DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 (AIA )
Claim(s) 1, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by:
KIM (US 2006/0030664).
KIM ‘664 disclose molded electronic components (e.g., enclosures for electrical equipment, automative engine parts, electrical connectors, electrical motor parts, etc.) formed from a flame retardant polyester molding composition comprising:
(a) a polyester (corresponding to the recited “resin material”);
(b) a polycarbonate;
(c) an impact modifier;
(d) titanium dioxide (corresponding to the recited “inorganic flame-retardant aid contains at least one element selected from Group IV elements”);
(e) a flame retarding amount of a halogenated flame retardant (e.g., tetrabromobisphenol A polycarbonate oligomer; polybromophenyl ether; brominated polystyrene; brominated imides; brominated polycarbonate; etc.) (corresponding to the “recited brominated flame retardant”).
(entire document, e.g., paragraph 0012, 0019-0033, 0045-0046, 0074-0077, 0092, etc. ; Table 1, etc.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (AIA )
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
• KIM (US 2006/0030664).
Claims 1, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIM (US 2006/0030664) as stated above. However, in the event the claims are not anticipated, the claims are obvious for the following reasons:
KIM ‘664 disclose molded electronic components (e.g., enclosures for electrical equipment, automative engine parts, electrical connectors, electrical motor parts, etc.) formed from a flame retardant polyester molding composition comprising:
(a) a polyester (corresponding to the recited “resin material”);
(b) a polycarbonate;
(c) an impact modifier;
(d) titanium dioxide (corresponding to the recited “inorganic flame-retardant aid contains at least one element selected from Group IV elements”);
(e) a flame retarding amount of a halogenated flame retardant (e.g., tetrabromobisphenol A polycarbonate oligomer; polybromophenyl ether; brominated polystyrene; brominated imides; brominated polycarbonate; etc.) (corresponding to the “recited brominated flame retardant”).
(entire document, e.g., 0012, 0019-0033, 0045-0046, 0074-0077, 0092, etc. ; Table 1, etc.)
Regarding claims 1, 3-5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use flame retardant polyester molding compositions of KIM ‘664 to form known molded electronic components (e.g., enclosures for electrical equipment, automative engine parts, electrical connectors, electrical motor parts, etc.)
Regarding claim 2, one of ordinary skill in the art would have used flame retardant polyester molding compositions of KIM ‘664 to form known molded components (e.g., bases, housings, etc.) containing electronic components (e.g., electrical contacts, coils, etc.).
Regarding 6-11, one of ordinary skill in the art would have minimized the thickness of molded electronic parts formed from the flame retardant polyester molding compositions of KIM ‘664 in order to produce smaller components (e.g., relays, switches, etc.) and/or to reduce weight.
Claim(s) 2-4, 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
• KIM (US 2006/0030664),
as applied to claims 1-11 above,
and further in view of SAIKI ET AL (US 5,814,696).
SAIKI ET AL ‘696 discloses that it is well known in the art to form thin molded articles (e.g., relay components, such as a relay contact, a base for fixing electromagnetic coils, a relay card, a relay case for housing an entire relay, relay body, etc.) from bromine-containing flame retardant polyester resin molding compositions, wherein an illustrative example of a thin molded article has a thickness of 0.5 mm (e.g., for a relay case). The reference further discloses that it is well known in the art to incorporate metal oxide fillers (e.g., titanium oxide, zircon oxide, lead oxide) (alternatively corresponding to the recited “inorganic flame-retardant aid contains at least one element selected from Group IV elements”) in bromine-containing flame retardant polyester resin molding compositions in order to modify electrical or thermal characteristics. (line 25-31, col. 3; line 57, col. 5 to line 15, col. 6; line 22-36, col. 8; line 32-50, col. 10; etc.)
Regarding claims 2-4, 6-11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use flame retardant polyester molding compositions of KIM ‘664 to form known thin (e.g., 0.5 mm or less) molded components (e.g., relay components, such as a relay contact, a base for fixing electromagnetic coils, a relay card, a relay case for housing an entire relay, relay body, etc.) containing electronic components (e.g., electrical contacts, coils, etc.) as suggested in SAIKI ET AL ‘696.
Further regarding 6-11, one of ordinary skill in the art would have minimized the thickness of molded electronic parts formed from the flame retardant polyester molding compositions of KIM ‘664 in order to produce smaller components (e.g., relays, switches, etc.) and/or to reduce weight.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
HEPP (US 4,636,544) disclose flame retardant polyester compositions containing brominated flame retardants and titanium oxide.
HE ET AL (US 2023/0323087) and HIRSCHSOHN ET AL (US 2019/0249004) disclose flame retardant polyester compositions containing brominated flame retardants and other flame retardants for molding electronic components
GAUDINAT (US 2023/0290596) disclose titanium-based flame synergists.
YAMAMOTO ET AL (US 2016/0304712) disclose thin-walled molded relay cases.
NAKANISHI ET AL (US 5,440,285) and BRANDON (US 5,038,123) disclose electrical relays with housings
BAUER ET AL (US 2005/0143503) and BAUER ET AL (US 2005/0272839) disclose phosphorus-based flame retardants comprising titanium or zirconium.
OSAMU ET AL (US 2004/0176511) and YAMAMOTO ET AL (US 2014/0336326) disclose thin-walled flame-retardant polyester molded articles.
The General Information telephone number for Technology Center 1700 is (571) 272-1700.
July 25, 2026
/VIVIAN CHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787