DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/10/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 15 in line 11 recites “where the computer is configured for;” it should read as “wherein the computer is configured for:”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis- Step 1
Claim 1 is directed to a gripper health monitoring method for an industrial robot (i.e. a process). Therefore, claim 1 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding prong 1 of the Step 2A analysis, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite abstract ideas (emphasized below in bold).
Claim 1 recites:
A gripper health monitoring method for an industrial robot, said
method comprising:
recording, by a robot controller, gripper response times for each grip or ungrip event by a gripper on the robot;
analyzing the gripper response times, by a computer having a processor and memory, to provide analyzed gripper timing data;
identifying any anomalous issues in the gripper response times and the analyzed gripper timing data;
sending alert notifications of any identified issues; and
providing the gripper response times, the analyzed gripper timing data and any identified issues on a web portal for viewing by a robot operator.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, “recording, by a robot controller, gripper response times for each grip or ungrip event by a gripper on the robot…” step encompasses performing a mental observation of robot gripping and ungripping times and taking note. Additionally, the limitation, “identifying any anomalous issues in the gripper response times and the analyzed gripper timing data…” encompasses the user/operator making a mental determination based off the provided gripping data. The limitation, “providing the gripper response times, the analyzed gripper timing data and any identified issues on a web portal for viewing by a robot operator…” encompasses a user/operator posting or sending the data and results to website/application for other users/operators to view. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one or more abstract idea(s).
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. It must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
A gripper health monitoring method for an industrial robot, said
method comprising:
recording, by a robot controller, gripper response times for each grip or ungrip event by a gripper on the robot;
analyzing the gripper response times, by a computer having a processor and memory, to provide analyzed gripper timing data;
identifying any anomalous issues in the gripper response times and the analyzed gripper timing data;
sending alert notifications of any identified issues; and
providing the gripper response times, the analyzed gripper timing data and any identified issues on a web portal for viewing by a robot operator.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application. Regarding the additional limitations of “analyzing the gripper response times, by a computer having a processor and memory, to provide analyzed gripper timing data…” and “sending alert notifications of any identified issues…” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activity. In particular, all of these limitations are just further defining and adding context to the mental processes.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong II which discusses that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed, above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application. And as discussed above, the additional limitations of “analyzing the gripper response times, by a computer having a processor and memory, to provide analyzed gripper timing data…” and “sending alert notifications of any identified issues…” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations of “analyzing the gripper response times, by a computer having a processor and memory, to provide analyzed gripper timing data…” and “sending alert notifications of any identified issues…” are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities.
Dependent claims 2-13 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well -understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, dependent claims 2-13 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of independent claim 1.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 14 is directed to a health monitoring method (i.e. a process). Therefore, claim 14 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding prong 1 of the Step 2A analysis, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 14 includes limitations that recite abstract ideas (emphasized below in bold).
Claim 14 recites:
A health monitoring method for an end-of-arm tool on an industrial robot, said method comprising:
recording, by a robot controller, response times for a start and stop of each task performed by the end-of-arm tool;
analyzing the response times, by a computer having a processor and memory, to provide analyzed tool timing data;
identifying any anomalous issues in the response times and the analyzed tool timing data;
sending alert notifications of any identified issues; and
providing the response times, the analyzed tool timing data and any identified issues on a web portal for viewing by a robot operator.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, “recording, by a robot controller, response times for start and stop of each task performed by the end-of-arm tool…” step encompasses performing a mental observation of a robot executing a task and tracking the times and taking note. Additionally, the limitation, “identifying any anomalous issues in the response times and the analyzed tool timing data…” encompasses the user/operator making a mental determination based off the provided tool data. The limitation, “providing the response times, the analyzed tool timing data and any identified issues on a web portal for viewing by a robot operator…” encompasses a user/operator posting or sending the data and results to website/application for other users/operators to view. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one or more abstract idea(s).
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. It must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
A health monitoring method for an end-of-arm tool on an industrial robot, said method comprising:
recording, by a robot controller, response times for a start and stop of each task performed by the end-of-arm tool;
analyzing the response times, by a computer having a processor and memory, to provide analyzed tool timing data;
identifying any anomalous issues in the response times and the analyzed tool timing data;
sending alert notifications of any identified issues; and
providing the response times, the analyzed tool timing data and any identified issues on a web portal for viewing by a robot operator.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application. Regarding the additional limitations of “analyzing the response times, by a computer having a processor and memory, to provide analyzed tool timing data…” and “sending alert notifications of any identified issues…” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activity. In particular, all of these limitations are just further defining and adding context to the mental processes.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong II which discusses that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed, above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application. And as discussed above, the additional limitations of “analyzing the response times, by a computer having a processor and memory, to provide analyzed tool timing data…” and “sending alert notifications of any identified issues…” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations of “analyzing the response times, by a computer having a processor and memory, to provide analyzed tool timing data…” and “sending alert notifications of any identified issues…” are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 15 is directed to a health monitoring system (i.e. an apparatus). Therefore, claim 15 is within at least one of four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding prong 1 of the Step 2A analysis, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 15 includes limitations that recite abstract ideas (emphasized below in bold).
Claim 15 recites:
A gripper health monitoring system for industrial robots, said system comprising:
one or more robots, each robot having a gripper as an end-of-arm tool;
a robot controller in communication with each robot, each controller having a processor and memory configured for recording gripper response times for each grip or ungrip event by the gripper on the robot;
a data collection device in communication with the robot controllers and receiving the gripper response times for each of the robots; and
a computer having a processor and memory, said computer periodically receiving the gripper response times from the data collection device, where the computer is configured for;
analyzing the gripper response times for each individual gripper to provide analyzed gripper timing data;
identifying any anomalous issues in the gripper response times and the analyzed gripper timing data for each individual gripper;
sending alert notifications of any identified issues; and
providing the gripper response times, the analyzed gripper timing data and any identified issues on a web portal for viewing by a robot operator.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, “a data collection device in communication with the robot controllers and receiving the gripper response times for each of the robots…” encompasses a user/operator observing the gripper response times from the controllers. Additionally, “identifying any anomalous issues in the gripper response times and the analyzed gripper timing data for each individual gripper…” encompasses the user/operator making a mental determination based off the provided gripping data. The limitation, “providing the gripper response times, the analyzed gripper timing data and any identified issues on a web portal for viewing by a robot operator…” encompasses a user/operator posting or sending the data and results to website/application for other users/operators to view. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one or more abstract idea(s).
