DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, PCT/IL2019/051416 and PCT/IL2021/050217 and US app No. 17/353,867 fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Specifically the recited application fails to provide an enabling disclosure or any disclosure for the entire scope of the limitations of dependent claims 7-8, 20 and 26.
Therefore, the recited Applications PCT/IL2019/051416 and PCT/IL2021/050217 and US app No. 17/353,867 do not provide an enabling disclosure of the entire scope of the subject matter of claims 7-8, 20 and 26 and as such these claims are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
As recited in MPEP 201.11:Any claim in a continuation-in-part application which is directed solely to subject matter adequately disclosed under 35 U.S.C. 112 in the parent nonprovisional application is entitled to the benefit of the filing date of the parent nonprovisional application. However, if a claim in a continuation-in-part application recites a feature which was not disclosed or adequately supported by a proper disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 112 in the parent nonprovisional application, but which was first introduced or adequately supported in the continuation-in-part application, such a claim is entitled only to the filing date of the continuation-in-part application; In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292, 36 USPQ2d 1089 (Fed. Cir. 1995); Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994); In re Van Lagenhoven, 458 F.2d 132, 136, 173 USPQ 426, 429 (CCPA 1972); and Chromalloy American Corp. v. Alloy Surfaces Co., Inc., 339 F. Supp. 859, 874, 173 USPQ 295, 306 (D. Del. 1972).
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 12-20, 22-25 and new claim 26 are presently under consideration as set forth in applicant’s response filed 03 February 2026. Claims 2, 6, 9-11, and 21 are cancelled by applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the prior art rejections of record of Bullen (US 2018/0244160), in view of Albalak et al (WO 2020/136653 A1) except for the rejections of claims 7-8, and 20 as these claims are not entitled to the priority benefit as recited above.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(d) rejection of record, and this rejection is thus withdrawn.
Upon further search and consideration of applicant’s newly amended claims, new prior art was uncovered and the further prior art rejections of record are updated in view of applicant’s amendments to the claims to show where the limitations are taught, or are otherwise maintained.
Applicant’s arguments and remarks where applicable are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 12-13, 18-20, 22, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bullen (US 2018/0244160) in further view of LI et al (CN 106541837A, reference made to attached English machine translation), and further in view of Masuda et al (US 2014/0305504) and in further view of CHU et al (US 2017/0365755).
Regarding claim 1 Bullen discloses an article comprising:
a vehicular component, that is configured to be a part of a vehicle (Abstract, Figs. 1A-1B see: exterior car parts, e.g., roof, doors, hood, trunk);
wherein the vehicular component has an outwardly-facing non-planar surface, which has embedded therein a plurality of electrically inter-connected generally-flexible solar cells (Abstract, [0072], [0083], [0089] Figs. 1A-1B, 2F see: exterior of the solar car is comprised of smoothly curved and continuous photovoltaic cells. The exterior car parts, e.g., roof, doors, hood, trunk and so forth, may include integrated photovoltaic cells, all manufactured in the shape of the corresponding car parts, where the cells are electrically interconnected and flexible thin films such as CIGS or CdTe);
wherein the electrically inter-connected generally-flexible solar cells that are embedded within said vehicular component, generate electricity from light and provide electricity to said vehicle ([0083], [0088], [0090], see: electricity from the solar cells (solar car panels) can go to charge a vehicle battery).
Furthermore, the claim 1 recitation wherein at least one of said generally-flexible solar cells is “flexible and rollable and is non-brittle prior to its embedding into said vehicular component, and maintains most of its capability to convert light into electricity even upon flexing or rolling of its structure” is directed to an intended use of the recited solar cells.
A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Bullen in para [0072] teaches the photovoltaic element 280 is flexible thin films such as CIGS or CdTe which are thus considered fully capable of flexing and rolling and are non-brittle prior to embedding into said vehicular component, and maintain most of their capability to convert light into electricity even upon flexing or rolling of their structure.
Additionally, the claim 1 recitation wherein the at least one of said generally-flexible solar cells, continues to have at least some flexing and curving capability and continues to remain functional and non-brittle, upon and subsequent to its embedding into said vehicular component is directed to an intended use of the recited solar cells.
A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Bullen in para [0072] teaches the photovoltaic element 280 is flexible thin films such as CIGS or CdTe which are thus considered fully capable of having at least some flexing and curving capability and continuing to remain functional and non-brittle, upon and subsequent to embedding into said vehicular component.
Bullen does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one of said generally-flexible solar cells, comprises a semiconductor wafer that is trenched or grooved by non-transcending craters, that penetrate into between 51 to 99 percent of an entire thickness of said semiconductor wafer; wherein said non-transcending craters provide mechanical resilience and flexing capability to said solar cell, and absorb and dissipate mechanical forces that are applied to said solar cell.
LI further teaches flexible solar panels for vehicles that are rollable and have flexing and curving capability formed from crystalline silicon (LI, see Abstract and page 3 of translation, Figs. 1-2 see: flexible solar panel 8 is single crystal silicon solar battery).
Masuda further teaches generally-flexible solar cells ([0044], Fig. 9 see: solar cell 10 provided with flexibility from grooves (7)) comprises a semiconductor wafer ([0027] Fig. 2 see: power generating layer 1 formed from n-type monocrystalline semiconductor substrate of Si) that is trenched or grooved by non-transcending craters, that penetrate into between 51 to 99 percent of an entire thickness of said semiconductor wafer ([0029], Fig. 2 see: grooves 7 with a depth t of about 100 µm in a 150 µm thick power generation layer 1); wherein said non-transcending craters provide mechanical resilience and flexing capability to said solar cell, and absorb and dissipate mechanical forces that are applied to said solar cell (para [0044] and Fig. 9 see: grooves 7 allowing deformation and thus providing flexibility and mechanical resilience). Masuda teaches this better allows the solar cells to conform to vehicle surfaces where they are mounted (para [0044]).
LI, Masuda, and Bullen are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Bullen such that at least one of the solar cells of Bullen is a generally-flexible solar cell as in Masuda ([0044], Fig. 9 see: solar cell 10 provided with flexibility from grooves (7)) comprises a semiconductor wafer ([0027] Fig. 2 see: power generating layer 1 formed from n-type monocrystalline semiconductor substrate of Si) that is trenched or grooved by non-transcending craters, that penetrate into between 51 to 99 percent of an entire thickness of said semiconductor wafer as in Masuda ([0029], Fig. 2 see: grooves 7 with a depth t of about 100 µm in a 150 µm thick power generation layer 1) wherein said non-transcending craters provide mechanical resilience and flexing capability to said solar cell, and absorb and dissipate mechanical forces that are applied to said solar cell as in Masuda (para [0044] and Fig. 9 see: grooves 7 allowing deformation and thus providing flexibility and mechanical resilience) as LI teaches flexible solar panels for vehicles that are rollable and have flexing and curving capability can also be formed from crystalline silicon (LI, see Abstract and page 3 of translation, Figs. 1-2 see: flexible solar panel 8 is single crystal silicon solar battery) and Masuda teaches these grooved silicon solar cells better allow the solar cells to flex and conform to vehicle surfaces where they are mounted (para [0044]).
In the alternative where it’s not clear the solar cells absorb and dissipate mechanical forces that are applied to said solar cell, CHU further teaches such grooved semiconductor wafers can further include an organic or inorganic filler material with air gap voids that provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves ([0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17). Chu further teaches this can be applied to flexible solar cells (para [0122]).
