DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 06/05/2026, claims 1-9 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN et al. (US 2022/0078649 A1) in view of ZHU et al. (US 2021/0119678 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Chen teaches a control method that controls communication between a wireless terminal and a wireless apparatus, the control method comprising:
obtaining a channel gain (See Fig. 8: to perform channel measurement (i.e., channel gain) and reporting operation using the reciprocity-based scheme or the CSI-RS based scheme comprises determining to use a combination of the reciprocity-based scheme and the CSI-RS based scheme between a UE and a Base Station. ¶ [0085]) between the wireless terminal and the wireless apparatus when a first beam is used (See Fig. 9: selecting multiple sets of beams based on the SRSs received from the UE. ¶ [0088]), by using a reference signal transmitted by the wireless terminal using the first beam (See Fig. 9: See the combined steps of 902 and 904-The operations 900, begin at block 902, by receiving SRSs from a UE, and at block 904, selecting multiple sets of beams based on the SRSs received from the UE. ¶ [0088]);
estimating reception quality (See Fig. 9: The channel measurement and reporting operations, for the combination of the reciprocity-based scheme and the CSI-RS based scheme, may include the UE 120 transmitting an SRS signal and measuring CSI-RS signals. The UE may then feedback CSI based on the measurement of the CSI-RS signals (i.e., reception quality). The BS 110 may then combine the feedback from the UE and the SRS from the UE to generate PDSCH precoder information. ¶ [0084]) when the wireless terminal performs reception by using the first beam (See Fig. 1 and 9: The SRS may be used by the base station 110 (e.g., gNB or eNB) to estimate the uplink channel quality. ¶ [0072]) based on the channel gain of the wireless apparatus (See Fig. 9: at block 908, the base station 110 may also receive first channel measurement feedback information (i.e., channel gain info) from the UE indicating a set of beams of the multiple sets of beams received at the UE with the best quality, and at block 910, transmit a second CSI-RS based on the first channel measurement feedback information from the UE. ¶ [0088]); and
allocating a radio resource (See Fig. 4: Scheduling entity for allocating resources for communication among some or all devices and UE within its service area or cell. ¶ [0044]) and a modulation and coding scheme to the wireless terminal (See Fig. 4: see modulator 432 for outputting data streams. ¶ [0056]), based on the reception quality (See Fig. 9: at block 912, receiving second channel measurement feedback information from the UE based on the second CSI-RS, and at block 914, communicating data with the UE 9 (i.e., allocating resources via second channel) based on the second channel measurement feedback information (i.e., reception quality). ¶ [0088]).
Even though, Chen teaches receiving CSI-RS information and determining the channel measurement report or channel gain of the CSI reception, Chen doesn’t explicitly describe the beam is formed by the wireless terminal and using transmission power of the wireless apparatus.
However, Zhu from the same or similar fields of endeavor further discloses the beam is formed by the wireless terminal (Zhu-See Fig. 4: In step S402, UE transmits a beam report including values of L-RSRP measured on the received one or more CSI-RS, which indicates DL channel quality. ¶ [0050]) and using transmission power of the wireless apparatus. (See Fig. 5: Given that different transmission/reception power is usually applied to both UL and DL, as well as different gains are usually applied to both Tx and Rx circuits of UE, in step S503, UE calculates a power offset between UL and DL as following, and then transmits the power offset between UL and DL to gNB. ¶ [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide determining based on a channel gain and transmission power as taught by Zhu to have incorporated in the system of Zhu, so that it would provide to reduce SRS transmission in UL and to improve resource efficiency and data rate. Zhu: ¶ [0007].
Regarding claim 2; Chen in view of Zhu discloses the control method wherein the channel gain is obtained, by using received power of a reference signal transmitted by the wireless apparatus when the wireless terminal performs reception by using the first beam (Chen-See Fig. 9: See the combined steps of 902 and 904-The operations 900, begin at block 902, by receiving SRSs from a UE, and at block 904, selecting multiple sets of beams based on the SRSs received from the UE. ¶ [0088], and also see Zhu-See Fig. 4: In step S402, UE transmits a beam report including values of L-RSRP measured on the received one or more CSI-RS, which indicates DL channel quality. ¶ [0050]).
