence of each antenna port according to the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”), [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, [0019] i.e., the indexes of the CDM RE groups are further used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) in a mode for generating the N scrambling codes & [0056])
wherein for the first sequence, nCDM-m represents an index of a code division multiplexing (CDM) group to which an antenna port of the terminal device used for the first DMRS belongs, (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence for each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter, [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, generating N scrambling codes according to the initialization value, and multiplying each spread RS sequence by a scrambling code corresponding to the spread RS sequence, where N is a positive integer and is equal to the number of CDM RE groups for transmitting the DRS, [0019], [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups, & [0056] i.e., index of a CDM RE group may also be used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the scrambling code)
wherein for the second sequence, nCDM-m represents an index of a CDM group to which an antenna port of the terminal device used for the second DMRS belongs, (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence for each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter, [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, generating N scrambling codes according to the initialization value, and multiplying each spread RS sequence by a scrambling code corresponding to the spread RS sequence, where N is a positive integer and is equal to the number of CDM RE groups for transmitting the DRS, [0019], [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups, & [0056] i.e., index of a CDM RE group may also be used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the scrambling code)
and wherein Cinit_m represents an initialization factor of a sequence corresponding to the CDM group, (see Para [0014-0015] i.e., generating the RS sequence of each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter for generating the RS sequence, calculating an initialization value (i.e., initialization value may be the “initialization factor”) according to the initialization parameter, and generating the RS sequence of each antenna port according to the initialization value (i.e., “initialization factor”), & [0045] i.e., initialization value is Cinit))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16, 19, 22-24, 30-32, and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. US (2010/0322178) in view of Xiong et al. US (2018/0139014).
Regarding Claim 15, LI discloses a processing apparatus (see Fig. 9 & Para’s [0005] base station (i.e., “processing apparatus”), [0012], [0076], & [0085]): transmit at least two demodulation reference signals (DMRSs) corresponding to a terminal device, (see Fig. 3 i.e., RS (i.e., DMRS) sequences of antenna ports & Para’s [0005] i.e., a DRS is used to demodulate downlink data (i.e., “DMRS”) at a UE (i.e., “terminal device”), [0013-0014] i.e., generating a DRS includes generating an RS sequence of each antenna port, [0015] i.e., transmitting the DRS, & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups)
wherein the at least two DMRSs comprise a first DMRS and a second DMRS, (see Fig. 3 i.e., RS (i.e., DMRS) sequences of antenna ports comprise a first DMRS and a second DMRS & Para’s [0005] i.e., a DRS is used to demodulate downlink data (i.e., “DMRS”), [0013-0014] i.e., generating a DRS includes generating an RS sequence of each antenna port, [0015], & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups)
wherein a first sequence of the first DMRS and a second sequence of the second DMRS satisfy Cinit_m=f(nCDM_M), (see Para [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence of each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the RS sequence, calculating an initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) according to the initialization parameter (i.e., the initialization value depends on the initialization parameter and therefore the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) is a function of the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” )), and generating the RS sequence of each antenna port according to the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”), [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, generating N scrambling codes according to the initialization value, and multiplying each spread RS sequence by a scrambling code corresponding to the spread RS sequence, where N is a positive integer and is equal to the number of CDM RE groups for transmitting the DRS, [0019] i.e., the indexes of the CDM RE groups are further used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) in a mode for generating the N scrambling codes, [0045] i.e., initialization value is Cinit, & [0056] i.e., index of a CDM RE group may also be used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the scrambling code)
wherein f(nCDM_M) represents a function of nCDM_M (see Para’s [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence of each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the RS sequence, calculating an initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) according to the initialization parameter (i.e., the initialization value depends on the initialization parameter and therefore the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) is a function of the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” )), and generating the RS sequence of each antenna port according to the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”), [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, [0019] i.e., the indexes of the CDM RE groups are further used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) in a mode for generating the N scrambling codes & [0056])
wherein for the first sequence, nCDM-m represents an index of a code division multiplexing (CDM) group to which an antenna port of the terminal device used for the first DMRS belongs, (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence for each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter, [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, generating N scrambling codes according to the initialization value, and multiplying each spread RS sequence by a scrambling code corresponding to the spread RS sequence, where N is a positive integer and is equal to the number of CDM RE groups for transmitting the DRS, [0019], [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups, & [0056] i.e., index of a CDM RE group may also be used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the scrambling code)
wherein for the second sequence, nCDM-m represents an index of a CDM group to which an antenna port of the terminal device used for the second DMRS belongs, (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence for each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter, [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, generating N scrambling codes according to the initialization value, and multiplying each spread RS sequence by a scrambling code corresponding to the spread RS sequence, where N is a positive integer and is equal to the number of CDM RE groups for transmitting the DRS, [0019], [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups, & [0056] i.e., index of a CDM RE group may also be used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the scrambling code)
and wherein Cinit_m represents an initialization factor of a sequence corresponding to the CDM group, (see Para [0014-0015] i.e., generating the RS sequence of each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter for generating the RS sequence, calculating an initialization value (i.e., initialization value may be the “initialization factor”) according to the initialization parameter, and generating the RS sequence of each antenna port according to the initialization value (i.e., “initialization factor”), & [0045] i.e., initialization value is Cinit))
LI does not disclose the processing apparatus configured to execute programming instructions stored in a memory. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Xiong et al. US (2018/0139014).
