DETAILED ACTION
Reply Under 37 CFR 1.111
The submission of the reply filed on 08/17/2026 to the non-final Office action of 02/19/2026 is acknowledged. The Office action on the currently pending claims 1-20 follows.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “gases produced by the breaker or other switching or protective equipment housed in the at least one compartment from an interior bottom area of the at least one compartment below the breaker or other switching or protective equipment” (e.g. claims 1 and 20) and the breaker cradle (e.g., claim 19) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because of the use of black shading, which is not permitted, especially since it hinders visibility to see details of the figures. See MPEP 608.02.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
the reference character “310”, as outlined in paragraph [0050] (See US PG-Pub version of Applicant’s specification), is used to designate both the “gas flow passage” and a “plurality of cubicles”. The specification and drawings should be amended to provide separate reference characters for the “gas flow passage” and “plurality of cubicles”
The Office notes that the above objection is a non-exhaustive list, and thus requests Applicant’s cooperation with reviewing the specification and correcting ALL remaining informalities present in the specification but not made of record above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
The claims below are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 Ln.17: the clause “each pair of vertical walls” should be amended to recite “each pair of the at least one pair of vertical walls” in order to provide consistent claim nomenclature.
Claim 3 Ln.1: the clause “wherein the pairs of vertical walls” should be amended to recite “wherein the at least one pair of vertical walls” for consistent claim nomenclature.
Claim 9 Ln.3: the clause “the rail being clamped” should be amended to recite “the extending rail being clamped” for consistent claim nomenclature.
Claim 15 Lns.4-5: the clause “at an end of the compartment” should be amended to recite “at an end of the front compartment” OR amended to recite “at an end of the drawer” in order to provide consistent claim nomenclature.
Claim 16 Ln.3: the clause “housing a circuit breaker or other” should be amended to recite “housing the breaker or other” for consistent claim nomenclature.
Claim 18 Ln.4: the Office asks for Applicant to review the clause “a continuous passage directing gases toward” and see if it should recite “a continuous passage directing the gases produced by the breaker or other switching or protective equipment toward” since it is believed that the “gases” are supposed to be in reference to the gases of the breaker or other switching or protective equipment. Furthermore, the Office notes that there are two instances of “gases” in claim 1 (see lines 6 and 12-13 of claim 1), and thus clarification is needed to see what “gases” of claim 18 is supposed to be in reference to. However, in context, it appears as though the “gases” of claim 18 are in reference to the gases produced by the breaker or other switching or protective equipment.
Claim 20 Ln.6: the clause “gases produced by a breaker or other” should be amended to recite “gases produced by the breaker or other” for antecedent reasons (i.e., it is believed that the limitation is in reference to the “breaker or other switching or protective equipment” recited in the preamble of the claim).
The Office notes that the above objections are a non-exhaustive list, and thus requests Applicant’s cooperation with reviewing the claims and correcting ALL remaining informalities present in the claims but not made of record above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 20, the claims are believed to recite subject matter that is considered to be new matter because of the limitations:
(Claim 1) “the at least one pair of vertical walls having a passage therebetween configured to direct gases produced by the breaker or other switching or protective equipment housed in the at least one compartment from an interior bottom area of the at least one compartment below the breaker or other switching or protective equipment to the at least one top vent of the enclosure” (emphasis added).
(Claim 20): “the at least one pair of vertical walls having a passage therebetween configured to direct gases produced by a breaker or other switching or protective equipment when housed in the compartment from an interior bottom area of the compartment below the breaker or other switching or protective equipment to a top vent of the compartment” (emphasis added).