CHU and modified Bullen are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of modified Bullen such that the non-transcending craters of the generally flexible solar cell further include an organic or inorganic filler material with air gap voids as in CHU (Figs. 7B and 9B) as CHU teaches this allows the grooves/gaps with filler material and voids to provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves (CHU, [0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17).
Regarding claim 3 Bullen discloses the article of claim 1, wherein the generally-flexible solar cells are embedded within the outwardly-facing non-planar surface of said vehicular component (Fig. 2F), and they are sandwiched between a top-side encapsulant and a bottom-side encapsulant that hold and mechanically protect said generally-flexible solar cells ([0072], [0068] Fig. 2F see: photovoltaic element 280 sandwiched between top side portions of water barrier 282 (first encapsulant) and second encapsulant 284 and bottom side portions of said encapsulants 282, 284); wherein at least the top-side encapsulant is at least mostly transparent or at least mostly translucent to light, and enables passage of incoming light from an external surrounding of the vehicle towards an active surface of the generally-flexible solar cells ([0072], [0068], [0049], Fig. 2F see: photovoltaic element 280 embedded in water barrier 282 (first encapsulant), and second encapsulant 284 between first portion 262 and second portion 264 of car door)
Regarding claim 4 Bullen discloses the article of claim 3, wherein a stack of (I) said top-side encapsulant and (II) said generally-flexible solar cells and (III) said bottom-side encapsulant, is further sandwiched between a topsheet and a backsheet that hold and mechanically protect said stack ([0072], [0068] Fig. 2F see: photovoltaic element 280 sandwiched between top side portions of water barrier 282 (first encapsulant) and second encapsulant 284 and bottom side portions of said encapsulants 282, 284 and between first portion 262 and second portion 264 of car door);
wherein at least the topsheet is at least mostly transparent or at least mostly translucent to light, and enables passage of incoming light from the external surrounding of the vehicle towards the active surface of the generally-flexible solar cells ([0072], [0068], [0049] Fig. 2F see: first portion 262 (topsheet) transparent to light).
Regarding claim 12 modified Bullen discloses the article of claim 1, and CHU teaches wherein said non-transcending craters are filled, at least partially, with a filler material; wherein said filler material further absorbs and dissipates mechanical forces that are applied to said solar cell; wherein said filler material provides further mechanical resilience and flexing capability to said solar cell (CHU, [0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 with stretch properties including voids or air gaps 17 providing a damper effect against vibrational shocks).
Regarding claim 13 modified Bullen discloses the article of claim 12, wherein said generally-flexible solar cells are arranged in a non-planar three-dimensional arrangement, that matches and follows a three-dimensional contour of said vehicular component (Bullen, Abstract, [0035], [0061], [0072], Figs. 1A, 2A, 2E, and 2F see: photovoltaic element 280 integrated in a vehicle component such as a car door are smoothly curved and continuous three dimensional photovoltaic cells manufactured in the shape of corresponding car parts); wherein said non-planar three-dimensional arrangement of said generally-flexible solar cells, that are embedded within said vehicular component, is configured to increase or optimize exposure of said generally-flexible solar cells to incoming light (Bullen, Abstract, [0058]-[0059], [0072], Figs. 1A, 2A, 2E, and 2F see: photovoltaic element 280 can further include optimal AR coatings form minimizing light reflection and increasing light capture). Furthermore, the recitation “configured to increase or optimize exposure of said generally-flexible solar cells to incoming light” is directed to an intended use of the claimed solar cell arrangement.
A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
The smoothly curved and continuous three dimensional photovoltaic cells manufactured in the shape of corresponding car parts in Bullen are considered fully capable of thus increasing or optimizing exposure of said generally-flexible solar cells to incoming light.
Regarding claim 18 modified Bullen discloses the article of claim 12, and Bullen teaches wherein the generally-flexible solar cells are embedded within the outwardly-facing non-planar surface of said vehicular component (Fig. 2F). Regarding the claim 18 recitation where said vehicular component comprises “at least one layer of a composite material of fiber sheets and resins formed in a wet layup process”, Bullen teaches in para [0069] that the second portion 264 can comprise reinforced fibers that are flattened into a sheet and thermoset in an epoxy or other thermoplastic binding agent which is considered to teach the structural limitations of the claim.
The recitation “formed in a wet layup process” is directed to a method of manufacturing the recited vehicular component. The determination of patentability is determined by the recited structure of the apparatus and not by a method of making said structure. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is made does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2113 and 2114.
Regarding claim 19 modified Bullen discloses the article of claim 12, wherein said generally-flexible solar cells are integrally, permanently, non-removably and non-detachably embedded within said vehicular component (Bullen, Abstract, [0070]-[0072], Fig. 2F see: photovoltaic element 280 integrated between first portion 262 and second portion 264 of car doorframe 260 which are welded, bonded and joined with setscrews and within first and second encapsulants thus said photovoltaic element 280 is considered permanently, non-removably and non-detachably embedded within said vehicular door).
Regarding claim 20 modified Bullen discloses the article of claim 1, wherein the vehicular component is a component selected from the group consisting of: a non-planar vehicular roof, a non-planar vehicular hood cover, a non-planar vehicular trunk cover, a non-planar vehicular door, a non-planar vehicular side-panel (Abstract, Figs. 1A-1B and 2F see: non-planar exterior car parts such as a roof, doors, hood, trunk).
Regarding claim 22 Bullen discloses a method of manufacturing a vehicular component, the method comprising:
producing a plurality of generally-flexible solar cells, that are flexible and rollable and non-brittle, and that remain functional even upon flexing or curving or rolling ([0072] providing photovoltaic element 280 is flexible thin films such as CIGS or CdTe and thus considered non-brittle and remaining functional even upon flexing or curving or rolling);
electrically inter-connecting the plurality of generally-flexible solar cells (Abstract, [0072], [0083], [0089] see: integrated photovoltaic cells are electrically interconnected);
three-dimensionally structuring the plurality of generally-flexible solar cells, in accordance with a pre-defined three-dimensional structure that matches and follows a three-dimensional contour of said vehicular component (Abstract, [0035], [0061] Figs. 1A-1B, 2F see: smoothly curved and continuous photovoltaic cells manufactured in the shape of corresponding car parts);
embedding the plurality of generally-flexible solar cells into an outwardly-facing non-planar surface of said vehicular component ([0072], [0068] Fig. 2F see: photovoltaic element 280 embedded in water barrier 282, and second encapsulant 284 between first portion 262 and second portion 264 of car door);
providing electrical connectors that are embedded within said vehicular component, to an electricity-consuming device of a vehicle that includes said vehicular component ([0083], [0088], [0090], see: electricity from the solar cells (solar car panels) can go to charge a vehicle battery and vehicle further includes electrical connections that power vehicle systems).
Furthermore, regarding the claim 22 recitations wherein at least one of said generally-flexible solar cells is “flexible and rollable and is non-brittle prior to its embedding into said vehicular component, and maintains most of its capability to convert light into electricity even upon flexing or rolling of its structure” and wherein the at least one of said generally-flexible solar cells, “continues to have at least some flexing and curving capability and continues to remain functional and non-brittle, upon and subsequent to its embedding into said vehicular component” Bullen in para [0072] teaches the photovoltaic element 280 is flexible thin films such as CIGS or CdTe which are thus considered fully capable of flexing and rolling and are non-brittle prior to embedding into said vehicular component, and maintain most of their capability to convert light into electricity even upon flexing or rolling of their structure and fully capable of having at least some flexing and curving capability and continuing to remain functional and non-brittle, upon and subsequent to embedding into said vehicular component.