Regarding claim 3; Chen teaches the control method according to claim 1, wherein communication is controlled between the wireless terminal and a plurality of wireless apparatuses (Chen-¶ [0088]), and a channel gain is obtained between the wireless terminal and each of any wireless apparatuses out of the plurality of wireless apparatuses (Zhu-See Fig. 4: The signal quality information may be calculated based on a gain of a signal channel formed between a main base station and a terminal, or a gain of an interference channel formed between an interference base station and a terminal. Also, the signal quality information may be calculated based on signal transmission power or interference transmission power of each base station and may also be calculated based on a noise power of a terminal. ¶ [0097])
Regarding claim 4; Chen teaches the control method wherein received power of a signal received by the wireless terminal from other than the wireless apparatus is estimated (Chen- y (See Fig. 9: The channel measurement and reporting operations, for the combination of the reciprocity-based scheme and the CSI-RS based scheme, may include the UE 120 transmitting an SRS signal and measuring CSI-RS signals. The UE may then feedback CSI based on the measurement of the CSI-RS signals (i.e., reception quality). The BS 110 may then combine the feedback from the UE and the SRS from the UE to generate PDSCH precoder information. ¶ [0084]), and the reception quality is estimated by using the received power (Zhu-See Fig. 4: The signal quality information may be calculated based on a gain of a signal channel formed between a main base station and a terminal, or a gain of an interference channel formed between an interference base station and a terminal. Also, the signal quality information may be calculated based on signal transmission power or interference transmission power of each base station and may also be calculated based on a noise power of a terminal. ¶ [0097]).
Regarding claim 5; Chen teaches the control method wherein the reception quality is estimated based on information about at least one of an antenna panel and a beam used when the wireless terminal performs reception (Chen-MIMO configurations in the DL may support up to 8 transmit antennas with multi-layer DL transmissions up to 8 streams and up to 2 streams per UE, and Beamforming may be supported and beam direction may be dynamically configured. MIMO transmissions with precoding may also be supported. ¶ [0043]).
Regarding claim 6; Chen teaches the control wherein the channel gain is calculated (Zhu-See Fig. 4: The signal quality information may be calculated based on a gain of a signal channel formed between a main base station and a terminal, or a gain of an interference channel formed between an interference base station and a terminal. ¶ [0097])when the wireless apparatus uses a second beam, and the reception quality is estimated by using the channel gain when the wireless apparatus uses the second beam (Chen- See Fig. 3 at block 908, the base station 110 may also receive first channel measurement feedback information from the UE indicating a set of beams of the multiple sets of beams received at the UE with the best quality, and at block 910, transmit a second CSI-RS based on the first channel measurement feedback information from the UE. ¶ [0088]).
Regarding claim 7; Chen teaches the control method wherein the reception quality corresponding to a transceiver unit used by the wireless apparatus to communicate with the wireless terminal is estimated (Chen-¶ [0088]).
Regarding claim 8; Chen teaches a control apparatus that controls communication between a wireless terminal and a wireless apparatus, the control apparatus comprising: at least one memory that is configured to store instructions; and at least one first processor that is configured to execute the instructions to:
obtain a channel gain (See Fig. 8: to perform channel measurement (i.e., channel gain) and reporting operation using the reciprocity-based scheme or the CSI-RS based scheme comprises determining to use a combination of the reciprocity-based scheme and the CSI-RS based scheme between a UE and a Base Station. ¶ [0085]) between the wireless terminal and the wireless apparatus when a first beam is used (See Fig. 9: selecting multiple sets of beams based on the SRSs received from the UE. ¶ [0088]), by using a reference signal transmitted by the wireless terminal using the first beam (See Fig. 9: See the combined steps of 902 and 904-The operations 900, begin at block 902, by receiving SRSs from a UE, and at block 904, selecting multiple sets of beams based on the SRSs received from the UE. ¶ [0088]);
estimate reception quality (See Fig. 9: The channel measurement and reporting operations, for the combination of the reciprocity-based scheme and the CSI-RS based scheme, may include the UE 120 transmitting an SRS signal and measuring CSI-RS signals. The UE may then feedback CSI based on the measurement of the CSI-RS signals (i.e., reception quality). The BS 110 may then combine the feedback from the UE and the SRS from the UE to generate PDSCH precoder information. ¶ [0084]) when the wireless terminal performs reception by using the first beam (See Fig. 1 and 9: The SRS may be used by the base station 110 (e.g., gNB or eNB) to estimate the uplink channel quality. ¶ [0072]) based on the channel gain of the wireless apparatus (See Fig. 9: at block 908, the base station 110 may also receive first channel measurement feedback information (i.e., channel gain info) from the UE indicating a set of beams of the multiple sets of beams received at the UE with the best quality, and at block 910, transmit a second CSI-RS based on the first channel measurement feedback information from the UE. ¶ [0088]); and
allocate a radio resource (See Fig. 4: Scheduling entity for allocating resources for communication among some or all devices and UE within its service area or cell. ¶ [0044]) and a modulation and coding scheme to the wireless terminal (See Fig. 4: see modulator 432 for outputting data streams. ¶ [0056]), based on the reception quality (See Fig. 9: at block 912, receiving second channel measurement feedback information from the UE based on the second CSI-RS, and at block 914, communicating data with the UE 9 (i.e., allocating resources via second channel) based on the second channel measurement feedback information (i.e., reception quality). ¶ [0088]).