The aforementioned limitations as respectively recited in independent claims 1and 20 are not believed to be supported by Applicant’s originally filed specification and drawings. Paragraph [0050] of Applicant’s specification (see US PG-Pub version of Applicant’s specification) is the only instance in which Applicant’s specification details the “interior bottom area of the compartment below the breaker or other switching or protective equipment”. However, when looking at paragraph [0050], the specification only mentions “gases” in a generic form (i.e., the specification talks about all the different gases, including the cooling air, and groups them all together to define the general term “gases” and thus making the word “gases” only a generic terminology). Nowhere in Applicant’s specification does Applicant teach or suggest that the breaker or switching or protective equipment produces gases that flow from an interior bottom area of the compartment below the breaker or other switching or protective equipment to the top vent. In other words, Applicant’s originally filed specification provides any teaching and/or suggestion (and thus failing to provide any evidence to show possession of the concept) that the breaker or switching or protective equipment produces or is capable of producing gases that flow within the gas flow pathway as respectively claimed in claims 1 and 20 (i.e., Applicant’s originally filed specification fails to show possession of the concept that the breaker or switching or protective equipment can be the source of the gases that flow within the gas flow path as respectively claimed in claims 1 and 20).
Furthermore, figure 3 of Applicant’s figures is believed to be the only figure in Applicant’s figures that shows the concept outlined in paragraph [0050] of Applicant’s specification. However, even when looking at figure 3, it appears as though the gases that are below the breaker or switching or protective equipment do not originate from the breaker or switching or protective equipment but instead originate from elsewhere. Therefore, even Applicant’s specification is believed to not provide support for the aforementioned claimed subject matter as respectively recited in independent claims 1 and 20. For all of the reasons outlined above, independent claims 1 and 20 are believed to constitute new matter. For the purposes of examination, the aforementioned limitations of claims 1 and 20 were examined given their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI).
Claims 2-10 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, for inheriting the deficiency of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 17-18, and 20, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP S59-132303 in view of Josten (US 20090200273).
Regarding claim 1, JP S59-132303 discloses (Fig.4):
A switchgear assembly comprising: an enclosure (2) having a plurality of compartments (Fig.4: the compartments for 7 and for 8 will define the plurality of compartments) configured to house switchgear components (7 and 8), the plurality of compartments including at least one compartment (Fig.4: the compartment for 7) configured to house a breaker or other switching or protective equipment (7), the enclosure (2) including: a plurality of vents (5 and 5a’s) configured to vent gases (Fig.4: the arrows from 7 and 8) from an interior (Fig.4: inside the enclosure 2) of the enclosure (2), the plurality of vents (5 and 5a’s) including at least one top vent (5a) at a top (Fig.4: the 5a at the top of 2) of the enclosure; and at least one pair (Fig.4: 9 and left side 2) of vertical walls (Fig.4: 9s and left and right sides of 2) along a first side (Fig.4: left side of compartment for 7) of the at least one compartment housing the breaker or other switching or protective equipment (7), the at least one pair of vertical walls having a passage (Fig.4: left side airflow arrows) therebetween configured to direct gases (“air”) from an interior bottom area (Fig.4: for 8) below the breaker or other switching or protective equipment (7) to the at least one top vent (5a) of the enclosure, one vertical wall of each pair of vertical walls being an outer wall (left side of 2 and right side of 2) of the at least one compartment.
However, JP S59-132303 does not disclose:
The at least one pair of vertical walls having a passage therebetween configured to direct gases produced by the breaker or other switching or protective equipment housed in the at least one compartment from an interior bottom area of the at least one compartment below the breaker or other switching or protective equipment to the at least one top vent of the enclosure.
Josten, however, teaches (Figs.1 and 4):
Direct gases (25) produced by the breaker or other switching or protective equipment (18) housed in the at least one compartment (Fig.4: the bottom 17 and 32 in combination) from an interior bottom area (32) of the at least one compartment (Fig.4: the bottom 17 and 32 in combination) below the breaker or other switching or protective equipment (18) to the at least one top vent (39) of the enclosure (10) (Fig.4: the 25’s produced by the 27 of the 18 on the bottom-most 17 will flow to 32, which is below 18, which will then travel to be expelled by the top vent 39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Josten to modify the device of JP S59-132303 such that the at least one pair of vertical walls has a passage therebetween that is configured to direct gases produced by the breaker or other switching or protective equipment housed in the at least one compartment from an interior bottom area of the at least one compartment below the breaker or other switching or protective equipment to the at least one top vent of the enclosure, as claimed, in order to further improve the overall switchgear protection capabilities due to the switchgear now having means to direct high pressure gases formed from arc as taught by Josten ([0034]).
