DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-15, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burger WO 9735458.
Regarding claim 1, Burger WO 9735458 discloses a rail mounting backplane kit comprising:
a backplane assembly (12 in Fig. 5);
a first mating structure (13/17/15 in Fig. 1, 3 and 4) formed on the backplane assembly (12),
the first mating structure (13/17/15) comprising a plurality of first mating features (13/17/15),
each of the plurality of first mating features (features of 13/17/15 in Fig. 1, 3 and 5) being
a first protruding mating feature (protrusions 13 in Fig. 5 and protrusion 17 in Fig. 3),
a first flat mating feature (15 in Fig. 1 and 5) or
a first recessed mating feature (recess of 13 as depicted in Fig. 2-3),
the first mating structure (13/17/15) being configured to cooperate with a first cooperating structure (14/18/16 in Fig. 4; of a second module 12 not shown see last paragraph of the third page of the PDF) of a first cooperating backplane kit (kit of second module 12 not shown see last paragraph of the third page of the PDF) for allowing or preventing an assembly of the backplane assembly (12) and a first cooperating backplane assembly (second module 12 not shown last paragraph of pg. 3) of the first cooperating backplane kit (kit of second module 12); and
a second cooperating structure (14/18/16 in Fig. 4) formed on the backplane assembly (12),
the second cooperating structure (14/18/16) comprising a plurality of second cooperating features (features of 14/18/16 in Fig. 4 and 6),
each of the plurality of second cooperating features (features of 14/18/16) being
a second protruding cooperating feature (protruding feature of 14 in Fig. 4 and 6),
a second flat cooperating feature (flat surfaces of 14 and 16 in Fig. 4 and 6) or
a second recessed cooperating feature (recess of 14 and 18 in Fig. 4 and 6),
the second cooperating structure (14/18/16) being configured to cooperate with a second mating structure (13/17/15 of a third module 12 not shown see last paragraph of the third page of the PDF) of a second cooperating backplane kit (kit of third module 12 not shown see last paragraph of the third page of the PDF) for allowing or preventing an assembly of the backplane assembly (12) and a second cooperating backplane assembly (third module 12 not shown see last paragraph of the third page of the PDF) of the second cooperating backplane kit (kit of third module 12).
Regarding claim 2, Burger discloses the rail mounting backplane kit of claim 1, wherein the plurality of first mating features (protrusions of 13) are arranged in a matrix, and the plurality of second cooperating features (recesses of 14) are arranged in a matrix (as depicted in fig. 1, 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 3, Burger discloses the rail mounting backplane kit of claim 1, wherein
when one of the plurality of first mating features (features of 13/17/15) and a corresponding one of a plurality of first cooperating features (features of 14/18/16 in Fig. 4; of a second module 12) of the first cooperating structure (14/18/16 in Fig. 4; of a second module 12) are
the first protruding mating feature (protrusion of 13) and
a first recessed cooperating feature (recess of 14 in Fig. 6), respectively,
the first protruding mating feature (protrusion of 13) is configured to stretch into the first recessed cooperating feature (recess of 14) for allowing the assembly of the backplane assembly (12) of the rail mounting backplane kit (kit of 12) and the first cooperating backplane assembly (second module of 12) of the first cooperating backplane kit (kit of second module of 12).
Regarding claim 4, Burger discloses the rail mounting backplane kit of claim 1, wherein
when one of the plurality of first mating features (features of 13/17/15) and a corresponding one of a plurality of first cooperating features (features of 14/18/16 in Fig. 4; of a second module 12) of the first cooperating structure (14/18/16) are
the first protruding mating feature (protrusion of 13) and
one of a first protruding cooperating feature (protrusion of 14) and a first flat cooperating feature (flat surfaces of 14 and 16), respectively,
the first protruding mating feature (protrusion of 13) is configured to abut against the first protruding cooperating feature (protrusion of 14) or the first flat cooperating feature (flat surface of 14 and 16) for preventing the assembly of the backplane assembly (12) of the rail mounting backplane kit (kit of 12) and the first cooperating backplane assembly (second module of 12) of the first cooperating backplane kit (kit of second module of 12).