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. It must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
A gripper health monitoring system for industrial robots, said system comprising:
one or more robots, each robot having a gripper as an end-of-arm tool;
a robot controller in communication with each robot, each controller having a processor and memory configured for recording gripper response times for each grip or ungrip event by the gripper on the robot;
a data collection device in communication with the robot controllers and receiving the gripper response times for each of the robots; and
a computer having a processor and memory, said computer periodically receiving the gripper response times from the data collection device, where the computer is configured for;
analyzing the gripper response times for each individual gripper to provide analyzed gripper timing data;
identifying any anomalous issues in the gripper response times and the analyzed gripper timing data for each individual gripper;
sending alert notifications of any identified issues; and
providing the gripper response times, the analyzed gripper timing data and any identified issues on a web portal for viewing by a robot operator.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application. Regarding the additional limitations of “one or more robots, each robot having a gripper as an end-of-arm tool…”, “a robot controller in communication with each robot, each controller having a processor and memory configured for recording gripper response times for each grip or ungrip event by the gripper on the robot”, “a computer having a processor and memory, said computer periodically receiving the gripper response times from the data collection device, where the computer is configured for;
analyzing the gripper response times for each individual gripper to provide analyzed gripper timing data…” and “sending alert notifications of any identified issues…” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activity. In particular, all of these limitations are just further defining and adding context to the mental processes.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong II which discusses that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed, above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application. And as discussed above, the additional limitations of “one or more robots, each robot having a gripper as an end-of-arm tool…”, “a robot controller in communication with each robot, each controller having a processor and memory configured for recording gripper response times for each grip or ungrip event by the gripper on the robot”, “a computer having a processor and memory, said computer periodically receiving the gripper response times from the data collection device, where the computer is configured for;
analyzing the gripper response times for each individual gripper to provide analyzed gripper timing data…” and “sending alert notifications of any identified issues…” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations of “one or more robots, each robot having a gripper as an end-of-arm tool…”, “a robot controller in communication with each robot, each controller having a processor and memory configured for recording gripper response times for each grip or ungrip event by the gripper on the robot”, “a computer having a processor and memory, said computer periodically receiving the gripper response times from the data collection device, where the computer is configured for;
analyzing the gripper response times for each individual gripper to provide analyzed gripper timing data…” and “sending alert notifications of any identified issues…” are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities.
Dependent claims 16-22 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well -understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, dependent claims 16-22 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of independent claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-16 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hosek (US 2014/0201571 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hosek teaches a gripper health monitoring method for an industrial robot, said method comprising: recording, by a robot controller, gripper response times for each grip or ungrip event by a gripper on the robot [(see at least paragraphs 54,154) As in 54 “It is a feature of the disclosed embodiments that the data collection function acquires time histories of selected variables during operation of the machine being monitored, the pre-processing function calculates specific characteristics of the acquired time histories, the analysis function evaluates characteristics of individual components with which the variables are associated and produces one or more hypotheses about the condition of each of the components, and the reasoning function derives an overall assessment of the machine, including the condition of the individual components of the machine and the degree of confidence that the machine is in good operating condition” As in 154 “In addition, a gripping action results in either no gripping or an increase in the gripper operation time. For the vacuum-actuated edge-contact gripper, the grip operation time is measured between the instant when the valve (306, 406) is commanded to open and the time a position sensing flag (308) detects open state of the gripper. For surface-contact suction gripper, the grip operation time is measured between the instant when the valve is commanded to open and the time when the vacuum sensor reading reaches an acceptable vacuum level.”]; analyzing the gripper response times, by a computer having a processor and memory, to provide analyzed gripper timing data [(see at least paragraphs 54-55) “It is a feature of the disclosed embodiments that the data collection function acquires time histories of selected variables during operation of the machine being monitored, the pre-processing function calculates specific characteristics of the acquired time histories, the analysis function evaluates characteristics of individual components with which the variables are associated and produces one or more hypotheses about the condition of each of the components, and the reasoning function derives an overall assessment of the machine, including the condition of the individual components of the machine and the degree of confidence that the machine is in good operating condition.”] identifying any anomalous issues in the gripper response times and the analyzed gripper timing data; sending alert notifications of any identified issues [(see at least paragraphs 74-76) As in 74 “when a potential problem is detected, the manager 130 may initiate collection of additional data by the data collection function 105 for accurate fault diagnosis. The manager 130 may also initiate a template sequence which was pre-designed specifically for health-monitoring and fault-diagnostic purposes.” As in 76 “the system 100 provides at least two distinct functions: health monitoring and fault diagnostics. The purpose of health monitoring is to perform condition assessment of individual components of the robotized tool, and report a service request when a problematic condition of any of the components is identified.”] and providing the gripper response times, the analyzed gripper timing data and any identified issues on a web portal for viewing by a robot operator. [(see at least paragraphs 65-67, 136) As in 67 “The function controller 200 may include a user interface 225 with a display 240 and an input device such as a keyboard 255 or mouse 245. The user interface may be operated by a user interface controller 250 under control of processor 205 and may provide a user with a graphical user interface to visualize the results of the health monitoring and fault diagnostics. The user interface may also be used to guide service personnel through troubleshooting routines or repair processes.” As in 136 “Component failures can be categorized broadly into two different types--"chronic" faults that develop gradually and "acute" faults that occur instantly. Faults of the first kind can be detected by a condition monitoring system at their early stages of development. Early detection and repair will help avoid unexpected failure during operation. On the other hand, faults of the second type do not lend themselves to early detection. However, a fault diagnostics system can help diagnose them when they occur and therefore shorten the time to bring the machinery back into operation. The different types of faults that can occur are listed below and summarized in Table 3… Vacuum Leak Gradual Lower vacuum pressure system or measurement; abrupt Increase in pressure transition time. This results in an increase in grip actuation time in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and an increase in grip release time in the case of a vacuum actuated edge contact gripper; Failure to grip, in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a failure to ungrip in the case of a vacuum operated edge contact gripper Obstruction Gradual Decrease in pressure between or transition time; vacuum sudden Increase in vacuum sensor and pressure required to actuator accomplish a grip actuation in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a grip release in the case of a vacuum actuated edge contact gripper Failure to grip, in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a failure to ungrip in the case of a vacuum operated edge contact gripper Obstruction Gradual Low vacuum pressure between or detected by the vacuum vacuum sudden sensor; valve and Increase in pressure vacuum transition time. This sensor results in an increase in grip actuation time in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and an increase in grip release time in the case of a vacuum actuated edge contact gripper; Failure to grip, in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a failure to ungrip in the case of a vacuum operated edge contact gripper Vacuum--Jammed Gradual Increase in vacuum actuated Plunger or pressure for grip edge--abrupt actuation; contact Failure to release grip gripper Broken Abrupt Gripper is always in spring released state”] Examiner notes that the user interface provides the user results of the health monitoring and fault diagnostics of the system. The fault diagnostics include grip activation times.
