DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, including claims 1-2, 5-7, and 9-10, in the reply filed on 04/03/2026 is acknowledged. Amended claim 19 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected species. Therefore, only claims 1-2, 5-7, and 9-10 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hashizume (US 6,147,817).
Regarding claim 1, Hashizume (figures 1-2) discloses an optical apparatus comprising:
a housing including a bottom wall and a first member constituting at least a part of the housing (14 and 16);
an optical component accommodated in the housing and configured to transmit or reflect light (lens 12); and
a second member (base 36) fixed to the first member and including at least one opening configured to accommodate a part of the optical component (lens 12, figure 1), the second member being configured to support the optical component via an adhesive agent (38), wherein
the adhesive agent (38) is arranged at positions approximately symmetric to each other with respect to a center line passing through a center of gravity of the optical component and extending in a first direction that is vertical to the bottom wall, in a third direction that is perpendicular to the first direction (direction 0-0), and
the optical component is suspended from the second member (12 and 36).
The limitation “the optical component is suspended from the second member” is a product by process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 2, Hashizume (figures 1-2) discloses an optical device accommodated in the housing and configured to perform at least one of reception of light, transmission of light, and change of optical properties (semiconductor 10; The semiconductor device 10 may comprise a light-emitting device such as a semiconductor laser, a light-emitting diode, or the like, or a light-detecting device such as a photodiode, a photodiode with a built-in preamplifier; see at least column 6, lines 30-40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashizume (US 6,147,817) in view of Haruhiko (JPH09145962).
Regarding claim 6, Hashizume discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Hashizume is silent regarding wherein the opening of the second member is a through opening configured to penetrate through the second member in a first direction. Haruhiko (figures 3-4) teaches wherein the opening of the second member is a through opening configured to penetrate through the second member in a first direction (figure 1; between the end portion and the optical semiconductor chip 1 of the cylindrical body guide groove 31, the rectangular cross section of the clearance groove 39 which is perpendicular to the cylindrical body guide groove 31; see at least page 7, first paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the opening as taught by Haruhiko in order to simplify the manufacturing stops and achieve a compact photoelectric conversion element that is freely optical coupling detachable.
Regarding claim 7, Haruhiko (figures 3-4) discloses wherein the through opening of the second member is a through hole that is separated from an edge of the second member in a second direction that crosses the first direction (figure 1; between the end portion and the optical semiconductor chip 1 of the cylindrical body guide groove 31, the rectangular cross section of the clearance groove 39 which is perpendicular to the cylindrical body guide groove 31; see at least page 7, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 9, Haruhiko (figures 3-4) discloses wherein the optical component includes a flange at a position deviated from the opening in the first direction such that the flange overlaps with a rim of the opening in the first direction (closely flange 52 on the outer surface of the side wall 12 of the package 10, to secure the entire peripheral surface of the flange 52 by laser welding or the like to the side wall 12; see at least page 8. 8th paragraph).
Regarding claim 10, Haruhiko (figures 3-4) discloses wherein the adhesive agent bonds the second member and the flange (closely flange 52 on the outer surface of the side wall 12 of the package 10, to secure the entire peripheral surface of the flange 52 by laser welding or the like to the side wall 12; see at least page 8. 8th paragraph).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871