Regarding claim 20, JP S59-132303 discloses (Fig.4):
A compartment (Fig.4: compartment for 7) configured to house a breaker or other switching or protective equipment (7), the compartment comprising: at least one pair (Fig.4: 9 and left side 2) of vertical walls (Fig.4: 9s and left and right sides of 2) along a first side (Fig.4: left side of compartment for 7) of the compartment housing the breaker or other switching or protective equipment (7), the at least one pair of vertical walls having a passage (Fig.4: left side airflow arrows) therebetween configured to direct gases (“air”) from an interior bottom area (Fig.4: for 8) below the breaker or other switching or protective equipment (7) to a top vent (5,5a) of the compartment, one vertical wall of each pair of vertical walls being an outer wall (left side of 2 and right side of 2) of the compartment.
However, JP S59-132303 does not disclose:
The at least one pair of vertical walls having a passage therebetween configured to direct gases produced by a breaker or other switching or protective equipment when housed in the compartment from an interior bottom area of the compartment below the breaker or other switching or protective equipment to a top vent of the compartment.
Josten, however, teaches (Figs.1 and 4):
Direct gases (25) produced by the breaker or other switching or protective equipment (18) when housed in the compartment (Fig.4: the bottom 17 and 32 in combination) from an interior bottom area (32) of the compartment (Fig.4: the bottom 17 and 32 in combination) below the breaker or other switching or protective equipment (18) to the at least one top vent (39) of the enclosure (10) (Fig.4: the 25’s produced by the 27 of the 18 on the bottom-most 17 will flow to 32, which is below 18, which will then travel to be expelled by the top vent 39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Josten to modify the device of JP S59-132303 such that the at least one pair of vertical walls has a passage therebetween that is configured to direct gases produced by the breaker or other switching or protective equipment housed in the compartment from an interior bottom area of the compartment below the breaker or other switching or protective equipment to the at least one top vent of the enclosure, as claimed, in order to further improve the overall switchgear protection capabilities due to the switchgear now having means to direct high pressure gases formed from arc as taught by Josten ([0034]).
Regarding claim 2, modified JP S59-132303 fails to disclose:
The at least one compartment has a front wall or panel with one or more bottom vents.
JP S59-132303, however, presents another embodiment that teaches (Fig. 2):
The at least one compartment (Fig.2: the compartment for 8) having a front wall (Fig.2: for 8) or panel with one or more bottom vents (4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the additional embodiment taught by JP S59-132303 to further modify the device of modified JP S59-132303 such that the at least one compartment has a front wall or panel with one or more bottom vents, as claimed, in order to allow denser cooler air to enter enclosure for maximum cooling of the breaker or other switching or protective equipment in the bottom interior area of the enclosure.
Regarding claim 3, JP S59-132303 further discloses:
Wherein the pairs of vertical walls (Fig.4: 9s and left and right sides of 2) are arranged on opposite sides (Fig.4: left and right sides of 7) of the switching or protective equipment (7).
Regarding claim 6, JP S59-132303 further discloses:
Wherein one (Fig.4: the compartment for 7) or more of the plurality of compartments at a top (Fig.4: on top) of the enclosure (2) include inlet or outlet vents (5,5a) on a top outer wall (Fig.4: top wall of 2), and the enclosure (2) includes a plurality of barriers (9 and 10) to separate the breaker or other switching or protective equipment (7) housed in the enclosure (2) (Fig.4: the plurality of barriers separates 7 from the other compartments of 2).
