otice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/631,160 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USP Application Publication 2015/0030313 to Tammisalo et al., hereinafter Tammisalo.
As per claims 1, 13, and 20, Tammisalo teaches providing, by a device [140], a remote access session to a remote device [109 server] for both a user device [client device 100] and an overseeing device [device used by the monitoring user; 0063] , wherein the overseeing device displays user device actions on the remote access session (0023 and 0063);
determining, by the device [the hound 140 performs client authentication and authorization; 0038], a set of permitted actions [permits access to server; 0061] and a set of restricted actions that the user device is allowed to perform on the remote device in the remote access session [these are the certain commands or actions that need a monitoring user to accept; 0063]
allowing, by the device, user device actions when permitted [implied commands that are allowed without the monitoring user’s input because only certain file transfers and commands require the monitoring user be present; 0061-0063]; and
requesting by the device, real-time permission from the overseeing device when user device action is restricted (0063).
As per claim 2, Tammisalo teaches approving the user device actions based on the overseeing device providing permission; or denying the user device actions based on the overseeing device not providing permission [monitoring user gives input to accept/deny/terminate the session; 0063].
As per claims 3 and 14, Tammisalo teaches the user device displays a view of an interface associated with the remote device [the client device displays the connection to the server such as an SSH or RDP connection; 0023],and
the overseeing device displays the view of the interface associated with the remote device (0063) with enhanced contextual information [real-time video is generated of the client’s interaction with the server and features are highlighted; 0043 and 0047].
As per claims 4 and 15, Tammisalo teaches the enhanced contextual information includes a banner that tracks movements performed by the user device or actions performed by the user device, or both (0043).
As per claims 5 and 16, Tammisalo teaches the enhanced contextual information includes visual indicators or textual indications, or both, of actions performed by the user device (0042 and 0043).
As per claims 6 and 17, Tammisalo teaches the enhanced contextual information includes a historical account of past actions performed by the user device [the video captures the cursor movement and mouse clicks as a video recording of the session which is saved as an audit log in the vault; 0027 and 0043].
As per claims 7 and 18, Tammisalo teaches the enhanced contextual information is selected from a group consisting of: colored dots for clicks, keyboard commands, keyboard shortcuts, mouse drags, mouse actions, and information on actions inputted to the user device [mouse actions and commands; 0043 and 0063].
As per claim 8, Tammisalo teaches the set of permitted actions includes keyboard actions performed by the user device, mouse drags performed by the user device, or both [not every action the user makes is suspended but they are recorded; 0043].
As per claims 9 and 19, Tammisalo teaches the set of restricted actions are selected from a group consisting of: a type of mouse click input, an instruction to submit a command (0063), an instruction to execute a command, an instruction to start a program, an instruction to stop a program, an instruction to edit a file, and an instruction to submit a form.
As per claim 10, Tammisalo teaches the real-time permission from the overseeing device is selected from a group consisting of: a user of the overseeing device performing a mouse click operation, a user of the overseeing device performing a key stroke operation, a user of the overseeing device selecting an approve action, and a user of the overseeing device selecting a deny action (0063).
As per claim 11, Tammisalo teaches the set of permitted actions and the set of restricted actions are based in part on administrator-defined rules [enforces policies of the network; 0027].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tammisalo in view of USP Application Publication 2023/0093882 to Waters et al., hereinafter Waters.
As per claim 12, Tammisalo is silent in explicitly teaching the set of permitted actions and the set of restricted actions are based in part on a machine learning model that is trained on approvals and denials of requested permissions over time. On the other hand, Waters teaches the set of permitted actions and the set of restricted actions are based in part on a machine learning model that is trained on approvals and denials of requested permissions over time (0035). Waters shows that an AI can be trained from the decisions of a user granting or deny requests so that it can make those decisions without human intervention. Future decisions can be automated. Tammisalo has monitoring users provide decisions on whether to grant or deny certain user actions. The AI of Waters could have been trained on these decisions to provide more automated decisions and less need to suspend sessions until a user makes authorization decisions. This would provide a streamlined session that leverages the learned previous decisions to avoid needing human supervisor is some cases. The claim is obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art can combine methods known before the effective filing date which produce predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed on the enclosed PTO-892 form.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL R. VAUGHAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7316. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday, 9:30am - 5:30pm, EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Lynn Feild can be reached on (571) 272-2092. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MICHAEL R VAUGHAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431