DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryu (U.S. 2009/0299114 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ryu teaches a catalyst (Ryu, [0042]-[0045]), wherein the catalyst comprises an MgAl2O4 carrier (Ryu, [0042], “magnesium-spine[l] alumina”; [0019]), and Ni, Pd, and Cu active components loaded thereon (Ryu, [0044]).
Ryu does not explicitly state that the catalyst is a reductive amination catalyst. However, absent structural differences between a claim and a prior art material or article, a recitation of the claimed material or article' s intended use cannot alone patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See MPEP 2114 I-II, citing, e.g., Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987); MPEP 2111.02 II, citing Rowe v. Dror, 112, F.3d 473, 478 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (stating that “where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation”). See also In re Zierden, 411 F.2d 1325, 1328 (CCPA 1969) (stating that “a mere statement of a new use for an otherwise old or obvious composition cannot render a claim to the composition patentable”). Thus, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, as Ryu’s is, it meets the claim. See MPEP 2111.02 II, citing In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (citing, inter alia, In re Zierden). In the instant case, because Ryu teaches the claimed material, the instant claim’s recitation of that material as an amination catalyst does not distinguish it from Ryu’s material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (U.S. 2009/0299114 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fujiso (U.S. Patent No. 3,751,508, 1973).
Regarding claim 2, Ryu teaches the reductive amination catalyst according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the reductive amination catalyst is prepared from the following components by weight percent: 9.96 wt% of Ni; 0.09 wt% of Pd, which differs from the claimed range of 0.1-2 wt%; 0.57 wt% of Cu; and an unspecified amount of MgAl2O4 (Ryu, [0044]), which differs from the claimed range of 84-95 wt% of MgAl2O4.
While Ryu does not explicitly teach that the catalyst contains 84-95 wt% of MgAl2O4, Ryu teaches generally that the amount of MgAl2O4 in the support can be any amount (Ryu, [0019], “The content of spinel in aluminum oxide support can be any amount, but preferably from 0.1% to 50%, most preferably from 0.2% to 20%.”). Fujiso teaches that a support entirely of MgAl2O4 is suitable to use as a support for an acetylenic hydrocarbon hydrogenation catalyst (Fujiso, Claim 1; Col. 2, lines 47-52, “According to the invention, the magnesium-aluminum spinel prepared by known means as above may be used as the carrier…”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected MgAl2O4 by itself as the support material in Ryu’s catalyst. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07. In the instant case, MgAl2O4 was known to be suitable by itself as a support in a catalyst for the same type of transformation undertaken by Ryu (Ryu, [0014], hydrogenation of acetylenic hydrocarbons; Fujiso, Claim 1; Col. 2, lines 47-52), so it would be obvious to use as a catalyst support.
In selecting MgAl2O4 as the sole support in Ryu’s catalyst as rendered obvious by Fujiso, the proportion of MgAl2O-4 by weight would be 1 - 0.01 x (Ni wt%) - 0.01 x (Pd wt%) - 0.01 x (Cu wt%) = 1 - .0996 - .0057- .0009 = 0.8938, or 89.38%.
While the amount of Pd in Ryu’s embodiment contemplated above (Ryu, Example 7, [0042]-[0045], 0.09 wt% of Pd) differs from the claimed range of 0.1-2 wt% of Pd, Ryu teaches generally that a range of 0.005-0.2 wt% of Pd is suitable (Ryu, [0012]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1-2 wt% of Pd.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the amounts of Pd because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Regarding claim 3, modified Ryu renders the reductive amination catalyst according to claim 2 obvious, as discussed above, wherein the reductive amination catalyst is prepared from the following components by weight percent: 9.96 wt% of Ni; 0.09 wt% of Pd, which differs from the claimed range of 0.1-0.5 wt% of Pd; 0.57 wt% of Cu, which differs from the claimed range of 0.1-0.5 wt% of Cu; and 89.38 wt% MgAl2O4 (Ryu, [0044]).
While the amount of Cu in Ryu’s embodiment contemplated above (Ryu, Example 7, [0042]-[0045], 0.57 wt% of Cu) differ from the claimed range of 0.1-0.5 wt% of Cu , Ryu teaches generally that a range of 0.01-0.6 wt% of Cu is preferable (Ryu, [0012]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1-0.5 wt% of Cu.
Additionally, while the amount of Pd in Ryu’s embodiment contemplated above (Ryu, Example 7, [0042]-[0045], 0.09 wt% of Pd) differs from the claimed range of 0.5-1.5 wt% of Pd, Ryu teaches generally that Pd in an amount less than 10% of the Ni present is suitable (Ryu, [0012]-[0013], a promoting amount of Pd). In the instant case, less than 10% of the Ni present corresponds to less than 0.996 wt% of Pd (Ryu, [0044], 10% of 9.96 wt% of Ni), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.5-1.5wt% of Pd.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portions of the amounts of Cu and of Pd because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Conclusion
/ZACHARY JOHN BAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 1736