Bullen does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one of said generally-flexible solar cells, comprises a semiconductor wafer that is trenched or grooved by non-transcending craters, that penetrate into between 51 to 99 percent of an entire thickness of said semiconductor wafer; wherein said non-transcending craters provide mechanical resilience and flexing capability to said solar cell, and absorb and dissipate mechanical forces that are applied to said solar cell.
LI further teaches flexible solar panels for vehicles that are rollable and have flexing and curving capability formed from crystalline silicon (LI, see Abstract and page 3 of translation, Figs. 1-2 see: flexible solar panel 8 is single crystal silicon solar battery).
Masuda discloses a flexible solar cell comprising a semiconductor wafer that is trenched or grooved by non-transcending craters, that penetrate into between 51 to 99 percent of an entire thickness of said semiconductor wafer (Abstract, [0029], Fig. 2 see: grooves 7 with a depth t of about 100 µm in a 150 µm thick power generation layer thus penetrating about ~66.7% of the entire thickness); wherein said non-transcending craters provide mechanical resilience and flexing capability to said solar cell, and absorb and dissipate mechanical forces that are applied to said solar cell (para [0044] and Fig. 9 see: grooves allowing deformation of the wafer allowing it to conform to the curved shape of a vehicle surface).
LI, Masuda and Bullen are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells in solar cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Bullen in view of Masuda such that at least one of said generally-flexible solar cells of Bullen comprises a semiconductor wafer that is trenched or grooved by non-transcending craters, that penetrate into between 51 to 99 percent of an entire thickness of said semiconductor wafer as in Masuda (Abstract, [0029], Fig. 2 see: grooves 7 with a depth t of about 100 µm in a 150 µm thick power generation layer thus penetrating about ~66.7% of the entire thickness) wherein said non-transcending craters provide mechanical resilience and flexing capability to said solar cell, and absorb and dissipate mechanical forces that are applied to said solar cell as in Masuda (para [0044] and Fig. 9 see: grooves allowing deformation of the wafer allowing it to conform to the curved shape of a vehicle surface) as LI teaches flexible solar panels for vehicles that are rollable and have flexing and curving capability can also be formed from crystalline silicon (LI, see Abstract and page 3 of translation, Figs. 1-2 see: flexible solar panel 8 is single crystal silicon solar battery) and as Masuda teaches this allows the solar cell to conformed to the curved shape of a vehicle surface (para [0044] and Fig. 9).
In the alternative where it’s not clear the solar cells absorb and dissipate mechanical forces that are applied to said solar cell, CHU further teaches such grooved semiconductor wafers can further include an organic or inorganic filler material with air gap voids that provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves ([0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17). Chu further teaches this can be applied to flexible solar cells (para [0122]).
CHU and modified Bullen are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of modified Bullen such that the non-transcending craters of the generally flexible solar cell further include an organic or inorganic filler material with air gap voids as in CHU (Figs. 7B and 9B) as CHU teaches this allows the grooves/gaps with filler material and voids to provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves (CHU, [0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17).
Regarding claim 26 modified Bullen discloses the article of claim 1, wherein said vehicle is selected from the group consisting of a car, a sport utility vehicle (SUV), a truck, a bus, a van, a minivan, a motorcycle, a motorized bicycle, a Personal Transporter device, a train, a military vehicle, an ambulance, a firetruck, a trailer and an agricultural vehicle (Abstract, Fig. 1A see: vehicle is a solar car).
Claims 5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bullen (US 2018/0244160) in view of LI et al (CN 106541837A, reference made to attached English machine translation), in view of Masuda et al (US 2014/0305504) in view of CHU et al (US 2017/0365755)as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 12-13, 18-20, 22, and 26 above, and in further view of Chen et al (JP 2014042009A, reference made to attached English machine translation) and further in view of Willham et al (US 2013/0061913).
Regarding claim 5 modified Bullen discloses the article of claim 4, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a stacked set of (I) said topsheet and (II) said top-side encapsulant and (III) said generally-flexible solar cells and (IV) said bottom-side encapsulant and (V) said backsheet, is further sandwiched between a thermoformed top-layer and a thermoformed bottom-layer; wherein at least the thermoformed top-layer is at least mostly transparent or at least mostly translucent to light, and enables passage of incoming light from the external surrounding of the vehicle towards the active surface of the generally-flexible solar cells.
However Chen teaches a solar cell module for buildings and vehicles (Abstract) comprising a stacked set of (I) a topsheet ([0075], [0040], [0044] Figs. 3-5 see: layer 8 (reinforcing layer 1)) and (II) a top-side encapsulant ([0075], [0033]-[0034], Figs. 3-5 see: layer 4 (intermediate layer 1)) and (III) solar cells ([0075], [0024] Figs. 3-5 see: Photoelectric conversion layer 3) and (IV) said bottom-side encapsulant ([0075], [0033]-[0034], Figs. 3-5 see: layer 5 (intermediate layer 2)) and (V) said backsheet ([0075], [0040], [0044], Figs. 3-5 see: layer 9 (reinforcing layer 2)), is further sandwiched between a top-layer ([0075], [0012]-[0013], Figs. 3-5 see: surface protective layer 1) and a bottom-layer ([0075], [0028], Figs. 3-5 see: back protective layer 2); wherein at least the top-layer is at least mostly transparent or at least mostly translucent to light, and enables passage of incoming light from the external surrounding of the vehicle towards the active surface of the solar cells (para [0012]). Chen teaches these layers prevents damage of the solar cells or buckling of the connecting wires during manufacture (Chen, [0011]).
Chen and Bullen are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells modules for vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Bullen in view of Chen such that the article of Bullen comprises a stacked set of (I) a topsheet as in Chen ([0075], [0040], [0044] Figs. 3-5 see: layer 8 (reinforcing layer 1)) and as in Chen (II) a top-side encapsulant ([0075], [0033]-[0034], Figs. 3-5 see: layer 4 (intermediate layer 1)) and (III) the solar cells of Bullen and (IV) a bottom-side encapsulant as in Chen ([0075], [0033]-[0034], Figs. 3-5 see: layer 5 (intermediate layer 2)) and (V) a backsheet as in Chen ([0075], [0040], [0044], Figs. 3-5 see: layer 9 (reinforcing layer 2)), which is further sandwiched between a top-layer as in Chen ([0075], [0012]-[0013], Figs. 3-5 see: surface protective layer 1) and a bottom-layer as in Chen ([0075], [0028], Figs. 3-5 see: back protective layer 2); wherein at least the top-layer is at least mostly transparent or at least mostly translucent to light, and enables passage of incoming light from the external surrounding of the vehicle towards the active surface of the solar cells of Bullen as in Chen (para [0012]) as Chen teaches these layers prevents damage of the solar cells or buckling of the connecting wires during manufacture (Chen, [0011]).
Modified Bullen does not explicitly disclose where the top-layer and bottom-layer are each thermoformed.
