DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–17 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0372127 A1.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10 April 2024, 15 November 2024, 23 May 2025, and 23 September 2025 were filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submissions comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The view numbers of FIGS. 1, 3A, and 4 are not larger than the letters, numbers, and reference characters used in the drawing. The view numbers must be larger than the numbers used for reference characters. See 37 CFR 1.84 (u)(2).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ELECTRODE ASSEMBLY INCLUDING TWO ZIGZAG-SHAPED SEPARATORS AND METHOD FOR MANFUACTURING SAME, AND SECONDARY BATTERY INCLUDING SAME.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the second electrode plate being outside of the two separators” in line 6. Claim 1 recites the limitation “second electrode plates” in line 5. It is unclear if only one of “second electrode plates” recited in line 5 is “outside of the two separators” or the “second electrode plates” recited in line 5 are “outside of the two separators.”
Claims 2–10 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 2–10 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a zigzag shape.” Claim 1, which claim 11 is directly dependent, recites the limitation “a zigzag shape” and provides antecedent basis for the term “zigzag shape.” However, claim 11 does not include “the” or “said” indicating “zigzag shape” is further limiting or referencing “a zigzag shape” recited in claim 1. Therefore, it is unclear if “a zigzag shape” recited in claim 11 is further limiting or referencing “a zigzag shape” recited in claim 1.
Claim 12 is directly dependent from claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 12 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the electrode assembly as claimed in claim 1” and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 13 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the outside" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “fixing at least partial regions of the at least one first electrode plate to two the separators.”
Claims 16 and 17 are directly dependent from claim 15, are indirectly dependent from claim 14, and include all the limitations of claims 14 and 15. Therefore, claims 16 and 17 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–9 and 13–17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sauerteig et al. (US 2020/0028200 A1, hereinafter Sauerteig).
Regarding claim 1, Sauerteig discloses an electrode assembly (10, [0071]), comprising:
two separators (18, 19; [0071]);
at least one first electrode plate (21) between the two separators (18, 19; [0071]),
the at least one first electrode plate (21) being aligned with the two separators (18, 19) into a zigzag shape (FIG. 4, [0071]); and
second electrode plates (22) coupled to the zigzag shape opposite to the at least one first electrode plate (21, [0071]),
the second electrode plate (22) being outside of the two separators (18, 19; [0071]).
Regarding claim 2, Sauerteig discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly, further comprising:
a fixer (61, [0052]),
the fixer (61) fixing at least partial regions of the at least one first electrode plate (21) to the two separators (18, 19; [0056]).
Regarding claim 3, Sauerteig discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the at least one first electrode plate (21) includes a plurality of first electrode plates (21) spaced apart from each other between the two separators (18, 19; [0071]),
the fixer (61) fixing the plurality of first electrode plates (21) to the two separators (18, 19), respectively (FIG. 4, [0056]).
Regarding claim 4, Sauerteig discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the fixer (61) is in partial areas or rim areas of the two separators (18, 19; [0056]).
Regarding claim 5, Sauerteig discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the plurality of first electrode plates (21) are spaced apart on the two separators (18, 19) by the fixer (61, [0056]).
Regarding claim 6, Sauerteig discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein each of the two separators (18, 19) has a length that is the same as or larger than each of the plurality of first electrode plates (21) and the second electrode plates (22, [0071]).
Regarding claim 7, Sauerteig discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein each of the plurality of first electrode plates (21) and the second electrode plates (22) has a shape of a rectangle or an inverted L (FIG. 2c, [0071]).
Regarding claim 8, Sauerteig discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the fixer (61) is in any one of rim areas, partial areas, and corner areas of the at least one first electrode plate (21) and the second electrode plates (22, [0056]).
Regarding claim 9, Sauerteig discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the fixer (61, [0052]) is an adhesive or fused with the at least one first electrode plate (21) and the two separators (18, 19) into a single structure (50, [0071]).