Xiong discloses a base station processing apparatus (see Figures 3-4) configured to execute programming instructions stored in a memory for transmitting DMRS to a UE (see Para’s [0061-0064], [0069-0072], [0077], & [0083-0084] i.e., DMRS in DL transmission).
(Xiong suggests the DMRS received by the UE from the base station is used for performing channel estimation and then perform data detection in order to properly receive the data, (see Para’s [0077-0078] & [0083-0085])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the processing apparatus such as the base station as disclosed in LI to include and be configured to execute programming instructions stored in a memory such as the base station as disclosed in Xiong who discloses a base station processing apparatus configured to execute programming instructions stored in a memory for transmitting DMRS to a UE, because the motivation lies in Xiong that the DMRS received by the UE from the base station is used for performing channel estimation and then perform data detection in order to properly receive the data.
Regarding Claim 16, LI discloses the processing apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the processing apparatus further configured to: generate the at least two DMRSs based on M sequences that comprise the first sequence and the second sequence (see Para’s [0015] & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups), where M is a quantity of CDM groups that is greater than or equal to 2 (see Para [0054] i.e., CDM RE groups) and the CDM groups are associated with antenna ports of the terminal device for the at least two DMRSs, (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0015] & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups)
Regarding Claim 19 LI discloses the processing apparatus according to claim 15 wherein an antenna port corresponding to the first DMRS and an antenna port corresponding to the second DMRS correspond to different CDM groups, (see Fig. 3, Fig. 6 & & Para’s [0047], & [0054] i.e., Two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups, so as to randomize the DRS interference between cells)
and the different CDM groups correspond to different orthogonal cover codes (OCCs), (see Fig. 5 & Para’s [0047] i.e., each antenna port fixedly adopts one Walsh code…The mapping relations between Walsh codes (i.e., orthogonal cover code (OCCs)) and antenna ports may be determined by an index of a CDM RE group, [0049], & [0088] i.e., CDM RE groups for transmitting the DRS).
Regarding Claim 22, LI discloses the processing apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the processing apparatus comprises one or more processors, a network device (see Fig. 9 & Para’s [0005], [0012], [0076], & [0085]), or a terminal device
Regarding Claim 23, LI discloses a processing apparatus configured to execute programming instructions stored in a memory (see Para [0005] i.e., a user equipment (i.e., “processing apparatus”)) to: receive at least two demodulation reference signals (DMRSs) corresponding to a terminal device, (see Fig. 3 i.e., RS (i.e., DMRS) sequences of antenna ports & Para’s [0005] i.e., a DRS is used to demodulate downlink data (i.e., “DMRS”) at a UE (i.e., “terminal device”), [0013-0014] i.e., generating a DRS includes generating an RS sequence of each antenna port, [0015] i.e., transmitting the DRS, & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups)
wherein the at least two DMRSs comprise a first DMRS and a second DMRS, (see Fig. 3 i.e., RS (i.e., DMRS) sequences of antenna ports comprise a first DMRS and a second DMRS & Para’s [0005] i.e., a DRS is used to demodulate downlink data (i.e., “DMRS”), [0013-0014] i.e., generating a DRS includes generating an RS sequence of each antenna port, [0015], & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups)
wherein a first sequence of the first DMRS and a second sequence of the second DMRS satisfy Cinit_m=f(nCDM_M), (see Para [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence of each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the RS sequence, calculating an initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) according to the initialization parameter (i.e., the initialization value depends on the initialization parameter and therefore the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) is a function of the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” )), and generating the RS sequence of each antenna port according to the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”), [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, generating N scrambling codes according to the initialization value, and multiplying each spread RS sequence by a scrambling code corresponding to the spread RS sequence, where N is a positive integer and is equal to the number of CDM RE groups for transmitting the DRS, [0019] i.e., the indexes of the CDM RE groups are further used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) in a mode for generating the N scrambling codes, [0045] i.e., initialization value is Cinit, & [0056] i.e., index of a CDM RE group may also be used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the scrambling code)