Regarding claim 2, Hosek teaches wherein recording gripper response times includes recording the response times by the robot controller and providing the response times to a data collection device. [(see at least Fig.1, paragraphs 68, 136) As in 68 “the data collection function 105 operates to acquire time histories of selected variables relating to the operation of a device being monitored. A time history refers to a collection of values for a particular variable or group of variables over time. In addition to the elements of the function controller 200 described above, the data collection function 105 includes one or more buffers 125 for collecting the values of the selected variables. The data collection function 105 also includes programs and circuitry 135 for specifying the device signals and variables to be recorded, setting the sampling period for data recording, setting the trigger mode for data recording (e.g., on event, on start of move, on end of move, when above threshold, when below threshold, with delay), setting the number of samples to be recorded, and setting the mechanism to stop data recording (e.g., when specified, on event, on end of move, on error, with delay).”]
Regarding claim 3, Hosek teaches wherein gripper response times for grippers on other robots are also provided to the data collection device by each of the other robots’ controllers, and the gripper response times for all of the robots are communicated from the data collection device to the computer. [(see at least paragraphs 65-68, 136) As in 65 “Network interface 230 may be generally adapted to provide an interface between the function controller 200 and other function controllers, system controllers, or other systems. Network interface 230 may operate to receive data from one or more additional function controllers and to convey data to the same or other function controllers. Network interface 230 may also provide an interface to a global diagnostic system that may provide remote monitoring and diagnostic services”]
Regarding claim 4, Hosek teaches wherein the data collection device, the computer and the web portal also handle other health status data for all of the robots. [(see at least paragraphs 65-68, 136) As in 67 “The function controller 200 may include a user interface 225 with a display 240 and an input device such as a keyboard 255 or mouse 245. The user interface may be operated by a user interface controller 250 under control of processor 205 and may provide a user with a graphical user interface to visualize the results of the health monitoring and fault diagnostics. The user interface may also be used to guide service personnel through troubleshooting routines or repair processes. In addition, the user interface controller may also provide a connection or interface 255 for communicating with other function controllers, an external network, another control system, or a host computer.”]
Regarding claim 8, Hosek teaches wherein analyzing the gripper response times includes identifying a maximum grip time and a maximum ungrip time for a current analysis data period, computing an average grip time and an average ungrip time for the current analysis data period, and computing a grip time trend line slope and an ungrip time trend line slope for the current analysis period. [(see at least paragraphs 54, 65-70, 136) As in 54 “It is a feature of the disclosed embodiments that the data collection function acquires time histories of selected variables during operation of the machine being monitored, the pre-processing function calculates specific characteristics of the acquired time histories, the analysis function evaluates characteristics of individual components with which the variables are associated and produces one or more hypotheses about the condition of each of the components, and the reasoning function derives an overall assessment of the machine, including the condition of the individual components of the machine and the degree of confidence that the machine is in good operating condition.” As in 68 “the data collection function 105 operates to acquire time histories of selected variables relating to the operation of a device being monitored. A time history refers to a collection of values for a particular variable or group of variables over time. In addition to the elements of the function controller 200 described above, the data collection function 105 includes one or more buffers 125 for collecting the values of the selected variables. The data collection function 105 also includes programs and circuitry 135 for specifying the device signals and variables to be recorded, setting the sampling period for data recording, setting the trigger mode for data recording (e.g., on event, on start of move, on end of move, when above threshold, when below threshold, with delay), setting the number of samples to be recorded, and setting the mechanism to stop data recording (e.g., when specified, on event, on end of move, on error, with delay).” As in 136 “This results in an increase in grip actuation time in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and an increase in grip release time in the case of a vacuum actuated edge contact gripper; Failure to grip, in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a failure to ungrip in the case of a vacuum operated edge contact gripper Obstruction Gradual Decrease in pressure between or transition time; vacuum sudden Increase in vacuum sensor and pressure required to actuator accomplish a grip actuation in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a grip release in the case of a vacuum actuated edge contact gripper Failure to grip, in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a failure to ungrip in the case of a vacuum operated edge contact gripper Obstruction Gradual Low vacuum pressure between or detected by the vacuum vacuum sudden sensor; valve and Increase in pressure vacuum transition time. This sensor results in an increase in grip actuation time in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and an increase in grip release time in the case of a vacuum actuated edge contact gripper; Failure to grip, in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a failure to ungrip in the case of a vacuum operated edge contact”]