Regarding claim 13, Sauerteig discloses a secondary battery (2) comprising an electrode assembly (10, [0047]), wherein the electrode assembly (10, [0071]) comprises:
two separators (18, 19; [0071]);
at least one first electrode plate (21) between the two separators (18, 19; [0071]),
the at least one first electrode plate (21) being aligned with the two separators (18, 19) into a zigzag shape (FIG. 4, [0071]); and
second electrode plates (22) coupled to the zigzag shape opposite to the at least one first electrode plate (21, [0071]),
the second electrode plate (22) being outside of the two separators (18, 19; [0071]).
Regarding claim 14, Sauerteig discloses a method for manufacturing an electrode assembly (10, [0071]), the method comprising:
preparing two separators (18, 19; [0071]);
aligning at least one first electrode plate (21) between the two separators (18, 19; [0071]);
forming an overlapping stack (50) by bending the two separators (18, 19) with the at least one first electrode plate (21) therebetween in a zigzag manner at preset intervals (FIG. 4, [0071]); and
inserting second electrode plates (22) from outside of the stack (50, [0071]).
Regarding claim 15, Sauerteig discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method, wherein aligning the at least one first electrode plate (21) between the two separators (18, 19) includes:
fixing at least partial regions of the at least one first electrode plate (21) to the two separators (18, 19; [0056]).
Regarding claim 16, Sauerteig discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein the at least partial regions of the at least one first electrode plate are fixed to partial regions or rim regions of the two separators (18, 19; [0056]).
Regarding claim 17, Sauerteig discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method, wherein aligning the at least one first electrode plate (21) between the two separators (18, 19) further includes:
fixing the at least partial regions of the at least one first electrode plate (21) to the two separators (18, 19) through fusion or adhesion (FIG. 2c, [0056]).
Claims 1, 2, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanuki et al. (JP 2009-117291, hereinafter Watanuki).
Regarding claim 1, Watanuki discloses an electrode assembly (FIG. 4, [0023]), comprising:
two separators (4, [0018]);
at least one first electrode plate (2) between the two separators (4, [0018]),
the at least one first electrode plate (2) being aligned with the two separators (4) into a zigzag shape (FIG. 4, [0023]); and
second electrode plates (3) coupled to the zigzag shape opposite to the at least one first electrode plate (2, [0023]),
the second electrode plate (3) being outside of the two separators (4, [0023]).
Regarding claim 2, Watanuki discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly, further comprising:
a fixer (5, [0018]),
the fixer (5) fixing at least partial regions of the at least one first electrode plate (2) to the two separators (4, [0019]).
Regarding claim 9, Watanuki discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the fixer (5, [0021]) is an adhesive or fused with the at least one first electrode plate (2) and the two separators (4) into a single structure (FIG. 4, [0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Watanuki discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the fixer (5, [0021]) includes polyimide, polypropylene, or polyethylene terephthalate (see polypropylene, [0003]).
Claims 1, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato et al. (US 2014/0230239 A1, hereinafter Sato).
Regarding claim 1, Sato discloses an electrode assembly (3A, [0065]), comprising:
two separators (4A, [0065]);
at least one first electrode plate (6A) between the two separators (4A, [0065]),
the at least one first electrode plate (6A) being aligned with the two separators (4A) into a zigzag shape (FIG. 10, [0065]); and
second electrode plates (5) coupled to the zigzag shape opposite to the at least one first electrode plate (6A, [0065]),
the second electrode plate (5) being outside of the two separators (4A, [0065]).
Regarding claim 11, Sato discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein each of the two separators (4A) has a zigzag shape (FIG. 4, [0065]),
the two separators (4A) extending adjacent to each other in parallel zigzags with the at least one first electrode (6A) stacked therebetween (FIG. 10, [0065]).
Regarding claim 12, Sato discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the at least one first electrode plate (6A) is a single continuous electrode plate (6A) extending along an entire length of at least one of the two separators (4A, [0065]).
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725