DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 06/03/2026 and 02/06/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Fig 4. 460 reads: “rated hydrogen capacity of different models of vehicles”. The description should read “rated hydrogen capacity of different vehicle models”.
Fig 4. 470 reads: “driving condition the hydrogen-powered vehicles”. The description should read “driving condition of the hydrogen-powered vehicles”.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 11, the claim reads: …” a heat exchanger, the heat exchanger being configured to…” and should read “…a heat exchanger is configured to…”
Regarding claim 20, the claim reads: …” a heat exchanger, the heat exchanger being configured to…” and should read “…a heat exchanger is configured to…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 2, 4-11 and 5, 15, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims, 3-14 and 16-20 are rejected as following dependent claims.
Regarding claim 1, reads “…and a transfer device are provided…”. There is no further description of the transfer device included in the claims.
The claim further reads, “oxygen is then discharged into an environment”. It is unclear if the oxygen is supposed to be released in an environment, any environment or the environment. In the following it is assumed the oxygen is supposed to be released into the environment. Claims 2, 4-11 are rejected as dependent claims.
Regarding claim 2, the claim reads “wherein the decomposition device comprises an electrolysis unit which includes an electrolysis tank, an electrode, and a power source, wherein the electrode is disposed in the electrolysis tank and connected to the power source; the electrolysis tank is configured to accommodate water which is decomposed into hydrogen and oxygen when the electrode is energized ….”. The description of the decomposition device is indefinite. Paragraph [0027] in the specification defines “The decomposition device 10 refers to a device that decomposes a feedstock to obtain the hydrogen. For example, fossil fuels (e.g., coal, natural gas, etc.) may be the feedstock, and the decomposition device 10 may prepare the hydrogen by chemically reacting the fossil fuels.” Producing Hydrogen from fossil fuels would require further process steps not mentioned in the current application. Therefore, the claim is rejected as being indefinite.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites the limitation " determine the predicted demand" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner suggests: “configured to predict the hydrogen demand by following the steps:”. The claim further reads” …predicted demand for hydrogen in the future time period based on …and a driving condition of each hydrogen vehicle”. It is unclear what the driving condition is referring to, for example the velocity, travel distance, weather conditions, or if the car is transporting a heavy load, etc.
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites the limitation " determine the predicted demand" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner suggests: “configured to predict the hydrogen demand by following the steps:”. The claim further reads” …predicted demand for hydrogen in the future time period based on …and a driving condition of each hydrogen vehicle”. It is unclear what the driving condition includes, for example the velocity, travel distance, weather conditions, or if the car is transporting a heavy load, etc.
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites the limitation " to maintain the temperature " in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fairlie et al. (DE60029214T2, “Fairlie hereinafter”, WO0069773A1 is being used for citations) and Zhou et al. (Operation and Economic Assessment of Hybrid Refueling Station Considering Traffic Flow Information; “Zhou” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Fairlie discloses a hydrogen refueling station for refueling a hydrogen-powered vehicle (an energy network for providing hydrogen generated at a production site by one or more water electrolysis devices, for use in particular as fuel for motor vehicles; Field of the invention), comprising a hydrogen refueling parking area (implicitly taught by parked vehicle Fig. 1) and a control device (Network controller, Fig. 1), wherein a decomposition device (electrolyser, Fig. 1) and a transfer device (distribution conduits 20, Fig. 1 or page 14 line 17) are provided in the hydrogen refueling parking area, wherein the decomposition device is configured to decompose water into hydrogen and oxygen (water electrolysers, abstract) when the hydrogen-powered vehicle (hydrogen-fueled vehicles (page 1, line 25)) is located in the hydrogen refueling parking area; the hydrogen is delivered to a storage device ( with or without on-ground hydrogen storage (page 4, line 22) and hydrogen storage facilities – which may be in a vehicle and other transportation units; direct and indirect hydrogen consuming conversion apparatus and equipment, such as fuel cell, electrical and thermal generating apparatus; and conduits, compressors and like transmission apparatus, page 5, lines 24-26)) of the hydrogen-powered vehicle, and the oxygen is discharged into an environment via the transfer device (oxygen