Regarding claim 9, Hosek teaches wherein the current analysis data period has a duration in a range of a half hour to four hours. [(see at least paragraphs 65-70) As in 68 “The data collection function 105 also includes programs and circuitry 135 for specifying the device signals and variables to be recorded, setting the sampling period for data recording, setting the trigger mode for data recording (e.g., on event, on start of move, on end of move, when above threshold, when below threshold, with delay), setting the number of samples to be recorded, and setting the mechanism to stop data recording (e.g., when specified, on event, on end of move, on error, with delay)”]
Regarding claim 10, Hosek teaches wherein identifying any anomalous issues includes identifying missing or stale gripper response times, identifying a maximum grip time, a maximum ungrip time, an average grip time or an average ungrip time exceeding a threshold value, and identifying a grip time trend line slope or an ungrip time trend line slope exceeding a trend line slope threshold value. [(see at least paragraphs 54, 65-70, 136) As in 68 “the data collection function 105 operates to acquire time histories of selected variables relating to the operation of a device being monitored. A time history refers to a collection of values for a particular variable or group of variables over time. In addition to the elements of the function controller 200 described above, the data collection function 105 includes one or more buffers 125 for collecting the values of the selected variables. The data collection function 105 also includes programs and circuitry 135 for specifying the device signals and variables to be recorded, setting the sampling period for data recording, setting the trigger mode for data recording (e.g., on event, on start of move, on end of move, when above threshold, when below threshold, with delay), setting the number of samples to be recorded, and setting the mechanism to stop data recording (e.g., when specified, on event, on end of move, on error, with delay).” As in 136 “Increase in tracking errors. Vacuum Leak Gradual Lower vacuum pressure system or measurement; abrupt Increase in pressure transition time. This results in an increase in grip actuation time in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and an increase in grip release time in the case of a vacuum actuated edge contact gripper; Failure to grip, in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a failure to ungrip in the case of a vacuum operated edge contact gripper Obstruction Gradual Decrease in pressure between or transition time; vacuum sudden Increase in vacuum sensor and pressure required to actuator accomplish a grip actuation in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a grip release in the case of a vacuum actuated edge contact gripper Failure to grip, in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a failure to ungrip in the case of a vacuum operated edge contact gripper Obstruction Gradual Low vacuum pressure between or detected by the vacuum vacuum sudden sensor; valve and Increase in pressure vacuum transition time. This sensor results in an increase in grip actuation time in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and an increase in grip release time in the case of a vacuum actuated edge contact gripper; Failure to grip, in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a failure to ungrip in the case of a vacuum operated edge contact gripper Vacuum--Jammed Gradual Increase in vacuum actuated Plunger or pressure for grip edge--abrupt actuation; contact Failure to release grip gripper ”]
Regarding claim 11, Hosek teaches wherein the gripper on the robot is a mechanical finger-style gripper, a servo-motor driven gripper, a single suction cup gripper or a vacuum gripper tool having a plurality of suction cups. [(see at least Fig. 6, paragraphs 89, 136) As in 89 “FIG. 6 shows a cross-sectional view of a surface-contact suction gripper. The robot end-effector 603 has two or more orifices 605 that are connected to a vacuum line 604. In the presence of vacuum, the substrate 601 is pulled toward the end-effector 403 and held in place by the means of friction. The gripper action is initiated by a vacuum valve, such as 431A or 431B in FIG. 4. The presence or absence of the substrate 601 on the end-effector 603 can be determined by a pressure sensor, such as 432A or 432B in FIG. 4. The pressure sensor 432A or 432B detects a vacuum if the substrate 601 is present.”]
Regarding claim 12, Hosek teaches wherein the alert notifications for a vacuum gripper tool identify one or more zones of suction cups which have the identified issue. [(see at least paragraph 231) “Vacuum pressure sensors are analog sensors that indicate the vacuum level. This vacuum pressure is compared against a pressure threshold to determine if the desired vacuum state is reached. The vacuum transition time, which is the time it takes to reached the desired vacuum state, can be used to determine certain faults. In the case of a vacuum-actuated edge-contact gripper or surface-contact suction gripper (FIGS. 5 and 6) a change in state transition time during gripping and un-gripping may indicate a leak or obstruction in a certain section of the vacuum system.”]
Regarding claim 13, Hosek teaches wherein sending alert notifications includes sending one or more of text messages, instant messages, emails and notifications to the robot controller. [(see at least paragraph 164) “Failure of communication module on the motor controllers: The master controller listens to status messages from the motor controllers. The master controller can detect failure of a motor controller by detecting the absence of status messages from that motor controller. This process is also referred to as "node guarding."”]