However, Willham teaches solar cell modules where the top-layer and bottom-layer are each thermoformed (Abstract, [0047]-[0049], [0066], [0142], Figs. 3A-3B, and 5 see: laminate assembly 140a having top and bottom pre-formed substrate 130a that are thermoformed). Willham teaches this allows flexible solar cells to be integrated into an aesthetically pleasing or structurally functional shape (Abstract, [0143]).
Willham and modified Bullen are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible solar cells in shaped solar cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Bullen in view of Willham such that the top-layer and bottom-layer of modified Bullen are each thermoformed as taught by Willham (Abstract, [0047]-[0049], [0066], [0142], Figs. 3A-3B, and 5 see: laminate assembly 140a having top and bottom pre-formed substrate 130a that are thermoformed) for the purpose of imparting an aesthetically pleasing or structurally functional shape as taught by Willham (Abstract, [0143]).
Regarding claim 7 modified Bullen discloses the article of claim 5, wherein at least said thermoformed top-layer is formed of polycarbonate (Bullen, [0068] Fig. 2F see: first portion 262 can contain polycarbonate) this is also taught by Willham ([0043]-[0044], Fig. 5 see: pre-formed substrates 130a are polymers such as polycarbonate) and Chen ([0075], [0012]-[0013], Figs. 3-5 see: surface protective layer 1 made of a material such as polycarbonate).
Regarding claim 8 modified Bullen discloses the article of claim 4, wherein at least said thermoformed top-layer is formed of one or more materials selected from the group consisting of: acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), high impact polystyrene (HIPS), Polypropylene (PP), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyethylene terephthalate glycol (PETG), high density polyethylene (HDPE) (Willham, [0043]-[0044], Fig. 5 see: pre-formed substrates 130a are polymers such as acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) Polypropylene (PP), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyethylene terephthalate glycol (PETG), high density polyethylene (HDPE)).
Claims 14, 16 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bullen (US 2018/0244160) in view of LI et al (CN 106541837A, reference made to attached English machine translation), in view of Masuda et al (US 2014/0305504) in view of CHU et al (US 2017/0365755) as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 12-13, 18-20, 22, and 26 above, and further in view of Willham et al (US 2013/0061913).
Regarding claim 14 modified Bullen discloses the article of claim 12, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the generally-flexible solar cells are embedded within a thermoformed sandwich of two thermoformed layers, of said vehicular component.
Willham teaches manufacturing solar cell modules where a top-layer and a bottom-layer are each thermoformed to produce a stacked sandwich of at least: (i) a top-side thermoformed layer, and (ii) generally-flexible solar cells, and (iii) a bottom-side thermoformed layer (Abstract, [0047]-[0049], [0066], [0142], Figs. 3A-3B, and 5 see: laminate assembly 140a having top and bottom pre-formed substrate 130a that are thermoformed encapsulating OPV component 104). Willham teaches this allows flexible solar cells to be integrated into an aesthetically pleasing or structurally functional shape (Abstract, [0143]).
Willham and Bullen are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible solar cells in shaped solar cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Bullen in view of Willham such that the generally-flexible solar cells of Bullen are embedded within a thermoformed sandwich of two thermoformed layers as in Willham (Abstract, [0047]-[0049], [0066], [0142], Figs. 3A-3B, and 5 see: laminate assembly 140a having top and bottom pre-formed substrate 130a that are thermoformed encapsulating OPV component 104), of said vehicular component of Bullen for the purpose of imparting an aesthetically pleasing or structurally functional shape as taught by Willham (Abstract, [0143]).
Regarding claim 16 modified Bullen discloses article of claim 12, wherein the generally-flexible solar cells are embedded within a molded sandwich of two molded layers of said vehicular component (Bullen, Fig. 2F see: photovoltaic component 280 within first and second encapsulants 282, 284 and first and second portions 262 and 264) but Bullen does not explicitly disclose wherein each of said two molded layers is an Injection Molded layer; wherein the generally-flexible solar cells are solar cells that have underwent insertion into a heated mold cavity of an Injection Molding machine.
Willham discloses forming two encapsulating layers for solar cell modules as Injection Molded layers (Willham, [0050] Figs. 3A-3B see: pre-formed substrates 130a can be formed by conventional injection molding techniques).
Willham and Bullen are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible solar cells in shaped solar cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Bullen in view of Willham such that each of said two molded layers of Bullen is an Injection Molded layer as in Willham (Willham, [0050] Figs. 3A-3B see: pre-formed substrates 130a can be formed by conventional injection molding techniques) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a conventional molding technique for its intended use of forming a curved or shaped solar cell module encapsulation layer.
Furthermore, the claim 16 recitation “wherein the generally-flexible solar cells are solar cells that have underwent insertion into a heated mold cavity of an Injection Molding machine” is directed to a method of manufacturing the claimed article.
The determination of patentability is determined by the recited structure of the apparatus and not by a method of making said structure. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is made does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2113 and 2114.
The article of modified Bullen is considered to meet all of the structural limitations of an article having generally-flexible solar cells that are solar cells that have underwent insertion into a heated mold cavity of an Injection Molding machine.
Regarding claim 23 modified Bullen discloses the method of claim 22, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the embedding comprises: performing a thermoforming process that produces a stacked sandwich of at least: (i) a top-side thermoformed layer, and (ii) said generally-flexible solar cells, and (iii) a bottom-side thermoformed layer.
Willham teaches manufacturing solar cell modules where a top-layer and a bottom-layer are each thermoformed to produce a stacked sandwich of at least: (i) a top-side thermoformed layer, and (ii) generally-flexible solar cells, and (iii) a bottom-side thermoformed layer (Abstract, [0047]-[0049], [0066], [0142], Figs. 3A-3B, and 5 see: laminate assembly 140a having top and bottom pre-formed substrate 130a that are thermoformed encapsulating OPV component 104). Willham teaches this allows flexible solar cells to be integrated into an aesthetically pleasing or structurally functional shape (Abstract, [0143]).
Willham and Bullen are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible solar cells in shaped solar cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Bullen in view of Willham such that the embedding of Bullen comprises: performing a thermoforming process that produces a stacked sandwich of at least: (i) a top-side thermoformed layer, and (ii) said generally-flexible solar cells, and (iii) a bottom-side thermoformed layer as in Willham (Abstract, [0047]-[0049], [0066], [0142], Figs. 3A-3B, and 5 see: laminate assembly 140a having top and bottom pre-formed substrate 130a that are thermoformed encapsulating OPV component 104) for the purpose of imparting an aesthetically pleasing or structurally functional shape as taught by Willham (Abstract, [0143]).
Regarding claim 24 modified Bullen discloses the method of claim 23, and Willham teaches wherein the embedding comprises: producing said stacked sandwich that further includes at least one of: a top-side encapsulant that is sandwiched between (I) a top-side of the generally-flexible solar cells and (II) said top-side thermoformed layer (Fig. 5 see: thermoplastic tie layer 146 or upper encapsulation layer 128 of layer 104 (Fig. 2)); a bottom-side encapsulant that is sandwiched between (I) a bottom-side of the generally-flexible solar cells and (II) said bottom-side thermoformed layer (Fig. 5 see: thermoplastic tie layer 142 or bottom encapsulation layer 120 of layer 104 (Fig. 2)).