Regarding claim 5, Burger discloses the rail mounting backplane kit of claim 1, wherein
when one of the plurality of second cooperating features (features of 14/18/16) and a corresponding one of a plurality of second mating features (features of 13/17/15 of a third module 12) of the second mating structure (13/17/15 of the third module 12) are
the second protruding cooperating feature (protrusion of 14) and
a second recessed mating feature (13 of the third module), respectively,
the second protruding cooperating feature (protrusion of 14) is configured to stretch into the second recessed mating feature (13 of the third module 12) for allowing the assembly of the backplane assembly (12) of the rail mounting backplane kit (kit of 12) and the second cooperating backplane assembly (third module 12) of the second cooperating backplane kit (kit of third module 12).
Regarding claim 6, Burger discloses the rail mounting backplane kit of claim 1, wherein
when one of the plurality of second cooperating features (features of 14/18/16) and a corresponding one of a plurality of second mating features (features of 13/17/15 of a third module 12) of the second mating structure (13/17/15 of the third module 12) are
the second protruding cooperating feature (protrusion of 14) and
one of a second protruding mating feature (17 of the third module 12) and a second flat mating feature (15 of the third module 12), respectively,
the second protruding cooperating feature (protrusion of 14) is configured to abut against the second protruding mating feature (17 of the third module 12) or the second flat mating feature (15 of the third module 12) for preventing the assembly of the backplane assembly (12) of the rail mounting backplane kit (kit of 12) and the second cooperating backplane assembly (third module 12) of the second cooperating backplane kit (kit of the third module 12).
Regarding claim 7, Burger WO 9735458 discloses a rail mounting electronic device comprising:
a first module (12);
a second module (second 12 not shown see last paragraph of the third page of the PDF) detachably assembled with the first module (12); and
a first mating module (13/17/15 in Fig. 1, 3 and 4) disposed between the first module (12) and the second module (second 12),
the first mating module (module of 13/17/15 of second 12) comprising:
a first mating structure (13/17/15 of second 12) formed on the second module (second 12),
the first mating structure (13/17/15 of second 12) comprising a plurality of first mating features (features of 13/17/15 of second 12 in Fig. 1, 3 and 4),
each of the plurality of first mating features (features of 13/17/15 of second 12) being a first protruding mating feature (protrusions 13 in Fig. 5 and protrusion 17 in Fig. 3 of second 12),
a first flat mating feature (15 of second 12 in Fig. 1 and 5) or a first recessed mating feature (recess of 13 of second 12 as depicted in Fig. 2-3); and
a first cooperating structure (14/18/16 in Fig. 4) formed on the first module (12),
the first cooperating structure (14/18/16) comprising
a plurality of first cooperating features (features of 14/18/16 in Fig. 4),
each of the plurality of first cooperating features (features of 14/18/16) being a first protruding cooperating feature (protruding feature of 14 in Fig. 4 and 6),
a first flat cooperating feature (flat surfaces of 14 and 16 in Fig. 4 and 6) or a first recessed cooperating feature (recess of 14 and 18 in Fig. 4 and 6);
wherein
when one of the plurality of first mating features (features of 13/17/15 of second 12) is the first protruding mating feature (protrusions 13/protrusion 17 of second 12),
a corresponding one of the plurality of first cooperating features (features of 14/18/16) is the first recessed cooperating feature (recess of 14/18);
wherein
when one of the plurality of first mating features (features of 13/17/15 of second 12) is the first flat mating feature (15/flat end of 17 of second 12),
a corresponding one of the plurality of first cooperating features (features of 14/18/16) is the first flat cooperating feature (flat surfaces of 16) or the first recessed cooperating feature (recess of 18);
wherein
when one of the plurality of first mating features (features of 13/17/15 of second 12) is the first recessed mating feature (recess of 13 of second 12),
a corresponding one of the plurality of first cooperating features (features of 14/18/16) is the first protruding cooperating feature (protruding feature of 14),
the first flat cooperating feature (flat surfaces of 14 and 16) or the first recessed cooperating feature (recess of 14).
Regarding claim 8, Burger discloses the rail mounting electronic device of claim 7, wherein the plurality of first mating features (features of 13/17/15 of second 12) are arranged in a matrix (as depicted in Fig. 1-3), and the plurality of first cooperating features (features of 14/18/16) are arranged in a matrix (as depicted in Fig. 4 and 6).