Regarding claim 14, Hosek teaches a health monitoring method for an end-of-arm tool on an industrial robot, said method comprising: recording, by a robot controller, response times for a start and stop of each task performed by the end-of-arm tool [(see at least paragraphs 54,154) As in 54 “It is a feature of the disclosed embodiments that the data collection function acquires time histories of selected variables during operation of the machine being monitored, the pre-processing function calculates specific characteristics of the acquired time histories, the analysis function evaluates characteristics of individual components with which the variables are associated and produces one or more hypotheses about the condition of each of the components, and the reasoning function derives an overall assessment of the machine, including the condition of the individual components of the machine and the degree of confidence that the machine is in good operating condition” As in 154 “In addition, a gripping action results in either no gripping or an increase in the gripper operation time. For the vacuum-actuated edge-contact gripper, the grip operation time is measured between the instant when the valve (306, 406) is commanded to open and the time a position sensing flag (308) detects open state of the gripper. For surface-contact suction gripper, the grip operation time is measured between the instant when the valve is commanded to open and the time when the vacuum sensor reading reaches an acceptable vacuum level.”]; analyzing the response times, by a computer having a processor and memory, to provide analyzed tool timing data [(see at least paragraphs 54-55) “It is a feature of the disclosed embodiments that the data collection function acquires time histories of selected variables during operation of the machine being monitored, the pre-processing function calculates specific characteristics of the acquired time histories, the analysis function evaluates characteristics of individual components with which the variables are associated and produces one or more hypotheses about the condition of each of the components, and the reasoning function derives an overall assessment of the machine, including the condition of the individual components of the machine and the degree of confidence that the machine is in good operating condition.”]; identifying any anomalous issues in the response times and the analyzed tool timing data; sending alert notifications of any identified issues; [(see at least paragraphs 74-76) As in 74 “when a potential problem is detected, the manager 130 may initiate collection of additional data by the data collection function 105 for accurate fault diagnosis. The manager 130 may also initiate a template sequence which was pre-designed specifically for health-monitoring and fault-diagnostic purposes.” As in 76 “the system 100 provides at least two distinct functions: health monitoring and fault diagnostics. The purpose of health monitoring is to perform condition assessment of individual components of the robotized tool, and report a service request when a problematic condition of any of the components is identified.”] and providing the response times, the analyzed tool timing data and any identified issues on a web portal for viewing by a robot operator. [(see at least paragraphs 65-67, 136) As in 67 “The function controller 200 may include a user interface 225 with a display 240 and an input device such as a keyboard 255 or mouse 245. The user interface may be operated by a user interface controller 250 under control of processor 205 and may provide a user with a graphical user interface to visualize the results of the health monitoring and fault diagnostics. The user interface may also be used to guide service personnel through troubleshooting routines or repair processes.” As in 136 “Component failures can be categorized broadly into two different types--"chronic" faults that develop gradually and "acute" faults that occur instantly. Faults of the first kind can be detected by a condition monitoring system at their early stages of development. Early detection and repair will help avoid unexpected failure during operation. On the other hand, faults of the second type do not lend themselves to early detection. However, a fault diagnostics system can help diagnose them when they occur and therefore shorten the time to bring the machinery back into operation. The different types of faults that can occur are listed below and summarized in Table 3… Vacuum Leak Gradual Lower vacuum pressure system or measurement; abrupt Increase in pressure transition time. This results in an increase in grip actuation time in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and an increase in grip release time in the case of a vacuum actuated edge contact gripper; Failure to grip, in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a failure to ungrip in the case of a vacuum operated edge contact gripper Obstruction Gradual Decrease in pressure between or transition time; vacuum sudden Increase in vacuum sensor and pressure required to actuator accomplish a grip actuation in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a grip release in the case of a vacuum actuated edge contact gripper Failure to grip, in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a failure to ungrip in the case of a vacuum operated edge contact gripper Obstruction Gradual Low vacuum pressure between or detected by the vacuum vacuum sudden sensor; valve and Increase in pressure vacuum transition time. This sensor results in an increase in grip actuation time in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and an increase in grip release time in the case of a vacuum actuated edge contact gripper; Failure to grip, in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a failure to ungrip in the case of a vacuum operated edge contact gripper Vacuum--Jammed Gradual Increase in vacuum actuated Plunger or pressure for grip edge--abrupt actuation; contact Failure to release grip gripper Broken Abrupt Gripper is always in spring released state”] Examiner notes that the user interface provides the user results of the health monitoring and fault diagnostics of the system. The fault diagnostics include grip activation times.
Regarding claim 15, Hosek teaches a gripper health monitoring system for industrial robots, said system comprising: one or more robots, each robot having a gripper as an end-of-arm tool [(see at least Figs.4-6, paragraph 85) “the robotic manipulator is built around an open cylindrical frame 401 suspended from a circular mounting flange 402. The frame 401 incorporates a vertical rail 403 with linear bearing 404 to provide guidance to a carriage 405 driven by a brushless DC motor 406 via a ball-screw mechanism 407. The carriage 405 houses a pair of coaxial brushless DC motors 408, 409 equipped with optical encoders 410, 411. The upper motor 408 drives a hollow outer shaft 412 connected to the first link 414 of the robot arm. The lower motor 409 is connected to a coaxial inner shaft 413 which is coupled via a belt drive 415 to the second link 416. The first link 414 houses a brushless DC motor 417A which drives through a two-stage belt arrangement 418A, 419A the upper end-effector 420A. Another DC brushless motor 417B and a two-stage belt drive 418B, 419B are employed to actuate the lower end-effector 420B. Each of the stages 418A, 418B, 419A and 419B are designed with a 1:2 ratio between the input and output pulleys. Substrates 421A and 421B are held attached to end-effectors 420A and 420B, respectively, by the means of vacuum-actuated edge-contact grippers or surface-contact suction grippers”]; a robot controller in communication with each robot, each controller having a processor and memory configured for recording gripper response times for each grip or ungrip event by the gripper on the robot [(see at least paragraphs 54,154) As in 54 “It is a feature of the disclosed embodiments that the data collection function acquires time histories of selected variables during operation of the machine being monitored, the pre-processing function calculates specific characteristics of the acquired time histories, the analysis function evaluates characteristics of individual components with which the variables are associated and produces one or more hypotheses about the condition of each of the components, and the reasoning function derives an overall assessment of the machine, including the condition of the individual components of the machine and the degree of confidence that the machine is in good operating condition” As in 154 “In addition, a gripping action results