may be, optionally, provided to users 20 or other users (not shown) by conduits (not shown, page 16 lines 26-27); and the control device which is configured to: obtain a hydrogen production cost of the decomposition device (real time price of electricity and price forecast, summary of the invention); and determine a hydrogen production strategy based on a predicted demand for hydrogen in a future time period and the hydrogen production cost (real time price of electricity and price forecast, summary of the invention), the hydrogen production strategy comprising at least one of operating power of the decomposition device or moments of start and stop of the decomposition device (the deferred use of electricity for hydrogen production and the supply of electricity to a demand of a higher priority (economic or technical); background of the invention, page 3, lines 24-25 ). Fairlie does not specify the user and releasing the oxygen into the environment. This simplifies the process design and would be obvious to the skilled artisan. Additionally, Zhou discloses the release of oxygen directly into the environment (Fig. 3). Fairlie and Zhou are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely hydrogen or hydrogen-hybrid fuel stations optimized by traffic flow data. Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to adapt the system disclosed by Fairly and release the oxygen into the environment as disclosed by Zhou as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known method for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Figure 1: Fairlie Figure 3
Figure 2: Fairlie Figure 1
Figure 3: Zhou
Regarding claim 2, Fairlie discloses a hydrogen refueling station and teaches the limitations required by claim 1. Fairlie further teaches that the decomposition device comprises an electrolysis unit which includes an electrolysis tank, an electrode, and a power source, wherein the electrode is disposed in the electrolysis tank and connected to the power source; the electrolysis tank is configured to accommodate water which is decomposed into hydrogen and oxygen when the electrode is energized (water electrolyser, abstract (the listed components are standard components of electrolysers and are known in the art abstract)); and the power source is supplied by an electrical grid (power grid source 22, Fig, 2 ).
Regarding claim 3, Fairlie discloses a hydrogen refueling station and teaches the limitations required by claim 1. Fairly further discloses a transfer device comprising a hydrogen delivery line and an oxygen discharge line (respective conduits); the hydrogen delivery line is connected to the decomposition device at one end and to the storage device at the other end; the oxygen discharge line is connected to the decomposition device (implicitly disclosed by figure 1, elements 20) and discloses that the oxygen can be directed tom the vehicle or another user. Fairlie does not specify the user and releasing the oxygen into the environment. This simplifies the process design and would be obvious to the skilled artisan. Additionally, Zhou discloses the release of oxygen directly into the environment (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Fairlie discloses a hydrogen refueling station and teaches the limitations required by claim 1. Fairlie discloses that the hydrogen production cost comprises an electricity cost and in order to obtain the hydrogen production cost, the control device is configured to: determine the electricity cost used by the decomposition device based on a price of electricity over different time periods and determine the hydrogen production cost based on the electricity cost. Fairlie discloses a control system able to determine the real-time price of electricity and determine price forecasts (page 4, line 33) and discloses the controller being designed to meet the demands of users subject to the availability of energy resource(s) at the lowest possible cost (page 16, lines 16-10). The control network hub analyses the status and needs of the users via master network controller and the status of energy sources and provides an optimized algorithm to meet the needs of the users, while providing plant load shifting, plant operation scheduling, plant-outage/maintenance and further includes an administrative center where data analysis of asset utilization, costing, and the like, can be performed and dynamically linked back to control network hub which manages both users demand and sources supply in an optimized fashion. It assumed that the equipment cost is included in the costing analysis.
Regarding claim 7, Fairlie discloses a hydrogen refueling station and teaches the limitations required by claim 1 and discloses that the control device is further configured to: determine the hydrogen production strategy based on the predicted demand for hydrogen (the network measures real-time and computed expected demand for hydrogen fuel and provides product hydrogen accordingly, page 5, lines 7-8 and upon receipt of the demand, page 21, lines 25-27), a current hydrogen content of a stationary hydrogen storage tank (status of the hydrogen source, page 21, lines 25-27), and a maximum hydrogen storage capacity of the stationary hydrogen storage tank (controls storage pressure, page 6, lines 6 or 30).