Regarding claim 9, Burger discloses the rail mounting electronic device of claim 7, further comprising:
a third module (third 12 not shown see last paragraph of the third page of the PDF) detachably assembled with the second module (second 12); and
a second mating module (module of 13/17/15 of third 12 in Fig. 1, 3 and 4) disposed between the second module and the third module (third 12),
the second mating module (module of 13/17/15 of third 12) comprising:
a second mating structure (13/17/15 of third 12 in Fig. 1, 3 and 4) formed on the third module (third 12),
the second mating structure (13/17/15 of third 12) comprising a plurality of second mating features (features of 13/17/15 of third 12 in Fig. 1, 3 and 4), each of the plurality of second mating features (features of 13/17/15 of third 12) being a second protruding mating feature (protrusions 13 in Fig. 5 and protrusion 17 in Fig. 3 of third 12),
a second flat mating feature (15 of third 12 in Fig. 1 and 5) or a second recessed mating feature (recess of 13 of third 12 as depicted in Fig. 2-3); and
a second cooperating structure (14/18/16 of second 12 in Fig. 4) formed on the second module (second 12), the second cooperating structure (14/18/16 of second 12) comprising a plurality of second cooperating features (features of 14/18/16 of second 12 in Fig. 4),
each of the plurality of second cooperating features (features of 14/18/16 of second 12) being a second protruding cooperating feature (protruding feature of 14 of second 12 in Fig. 4 and 6), a second flat cooperating feature (flat surfaces of 14 and 16 of second 12 in Fig. 4 and 6) or a second recessed cooperating feature (recess of 14 and 18 of second 12 in Fig. 4 and 6);
wherein when one of the plurality of second mating features (features of 13/17/15 of third 12) is the second protruding mating feature (protrusions 13/protrusion 17 of third 12), a corresponding one of the plurality of second cooperating features (features of 14/18/16 of second 12) is the second recessed cooperating feature (recess of 14 and 18 of second 12);
wherein when one of the plurality of second mating features (features of 13/17/15 of third 12) is the second flat mating feature (15/flat surface of 17 of third 12), a corresponding one of the plurality of second cooperating features (features of 14/18/16 of second 12) is the second flat cooperating feature (flat surface of 16 of second 12) or the second recessed cooperating feature (recess of 18 of second 12);
wherein when one of the plurality of second mating features (features of 13/17/15 of third 12) is the second recessed mating feature (recess of 13 of third 12), a corresponding one of the plurality of second cooperating features (features of 14/18/16 of second 12) is the second protruding cooperating feature (protruding feature of 14 of second 12), the second flat cooperating feature (flat surface of 14 of second 12) or the second recessed cooperating feature (recess of 14 of second 12).
Regarding claim 10, Burger discloses the rail mounting electronic device of claim 9, wherein when one of the plurality of second mating features (features of 13/17/15 of third 12) is the second protruding mating feature (protrusions 13/protrusion 17 of third 12),
a corresponding one of the plurality of first cooperating features (features of 14/18/16) is the first flat cooperating feature (flat surfaces of 14) or the first protruding cooperating feature (protruding feature of 14).
Regarding claim 12, Burger discloses the rail mounting electronic device of claim 9, wherein the plurality of first mating features (features of 13/17/15 of second 12) are arranged in a matrix (matrix of 1 column and at least two rows as depicted in Fig. 1-3),
the plurality of second mating features (features of 13/17/15 of third 12) are arranged in a matrix (matrix of 1 column and at least two rows as depicted in Fig. 1-3),
the plurality of first cooperating features (features of 14/18/16) are arranged in a matrix (matrix of 1 column and at least two rows as depicted in Fig. 4 and 6), and
the plurality of second cooperating features (features of 14/18/16 of second 12) are arranged in a matrix (matrix of 1 column and at least two rows as depicted in Fig. 4 and 6).