Even though, Chen teaches receiving CSI-RS information and determining the channel measurement report or channel gain of the CSI reception, Chen doesn’t explicitly describe the beam is formed by the wireless terminal and using transmission power of the wireless apparatus.
However, Zhu from the same or similar fields of endeavor further discloses the beam is formed by the wireless terminal (Zhu-See Fig. 4: In step S402, UE transmits a beam report including values of L-RSRP measured on the received one or more CSI-RS, which indicates DL channel quality. ¶ [0050]) and using transmission power of the wireless apparatus. (See Fig. 5: Given that different transmission/reception power is usually applied to both UL and DL, as well as different gains are usually applied to both Tx and Rx circuits of UE, in step S503, UE calculates a power offset between UL and DL as following, and then transmits the power offset between UL and DL to gNB. ¶ [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide determining based on a channel gain and transmission power as taught by Zhu to have incorporated in the system of Zhu, so that it would provide to reduce SRS transmission in UL and to improve resource efficiency and data rate. Zhu: ¶ [0007].
Regarding claim 9; Chen teaches a non-transitory recording medium that records thereon a computer program that allows a computer including a processor and a memory, to execute a control method that controls communication between a wireless terminal and a wireless apparatus, the control method including:
obtaining a channel gain (See Fig. 8: to perform channel measurement (i.e., channel gain) and reporting operation using the reciprocity-based scheme or the CSI-RS based scheme comprises determining to use a combination of the reciprocity-based scheme and the CSI-RS based scheme between a UE and a Base Station. ¶ [0085]) between the wireless terminal and the wireless apparatus when a first beam is used (See Fig. 9: selecting multiple sets of beams based on the SRSs received from the UE. ¶ [0088]), by using a reference signal transmitted by the wireless terminal using the first beam (See Fig. 9: See the combined steps of 902 and 904-The operations 900, begin at block 902, by receiving SRSs from a UE, and at block 904, selecting multiple sets of beams based on the SRSs received from the UE. ¶ [0088]);
estimating reception quality (See Fig. 9: The channel measurement and reporting operations, for the combination of the reciprocity-based scheme and the CSI-RS based scheme, may include the UE 120 transmitting an SRS signal and measuring CSI-RS signals. The UE may then feedback CSI based on the measurement of the CSI-RS signals (i.e., reception quality). The BS 110 may then combine the feedback from the UE and the SRS from the UE to generate PDSCH precoder information. ¶ [0084]) when the wireless terminal performs reception by using the first beam (See Fig. 1 and 9: The SRS may be used by the base station 110 (e.g., gNB or eNB) to estimate the uplink channel quality. ¶ [0072]) based on the channel gain of the wireless apparatus (See Fig. 9: at block 908, the base station 110 may also receive first channel measurement feedback information (i.e., channel gain info) from the UE indicating a set of beams of the multiple sets of beams received at the UE with the best quality, and at block 910, transmit a second CSI-RS based on the first channel measurement feedback information from the UE. ¶ [0088]); and
allocating a radio resource (See Fig. 4: Scheduling entity for allocating resources for communication among some or all devices and UE within its service area or cell. ¶ [0044]) and a modulation and coding scheme to the wireless terminal (See Fig. 4: see modulator 432 for outputting data streams. ¶ [0056]), based on the reception quality (See Fig. 9: at block 912, receiving second channel measurement feedback information from the UE based on the second CSI-RS, and at block 914, communicating data with the UE 9 (i.e., allocating resources via second channel) based on the second channel measurement feedback information (i.e., reception quality). ¶ [0088]).
Even though, Chen teaches receiving CSI-RS information and determining the channel measurement report or channel gain of the CSI reception, Chen doesn’t explicitly describe the beam is formed by the wireless terminal and using transmission power of the wireless apparatus.
However, Zhu from the same or similar fields of endeavor further discloses the beam is formed by the wireless terminal (Zhu-See Fig. 4: In step S402, UE transmits a beam report including values of L-RSRP measured on the received one or more CSI-RS, which indicates DL channel quality. ¶ [0050]) and using transmission power of the wireless apparatus. (See Fig. 5: Given that different transmission/reception power is usually applied to both UL and DL, as well as different gains are usually applied to both Tx and Rx circuits of UE, in step S503, UE calculates a power offset between UL and DL as following, and then transmits the power offset between UL and DL to gNB. ¶ [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide determining based on a channel gain and transmission power as taught by Zhu to have incorporated in the system of Zhu, so that it would provide to reduce SRS transmission in UL and to improve resource efficiency and data rate. Zhu: ¶ [0007].
Response to Arguments
In response to the amendment as filed on 06/05/2026, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAI AUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416