Regarding claim 8, Fairlie discloses a hydrogen refueling station and teaches the limitations required by claim 1. Fairlie discloses that the control device is further configured to: when the predicted demand for hydrogen is greater than the maximum storage capacity of the stationary hydrogen storage tank, send an alert to a manager (The term controller comprises central processing means and computing means for receiving, treating, forwarding and, optionally, storing data page 4, lines 25-26) of the hydrogen refueling station that the hydrogen needs to be transported from another hydrogen refueling station (controllers optionally schedule hydrogen demand p21, line 27) or to a hydrogen-powered vehicle that the hydrogen refueling station is lack of hydrogen (Upon receiving a demand, controller 14 determines the availability of energy resources 12, to which it is interconnected, with respect to the amount of energy available, the nature of the power available, the time availability of the energy, the type of energy source available, the unit prices per increment of energy and compares this to the energy required to generate the hydrogen demanded by users 16 (page 13, lines 26-28). While not directly mentioning alerting the manager Fairlie discloses that the network allows intercommunication between all users (page 13, lines 34) and forwarding data (page 4, lines 26). Fairlie further discloses that the hydrogen produced, storages levels and rates of changes are electronically or otherwise transferred to the operator (page 6, 31-34). The system is therefore able to perform the function of alerting the manager or informing a customer about the current hydrogen storage level or lack thereof.
Regarding claim 9, Fairlie discloses a hydrogen refueling station and teaches the limitations required by claim 1. Fairlie discloses the control device is further configured to determine, by a first predetermined algorithm (algorithmic manipulations page 4, lines 27), the moments of start and stop of the decomposition device when the predicted demand for hydrogen is less than the current hydrogen content of the stationary hydrogen storage tank. (The algorithmic manipulations within the controller(s) further determine the control stages operative in the practice of the invention, such as, inter alia, the operation of the energy resources(s), electrolytic cell(s), compressor valves, user activation units, and the like as hereafter described (page 5, lines 3-6)).
Regarding claim 10, The hydrogen refueling station according to claim 7, wherein the control device is further configured to determine the operating power of the decomposition device based on a second predetermined algorithm when the predicted demand for hydrogen is greater than the current hydrogen content of the stationary hydrogen storage tank and less than a maximum hydrogen storage capacity of the stationary hydrogen storage tank. (The algorithmic manipulations within the controller(s) further determine the control stages operative in the practice of the invention, such as, inter alia, the operation of the energy resources(s), electrolytic cell(s), compressor valves, user activation units, and the like as hereafter described (page 5, lines 3-6)).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fairlie et al. (DE60029214T2, “Fairlie hereinafter”, WO0069773A1 is being used for citations) in view of Zhou et al. (Operation and Economic Assessment of Hybrid Refueling Station Considering Traffic Flow Information; “Zhou” hereinafter) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Rong-Heng et al. (A review of hydrogen station location models; “Rong-Heng” hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 5, Fairlie discloses a hydrogen refueling station and teaches the limitations required by claim 1. Fairly further discloses a control device (network controller, figure 2) configured to determine the predicted demand for hydrogen (that measures real-time and computed expected demand for hydrogen fuel, page 5, lines 6-7) and discloses that the network may be linked with standard prediction models to predict future demand requirements by geographic location. (page 5, lines 9-10). While Fairlie teaches the dependence on a geographic location, Fairlie does not teach the following the operational steps: determining a marginal area (by geographic location. (page 5, line 10)) based on hydrogen refueling station distribution data; determining a predicted traffic flow of the marginal area in the future time period by processing a region map corresponding to the marginal area using a prediction model, the prediction model being a machine learning model; and determining the predicted demand for hydrogen in the future time period, based on the predicted traffic flow, a rated hydrogen capacity of each of different models of hydrogen-powered vehicles in the marginal area, and a driving condition of each hydrogen-powered vehicle in the marginal area. Zhou however in the same field of endeavor namely Refueling Stations with on-site Hydrogen Production and systems thereof discloses the application of an Artificial Neural Network (ANN) for the prediction of a traffic flow and implicitly discloses the determination of a marginal area by utilizing an area specific data set (In the disclosed example the data includes the traffic flow data of M1 between Castleblaney Road Southern Link). Fairlie and Zhou are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely optimizing hydrogen fuel stations and systems thereof. Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use an Artificial Neural Network (ANN) to predict the traffic flow and hydrogen demand and link this data to the controller following the disclosed suggestion to link data models as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known method for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Rong-Heng further discloses the review of hydrogen station location models (abstract) and provides an overview of several models including a flow-capturing location model and a flow-refueling location model that considers additional factors the average driving speed and the maximum driving range for example that are descriptive of the driving condition of the vehicle. Fairlie and Rong-Heng are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely hydrogen fuel stations and systems thereof. Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the flow-refueling location model disclosed by Rong-Heng to the controller disclosed by Fairlie and Zhou as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known technique for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fairlie et al. (DE60029214T2, “Fairlie hereinafter”, WO0069773A1 is being used for citations) in view of Zhou et al. (Operation and Economic Assessment of Hybrid Refueling Station Considering Traffic Flow Information; “Zhou” hereinafter) and in view of Rong-Heng et al. (A review of hydrogen station location models; Rong-Heng hereinafter) as applied to claim 6 and further in view of Lin Jin et al. (CN 113930805 B; “Lin113”, hereinafter; a machine translation is being used for the citations).