wherein f(nCDM_M) represents a function of nCDM_M (see Para’s [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence of each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the RS sequence, calculating an initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) according to the initialization parameter (i.e., the initialization value depends on the initialization parameter and therefore the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) is a function of the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” )), and generating the RS sequence of each antenna port according to the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”), [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, [0019] i.e., the indexes of the CDM RE groups are further used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) in a mode for generating the N scrambling codes & [0056])
wherein for the first sequence, nCDM-m represents an index of a code division multiplexing (CDM) group to which an antenna port of the terminal device used for the first DMRS belongs, (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence for each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter, [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, generating N scrambling codes according to the initialization value, and multiplying each spread RS sequence by a scrambling code corresponding to the spread RS sequence, where N is a positive integer and is equal to the number of CDM RE groups for transmitting the DRS, [0019], [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups, & [0056] i.e., index of a CDM RE group may also be used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the scrambling code)
wherein for the second sequence, nCDM-m represents an index of a CDM group to which an antenna port of the terminal device used for the second DMRS belongs, (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence for each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter, [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, generating N scrambling codes according to the initialization value, and multiplying each spread RS sequence by a scrambling code corresponding to the spread RS sequence, where N is a positive integer and is equal to the number of CDM RE groups for transmitting the DRS, [0019], [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups, & [0056] i.e., index of a CDM RE group may also be used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the scrambling code)
and wherein Cinit_m represents an initialization factor of a sequence corresponding to the CDM group, (see Para [0014-0015] i.e., generating the RS sequence of each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter for generating the RS sequence, calculating an initialization value (i.e., initialization value may be the “initialization factor”) according to the initialization parameter, and generating the RS sequence of each antenna port according to the initialization value (i.e., “initialization factor”), & [0045] i.e., initialization value is Cinit))
LI does not disclose the processing apparatus configured to execute programming instructions stored in a memory. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Xiong et al. US (2018/0139014).
Xiong discloses a UE processing apparatus (see Figures 3-4) configured to execute programming instructions stored in a memory for receiving DMRS from a base station (see Para’s [0061-0064], [0069-0072], [0077], [0083-0084] i.e., DMRS in DL transmission & [0155]).
(Xiong suggests the DMRS received by the UE from the base station is used for performing channel estimation and then perform data detection in order to properly receive the data, (see Para’s [0077-0078] & [0083-0085])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the processing apparatus such as the UE as disclosed in LI to include and be configured to execute programming instructions stored in a memory such as the UE as disclosed in Xiong who discloses a UE processing apparatus configured to execute programming instructions stored in a memory for receiving DMRS from a base station, because the motivation lies in Xiong that the DMRS received by the UE from the base station is used for performing channel estimation and then perform data detection in order to properly receive the data.