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bullen (US 2018/0244160) in view of LI et al (CN 106541837A, reference made to attached English machine translation), in view of Masuda et al (US 2014/0305504) in view of CHU et al (US 2017/0365755)as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 12-13, 18-20, 22, and 26 above, and further in view of ARRIZABALAGA CANELLADA et al (US 2017/0250299).
Regarding claim 15 modified Bullen discloses the article of claim 12, wherein the generally-flexible solar cells are embedded within a molded sandwich of two molded layers of said vehicular component(Bullen, Fig. 2F see: photovoltaic component 280 within first and second encapsulants 282, 284 and first and second portions 262 and 264) but Bullen does not explicitly disclose wherein each of said two molded layers is a Resin Transfer Molded layer; wherein the generally-flexible solar cells are solar cells that have underwent insertion into a heated mold cavity of a Resin Transfer Molding machine.
ARRIZABALAGA CANELLADA teaches an encapsulation molding method for a solar cell module where each of two molded layers is a Resin Transfer Molded layer wherein the generally-flexible solar cells are solar cells that have underwent insertion into a heated mold cavity of a Resin Transfer Molding machine (paras [0056], [0058] see: photovoltaic cells arranged in a mold and resin may be introduced inside this mold by means of a pressurized injection where the resin flows through the fiber and around the photovoltaic cells forming said encapsulant layers in an RTM process).
ARRIZABALAGA CANELLADA and Bullen are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells in solar cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Bullen in view of ARRIZABALAGA CANELLADA such that each of said two molded layers is a Resin Transfer Molded layer; wherein the generally-flexible solar cells are solar cells that have underwent insertion into a heated mold cavity of a Resin Transfer Molding machine as in ARRIZABALAGA CANELLAD (paras [0056], [0058] see: photovoltaic cells arranged in a mold and resin may be introduced inside this mold by means of a pressurized injection where the resin flows through the fiber and around the photovoltaic cells forming said encapsulant layers in an RTM process) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known method for forming solar cell encapsulant layers in the known environment of a solar cell module to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Regarding claim 17 modified Bullen discloses the article of claim 12, wherein the generally-flexible solar cells are embedded within the outwardly-facing non-planar surface of said vehicular component and although Bullen teaches in para [0069] that the second portion 264 can comprise reinforced fibers that are flattened into a sheet and thermoset in an epoxy or other thermoplastic binding agent Bullen does not explicitly disclose said fiber layer is at least one prepreg layer made from pre-impregnated fibers and a partially cured polymer matrix.
However, ARRIZABALAGA CANELLADA teaches an encapsulation molding method for a solar cell module where the encapsulation comprises at least one prepreg layer made from pre-impregnated fibers and a partially cured polymer matrix where these fiber layers provide for some deformation and for adaptation of the cells to the mold surface when vacuum is applied, avoiding the breakage of the cells (paras [0056], [0060]-[0063] see: lamination including prepregs of fibers which previously have been impregnated with the already premixed resins).
ARRIZABALAGA CANELLADA and Bullen are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells in solar cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Bullen in view of ARRIZABALAGA CANELLADA such that the encapsulation of Bullen comprises at least one prepreg layer made from pre-impregnated fibers and a partially cured polymer matrix (paras [0056], [0060]-[0063] see: lamination including prepregs of fibers which previously have been impregnated with the already premixed resins) as ARRIZABALAGA CANELLADA teaches where these fiber layers provide for some deformation and for adaptation of the cells to a mold surface when vacuum is applied, avoiding the breakage of the cells (paras [0060]-[0063]).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bullen (US 2018/0244160) in view of LI et al (CN 106541837A, reference made to attached English machine translation), in view of Masuda et al (US 2014/0305504) in view of CHU et al (US 2017/0365755) in view of Willham et al (US 2013/0061913) as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 12-13, 18-20, 22-24, and 26 above, and further and in further view of Chen et al (JP 2014042009A, reference made to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 25 modified Bullen discloses the method of claim 23, and Willham discloses wherein the embedding comprises: producing said stacked sandwich that further includes at least one of: a top-side encapsulant that is sandwiched between (I) a top-side of the generally-flexible solar cells and said top-side thermoformed layer (Fig. 5 see: thermoplastic tie layer 146 or upper encapsulation layer 128 of layer 104 (Fig. 2)); a bottom-side encapsulant that is sandwiched between (I) a bottom-side of the generally-flexible solar cells and said bottom-side thermoformed layer (Fig. 5 see: thermoplastic tie layer 142 or bottom encapsulation layer 120 of layer 104 (Fig. 2)).
Modified Bullen does not explicitly disclose wherein the embedding includes (II) a topsheet that is located beneath said top-side thermoformed layer and a backsheet that is located over said bottom-side thermoformed layer.
Chen discloses a solar cell module for buildings and vehicles (Abstract) comprising a stacked set of (I) a topsheet ([0075], [0040], [0044] Figs. 3-5 see: layer 8 (reinforcing layer 1)) and (II) a top-side encapsulant ([0075], [0033]-[0034], Figs. 3-5 see: layer 4 (intermediate layer 1)) and (III) solar cells ([0075], [0024] Figs. 3-5 see: Photoelectric conversion layer 3) and (IV) said bottom-side encapsulant ([0075], [0033]-[0034], Figs. 3-5 see: layer 5 (intermediate layer 2)) and (V) said backsheet ([0075], [0040], [0044], Figs. 3-5 see: layer 9 (reinforcing layer 2)), is further sandwiched between a top-layer ([0075], [0012]-[0013], Figs. 3-5 see: surface protective layer 1) and a bottom-layer ([0075], [0028], Figs. 3-5 see: back protective layer 2); wherein at least the top-layer is at least mostly transparent or at least mostly translucent to light, and enables passage of incoming light from the external surrounding of the vehicle towards the active surface of the solar cells (para [0012]). Chen teaches these layers prevents damage of the solar cells or buckling of the connecting wires during manufacture (Chen, [0011]).
Chen and modified Bullen are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells modules for vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Bullen in view of Chen such that the method of Bullen further comprises a topsheet as in Chen ([0075], [0040], [0044] Figs. 3-5 see: layer 8 (reinforcing layer 1)) located beneath said top-side thermoformed layer of modified Bullen and a backsheet as in Chen ([0075], [0040], [0044], Figs. 3-5 see: layer 9 (reinforcing layer 2)) located over said bottom-side thermoformed layer of modified Bullen as Chen teaches these layers prevents damage of the solar cells or buckling of the connecting wires during manufacture (Chen, [0011]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva et al (FR 2934206 A1, reference made to attached English machine translation) and in further view of Masuda et al (US 2014/0305504) and further in view of CHU et al (US 2017/0365755).