However, modified JP S59-132303 fails to teach:
One or more of the compartments have a rear outer wall with inlet or outlet vents, and a plurality of metal clad barriers to separate the breaker of other switching or protective equipment housed in the enclosure.
JP S59-132303, however, presents another embodiment that teaches (Figs. 1-2):
One or more (Figs.1-2: the compartment for 4) of the compartments have a rear outer wall (Fig.2: left side of 8) with inlet (see airflow arrows into 8) or outlet vents.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of modified JP S59-132303 with the secondary embodiment of JP S59-132303 such that one of more of the compartments have a rear outer wall with an inlet, as claimed, for the purpose of allowing denser cooler air to enter enclosure for maximum cooling of the switching or protective equipment in the bottom interior area of the enclosure.
However, the above combination still fails to teach:
A plurality of metal clad barriers to separate the breaker or other switching or protective equipment housed in the enclosure.
However, Official Notice is taken that a plurality of metal clad barriers to separate equipment housed in the enclosure is well-known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of modified JP S59-132303 with well-known metal clad barriers for the purpose of using an economical strong material that can withstand an arcing event and protect the equipment housed in the enclosure.
Regarding claim 7, modified JP S59-132303 does not teach:
One or more buses to electrically connect the breaker or other switching or protective equipment housed in different locations of the enclosure, the one or more buses having a horizontal or vertical orientation or a combination thereof.
JP S59-132303, however, presents another embodiment that teaches (Fig.2):
One or more buses (Fig.2: In right side compartment) to electrically connect the breaker or other switching or protective equipment (7 and 8) housed in different locations (see Fig. 2) of the enclosure (See Fig.2), the one or more buses having a horizontal or vertical orientation or a combination (See Fig. 2) thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of the secondary embodiment of JP S59-132303 to further modify the device of modified JP S59-132303 such that it has one or more buses to electrically connect the breaker or other switching or protective equipment housed in different locations of the enclosure and such that the one or more buses has a horizontal, vertical orientation, or a combination thereof, as claimed, for the purpose of providing line and load bus to interconnect the switchgear assembly with a means providing power and a load that the equipment is protecting.
Regarding claim 17, JP S59-132303 further discloses:
Wherein the passage (Fig.4: left side airflow arrows) is configured to direct the gases (“air”) from the interior bottom area (Fig.4: for 8) to the at least one top vent (5a) by unforced air circulation (Fig.4: the gasses all move via unforced air circulation).
Regarding claim 18, JP S59-132303 does not disclose:
Wherein the at least one compartment comprises a plurality of vertically stacked cubicles, and the at least one pair of vertical walls extends along the plurality of vertically stacked cubicles to form a continuous passage directing gases toward the at least one top vent.
Josten, however, further teaches:
Wherein the at least one compartment (Fig.4: the bottom 17 and 32 in combination) comprises a plurality of vertically stacked cubicles (Fig.4: 17 and 32 are each a cubicle that are vertically stacked on top of each other and thus in combination form a plurality of vertically stacked cubicles) to form a continuous passage (See Fig.4) directing gases (25) toward the at least one top vent (39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Josten to further modify the device of modified JP S59-132303 such that the at least one compartment comprises a plurality of vertically stacked cubicles that are formed in such a way that the at least one pair of vertical walls extends along the plurality of vertically stacked cubicles to form a continuous passage directing gases toward the at least one top vent, as claimed, in order to achieve the improved switchgear protection means as outlined in claim 1 above.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP S59-132303 and Josten (US 20090200273) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Frassineti (US 8,339,773).
Regarding claim 4, modified JP S59-132303 does not teach:
A bus for a load-side path for one phase, the bus comprising first and second conductors in which a first and an opposite second end of the first conductor is in contact with respective first and opposite second ends of the second conductor, a portion of the first and second conductors, which is between the first and second ends of the first and second conductors, having the first and second conductors spaced-apart and extending diagonally in parallel with each other.