Regarding Claim 24, LI discloses the processing apparatus according to claim 23, wherein the method further comprises: generate the at least two DMRSs based on M sequences that comprise the first sequence and the second sequence (see Para’s [0015] & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups), where M is a quantity of CDM groups that is greater than or equal to 2 (see Para [0054] i.e., CDM RE groups) and the CDM groups are associated with antenna ports of the terminal device for the at least two DMRSs, (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0015] & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups)
Regarding Claim 30, LI discloses the processing apparatus according to claim 23, wherein the processing apparatus comprises one or more processors, a network device, or a terminal device (see Para [0005] i.e., UE)
Regarding Claim 31, LI discloses at least one processor to: transmit at least two demodulation reference signals (DMRSs) corresponding to at least two antenna ports indicated to a terminal device, (see Fig. 3 i.e., RS (i.e., DMRS) sequences of antenna ports & Para’s [0005] i.e., a DRS is used to demodulate downlink data (i.e., “DMRS”) at a UE (i.e., “terminal device”), [0013-0014] i.e., generating a DRS includes generating an RS sequence of each antenna port, [0015] i.e., transmitting the DRS, & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups)
wherein the at least two DMRSs comprise a first DMRS and a second DMRS, (see Fig. 3 i.e., RS (i.e., DMRS) sequences of antenna ports comprise a first DMRS and a second DMRS & Para’s [0005] i.e., a DRS is used to demodulate downlink data (i.e., “DMRS”), [0013-0014] i.e., generating a DRS includes generating an RS sequence of each antenna port, [0015], & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups)
wherein a first sequence of the first DMRS and a second sequence of the second DMRS satisfy Cinit_m=f(nCDM_M), (see Para [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence of each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the RS sequence, calculating an initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) according to the initialization parameter (i.e., the initialization value depends on the initialization parameter and therefore the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) is a function of the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” )), and generating the RS sequence of each antenna port according to the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”), [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, generating N scrambling codes according to the initialization value, and multiplying each spread RS sequence by a scrambling code corresponding to the spread RS sequence, where N is a positive integer and is equal to the number of CDM RE groups for transmitting the DRS, [0019] i.e., the indexes of the CDM RE groups are further used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) in a mode for generating the N scrambling codes, [0045] i.e., initialization value is Cinit, & [0056] i.e., index of a CDM RE group may also be used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the scrambling code)
wherein f(nCDM_M) represents a function of nCDM_M (see Para’s [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence of each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the RS sequence, calculating an initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) according to the initialization parameter (i.e., the initialization value depends on the initialization parameter and therefore the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) is a function of the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” )), and generating the RS sequence of each antenna port according to the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”), [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, [0019] i.e., the indexes of the CDM RE groups are further used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) in a mode for generating the N scrambling codes & [0056])
nCDM-m represents an index of a code division multiplexing (CDM) group to which the at least two antenna ports belong, (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence for each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter, [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, generating N scrambling codes according to the initialization value, and multiplying each spread RS sequence by a scrambling code corresponding to the spread RS sequence, where N is a positive integer and is equal to the number of CDM RE groups for transmitting the DRS, [0019], [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups, & [0056] i.e., index of a CDM RE group may also be used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the scrambling code)
and Cinit_m represents an initialization factor of a sequence corresponding to the CDM group, (see Para [0014-0015] i.e., generating the RS sequence of each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter for generating the RS sequence, calculating an initialization value (i.e., initialization value may be the “initialization factor”) according to the initialization parameter, and generating the RS sequence of each antenna port according to the initialization value (i.e., “initialization factor”), & [0045] i.e., initialization value is Cinit))
LI does not disclose a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, storing programming instructions executable by at least one processor. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Xiong et al. US (2018/0139014).
Xiong discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, storing programming instructions executable by at least one base station processor (see Figures 3-4) for transmitting DMRS to a UE (see Figures 3-4 & Para’s [0061-0064], [0069-0072], [0077], & [0083-0084] i.e., DMRS in DL transmission).
(Xiong suggests the DMRS received by the UE from the base station is used for performing channel estimation and then perform data detection in order to properly receive the data, (see Para’s [0077-0078] & [0083-0085])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the base station as disclosed in LI to include the non-transitory computer readable storage medium, storing programming instructions executable by at least one base station processor as disclosed in Xiong who discloses a base station including the non-transitory computer readable storage medium for transmitting DMRS to a UE, because the motivation lies in Xiong that the DMRS received by the UE from the base station is used for performing channel estimation and then perform data detection in order to properly receive the data.