Regarding claim 22 Da Silva discloses a method of manufacturing a vehicular component, the method comprising:
producing a plurality of generally-flexible solar cells, that are flexible and rollable and non-brittle, and that remain functional even upon flexing or curving or rolling (Abstract and see pages 1-2 of Description, and Figs. 1-7 and 11 see: providing photovoltaic cells 4 are preferably of the organic type and having a flexibility equivalent to that of a sheet of polymer or plastic);
electrically inter-connecting the plurality of generally-flexible solar cells (Abstract and see page 2 of Description, and Figs. 1-7 and 11 see: photovoltaic cells 4 are electrically connected to each other);
three-dimensionally structuring the plurality of generally-flexible solar cells, in accordance with a pre-defined three-dimensional structure that matches and follows a three-dimensional contour of said vehicular component (Abstract and see pages 1-2 of Description, and Figs. 1-7 and 11 see: providing photovoltaic cells 4 are preferably of the organic type and having a flexibility equivalent to that of a sheet of polymer or plastic and follow the three-dimensional shape of the flexible roof 5);
embedding the plurality of generally-flexible solar cells into an outwardly-facing non-planar surface of said vehicular component (Abstract and see pages 1-2 of Description, and Figs. 1-7 and 11 see: non-planar flexible vehicle roof 5 includes photovoltaic cells 4 fixed on or implanted in a polymer tape which is itself integrated into the material of the roof);
providing electrical connectors that are embedded within said vehicular component, to an electricity-consuming device of a vehicle that includes said vehicular component (Abstract and see pages 1-2 of Description, and Fig. 11 see: photovoltaic cells 4 are electrically connected to at least the vehicle battery 9, interior lighting lamps 10, a fan 11 ,and actuators 12);
wherein at least one of said generally-flexible solar cells is flexible and rollable and is non-brittle prior to its embedding into said vehicular component, and maintains most of its capability to convert light into electricity even upon flexing or rolling of its structure (Abstract and see pages 1-2 of Description, and Figs. 1, 5-6, and 11 see: photovoltaic cells 4 are preferably of the organic type and have a flexibility equivalent to that of a sheet of polymer or plastic and thus considered rollable and non-brittle and continue to function upon flexing and rolling as the roof 5 is flexible);
wherein the at least one of said generally-flexible solar cells, continues to have at least some flexing and curving capability and continues to remain functional and non-brittle, upon and subsequent to its embedding into said vehicular component (Abstract and see pages 1-2 of Description, and Figs. 1, 5-6, and 11 see: photovoltaic cells 4 are preferably of the organic type and have a flexibility equivalent to that of a sheet of polymer or plastic and thus considered rollable and non-brittle and continue to function upon flexing and rolling as the roof 5 is flexible).
Da Silva does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one of said generally-flexible solar cells, comprises a semiconductor wafer that is trenched or grooved by non-transcending craters, that penetrate into between 51 to 99 percent of an entire thickness of said semiconductor wafer; wherein said non-transcending craters provide mechanical resilience and flexing capability to said solar cell, and absorb and dissipate mechanical forces that are applied to said solar cell.
Masuda discloses a flexible solar cell comprising a semiconductor wafer that is trenched or grooved by non-transcending craters, that penetrate into between 51 to 99 percent of an entire thickness of said semiconductor wafer (Abstract, [0029], Fig. 2 see: grooves 7 with a depth t of about 100 µm in a 150 µm thick power generation layer thus penetrating about ~66.7% of the entire thickness); wherein said non-transcending craters provide mechanical resilience and flexing capability to said solar cell, and absorb and dissipate mechanical forces that are applied to said solar cell (para [0044] and Fig. 9 see: grooves allowing deformation of the wafer allowing it to conform to the curved shape of a vehicle surface).
Masuda and Da Silva are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells in solar cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Da Silva in view of Masuda such that at least one of said generally-flexible solar cells of Da Silva comprises a semiconductor wafer that is trenched or grooved by non-transcending craters, that penetrate into between 51 to 99 percent of an entire thickness of said semiconductor wafer as in Masuda (Abstract, [0029], Fig. 2 see: grooves 7 with a depth t of about 100 µm in a 150 µm thick power generation layer thus penetrating about ~66.7% of the entire thickness) wherein said non-transcending craters provide mechanical resilience and flexing capability to said solar cell, and absorb and dissipate mechanical forces that are applied to said solar cell as in Masuda (para [0044] and Fig. 9 see: grooves allowing deformation of the wafer allowing it to conform to the curved shape of a vehicle surface) as Masuda teaches this allows the solar cell to conformed to the curved shape of a vehicle surface (para [0044] and Fig. 9).
In the alternative where it’s not clear the solar cells absorb and dissipate mechanical forces that are applied to said solar cell, CHU further teaches such grooved semiconductor wafers can further include an organic or inorganic filler material with air gap voids that provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves ([0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17). Chu further teaches this can be applied to flexible solar cells (para [0122]).
CHU and modified Da Silva are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of modified Da Silva such that the non-transcending craters of the generally flexible solar cell further include an organic or inorganic filler material with air gap voids as in CHU (Figs. 7B and 9B) as CHU teaches this allows the grooves/gaps with filler material and voids to provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves (CHU, [0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bullen (US 2018/0244160) in view of Albalak et al (WO 2020/136653 A1), and in further view of Chen et al (JP 2014042009A, reference made to attached English machine translation) and further in view of Willham et al (US 2013/0061913).
Regarding claim 7 Bullen discloses an article comprising:
a vehicular component, that is configured to be a part of a vehicle (Abstract, Figs. 1A-1B see: exterior car parts, e.g., roof, doors, hood, trunk);
wherein the vehicular component has an outwardly-facing non-planar surface, which has embedded therein a plurality of electrically inter-connected generally-flexible solar cells (Abstract, [0072], [0083], [0089] Figs. 1A-1B, 2F see: exterior of the solar car is comprised of smoothly curved and continuous photovoltaic cells. The exterior car parts, e.g., roof, doors, hood, trunk and so forth, may include integrated photovoltaic cells, all manufactured in the shape of the corresponding car parts, where the cells are electrically interconnected and flexible thin films such as CIGS or CdTe);
wherein the electrically inter-connected generally-flexible solar cells that are embedded within said vehicular component, generate electricity from light and provide electricity to said vehicle ([0083], [0088], [0090], see: electricity from the solar cells (solar car panels) can go to charge a vehicle battery).
Furthermore, the claim 7 recitation wherein at least one of said generally-flexible solar cells is “flexible and rollable and is non-brittle prior to its embedding into said vehicular component, and maintains most of its capability to convert light into electricity even upon flexing or rolling of its structure” is directed to an intended use of the recited solar cells.
A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Bullen in para [0072] teaches the photovoltaic element 280 is flexible thin films such as CIGS or CdTe which are thus considered fully capable of flexing and rolling and are non-brittle prior to embedding into said vehicular component, and maintain most of their capability to convert light into electricity even upon flexing or rolling of their structure.
Additionally, the claim 7 limitation wherein the at least one of said generally-flexible solar cells, continues to have at least some flexing and curving capability and continues to remain functional and non-brittle, upon and subsequent to its embedding into said vehicular component is directed to an intended use of the recited solar cells.
A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Bullen in para [0072] teaches the photovoltaic element 280 is flexible thin films such as CIGS or CdTe which are thus considered fully capable of having at least some flexing and curving capability and continuing to remain functional and non-brittle, upon and subsequent to embedding into said vehicular component.
Bullen does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one of said generally-flexible solar cells, comprises a semiconductor wafer that is trenched or grooved by non-transcending craters, that penetrate into between 51 to 99 percent of an entire thickness of said semiconductor wafer; wherein said non-transcending craters provide mechanical resilience and flexing capability to said solar cell, and absorb and dissipate mechanical forces that are applied to said solar cell.