Regarding claim 11, modified Fairlie discloses a hydrogen refueling station and teaches the limitations required by claim 6 but fails to disclose a heat exchanger. Lin113 however discloses a temperature prediction control method and device for an electrical hydrogen production system including a heat exchanger (the cooling water circuit includes a chiller, a chilled water valve, and a heat exchanger page 3, line 21), the heat exchanger being configured to maintain a temperature of the decomposition device within a preset range (controlling the temperature of an electro-hydrogen production system, abstract); the control device is further configured to determine a heating strategy (predicting and controlling the temperature, abstract) for the heat exchanger based on the predicted demand for hydrogen and a current temperature of the decomposition device (the future temperature change trend, abstract); and generate a control instruction (determining the opening degree of the cold water valve, abstract) based on the heating strategy, and send the control instruction to the heat exchanger to cause the heat exchanger to execute the heating strategy in accordance with the control instruction. (This disclosure predicts the future temperature change trend of the electrolyzer by using future current signals, thereby determining the opening degree of the cold-water valve at the next moment, abstract). Fairlie and Lin113 are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely hydrogen production systems. Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the temperature prediction and control method and device disclosed by Lin113 as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known method for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Claims 15, 18, 19, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fairlie et al. (DE60029214T2, “Fairlie hereinafter”, WO0069773A1 is being used for citations) and Zhou et al. (Operation and Economic Assessment of Hybrid Refueling Station Considering Traffic Flow Information; “Zhou” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 15, Fairlie discloses a hydrogen refueling system (energy network for providing hydrogen for use in particular as fuel for motor vehicles, field of the invention) comprising: a decomposition device (electrolyser, Fig. 1), a transfer device (distribution conduits 20, Fig. 1 or page 14 line 17), a storage device (with or without on-ground hydrogen storage (page 4, line 22) and hydrogen storage facilities – which may be in a vehicle and other transportation units; direct and indirect hydrogen consuming conversion apparatus and equipment, such as fuel cell, electrical and thermal generating apparatus; and conduits, compressors and like transmission apparatus, page 5, lines 24-26) ), a recombination device (fuel cell (page 9, line 18-20)), and a control device (network controller, Fig. 1); wherein the decomposition device (water electrolysers, abstract) is configured to decompose water into hydrogen and oxygen; the transfer device (hardware input and output distribution conduits ), is configured to deliver the hydrogen into the storage device (see figure 2; and “in a vehicle and other transportation units; direct and indirect hydrogen consuming conversion apparatus and equipment, such as fuel cell, electrical and thermal generating apparatus; and conduits, compressors and like transmission apparatus” , page 5, lines 24-26) and to discharge the oxygen into an environment (oxygen may be, optionally, provided to users 20 or other users (not shown) by conduits not shown, page 16 lines 26-27)); the storage device is configured to store the hydrogen delivered from the transfer device; the recombination device (fuel cell in hydrogen-fueled vehicles (page 1, line 25) or external fuel cell (page 9, line 18-20)) is configured to receive the hydrogen from the storage device and the oxygen from the environment (function of a fuel cell, generally known in the art), the hydrogen and oxygen reacting in the recombination device to produce an electric current (the hydrogen storage reservoir, may optionally, be converted back to electricity for the grid using an appropriate conversion device such as a fuel cell, page 9, line 18-20); and the control device is configured to: obtain a hydrogen production cost of the decomposition device (real time price of electricity and price forecast, summary of the invention); and determine a hydrogen production strategy based on a predicted demand for hydrogen in a future time period and the hydrogen production cost; the hydrogen production strategy comprising at least one of operating power of the decomposition device or moments of start and stop of the decomposition device (the deferred use of electricity for hydrogen production and the supply of electricity to a demand of a higher priority (economic or technical); background of the invention, page 3, lines 24-25 ). Fairlie and Zhou are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely hydrogen or hydrogen-hybrid fuel stations optimized by traffic flow data. Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to adapt the system disclosed by Fairly and release the oxygen into the environment as disclosed by Zhou as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known method for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Regarding claim 18, Fairlie discloses a hydrogen refueling station and teaches the limitations required by claim 15. Fairlie discloses that the hydrogen production cost comprises an electricity cost and in order to obtain the hydrogen production cost, the control device is configured to: determine the electricity cost used by the decomposition device based on a price of electricity over different time periods and determine the hydrogen production cost based on the electricity cost. Fairlie discloses a control system able to determine the real-time price of electricity and determine price forecasts (page 4, line 33) and discloses the controller being designed to meet the demands of users subject to the availability of energy resource(s) at the lowest possible cost (page 16, lines 16-10). The control network hub analyses the status and needs of the users via master network controller and the status of energy sources and provides an optimized algorithm to meet the needs of the users, while providing plant load shifting, plant operation scheduling, plant outage/maintenance and further includes an administrative center where data analysis of asset utilization, costing, and the like, can be performed and dynamically linked back to control network hub which manages both users demand and sources supply in an optimized fashion. While not explicitly mentioning the equipment cost is it assumed that this is included in the costing analysis.
Regarding claim 19, Fairlie discloses a hydrogen refueling system and teaches the limitations required by claim 15 and further discloses that the control device is further configured to: determine the hydrogen production strategy based on the predicted demand for hydrogen (the network measures real-time and computed expected demand for hydrogen fuel and provides product hydrogen accordingly, page 5, lines 7-8 and upon receipt of the demand, page 21, lines 25-27), a current hydrogen content of a stationary hydrogen storage tank (status of the hydrogen source, page 21, lines 25-27), and a maximum hydrogen storage capacity of the stationary hydrogen storage tank (controls storage pressure, page 6, lines 6 or 30 f).
Regarding claim 21, Fairlie discloses a hydrogen refueling system and teaches the limitations required by claim 1. Fairlie discloses that the control device is further configured to: when the predicted demand for hydrogen is greater than the maximum storage capacity of the stationary hydrogen storage tank, send an alert to a manager (The term controller comprises central processing means and computing means for receiving, treating, forwarding and, optionally, storing data page 4, lines 25-26) of the hydrogen refueling station that the hydrogen needs to be transported from another hydrogen refueling station (controllers optionally schedule hydrogen demand p21, line 27) or to a hydrogen-powered vehicle that the hydrogen refueling station is lack of hydrogen (Upon receiving a demand, controller 14 determines the availability of energy resources 12, to which it is interconnected, with respect to the amount of energy available, the nature of the power available, the time availability of the energy, the type of energy source available, the unit prices per increment of energy and compares this to the energy required to generate the hydrogen demanded by users 16 (page 13, lines 26-28). While not directly mentioning alerting the manager Fairlie discloses that the network allows intercommunication between all users (page 13, lines 34) and forwarding data (page 4, lines 26). Fairlie further discloses that the hydrogen produced, storages levels and rates of changes are electronically or otherwise transferred to the operator (page 6, 31-34). The system is therefore able to perform the functions of alerting the manager or informing a customer.