in either no gripping or an increase in the gripper operation time. For the vacuum-actuated edge-contact gripper, the grip operation time is measured between the instant when the valve (306, 406) is commanded to open and the time a position sensing flag (308) detects open state of the gripper. For surface-contact suction gripper, the grip operation time is measured between the instant when the valve is commanded to open and the time when the vacuum sensor reading reaches an acceptable vacuum level.”]; a data collection device in communication with the robot controllers and receiving the gripper response times for each of the robots; and a computer having a processor and memory, said computer periodically receiving the gripper response times from the data collection device, where the computer is configured for; analyzing the gripper response times for each individual gripper to provide analyzed gripper timing data [(see at least paragraphs 54-55) “It is a feature of the disclosed embodiments that the data collection function acquires time histories of selected variables during operation of the machine being monitored, the pre-processing function calculates specific characteristics of the acquired time histories, the analysis function evaluates characteristics of individual components with which the variables are associated and produces one or more hypotheses about the condition of each of the components, and the reasoning function derives an overall assessment of the machine, including the condition of the individual components of the machine and the degree of confidence that the machine is in good operating condition.”]; identifying any anomalous issues in the gripper response times and the analyzed gripper timing data for each individual gripper; sending alert notifications of any identified issues [(see at least paragraphs 74-76) As in 74 “when a potential problem is detected, the manager 130 may initiate collection of additional data by the data collection function 105 for accurate fault diagnosis. The manager 130 may also initiate a template sequence which was pre-designed specifically for health-monitoring and fault-diagnostic purposes.” As in 76 “the system 100 provides at least two distinct functions: health monitoring and fault diagnostics. The purpose of health monitoring is to perform condition assessment of individual components of the robotized tool, and report a service request when a problematic condition of any of the components is identified.”]; and providing the gripper response times, the analyzed gripper timing data and any identified issues on a web portal for viewing by a robot operator. [(see at least paragraphs 65-67, 136) As in 67 “The function controller 200 may include a user interface 225 with a display 240 and an input device such as a keyboard 255 or mouse 245. The user interface may be operated by a user interface controller 250 under control of processor 205 and may provide a user with a graphical user interface to visualize the results of the health monitoring and fault diagnostics. The user interface may also be used to guide service personnel through troubleshooting routines or repair processes.” As in 136 “Component failures can be categorized broadly into two different types--"chronic" faults that develop gradually and "acute" faults that occur instantly. Faults of the first kind can be detected by a condition monitoring system at their early stages of development. Early detection and repair will help avoid unexpected failure during operation. On the other hand, faults of the second type do not lend themselves to early detection. However, a fault diagnostics system can help diagnose them when they occur and therefore shorten the time to bring the machinery back into operation. The different types of faults that can occur are listed below and summarized in Table 3… Vacuum Leak Gradual Lower vacuum pressure system or measurement; abrupt Increase in pressure transition time. This results in an increase in grip actuation time in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and an increase in grip release time in the case of a vacuum actuated edge contact gripper; Failure to grip, in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a failure to ungrip in the case of a vacuum operated edge contact gripper Obstruction Gradual Decrease in pressure between or transition time; vacuum sudden Increase in vacuum sensor and pressure required to actuator accomplish a grip actuation in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a grip release in the case of a vacuum actuated edge contact gripper Failure to grip, in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a failure to ungrip in the case of a vacuum operated edge contact gripper Obstruction Gradual Low vacuum pressure between or detected by the vacuum vacuum sudden sensor; valve and Increase in pressure vacuum transition time. This sensor results in an increase in grip actuation time in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and an increase in grip release time in the case of a vacuum actuated edge contact gripper; Failure to grip, in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a failure to ungrip in the case of a vacuum operated edge contact gripper Vacuum--Jammed Gradual Increase in vacuum actuated Plunger or pressure for grip edge--abrupt actuation; contact Failure to release grip gripper Broken Abrupt Gripper is always in spring released state”] Examiner notes that the user interface provides the user results of the health monitoring and fault diagnostics of the system. The fault diagnostics include grip activation times.
Regarding claim 16, Hosek teaches wherein the data collection device, the computer and the web portal also handle other health status data for all of the robots. [(see at least paragraphs 65-68, 136) As in 67 “The function controller 200 may include a user interface 225 with a display 240 and an input device such as a keyboard 255 or mouse 245. The user interface may be operated by a user interface controller 250 under control of processor 205 and may provide a user with a graphical user interface to visualize the results of the health monitoring and fault diagnostics. The user interface may also be used to guide service personnel through troubleshooting routines or repair processes. In addition, the user interface controller may also provide a connection or interface 255 for communicating with other function controllers, an external network, another control system, or a host computer.”]
Regarding claim 20, Hosek teaches wherein analyzing the gripper response times includes identifying a maximum grip time and a maximum ungrip time for a current analysis data period, computing an average grip time and an average ungrip time for the current analysis data period, and computing a grip time trend line slope and an ungrip time trend line slope for the current analysis period. [(see at least paragraphs 54, 65-70, 136) As in 54 “It is a feature of the disclosed embodiments that the data collection function acquires time histories of selected variables during operation of the machine being monitored, the pre-processing function calculates specific characteristics of the acquired time histories, the analysis function evaluates characteristics of individual components with which the variables are associated and produces one or more hypotheses about the condition of each of the components, and the reasoning function derives an overall assessment of the machine, including the condition of the individual components of the machine and the degree of confidence that the machine is in good operating condition.” As in 68 “the data collection function 105 operates to acquire time histories of selected variables relating to the operation of a device being monitored. A time history refers to a collection of values for a particular variable or group of variables over time. In addition to the elements of the function controller 200 described above, the data collection function 105 includes one or more buffers 125 for collecting the values of the selected variables. The data collection function 105 also includes programs and circuitry 135 for specifying the device signals and variables to be recorded, setting the sampling period for data recording, setting the trigger mode for data recording (e.g., on event, on start of move, on end of move, when above threshold, when below threshold, with delay), setting the number of samples to be recorded, and setting the mechanism to stop data recording (e.g., when specified, on event, on end of move, on error, with delay).” As in 136 “This results in an increase in grip actuation time in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and an increase in grip release time in the case of a vacuum actuated edge contact gripper; Failure to grip, in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a failure to ungrip in the case of a vacuum operated edge contact gripper Obstruction Gradual Decrease in pressure between or transition time; vacuum sudden Increase in vacuum sensor and pressure required to actuator accomplish a grip actuation in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a grip release in the case of a vacuum actuated edge contact gripper Failure to grip, in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a failure to ungrip in the case of a vacuum operated edge contact gripper Obstruction Gradual Low vacuum pressure between or detected by the vacuum vacuum sudden sensor; valve and Increase in pressure vacuum transition time. This sensor results in an increase in grip actuation time in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and an increase in grip release time in the case of a vacuum actuated edge contact gripper; Failure to grip, in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a failure to ungrip in the case of a vacuum operated edge contact”]