Frassineti, however, teaches (Figs.1-4):
A bus (2,13, and 21) for a load-side (either top or bottom of 2) path for one phase, the bus comprising first and second conductors (1st conductor - 2A,21; 2nd conductor 2B,13) in which a first (Fig.2: left side of Fig.2) and an opposite second (Fig.2: right side of Fig.2) end of the first conductor is in contact (See Fig.2) with respective first and opposite second ends of the second conductor, a portion of the first and second conductors, which is between the first and second ends of the first and second conductors, having the first and second conductors spaced-apart (See Fig.1) and extending diagonally (See Fig. 1) in parallel with each other is well-known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Frassineti to further modify the device of modified JP S59-132303 with the bus of the Frassineti for the purpose of allowing greater cross-section of the bus for handling higher currents as well as reducing the resistance and hence the heat generated by the bus.
Regarding claim 5, modified JP S59-132303 does not teach:
Wherein the bus is rated for 2,000 Amp application or for use in MV switchgear application having a rated maximum voltage of 5 to 15kV.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of modified JP S59-132303 such that the switchgear gear application has a desired voltage/current rating, including as claimed (i.e., 2,000 Amp application or for use in MV switchgear application having a rated maximum voltage of 5 to 15kV), that requires exhausting of combustible gases after an arcing event in order to achieve the improved switchgear protection means as outlined in claim 1 above, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Finally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
See next page→
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP S59-132303 and Josten (US 20090200273) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shamine (US 9,595,799).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, modified JP S59-132303 does not teach:
(Claim 8): A ground bus; a breaker ground shoe having a U-shape cross-section with two open-ends tapering toward each other, the two open-ends being configured to connect to the ground bus, and an opposite closed end from the two open-ends being configured to connect to a conductor from the breaker or other switching or protective equipment.
(Claim 9): Wherein the ground bus which includes an extending rail for receiving the two open-ends of the breaker ground shoe, the rail being clamped between the two open-ends when the breaker ground shoe is engaged to the ground bus.
Shamine, however, teaches (Figs.2-3):
(Claim 8): A ground bus (34); a breaker ground shoe (110) having a U-shape cross-section (See Fig.3) with two open-ends (Fig.3: top & bottom of 110) tapering toward (fig. 3, at 212,127) each other, the two open-ends being configured to connect to the ground bus (34), and an opposite closed end (Fig.3: at 135) from the two open-ends being configured to connect to a conductor (142 is able to connect to a conductor) from the breaker or other switching or protective equipment (24).
(Claim 9): Wherein the ground bus (34) which includes an extending rail (Fig.2 and Col.3 Lns.59-65: the portions 34 that 110 is connected to will define the “extending rail”) for receiving the two open-ends (Fig.3: top & bottom of 110) of the breaker ground shoe (110), the rail being clamped between the two open-ends when the breaker ground shoe (10) is engaged to the ground bus (34) (Figs.2-3 and Col.3 Lns.59-65: in the connected state of 110 the “extending rail” will be clamped between the two open-ends of 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of modified JP S59-132303 with the breaker ground shoe of Shamine, as respectively claimed in claims 8-9, for the purpose of providing a breaker ground shoe that can clasp anywhere along the ground bus.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP S59-132303 and Josten (US 20090200273) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Midday (US 10,362,698).
Regarding claim 10, modified JP S59-132303 does not teach:
A gusset kit reinforcement, connected to an interior bottom corner of a compartment of the plurality of compartments, for protecting against seismic activity.