Regarding Claim 32, LI discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 31, wherein the programming instructions executable by at least one processor to generate the at least two DMRSs based on M sequences that comprise the first sequence and the second sequence (see Para’s [0015] & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups), where M is a quantity of CDM groups that is greater than or equal to 2 (see Para [0054] i.e., CDM RE groups) and the CDM groups are associated with antenna ports of the terminal device for the at least two DMRSs, (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0015] & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups)
Regarding Claim 35, LI discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, storing programming instructions executable by at least one processor to: receive at least two demodulation reference signals (DMRSs) corresponding to a terminal device, (see Fig. 3 i.e., RS (i.e., DMRS) sequences of antenna ports & Para’s [0005] i.e., a DRS is used to demodulate downlink data (i.e., “DMRS”) at a UE (i.e., “terminal device”), [0013-0014] i.e., generating a DRS includes generating an RS sequence of each antenna port, [0015] i.e., transmitting the DRS, & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups)
wherein the at least two DMRSs comprise a first DMRS and a second DMRS, (see Fig. 3 i.e., RS (i.e., DMRS) sequences of antenna ports comprise a first DMRS and a second DMRS & Para’s [0005] i.e., a DRS is used to demodulate downlink data (i.e., “DMRS”), [0013-0014] i.e., generating a DRS includes generating an RS sequence of each antenna port, [0015], & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups)
wherein a first sequence of the first DMRS and a second sequence of the second DMRS satisfy Cinit_m=f(nCDM_M), (see Para [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence of each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the RS sequence, calculating an initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) according to the initialization parameter (i.e., the initialization value depends on the initialization parameter and therefore the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) is a function of the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” )), and generating the RS sequence of each antenna port according to the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”), [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, generating N scrambling codes according to the initialization value, and multiplying each spread RS sequence by a scrambling code corresponding to the spread RS sequence, where N is a positive integer and is equal to the number of CDM RE groups for transmitting the DRS, [0019] i.e., the indexes of the CDM RE groups are further used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) in a mode for generating the N scrambling codes, [0045] i.e., initialization value is Cinit, & [0056] i.e., index of a CDM RE group may also be used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the scrambling code)
wherein f(nCDM_M) represents a function of nCDM_M (see Para’s [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence of each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the RS sequence, calculating an initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) according to the initialization parameter (i.e., the initialization value depends on the initialization parameter and therefore the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”) is a function of the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” )), and generating the RS sequence of each antenna port according to the initialization value (i.e., “Cinit”), [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, [0019] i.e., the indexes of the CDM RE groups are further used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) in a mode for generating the N scrambling codes & [0056])
wherein for the first sequence, nCDM-m represents an index of a code division multiplexing (CDM) group to which an antenna port of the terminal device used for the first DMRS belongs, (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence for each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter, [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, generating N scrambling codes according to the initialization value, and multiplying each spread RS sequence by a scrambling code corresponding to the spread RS sequence, where N is a positive integer and is equal to the number of CDM RE groups for transmitting the DRS, [0019], [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups, & [0056] i.e., index of a CDM RE group may also be used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the scrambling code)
wherein for the second sequence, nCDM-m represents an index of a CDM group to which an antenna port of the terminal device used for the second DMRS belongs, (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0014] i.e., generating the RS sequence for each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter, [0015] i.e., calculating an initialization value according to the initialization parameter, generating N scrambling codes according to the initialization value, and multiplying each spread RS sequence by a scrambling code corresponding to the spread RS sequence, where N is a positive integer and is equal to the number of CDM RE groups for transmitting the DRS, [0019], [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups, & [0056] i.e., index of a CDM RE group may also be used as the initialization parameter (i.e., “nCDM_M” ) for generating the scrambling code)
and wherein Cinit_m represents an initialization factor of a sequence corresponding to the CDM group, (see Para [0014-0015] i.e., generating the RS sequence of each antenna port includes determining an initialization parameter for generating the RS sequence, calculating an initialization value (i.e., initialization value may be the “initialization factor”) according to the initialization parameter, and generating the RS sequence of each antenna port according to the initialization value (i.e., “initialization factor”), & [0045] i.e., initialization value is Cinit))
LI does not disclose a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, storing programming instructions executable by at least one processor. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Xiong et al. US (2018/0139014).
Xiong discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, storing programming instructions executable by at least one UE processor (see Figures 3-4) for receiving DMRS from a base station (see Figures 3-4 & Para’s [0061-0064], [0069-0072], [0077], & [0083-0084] i.e., DMRS in DL transmission, & [0155]).
(Xiong suggests the DMRS received by the UE from the base station is used for performing channel estimation and then perform data detection in order to properly receive the data, (see Para’s [0077-0078] & [0083-0085])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE as disclosed in LI to include the non-transitory computer readable storage medium, storing programming instructions executable by at least one UE processor as disclosed in Xiong who discloses a UE including the non-transitory computer readable storage medium for receiving DMRS from a base station, because the motivation lies in Xiong that the DMRS received by the UE from the base station is used for performing channel estimation and then perform data detection in order to properly receive the data.
Regarding Claim 36, LI discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 35, wherein the programming instructions executable by at least one processor to generate the at least two DMRSs based on M sequences that comprise the first sequence and the second sequence (see Para’s [0015] & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups), where M is a quantity of CDM groups that is greater than or equal to 2 (see Para [0054] i.e., CDM RE groups) and the CDM groups are associated with antenna ports of the terminal device for the at least two DMRSs, (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0015] & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups)
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. US (2010/0322178) in view of Hitachi Ltd. “DL DMRS Enhancement for CoMP”, and further in view of Takeda et al. US (2019/0165908).