Regarding claim 21, Hosek teaches wherein identifying any anomalous issues includes identifying missing or stale gripper response times, identifying a maximum grip time, a maximum ungrip time, an average grip time or an average ungrip time exceeding a threshold value, and identifying a grip time trend line slope or an ungrip time trend line slope exceeding a trend line slope threshold value. [(see at least paragraphs 54, 65-70, 136) As in 68 “the data collection function 105 operates to acquire time histories of selected variables relating to the operation of a device being monitored. A time history refers to a collection of values for a particular variable or group of variables over time. In addition to the elements of the function controller 200 described above, the data collection function 105 includes one or more buffers 125 for collecting the values of the selected variables. The data collection function 105 also includes programs and circuitry 135 for specifying the device signals and variables to be recorded, setting the sampling period for data recording, setting the trigger mode for data recording (e.g., on event, on start of move, on end of move, when above threshold, when below threshold, with delay), setting the number of samples to be recorded, and setting the mechanism to stop data recording (e.g., when specified, on event, on end of move, on error, with delay).” As in 136 “Increase in tracking errors. Vacuum Leak Gradual Lower vacuum pressure system or measurement; abrupt Increase in pressure transition time. This results in an increase in grip actuation time in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and an increase in grip release time in the case of a vacuum actuated edge contact gripper; Failure to grip, in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a failure to ungrip in the case of a vacuum operated edge contact gripper Obstruction Gradual Decrease in pressure between or transition time; vacuum sudden Increase in vacuum sensor and pressure required to actuator accomplish a grip actuation in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a grip release in the case of a vacuum actuated edge contact gripper Failure to grip, in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a failure to ungrip in the case of a vacuum operated edge contact gripper Obstruction Gradual Low vacuum pressure between or detected by the vacuum vacuum sudden sensor; valve and Increase in pressure vacuum transition time. This sensor results in an increase in grip actuation time in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and an increase in grip release time in the case of a vacuum actuated edge contact gripper; Failure to grip, in the case of a surface contact vacuum gripper and a failure to ungrip in the case of a vacuum operated edge contact gripper Vacuum--Jammed Gradual Increase in vacuum actuated Plunger or pressure for grip edge--abrupt actuation; contact Failure to release grip gripper ”]
Regarding claim 22, Hosek teaches wherein the gripper on the robot is a mechanical finger-style gripper, a servo-motor driven gripper, a single suction cup gripper or a vacuum gripper tool having a plurality of suction cups, and where the alert notifications for a vacuum gripper tool identify one or more zones of suction cups which have the identified issue. [(see at least Figs.4-6, paragraphs 89, 136, 231) As in 89 “FIG. 6 shows a cross-sectional view of a surface-contact suction gripper. The robot end-effector 603 has two or more orifices 605 that are connected to a vacuum line 604. In the presence of vacuum, the substrate 601 is pulled toward the end-effector 403 and held in place by the means of friction. The gripper action is initiated by a vacuum valve, such as 431A or 431B in FIG. 4. The presence or absence of the substrate 601 on the end-effector 603 can be determined by a pressure sensor, such as 432A or 432B in FIG. 4. The pressure sensor 432A or 432B detects a vacuum if the substrate 601 is present.” As in 231 “Vacuum pressure sensors are analog sensors that indicate the vacuum level. This vacuum pressure is compared against a pressure threshold to determine if the desired vacuum state is reached. The vacuum transition time, which is the time it takes to reached the desired vacuum state, can be used to determine certain faults. In the case of a vacuum-actuated edge-contact gripper or surface-contact suction gripper (FIGS. 5 and 6) a change in state transition time during gripping and un-gripping may indicate a leak or obstruction in a certain section of the vacuum system.”]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosek in view of Shimizu (US 2015/0266084 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Hosek has all of the elements of claim 1 as discussed above.
Hosek does not explicitly teach wherein the response time for each grip or ungrip event is determined by starting a timer when a grip or ungrip command is issued by the robot controller and stopping the timer when a corresponding grip or ungrip is confirmed to have occurred.
However, Shimizu teaches wherein the response time for each grip or ungrip event is determined by starting a timer when a grip or ungrip command is issued by the robot controller and stopping the timer when a corresponding grip or ungrip is confirmed to have occurred. [(see at least paragraphs 65-75) As in 65 “he high speed multi-jointed robot 60A (60B) described above is, as shown in FIG. 4, equipped with a controller unit U (control means) which controls the first adjusting valve 64A3 (64B3), the second adjusting valve 65A3 (65B3), a drive adjusting unit 80 for the electrode chucks 22 and 22, and a robot drive adjusting unit 81. A receiving timing signal from a receiving timing detecting mechanism 82 that detects that heating in the upsetter 20A (20B) is terminated (the completion of formation), an elapsed time TC1 signal from a first elapsed time detecting mechanism 83 that detects an elapsed time TC1 of a first timer, an elapsed time TC2 signal from a second elapsed time detecting mechanism 84 that detects an elapsed time TC2 of a second timer, gripping and gripping-release signals from a first claw part state detecting sensor 85 that detects gripping and gripping-released states of the first pair of claw parts 64A1 (64B1), gripping and gripping-release signals from a second claw part state detecting sensor 86 that detects gripping and gripping-released states of the second pair of claw parts 65A1 (65B1), a positional information signal from a positional information detecting sensor 87 that detects positional information on the first and second pairs of claw parts 64A1 and 65A1 (64B1 and 65B1), a moving state signal from a movement detecting sensor 88 that detects the presence or absence of a movement of the robot hand, and holding and holding-release signals from an electrode chuck state detecting sensor 89 that detects holding and holding-released states of the electrode chucks 22 and 22 are input to the controller unit U.”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hosek to incorporate the teachings of Shimizu of the response time for each grip or ungrip event is determined by starting a timer when a grip or ungrip command is issued by the robot controller and stopping the timer when a corresponding grip or ungrip is confirmed to have occurred in order to that detect and measure an elapsed time during gripping and ungripping operation of the robot [(Shmizu 65)].