Regarding claim 22, Fairlie discloses a hydrogen refueling system and teaches the limitations required by claim 19. Fairlie discloses the control device is further configured to determine, by a first predetermined algorithm (algorithmic manipulations page 4, lines 27), the moments of start and stop of the decomposition device when the predicted demand for hydrogen is less than the current hydrogen content of the stationary hydrogen storage tank. (The algorithmic manipulations within the controller(s) further determine the control stages operative in the practice of the invention, such as, inter alia, the operation of the energy resources(s), electrolytic cell(s), compressor valves, user activation units, and the like as hereafter described (page 5, lines 3-6)).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fairlie et al. (DE60029214T2, “Fairlie hereinafter”, WO0069773A1 is being used for citations) in view of Zhou et al. (Operation and Economic Assessment of Hybrid Refueling Station Considering Traffic Flow Information; “Zhou” hereinafter) as applied to claim 15 and further in view of Rong-Heng et al. (A review of hydrogen station location models; “Rong-Heng” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 17, Fairlie discloses a hydrogen refueling system and teaches the limitations required by claim 15. Fairly further discloses a control device (network controller, figure 2) configured to determine the predicted demand for hydrogen (that measures real-time and computed expected demand for hydrogen fuel, page 5, lines 6-7) and discloses that the network may be linked with standard prediction models to predict future demand requirements by geographic location. (page 5, lines 9-10). While Fairlie teaches the dependence on a geographic location, Fairlie does not teach the following the operational steps: determining a marginal area (by geographic location. (page 5, line 10)) based on hydrogen refueling station distribution data; determining a predicted traffic flow of the marginal area in the future time period by processing a region map corresponding to the marginal area using a prediction model, the prediction model being a machine learning model; and determining the predicted demand for hydrogen in the future time period, based on the predicted traffic flow, a rated hydrogen capacity of each of different models of hydrogen-powered vehicles in the marginal area, and a driving condition of each hydrogen-powered vehicle in the marginal area. Zhou however in the same field of endeavor namely Refueling Stations with on-site Hydrogen Production and systems thereof discloses the application of an Artificial Neural Network (ANN) for the prediction of a traffic flow and implicitly discloses the determination of a marginal area by utilizing an area specific data set (In the disclosed example the data includes the traffic flow data of M1 between Castleblaney Road Southern Link). Fairlie and Zhou are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely optimizing hydrogen fuel stations and systems thereof. Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use an Artificial Neural Network (ANN) to predict the traffic flow and hydrogen demand and link this data to the controller following the disclosed suggestion to link data models as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known method for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Rong-Heng further discloses the review of hydrogen station location models (abstract) and provides an overview of several models including a flow-capturing location model and a flow-refueling location model that considers additional factors the average driving speed and the maximum driving range for example that are descriptive of the driving condition of the vehicle. Fairlie and Rong-Heng are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely hydrogen fuel stations and systems thereof. Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the flow-refueling location model disclosed by Rong-Heng to the controller disclosed by Fairlie and Zhou as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known technique for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fairlie et al. (DE60029214T2, “Fairlie hereinafter”, WO0069773A1 is being used for citations) in view of Zhou et al. (Operation and Economic Assessment of Hybrid Refueling Station Considering Traffic Flow Information; “Zhou” hereinafter) and in view of Rong-Heng et al. (A review of hydrogen station location models; Rong-Heng hereinafter) as applied to claim 19 and further in view of Lin Jin et al. (CN 113930805 B; “Lin113”, hereinafter; a machine translation is being used for the citations).
Regarding claim 20, modified Fairlie discloses a hydrogen refueling system and teaches the limitations required by claim 6 but fails to disclose a heat exchanger. Lin113 however discloses a temperature prediction control method and device for an electrical hydrogen production system including a heat exchanger (the cooling water circuit includes a chiller, a chilled water valve, and a heat exchanger page 3, line 21), the heat exchanger being configured to maintain a temperature of the decomposition device within a preset range (controlling the temperature of an electro-hydrogen production system, abstract); the control device is further configured to determine a heating strategy (predicting and controlling the temperature, abstract) for the heat exchanger based on the predicted demand for hydrogen and a current temperature of the decomposition device (the future temperature change trend, abstract); and generate a control instruction (determining the opening degree of the cold water valve, abstract) based on the heating strategy, and send the control instruction to the heat exchanger to cause the heat exchanger to execute the heating strategy in accordance with the control instruction. (This disclosure predicts the future temperature change trend of the electrolyzer by using future current signals, thereby determining the opening degree of the cold-water valve at the next moment., abstract). Fairlie and Lin113 are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely hydrogen production systems. Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the temperature prediction and control method and device disclosed by Lin113 as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known method for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Conclusion
European Journal of Technology ISSN 2520-0712 (online) Vol.5, Issue 1, pp1 1 - 14, 2021, https://doi.org/10.47672/ejt.2676: Application of AI for gas stations - Predictive Demand Forecasting and Intelligent Inventory Management
/S.L.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725