Regarding Claims 3 and 10, LI discloses the method according to claims 1 and 8, but does not disclose wherein the method further comprises: the terminal device supports release switching of a DMRS, and DMRS’s of at least two versions of standard releases. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hitachi Ltd. “DL DMRS Enhancement for CoMP”.
Hitachi discloses a terminal device supports release switching of a DMRS, (see Pg.’s 3-4 section 3 i.e., Dynamic switching between Rel-10 DMRS and Rel-11 DMRS i.e., additions DCI bit is required for dynamic switching of DMRS sequence…SCID can be utilized for dynamic switching between Rel-10 DMRS sequence and Rel-11 DMRS sequence)
and DMRSs of at least two versions of standard releases (see Pg.’s 3-4 section 3 i.e., Dynamic switching between Rel-10 DMRS and Rel-11 DMRS i.e., additions DCI bit is required for dynamic switching of DMRS sequence…SCID can be utilized for dynamic switching between Rel-10 DMRS sequence and Rel-11 DMRS sequence).
(Hitachi suggests dynamic release switching of DMRS is used for increased scheduling flexibility between the UE and the network (see Pg. 3 i.e., section 3)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the terminal as disclosed in LI to support release switching of a DMRS as disclosed in Hitachi, because the motivation lies in Hitachi that dynamic release switching of DMRS is used for increased scheduling flexibility between the UE and the network.
While Hitachi discloses the terminal device supports release switching of a DMRS and DMRSs of at least two versions of standard releases (see Pg.’s 3-4 Section 3), LI in view of Hitachi does not disclose communicating capability information indicating that the terminal supports the release switching of a reference signal. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Takeda et al. US (2019/0165908).
Takeda discloses communicating capability information indicating that a terminal supports the switching of a reference signal which results in achieving a sufficient throughput between the terminal and the network (see Para’s [0012-0013] i.e., A user terminal includes a control section that controls the transmission/reception section to transmit capability information related to UL reference signal switching, [0040] & [0067]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the release switching of a DMRS and DMRSs of at least two versions of standard releases supported by the terminal as disclosed in the teachings of LI in view of Hitachi to be indicated using capability information based on the teachings of Takeda who discloses communicating capability information indicating that a terminal supports the switching of a reference signal which results in the capability information indicating that the terminal device supports release switching of a DMRS and DMRS’s of at least two versions of standard releases is supported, because the motivation lies in Takeda that communicating the capability information indicating that a terminal supports the switching of a reference signal results in achieving a sufficient throughput between the terminal and the network.
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. US (2010/0322178) in view of Bashar et al. US (2014/0302887).
Regarding Claim 4 and 11, LI discloses the method and apparatus according to claims 3 and 8, but does not disclose wherein the method further comprises: communicating indication information indicating a version of standard release of a DMRS. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Bashar et al. US (2014/0302887).
Bashar discloses wherein the method further comprises: communicating indication information indicating a version of standard release of a DMRS (see Para’s [0016] i.e., Alternatively, a single bit field can also be used to indicate the transmission of Rel-12 or Rel-10 DMRS pattern & [0019]).
(Bashar suggests by introducing the indicator field in RRC signaling, a semi static allocation is possible, with reduced overhead (see Para [0016])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the teachings of LI which generates and transmits a DMRS to the UE to include communicating indication information indicating a version of standard release of a DMRS as disclosed in Bashar, because the motivation lies in Bashar that by introducing the indicator field in RRC signaling, a semi static allocation is possible, with reduced overhead.
Claims 6, 13, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. US (2010/0322178) in view of Davydov et al. US (2018/0091277).