Regarding claim 13, Burger discloses the rail mounting electronic device of claim 9, further comprising:
a fourth module (fourth 12 not shown see last paragraph of the third page of the PDF) detachably assembled with the third module (third 12); and
a third mating module (module of 13/17/15 of fourth 12 in Fig. 1, 3 and 4) disposed between the third module (third 12) and the fourth module (fourth 12), the third mating module (module of 13/17/15 of fourth 12) comprising:
a third mating structure (13/17/15 of fourth 12 in Fig. 1-3) formed on the fourth module (fourth 12), the third mating structure (13/17/15 of fourth 12) comprising a plurality of third mating features (features of 13/17/15 of fourth 12 in Fig. 1-3),
each of the plurality of third mating features (features of 13/17/15 of fourth 12) being a third protruding mating feature (protrusions 13 in Fig. 5 and protrusion 17 in Fig. 3 of fourth 12), a third flat mating feature (15 of fourth 12 in Fig. 1 and 5) or a third recessed mating feature (recess of 13 of fourth 12 as depicted in Fig. 2-3); and
a third cooperating structure (14/18/16 of third 12 in Fig. 4) formed on the third module (third 12), the third cooperating structure (14/18/16 of third 12) comprising a plurality of third cooperating features (features of 14/18/16 of third 12 in Fig. 4),
each of the plurality of third cooperating features (features of 14/18/16 of third 12) being a third protruding cooperating feature (protruding feature of 14 of third 12 in Fig. 4 and 6), a third flat cooperating feature (flat surfaces of 14 and 16 of third 12 in Fig. 4 and 6) or a third recessed cooperating feature (recess of 14 and 18 of third 12 in Fig. 4 and 6);
wherein when one of the plurality of third mating features (features of 13/17/15 of fourth 12) is the third protruding mating feature (protrusions 13/protrusion 17 of fourth 12), a corresponding one of the plurality of third cooperating features (features of 14/18/16 of third 12) is the third recessed cooperating feature (recess of 14 and 18 of third 12);
wherein when one of the plurality of third mating features (features of 13/17/15 of fourth 12) is the third flat mating feature (15 of fourth 12), a corresponding one of the plurality of third cooperating features (features of 14/18/16 of third 12) is the third flat cooperating feature (16 of third 12);
wherein when one of the plurality of third mating features (features of 13/17/15 of fourth 12) is the third recessed mating feature (recess of 13 of fourth 12), a corresponding one of the plurality of third cooperating features (features of 14/18/16 of third 12) is the third protruding cooperating feature (protruding feature of 14 of third 12).
Regarding claim 14, Burger discloses the rail mounting electronic device of claim 13, wherein when one of the plurality of second mating features (features of 13/17/15 of third 12) is the second protruding mating feature (protrusions 13 of third 12),
a corresponding one of the plurality of first cooperating features (features of 14/18/16) is the first flat cooperating feature (flat surfaces of 14) or the first protruding cooperating feature (protruding feature of 14).
Regarding claim 15, Burger discloses the rail mounting electronic device of claim 14, wherein when one of the plurality of third mating features (features of 13/17/15 of fourth 12) is the third protruding mating feature (protrusions 13 of fourth 12),
a corresponding one of the plurality of first cooperating features (features of 14/18/16) is the first flat cooperating feature (flat surfaces of 14) or the first protruding cooperating feature (protruding feature of 14), and
a corresponding one of the plurality of second cooperating features (features of 14/18/16 of second 12) is the second recessed cooperating feature (recess of 14 of second 12).
Regarding claim 17, Burger discloses the rail mounting electronic device of claim 13, wherein when one of the plurality of second mating features (features of 13/17/15 of third 12) is the second protruding mating feature (protrusions 13/protrusion 17 of third 12),
a corresponding one of the plurality of first cooperating features (features of 14/18/16) is the first recessed cooperating feature (recess of 14 and 18).
Regarding claim 18, Burger discloses the rail mounting electronic device of claim 17, wherein when one of the plurality of third mating features (features of 13/17/15 of fourth 12) is the third protruding mating feature (protrusions 13 of fourth 12),
a corresponding one of the plurality of first cooperating feature (features of 14/18/16) is the first flat cooperating feature (flat surfaces of 14) or the first protruding cooperating feature (protruding feature of 14), and
a corresponding one of the plurality of second cooperating feature (features of 14/18/16 of second 12) is the second flat cooperating feature (flat surfaces of 14 of second 12) or the second protruding cooperating feature (protruding feature of 14 of second 12).