Albalak teaches solar cells wherein the at least one of said generally-flexible solar cells, comprises a semiconductor wafer that is trenched or grooved by non-transcending craters, that penetrate into between 51 to 99 percent of an entire thickness of said semiconductor wafer (Albalak, Abstract, [00179] see: silicon solar cell having craters that penetrate at least 50 percent but not more than 99 percent of the thickness of the silicon wafer); wherein said non-transcending craters provide mechanical resilience and flexing capability to said solar cell, and absorb and dissipate mechanical forces that are applied to said solar cell (Albalak, Abstract, [0176] [00179] see: said particular depth of each crater contributes to reduction of mechanical breakability of said PV cell array and provides flexibility).
Albalak and Bullen are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Bullen in view of Albalak such that at least one of said generally-flexible solar cells of Bullen, comprises a semiconductor wafer that is trenched or grooved by non-transcending craters, that penetrate into between 51 to 99 percent of an entire thickness of said semiconductor wafer as in Albalak (Albalak, Abstract, [00179] see: silicon solar cell having craters that penetrate at least 50 percent but not more than 99 percent of the thickness of the silicon wafer) as Albalak teaches wherein said non-transcending craters provide mechanical resilience and flexing capability to said solar cell, and absorb and dissipate mechanical forces that are applied to said solar cell (Albalak, Abstract, [0176] [00179] see: said particular depth of each crater contributes to reduction of mechanical breakability of said PV cell array and provides flexibility).
Bullen further discloses wherein the generally-flexible solar cells are embedded within the outwardly-facing non-planar surface of said vehicular component (Fig. 2F), and they are sandwiched between a top-side encapsulant and a bottom-side encapsulant that hold and mechanically protect said generally-flexible solar cells ([0072], [0068] Fig. 2F see: photovoltaic element 280 sandwiched between top side portions of water barrier 282 (first encapsulant) and second encapsulant 284 and bottom side portions of said encapsulants 282, 284); wherein at least the top-side encapsulant is at least mostly transparent or at least mostly translucent to light, and enables passage of incoming light from an external surrounding of the vehicle towards an active surface of the generally-flexible solar cells ([0072], [0068], [0049], Fig. 2F see: photovoltaic element 280 embedded in water barrier 282 (first encapsulant), and second encapsulant 284 between first portion 262 and second portion 264 of car door); Bullen further discloses wherein a stack of (I) said top-side encapsulant and (II) said generally-flexible solar cells and (III) said bottom-side encapsulant, is further sandwiched between a topsheet and a backsheet that hold and mechanically protect said stack ([0072], [0068] Fig. 2F see: photovoltaic element 280 sandwiched between top side portions of water barrier 282 (first encapsulant) and second encapsulant 284 and bottom side portions of said encapsulants 282, 284 and between first portion 262 and second portion 264 of car door);
wherein at least the topsheet is at least mostly transparent or at least mostly translucent to light, and enables passage of incoming light from the external surrounding of the vehicle towards the active surface of the generally-flexible solar cells ([0072], [0068], [0049] Fig. 2F see: first portion 262 (topsheet) transparent to light).
Modified Bullen does not explicitly disclose wherein a stacked set of (I) said topsheet and (II) said top-side encapsulant and (III) said generally-flexible solar cells and (IV) said bottom-side encapsulant and (V) said backsheet, is further sandwiched between a thermoformed top-layer and a thermoformed bottom-layer; wherein at least the thermoformed top-layer is at least mostly transparent or at least mostly translucent to light, and enables passage of incoming light from the external surrounding of the vehicle towards the active surface of the generally-flexible solar cells.
However Chen teaches a solar cell module for buildings and vehicles (Abstract) comprising a stacked set of (I) a topsheet ([0075], [0040], [0044] Figs. 3-5 see: layer 8 (reinforcing layer 1)) and (II) a top-side encapsulant ([0075], [0033]-[0034], Figs. 3-5 see: layer 4 (intermediate layer 1)) and (III) solar cells ([0075], [0024] Figs. 3-5 see: Photoelectric conversion layer 3) and (IV) said bottom-side encapsulant ([0075], [0033]-[0034], Figs. 3-5 see: layer 5 (intermediate layer 2)) and (V) said backsheet ([0075], [0040], [0044], Figs. 3-5 see: layer 9 (reinforcing layer 2)), is further sandwiched between a top-layer ([0075], [0012]-[0013], Figs. 3-5 see: surface protective layer 1) and a bottom-layer ([0075], [0028], Figs. 3-5 see: back protective layer 2); wherein at least the top-layer is at least mostly transparent or at least mostly translucent to light, and enables passage of incoming light from the external surrounding of the vehicle towards the active surface of the solar cells (para [0012]). Chen teaches these layers prevents damage of the solar cells or buckling of the connecting wires during manufacture (Chen, [0011]).
Chen and Bullen are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells modules for vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Bullen in view of Chen such that the article of Bullen comprises a stacked set of (I) a topsheet as in Chen ([0075], [0040], [0044] Figs. 3-5 see: layer 8 (reinforcing layer 1)) and as in Chen (II) a top-side encapsulant ([0075], [0033]-[0034], Figs. 3-5 see: layer 4 (intermediate layer 1)) and (III) the solar cells of Bullen and (IV) a bottom-side encapsulant as in Chen ([0075], [0033]-[0034], Figs. 3-5 see: layer 5 (intermediate layer 2)) and (V) a backsheet as in Chen ([0075], [0040], [0044], Figs. 3-5 see: layer 9 (reinforcing layer 2)), which is further sandwiched between a top-layer as in Chen ([0075], [0012]-[0013], Figs. 3-5 see: surface protective layer 1) and a bottom-layer as in Chen ([0075], [0028], Figs. 3-5 see: back protective layer 2); wherein at least the top-layer is at least mostly transparent or at least mostly translucent to light, and enables passage of incoming light from the external surrounding of the vehicle towards the active surface of the solar cells of Bullen as in Chen (para [0012]) as Chen teaches these layers prevents damage of the solar cells or buckling of the connecting wires during manufacture (Chen, [0011]).
Modified Bullen does not explicitly disclose where the top-layer and bottom-layer are each thermoformed.
However, Willham teaches solar cell modules where the top-layer and bottom-layer are each thermoformed (Abstract, [0047]-[0049], [0066], [0142], Figs. 3A-3B, and 5 see: laminate assembly 140a having top and bottom pre-formed substrate 130a that are thermoformed). Willham teaches this allows flexible solar cells to be integrated into an aesthetically pleasing or structurally functional shape (Abstract, [0143]).
Willham and modified Bullen are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible solar cells in shaped solar cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Bullen in view of Willham such that the top-layer and bottom-layer of modified Bullen are each thermoformed as taught by Willham (Abstract, [0047]-[0049], [0066], [0142], Figs. 3A-3B, and 5 see: laminate assembly 140a having top and bottom pre-formed substrate 130a that are thermoformed) for the purpose of imparting an aesthetically pleasing or structurally functional shape as taught by Willham (Abstract, [0143]).
Further regarding claim 7 modified Bullen discloses the limitations of the article as set forth above, and further discloses wherein at least said thermoformed top-layer is formed of polycarbonate (Bullen, [0068] Fig. 2F see: first portion 262 can contain polycarbonate) this is also taught by Willham ([0043]-[0044], Fig. 5 see: pre-formed substrates 130a are polymers such as polycarbonate) and Chen ([0075], [0012]-[0013], Figs. 3-5 see: surface protective layer 1 made of a material such as polycarbonate).
