DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the configuration of preferred polar dimples wherein dimples within the subset of preferred polar dimples have centroids not coincident with spherical edges and preferred polar dimples having centroids coincident with a mirror symmetry plane, but the dimple pattern maintains at most second order rotational symmetry about any axis if the ball must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madson et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 2023/0050722, in view of Madson et al., U.S. Patent Application 2022/0161097. As to Claim 1, Madson, ‘722, teaches a golf ball having an outer surface comprising a plurality of dimples disposed thereon, that define a dimple pattern, paragraphs 0025 and 0026. The ball may be segmented into first and second hemispheres, paragraph 0026. Each hemisphere may be defined by a plurality of zones, see Figure 1, noting four zones in a hemisphere. Each hemisphere may be segmented into a plurality of spherical quadrilaterals, each having a distinct dimple configuration, paragraph 0128 and see drawing below. A hemisphere may include a subset of preferred polar dimples having identical dimple diameter, a respective centroid positioned longitudinally 90 degrees apart from each other, and a respective centroid positioned at a common latitude, paragraphs 0026, 0027, 0028, 0038, 0128, and see drawing below, noting side edge dimples (4 and 2) located above 30 degrees latitude, and having centroids positioned longitudinally 90 degrees apart. Madson, ‘722, discloses the claimed invention except for providing that the dimple pattern may have at most second order rotational symmetry about any axis of the ball. Madson, ‘097, teaches a golf ball having a dimple pattern based on hemispheres divided into four zones, paragraph 0028, noting tetrahedral layout. The dimple arrangement may comprise four identical sections, paragraph 0063 and see Figure 4. The arrangement results in a pattern which can be divided into hemispheres, each have four equally sized spherical triangles, with two pairs of like spherical triangles in each hemisphere, see Figure 5. Members of each pair may face each other across a pole of the ball with members of the other pair set between, suggesting a pattern having at most second order rotational symmetry about any axis of the ball, see drawing below. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the dimple pattern to have at most second order rotational symmetry about any axis of the ball, as suggested by Madson, ‘097, to provide Madson, ‘722, with a known substitute dimple arrangement characteristic.
As to Claims 2 and 3, Madson, ‘722, teaches that a non-polar dimple, having minimum diameter (# 1), located in the polar region, may have a latitude less than 20 degrees, paragraph 0073. Madson, ‘722, teaches that side edge dimples (#4) may be above the minimum diameter dimple, suggesting that the polar latitude angle may be no greater than 25 degrees (20 degrees), see Figure 4B. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange the preferred polar dimples as suggested. As to Claim 4, Madson, ‘722, is applied, as in Claims 2 and 3 with regard to the polar latitude angle being less than 20 degrees. Madson, ‘722, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for specifying that the polar angle may be no greater than 10 degrees. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange the preferred polar dimples so as to provide a polar latitude angle no greater than 10 degrees, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). As to Claim 5, Madson, ‘722, teaches dimples in the polar region (polar latitude angle no greater than 30 degrees) may include two side edge dimples (#4) and two side edge dimples (#2), which exhibit the claimed characteristics of preferred polar dimples, as discussed above. The examiner finds that the four dimples may be considered to be the subset of preferred polar dimples, having centroids coincident with a spherical edge defined between adjacent zones. As to Claim 8, Madson, ‘722, teaches a polar dimple (#2) having a centroid coincident with a polar axis of the ball, paragraph 0127. As to Claim 9, Madson, ‘722 teaches that the dimple pattern may lack any dimple having a centroid coincident with a polar axis, paragraph 0082. As to Claim 10, Madson, ‘722, discloses the claimed invention except for providing that the diameter of dimples of the subset of preferred polar dimples may have a minimum diameter among the plurality of dimples. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to exchange the positions of the dimples #1 and #2 in the polar region, as depicted in Figure 4B, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). As to Claims 11 and 12, Madson, ‘722, teaches that a polar dimple (#1) may be disposed closer to a pole of a first hemisphere than dimples of the subset of preferred polar dimples (#2), see Figure 4B. Madson, ‘722, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for providing that the polar dimple may not have a minimum dimple diameter among the plurality of dimples and may be larger than the dimples of the subset of preferred polar dimples. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to size the polar dimple to be larger than a minimum dimple diameter and larger than the subset of preferred polar dimples, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). As to Claim 13, Madson, ‘722, as modified, teaches two pairs of spherical triangular zones comprising hemispheres of a dimple pattern. A spherical triangular zone may be me segmented into quadrilaterals, as demonstrated in the drawing above. In addition, a line may be formed dividing the lower quadrilateral in two between a left quadrilateral and a right quadrilateral, the line being vertical and passing through the centroid of the middle #4 dimple. As to Claim 14, the examiner finds that the upper quadrilateral may be considered to be a first quadrilateral and the lower quadrilaterals may be considered to be second quadrilaterals. The first and second quadrilaterals may have distinct dimple configurations, see drawing above. A mirror symmetry plane may be considered to be represented by a vertical line descending through the center of each quadrilateral, to establish mirror symmetry of the first quadrilateral and given that the horizontal dividing line may be considered to represent two sides meeting at a relatively large obtuse angle, the second quadrilaterals may be considered to have mirror symmetry except for the negligible difference at the obtuse angle and the split #5 dimple on the lower row. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange the dimples of the second quadrilaterals to exhibit mirror symmetry, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, In re Japikse, supra. Madson, ‘722, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for providing that third and fourth quadrilaterals may be similarly arranged. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide duplicate third and fourth quadrilaterals, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. As to Claim 15, Madson, ‘722, as modified, is applied as in Claim 1, with the same obviousness rationale being found applicable. Further, Madson, ‘722, teaches that each hemisphere may be defined by four zones, as noted above, being a first quantity of zones. A second quantity of preferred polar dimples, noting four, as discussed above may be identical to the first quantity. As to Claim 16, Madson, ‘722, is applied as in Claim 1. As to Claims 17 and 18, The first quantity and the second quantity may be at least three, noting four, as discussed above. As to Claim 19, Madson, ‘722, as modified, together with cited case law, is applied as in Claim 13, with the same obviousness rationale being found applicable. As to Claim 20, Madson, ‘722, as modified, together with cited case law, is applied as in Claim 14, with the same obviousness rationale being found applicable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOHN E SIMMS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711 2 December 2025