Regarding Claims 6, 13, and 28 LI discloses the method according to claims 5, 12, and 27 wherein the different OCCs comprise a first OCC and a second OCC, (see Fig. 5 & Para’s [0046-0047] i.e., each antenna port fixedly adopts one Walsh code…The mapping relations between Walsh codes (i.e., orthogonal cover code (OCCs)) and antenna ports may be determined by an index of a CDM RE group, [0049], & [0088])
wherein the first OCC corresponds to each frequency domain unit in a first CDM group of the different CDM groups (see Para’s [0010] i.e., an RS sequence of each antenna port is generated, then each element of each RS sequence is spread to obtain an spread RS sequence, where an spreading code may be a Walsh code, and RE mapping (i.e., “each frequency domain unit”) is performed for the spread RS sequence, [0041], [0046-0047], & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups) or one of two adjacent frequency domain units in a second CDM group of the different CDM groups,
and wherein the second OCC corresponds to each frequency domain unit in the second CDM group (see Para’s [0010] i.e., an RS sequence of each antenna port is generated, then each element of each RS sequence is spread to obtain an spread RS sequence, where an spreading code may be a Walsh code, and RE mapping (i.e., “each frequency domain unit”) is performed for the spread RS sequence, [0041], [0046-0047], & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups) or each frequency domain unit in the second CDM group other than the one of the two adjacent frequency domain units in the second CDM group corresponding to the first OCC.
Li does not disclose the claim features of the first OCC represented by a and the second OCC represented by -a, where a is a matrix. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Davydov et al. US (2018/0091277).
Davydov discloses a first OCC represented by a and a second OCC represented by -a (see Para’s [0049] i.e., pairs of subsequent antenna ports are multiplexed with OCCs {1,1} (i.e., “a”) and {1,-1} (i.e.,”-a”)),
where a is a matrix (see Para [0049] i.e. {1,1}, {1, -1})
(Davydov suggests the pair of OCCs are used to multiplex a pair of antenna ports can be varied to provide randomized interference from adjacent subcarriers resulting in improving performance for larger number of CSI-RS signals (see Para’s [0044] & [0049])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first OCC and the second OCC as disclosed in LI to each be represented by a and -a according to the pair of OCCs disclosed in Davydov who discloses a first OCC represented by a and a second OCC represented by -a, because the motivation lies in Davydov that the pair of OCCs are used to multiplex a pair of antenna ports can be varied to provide randomized interference from adjacent subcarriers resulting in improving performance for larger number of CSI-RS signals.
Claims 17, 25, 33, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. US (2010/0322178) in view of Xiong et al. US (2018/0139014) as applied to claims 15 and 23 above, further in view of Hitachi Ltd. “DL DMRS Enhancement for CoMP”, and further in view of Takeda et al. US (2019/0165908).
Regarding Claims 17, 25, 33, and 37 LI in view of Xiong discloses the method and processing apparatus and non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claims 15, 23, 31, and 35 but does not disclose wherein the method further comprises: the terminal device supports release switching of a DMRS, and DMRS’s of at least two versions of standard releases. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hitachi Ltd. “DL DMRS Enhancement for CoMP”.
Hitachi discloses a terminal device supports release switching of a DMRS, (see Pg.’s 3-4 section 3 i.e., Dynamic switching between Rel-10 DMRS and Rel-11 DMRS i.e., additions DCI bit is required for dynamic switching of DMRS sequence…SCID can be utilized for dynamic switching between Rel-10 DMRS sequence and Rel-11 DMRS sequence)
and DMRSs of at least two versions of standard releases (see Pg.’s 3-4 section 3 i.e., Dynamic switching between Rel-10 DMRS and Rel-11 DMRS i.e., additions DCI bit is required for dynamic switching of DMRS sequence…SCID can be utilized for dynamic switching between Rel-10 DMRS sequence and Rel-11 DMRS sequence).
(Hitachi suggests dynamic release switching of DMRS is used for increased scheduling flexibility between the UE and the network (see Pg. 3 i.e., section 3)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the terminal as disclosed in LI in view of Xiong to support release switching of a DMRS as disclosed in Hitachi, because the motivation lies in Hitachi that dynamic release switching of DMRS is used for increased scheduling flexibility between the UE and the network.
While Hitachi discloses the terminal device supports release switching of a DMRS and DMRSs of at least two versions of standard releases (see Pg.’s 3-4 Section 3), LI in view of Xiong, and further in view of Hitachi does not disclose communicating capability information indicating that the terminal supports the release switching of a reference signal. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Takeda et al. US (2019/0165908).