Regarding claim 8 modified Bullen discloses the limitations of the article as set forth above and Willham further discloses wherein at least said thermoformed top-layer is formed of one or more materials selected from the group consisting of: acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), high impact polystyrene (HIPS), Polypropylene (PP), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyethylene terephthalate glycol (PETG), high density polyethylene (HDPE) (Willham, [0043]-[0044], Fig. 5 see: pre-formed substrates 130a are polymers such as acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) Polypropylene (PP), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyethylene terephthalate glycol (PETG), high density polyethylene (HDPE)).
Claims 20 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bullen (US 2018/0244160) in view of Albalak et al (WO 2020/136653 A1).
Regarding claims 20 and 26 Bullen discloses an article comprising:
a vehicular component, that is configured to be a part of a vehicle (Abstract, Figs. 1A-1B see: exterior car parts, e.g., roof, doors, hood, trunk);
wherein the vehicular component has an outwardly-facing non-planar surface, which has embedded therein a plurality of electrically inter-connected generally-flexible solar cells (Abstract, [0072], [0083], [0089] Figs. 1A-1B, 2F see: exterior of the solar car is comprised of smoothly curved and continuous photovoltaic cells. The exterior car parts, e.g., roof, doors, hood, trunk and so forth, may include integrated photovoltaic cells, all manufactured in the shape of the corresponding car parts, where the cells are electrically interconnected and flexible thin films such as CIGS or CdTe);
wherein the electrically inter-connected generally-flexible solar cells that are embedded within said vehicular component, generate electricity from light and provide electricity to said vehicle ([0083], [0088], [0090], see: electricity from the solar cells (solar car panels) can go to charge a vehicle battery).
Furthermore, the claim 20 and 26 recitation wherein at least one of said generally-flexible solar cells is “flexible and rollable and is non-brittle prior to its embedding into said vehicular component, and maintains most of its capability to convert light into electricity even upon flexing or rolling of its structure” is directed to an intended use of the recited solar cells.
A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Bullen in para [0072] teaches the photovoltaic element 280 is flexible thin films such as CIGS or CdTe which are thus considered fully capable of flexing and rolling and are non-brittle prior to embedding into said vehicular component, and maintain most of their capability to convert light into electricity even upon flexing or rolling of their structure.
Additionally, the claim 20 and 26 limitation wherein the at least one of said generally-flexible solar cells, continues to have at least some flexing and curving capability and continues to remain functional and non-brittle, upon and subsequent to its embedding into said vehicular component is directed to an intended use of the recited solar cells.
A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Bullen in para [0072] teaches the photovoltaic element 280 is flexible thin films such as CIGS or CdTe which are thus considered fully capable of having at least some flexing and curving capability and continuing to remain functional and non-brittle, upon and subsequent to embedding into said vehicular component.
Bullen discloses wherein the vehicular component is a component selected from the group consisting of: a non-planar vehicular roof, a non-planar vehicular hood cover, a non-planar vehicular trunk cover, a non-planar vehicular door, a non-planar vehicular side-panel (Abstract, Figs. 1A-1B and 2F see: non-planar exterior car parts such as a roof, doors, hood, trunk);
Bullen discloses wherein said vehicle is selected from the group consisting of a car, a sport utility vehicle (SUV), a truck, a bus, a van, a minivan, a motorcycle, a motorized bicycle, a Personal Transporter device, a train, a military vehicle, an ambulance, a firetruck, a trailer and an agricultural vehicle (Abstract, Fig. 1A see: vehicle is a solar car).
Bullen does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one of said generally-flexible solar cells, comprises a semiconductor wafer that is trenched or grooved by non-transcending craters, that penetrate into between 51 to 99 percent of an entire thickness of said semiconductor wafer; wherein said non-transcending craters provide mechanical resilience and flexing capability to said solar cell, and absorb and dissipate mechanical forces that are applied to said solar cell.
Albalak teaches solar cells wherein the at least one of said generally-flexible solar cells, comprises a semiconductor wafer that is trenched or grooved by non-transcending craters, that penetrate into between 51 to 99 percent of an entire thickness of said semiconductor wafer (Albalak, Abstract, [00179] see: silicon solar cell having craters that penetrate at least 50 percent but not more than 99 percent of the thickness of the silicon wafer); wherein said non-transcending craters provide mechanical resilience and flexing capability to said solar cell, and absorb and dissipate mechanical forces that are applied to said solar cell (Albalak, Abstract, [0176] [00179] see: said particular depth of each crater contributes to reduction of mechanical breakability of said PV cell array and provides flexibility).
Albalak and Bullen are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Bullen in view of Albalak such that at least one of said generally-flexible solar cells of Bullen, comprises a semiconductor wafer that is trenched or grooved by non-transcending craters, that penetrate into between 51 to 99 percent of an entire thickness of said semiconductor wafer as in Albalak (Albalak, Abstract, [00179] see: silicon solar cell having craters that penetrate at least 50 percent but not more than 99 percent of the thickness of the silicon wafer) as Albalak teaches wherein said non-transcending craters provide mechanical resilience and flexing capability to said solar cell, and absorb and dissipate mechanical forces that are applied to said solar cell (Albalak, Abstract, [0176] [00179] see: said particular depth of each crater contributes to reduction of mechanical breakability of said PV cell array and provides flexibility).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As noted above under the Priority section, the recited application fails to provide an enabling disclosure or any disclosure for the entire scope of the limitations of dependent claims 7-8, 20 and 26.
Therefore, the recited Applications PCT/IL2019/051416 and PCT/IL2021/050217 and US app No. 17/353,867 do not provide an enabling disclosure of the entire scope of the subject matter of claims 7-8, 20 and 26 and as such these claims are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application and the rejection of these claims under Bullen (US 2018/0244160) in view of Albalak et al (WO 2020/136653 A1), and Chen et al (JP 2014042009A) and Willham et al (US 2013/0061913) are maintained.
As recited in MPEP 201.11:Any claim in a continuation-in-part application which is directed solely to subject matter adequately disclosed under 35 U.S.C. 112 in the parent nonprovisional application is entitled to the benefit of the filing date of the parent nonprovisional application. However, if a claim in a continuation-in-part application recites a feature which was not disclosed or adequately supported by a proper disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 112 in the parent nonprovisional application, but which was first introduced or adequately supported in the continuation-in-part application, such a claim is entitled only to the filing date of the continuation-in-part application; In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292, 36 USPQ2d 1089 (Fed. Cir. 1995); Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994); In re Van Lagenhoven, 458 F.2d 132, 136, 173 USPQ 426, 429 (CCPA 1972); and Chromalloy American Corp. v. Alloy Surfaces Co., Inc., 339 F. Supp. 859, 874, 173 USPQ 295, 306 (D. Del. 1972).
Applicant further argues on page 11 of the response dated 03 February 2026 that the prior art of Masuda et al does not teach or suggest the functional purpose of the grooves, namely that the non-transcending craters provide mechanical resilience and flexing capability, and absorb and dissipate mechanical forces applied to the solar cell.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. Masuda at para [0044] and Fig. 9 shows the grooves at the back surface allow bending and deformation of the solar cell into curved shapes and thus provides functionality of the claimed “mechanical resilience and flexing capability” which will also allow it to perform the claimed function of absorbing and dissipating mechanical forces applied to the solar cell through this ability to flex or deform. A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Applicant’s further arguments to this point are also moot in view of the new grounds of rejection including CHU et al as set forth above.
Applicant’s further arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 12-20, and 22-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726