Midday, however, teaches (Figs.2-3):
A gusset kit reinforcement (32) (Figs.2-3: connected thru wall of Fig.3), connected to an interior bottom corner (interior bottom corner of 14) of a compartment (14), for protecting against seismic activity (can protect from seismic activity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of modified JP S59-132303 with the gusset kit reinforcement of Midday such that it has a gusset kit reinforcement that is connected to an interior bottom corner of a compartment of the plurality of compartments for protection against seismic activity, as claimed, for the purpose of providing a means to fasten the switchgear assembly to a supporting surface supporting the switchgear assembly to keep the switchgear assembly in place.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP S59-132303 and Josten (US 20090200273) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rajauria (US 10,431,963).
Regarding claims 14-15, modified JP S59-132303 does not teach:
(Claim 14): Wherein the plurality of compartments includes a front compartment having a drawer for housing the breaker or other switching or protective equipment, the drawer being slidingly engaged to the enclosure to slide between an open or a closed position.
(Claim 15): Wherein the plurality of compartments includes a front compartment having a removable door panel(s), terminal blocks in a top wireway, or an auxiliary device insertable in the enclosure at an end of the compartment.
Rajauria, however, teaches (Fig.1):
(Claim 14): Wherein the plurality of compartments (See Fig.1) includes a front compartment (26) having a drawer (Col.3 Ln.54) for housing the breaker or other switching or protective equipment (Col.3 Lns.16-19: the relays and switches can define the “breaker or other switching or protective equipment”).
(Claim 15): Wherein the plurality of compartments (See Fig.1) includes the front compartment (26) having a removable door panel(s), terminal blocks in a top wireway, or an auxiliary device (Col.3 Ln.18-19: at least the meter and lights will define the “auxiliary device”) insertable in the enclosure at an end (Col.3 Lns.18-19: at least meter and lights on end so can be seen by a user) of the compartment (26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify modified JP S59-132303 with the drawer of Rajauria such that it has a drawn for housing the breaker or other switching or protective equipment, as claimed in claim 14, and such that the front compartment has an auxiliary device that is insertable in the enclosure at an end of the drawer, as claimed in claim 15, for the purpose of providing control electronics for the switchgear assembly so that the switchgear can be controlled and its status monitored.
However, the above combination would still fail to explicitly teach:
(Claim 14): The drawer being slidingly engaged to the enclosure to slide between an open or a closed position.
However, Official Notice is taken that a drawer being slidingly engaged to the enclosure to slide between an open or a closed position is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify modified JP S59-132303 with a well-known slidable drawer for the purpose of allowing the components within the drawer to be easily accessible for maintenance by a user.
Regarding claim 16, JP S59-132303 further discloses:
Wherein the plurality of compartments (Fig.4: the compartments for 7 and for 8 will define the plurality of compartments) includes the front compartment (i.e., near side of fig. 4) for housing a circuit breaker or other switching or protective equipment (7).
However, modified JP S59-132303 fails to teach:
The front compartment having a width of 26 inches.
See next page→
However, modifying the width of the front compartment such that it has a desired width, including as claimed (i.e., 26 inches), would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to provide a compartment that can accommodate components of a standardized width, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP S59-132303 and Josten (US 20090200273) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Benke (US 20150262767).
Regarding claim 19, modified JP S59-132303 does not teach:
Wherein the at least one compartment houses a draw-out circuit breaker that is configured to be racked into and out of a breaker cradle, and has a front panel with vents along a bottom region to facilitate flow of gases.
JP S59-132303, however, presents another embodiment that teaches (Figs.1-2):
Wherein the at least one compartment (Fig.2: the compartment for 8) houses a draw-out circuit breaker (8) (Fig.2: 8 is a draw-out circuit braker due to the wheels provided on 8, which will allow 8 to be drawn in and out of the corresponding compartment), and has a front panel (Fig.1: the panel that has 4 on it) with vents (4) along a bottom region (See Figs.1-2) to facilitate flow of gases (See Figs.1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of the second embodiment of JP S59-132303 to further modify the device of modified JP S59-132303 such that the at least one compartment houses a draw-out circuit breaker and such that it has a front panel with vents along a bottom region to facilitate flow of gases, as claimed, in order to further optimize the housing and gas flow directing means in the switchgear assembly (i.e., the draw-out circuit breaker provides a simple means of installing and placing the device in a desired location and compartment, and providing the front panel with vents also allows for more entry points for the gas to flow in and thus further optimizing the amount of gas that can enter the enclosure).