Regarding claim 6, In view of the above combination of references, Hosek further teaches wherein the corresponding grip or ungrip is confirmed to have occurred by a part presence sensor detecting proximity of a part to the gripper, or by analyzing signals from a camera or sensor in which the signals depict a position of the part or the gripper or both. [(see at least paragraph 233) “A video camera can also be installed directly on the robot end-effector to monitor pick and place operations performed by the robot, including the operation of the edge-contact gripper. The resulting video can be recorded and serve in diagnostics of failures during pick and place operations. This is an extremely valuable tool for failures that occur rarely, cannot be observed by the operator and/or are difficult to reproduce. Video signals can be used to identify faults that affect robot position repeatability. Typical faults that affect repeatability are slipping of timing belts, belt stretching leading to hysteresis and loosening of bearing clamps.”]
Regarding claim 7, In view of the above combination of references, Hosek further teaches wherein the corresponding grip or ungrip is confirmed to have occurred by evaluating a pressure signal from a vacuum line for a vacuum or suction gripper, or a signal from a motor torque or position sensor for a servo-controlled gripper. [(see at least paragraph 154) “Vacuum leak: Vacuum leaks can occur due to wear and tear on the lip seals. A leak in the vacuum line results in a lower vacuum pressure (when vacuum valve is open and, in case of surface-contact suction gripper, substrate is present on the end-effector), and can be detected through a drop in the vacuum sensor (302, 402) reading. In addition, a gripping action results in either no gripping or an increase in the gripper operation time. For the vacuum-actuated edge-contact gripper, the grip operation time is measured between the instant when the valve (306, 406) is commanded to open and the time a position sensing flag (308) detects open state of the gripper. For surface-contact suction gripper, the grip operation time is measured between the instant when the valve is commanded to open and the time when the vacuum sensor reading reaches an acceptable vacuum level.”]
Regarding claim 17, Hosek has all of the elements of claim 15 as discussed above.
Hosek does not explicitly teach wherein the response time for each grip or ungrip event is determined by starting a timer when a grip or ungrip command is issued by the robot controller and stopping the timer when a corresponding grip or ungrip is confirmed to have occurred.
However, Shimizu teaches wherein the response time for each grip or ungrip event is determined by starting a timer when a grip or ungrip command is issued by the robot controller and stopping the timer when a corresponding grip or ungrip is confirmed to have occurred. [(see at least paragraphs 65-75) As in 65 “he high speed multi-jointed robot 60A (60B) described above is, as shown in FIG. 4, equipped with a controller unit U (control means) which controls the first adjusting valve 64A3 (64B3), the second adjusting valve 65A3 (65B3), a drive adjusting unit 80 for the electrode chucks 22 and 22, and a robot drive adjusting unit 81. A receiving timing signal from a receiving timing detecting mechanism 82 that detects that heating in the upsetter 20A (20B) is terminated (the completion of formation), an elapsed time TC1 signal from a first elapsed time detecting mechanism 83 that detects an elapsed time TC1 of a first timer, an elapsed time TC2 signal from a second elapsed time detecting mechanism 84 that detects an elapsed time TC2 of a second timer, gripping and gripping-release signals from a first claw part state detecting sensor 85 that detects gripping and gripping-released states of the first pair of claw parts 64A1 (64B1), gripping and gripping-release signals from a second claw part state detecting sensor 86 that detects gripping and gripping-released states of the second pair of claw parts 65A1 (65B1), a positional information signal from a positional information detecting sensor 87 that detects positional information on the first and second pairs of claw parts 64A1 and 65A1 (64B1 and 65B1), a moving state signal from a movement detecting sensor 88 that detects the presence or absence of a movement of the robot hand, and holding and holding-release signals from an electrode chuck state detecting sensor 89 that detects holding and holding-released states of the electrode chucks 22 and 22 are input to the controller unit U.”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hosek to incorporate the teachings of Shimizu of the response time for each grip or ungrip event is determined by starting a timer when a grip or ungrip command is issued by the robot controller and stopping the timer when a corresponding grip or ungrip is confirmed to have occurred in order to that detect and measure an elapsed time during gripping and ungripping operation of the robot [(Shmizu 65)].
Regarding claim 18, In view of the above combination of references, Hosek further teaches wherein the corresponding grip or ungrip is confirmed to have occurred by a part presence sensor detecting proximity of a part to the gripper, or by analyzing signals from a camera or sensor in which the signals depict a position of the part or the gripper or both. [(see at least paragraph 233) “A video camera can also be installed directly on the robot end-effector to monitor pick and place operations performed by the robot, including the operation of the edge-contact gripper. The resulting video can be recorded and serve in diagnostics of failures during pick and place operations. This is an extremely valuable tool for failures that occur rarely, cannot be observed by the operator and/or are difficult to reproduce. Video signals can be used to identify faults that affect robot position repeatability. Typical faults that affect repeatability are slipping of timing belts, belt stretching leading to hysteresis and loosening of bearing clamps.”]
Regarding claim 19, In view of the above combination of references, Hosek further teaches wherein the corresponding grip or ungrip is confirmed to have occurred by evaluating a pressure signal from a vacuum line for a vacuum or suction gripper, or a signal from a motor torque or position sensor for a servo-controlled gripper. [(see at least paragraph 154) “Vacuum leak: Vacuum leaks can occur due to wear and tear on the lip seals. A leak in the vacuum line results in a lower vacuum pressure (when vacuum valve is open and, in case of surface-contact suction gripper, substrate is present on the end-effector), and can be detected through a drop in the vacuum sensor (302, 402) reading. In addition, a gripping action results in either no gripping or an increase in the gripper operation time. For the vacuum-actuated edge-contact gripper, the grip operation time is measured between the instant when the valve (306, 406) is commanded to open and the time a position sensing flag (308) detects open state of the gripper. For surface-contact suction gripper, the grip operation time is measured between the instant when the valve is commanded to open and the time when the vacuum sensor reading reaches an acceptable vacuum level.”]
The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(US 2019/0071261 A1) Wertenberger - ROBOTIC SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR OPERATING A ROBOT
(US 9,669,543 B1) Stubbs - Validation Of Robotic Item Grasping
/MOHAMMED YOUSEF ABUELHAWA/Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656