Regarding claim 20, Burger discloses the rail mounting electronic device of claim 13, wherein the plurality of first mating features (features of 13/17/15) are arranged in a matrix (matrix of 1 column and at least two rows as depicted in Fig. 1-3),
the plurality of second mating features (features of 13/17/15 of third 12) are arranged in a matrix (matrix of 1 column and at least two rows as depicted in Fig. 1-3),
the plurality of third mating features (features of 13/17/15 of fourth 12) are arranged in a matrix (matrix of 1 column and at least two rows as depicted in Fig. 1-3),
the plurality of first cooperating features (features of 14/18/16) are arranged in a matrix (matrix of 1 column and at least two rows as depicted in Fig. 4 and 6),
the plurality of second cooperating features (features of 14/18/16 of second 12) are arranged in a matrix (matrix of 1 column and at least two rows as depicted in Fig. 4 and 6), and
the plurality of third cooperating features (features of 14/18/16 of third 12) are arranged in a matrix (matrix of 1 column and at least two rows as depicted in Fig. 4 and 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burger as applied to claims 10, 15 and 18 above, and further in view of Wieloch US 6456495.
Regarding claim 11, Burger discloses the rail mounting electronic device of claim 10.
Burger does not explicitly disclose wherein the first module, the second module and the third module are a power supply module, a computing module and a signal input/output module, respectively.
However, Wieloch US 6456495 (Fig. 1) discloses a first module (8), a second module (10) and a third module (12) are a power supply module (8 see col. 2 ln. 44-45), a computing module (10 see abstract and col. 2 Ln. 49-50) and a signal input/output module (12 see col. 2 Ln. 49-50), respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the first module (12), the second module (second 12) and the third module of Burger be a power supply module, a computing module and a signal input/output module, respectively, as taught by Wieloch, in order to provide power and logic controller backplane assembly.
Regarding claim 16, Burger discloses the rail mounting electronic device of claim 15.
Burger does not explicitly disclose wherein the first module, the second module and the third module and the fourth module are a power supply module, a computing module, a signal input/output module and an additional signal input/output module, respectively.
However, Wieloch US 6456495 (Fig. 1) discloses a first module (8), a second module (10) and a third module (12) and a fourth module (14) are a power supply module (8 see col. 2 ln. 44-45), a computing module (10 see abstract and col. 2 Ln. 49-50), a signal input/output module (12 see col. 2 Ln. 49-50) and an additional signal input/output module (14 see col. 2 Ln. 49-50), respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the first module, the second module, the third module and the fourth module of Burger be a power supply module, a computing module, a signal input/output module and an additional signal input/output module, respectively, as taught by Wieloch, in order to provide power and logic controller backplane assembly.
Regarding claim 19, Burger discloses the rail mounting electronic device of claim 18.
Burger does not explicitly disclose wherein the first module, the second module, the third module and the fourth module are a power supply module, a signal switch module, a computing module and a signal input/output module, respectively.
However, Wieloch US 6456495 (Fig. 1) discloses a first module (8), a second module (10) and a third module (12) and a fourth module (14) are a power supply module (8 see col. 2 ln. 44-45), a signal switch (10 see abstract and col. 2 Ln. 49-50), a computing module (12 see abstract and col. 2 Ln. 49-50) and a signal input/output module (14 see col. 2 Ln. 49-50), respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the first module, the second module, the third module and the fourth module of Burger be a power supply module, a signal switch, a computing module, and a signal input/output module, respectively, as taught by Wieloch, in order to provide power and logic controller backplane assembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lostoski US 20200107464 Fig. 1, 5-7 discloses modular backplane module with male and female connectors C1 and C2 that respectively have protrusions and recesses that anticipate the independent claims.
Yoshida US 20150349452 Fig. 2-3; Molnar US 9483928 Fig. 2-3; Carolis US 20090244815 Fig. 2; Sichner US 7021974 Fig. 1-3 disclose modular modules connected via male and female connectors.
/CHRISTOPHER L AUGUSTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841