However, the above combination still fails to teach:
Wherein the at least one compartment houses a draw-out circuit breaker that is configured to be racked into and out of a breaker cradle.
Benke, however, teaches (Fig.2A):
A draw-out circuit breaker (10) that is configured to be racked into and out of a breaker cradle (See Fig.2A and [0092]: “the lock members 12 of the cradle in appropriate members of the switchgear/cell”- the “appropriate members” that accept 12 of the cradle will define the “breaker cradle”) (Fig.2A, [0092], and [0103]: 10 can be racked into and out of the braker cradle via 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Benke to further modify the device of modified JP S59-132303 such that the at least one compartment houses a draw-out circuit breaker that is configured to be racked into and out of a breaker cradle, as claimed, in order to provide a means for properly aligning the circuit breaker to the at least one compartment.
Examiner’s Note: the “breaker cradle” is a non-positively claimed limitation and thus does not have significant patentable weight. Therefore, the Office simply just has to provide a prior art reference that teaches a draw-out breaker that is capable of being able to be racked into and out of a breaker cradle. However, for the purposes of compact prosecution, the Office has provided prior art to show that the claimed subject matter is a well-known concept in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the device as respectively recited in independent claim 11, and at least in part, for the reasons outlined in the non-final Office action of 02/19/2026.
In the amendments filed on 08/17/2026, Applicant amended claim 11 such that it is now an independent claim that incorporates the combined subject matter of original claim 1 and claim 11. Therefore, because independent claim 11 recites the subject matter of originally filed claim 1, independent claim 11 does not have the same 112(a) issue as outlined above for independent claims 1 and 20. Furthermore, Applicant amended independent claim 11 in order to address the 112(b)-rejection made in the non-final Office action of 02/19/2026. Therefore, the 112(b)-rejection made to claim 11 is hereby withdrawn.
The remaining prior art references teach subject matter that is related to the instant application. However, none of the remaining prior art references, taken alone or in combination, are believed to teach and/or suggest the aforementioned allowable limitations of independent claim 11 as outlined in the previous Office action. Therefore, none of the prior art references, taken alone or in combination, are believed to render the claimed invention unpatentable as claimed.
Finally, the Office has not identified any double patenting issues. For all of the reasons outlined above, independent claim 11, and all claims depending therefrom, is believed to be in condition for allowance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments of 08/17/2026 have been fully considered but notes that Applicant's arguments are directed to the claims as amended, and are thus moot since the rejection has been modified to meet the limitations of the amended claims (See rejection above).
Furthermore, as outlined in the 112-rejection above, amended independent claim 1 newly added independent claim 20 are believed to contain new matter, and thus failing to further advance prosecution.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20210287860: teaches a switchgear that has a structure that allows for gases produced by an arc to flow downwards and then to be exhausted by at least one top vent of an enclosure.
See next page→
US 10784660: teaches a compartment that generates gases via a breaker or other switching or protective equipment, and the gases flow downwards and then are exhausted through a top vent of an enclosure.
US 20180090914: teaches a medium voltage switchgear assembly that has a rated voltage from 2.5kV to 15kV.
US 20150163957: teaches a medium voltage switchgear assembly that has a rated voltage that can go up to about 38kV.
US 20150114807: teaches a draw-out circuit breaker that can rack into and out of a breaker cradle.
US 8733855: teaches gases generated by a breaker or other switching or protective equipment and the gases flowing from an interior bottom area of a compartment below the breaker or other switching or protective equipment and flowing out of a top vent.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHEN S SUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841