Takeda discloses communicating capability information indicating that a terminal supports the switching of a reference signal which results in achieving a sufficient throughput between the terminal and the network (see Para’s [0012-0013] i.e., A user terminal includes a control section that controls the transmission/reception section to transmit capability information related to UL reference signal switching, [0040] & [0067]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the release switching of a DMRS and DMRSs of at least two versions of standard releases supported by the terminal as disclosed in the teachings of LI in view of Xiong, and further in view of Hitachi to be indicated using capability information based on the teachings of Takeda who discloses communicating capability information indicating that a terminal supports the switching of a reference signal which results in the capability information indicating that the terminal device supports release switching of a DMRS and DMRS’s of at least two versions of standard releases is supported, because the motivation lies in Takeda that communicating the capability information indicating that a terminal supports the switching of a reference signal results in achieving a sufficient throughput between the terminal and the network.
Claims 18, 26, 34, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. US (2010/0322178) in view of in view of Xiong et al. US (2018/0139014), and further in view of Bashar et al. US (2014/0302887).
Regarding Claims 18, 26, 34, and 38 LI in view of Xiong discloses the processing apparatus and non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claims 15, 23, 31, and 35 but does not disclose communicating indication information indicating a version of standard release of a DMRS. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Bashar et al. US (2014/0302887).
Bashar discloses wherein the method further comprises: communicating indication information indicating a version of standard release of a DMRS (see Para’s [0016] i.e., Alternatively, a single bit field can also be used to indicate the transmission of Rel-12 or Rel-10 DMRS pattern & [0019]).
(Bashar suggests by introducing the indicator field in RRC signaling, a semi static allocation is possible, with reduced overhead (see Para [0016])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the teachings of LI in view of Xiong which generates and transmits a DMRS to the UE to include communicating indication information indicating a version of standard release of a DMRS as disclosed in Bashar, because the motivation lies in Bashar that by introducing the indicator field in RRC signaling, a semi static allocation is possible, with reduced overhead.
Claims 20 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. US (2010/0322178) in view of Xiong et al. US (2018/0139014), and further in view of Davydov et al. US (2018/0091277).
Regarding Claims 20 and 28 LI in view of Xiong discloses the processing apparatus according to claims 19 and 27 wherein the different OCCs comprise a first OCC and a second OCC, (LI, see Fig. 5 & Para’s [0046-0047] i.e., each antenna port fixedly adopts one Walsh code…The mapping relations between Walsh codes (i.e., orthogonal cover code (OCCs)) and antenna ports may be determined by an index of a CDM RE group, [0049], & [0088])
wherein the first OCC corresponds to each frequency domain unit in a first CDM group of the different CDM groups (LI, see Para’s [0010] i.e., an RS sequence of each antenna port is generated, then each element of each RS sequence is spread to obtain an spread RS sequence, where an spreading code may be a Walsh code, and RE mapping (i.e., “each frequency domain unit”) is performed for the spread RS sequence, [0041], [0046-0047], & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups) or one of two adjacent frequency domain units in a second CDM group of the different CDM groups,
and wherein the second OCC corresponds to each frequency domain unit in the second CDM group (LI, see Para’s [0010] i.e., an RS sequence of each antenna port is generated, then each element of each RS sequence is spread to obtain an spread RS sequence, where an spreading code may be a Walsh code, and RE mapping (i.e., “each frequency domain unit”) is performed for the spread RS sequence, [0041], [0046-0047], & [0054] i.e., two different scrambling codes can be used for RS sequences corresponding to antenna ports respectively belonging to two different CDM RE groups) or each frequency domain unit in the second CDM group other than the one of the two adjacent frequency domain units in the second CDM group corresponding to the first OCC.
Li in view of Xiong does not disclose the claim features of the first OCC represented by a and the second OCC represented by -a, where a is a matrix. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Davydov et al. US (2018/0091277).
Davydov discloses a first OCC represented by a and a second OCC represented by -a (see Para’s [0049] i.e., pairs of subsequent antenna ports are multiplexed with OCCs {1,1} (i.e., “a”) and {1,-1} (i.e.,”-a”)),
where a is a matrix (see Para [0049] i.e. {1,1}, {1, -1})
(Davydov suggests the pair of OCCs are used to multiplex a pair of antenna ports can be varied to provide randomized interference from adjacent subcarriers resulting in improving performance for larger number of CSI-RS signals (see Para’s [0044] & [0049])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first OCC and the second OCC as disclosed in Li in view of Xiong to each be represented by a and -a according to the pair of OCCs disclosed in Davydov who discloses a first OCC represented by a and a second OCC represented by -a, because the motivation lies in Davydov that the pair of OCCs are used to multiplex a pair of antenna ports can be varied to provide randomized interference from adjacent subcarriers resulting in improving performance for larger number of CSI-RS signals.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 14, 21, and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461