DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The claims filed 1/15/2026 are entered.
Claims 1-6 and 8-18 are pending.
Claims 1 and 10 are independent.
Claim 1 is currently amended.
Claims 2-6 and 8-9 are original.
Claims 10-18 are withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/11/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the first Office action on the merits on 10/22/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103
Regarding the prior rejections of claims 1-9 as being anticipated or obvious over Binder (US 10,970,698 B1), Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the current amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Champaneria (US 2015/0278803 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Champaneria discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising:
detecting, using at least one processor of an audio signal receiving device, a first device and establishing a near-field communication (NFC) exchange communication link with the first device (see para. 0047-0048, wherein “audio signal receiving device” reasonably covers a mobile device with NFC capability, since NFC operates via radio frequency; the phone is also an “audio signal receiving device” because it receives audio signals other than NFC);
receiving, using the at least one processor of the audio signal receiving device, one or more signals from the first device, each of the one or more signals being responsive to one or more transmissions generated and sent to the first device by a transceiver coil of the audio signal receiving device, the transceiver coil being coupled to the at least one processor (see para. 0047-0048);
determining, using the at least one processor of the audio signal receiving device, a signal strength of the one or more signals from the first device, and, based on the determined signal strength, determining a first position of the first device in relation to the audio signal receiving device (see para. 0049; Figs. 4-5);
generating, using the at least one processor of the audio signal receiving device, one or more prompts to reposition the first device in relation to the audio signal receiving device from the first position to one or more second positions, at least one second position in the one or more second positions corresponding to a maximum signal strength of the one or more signals, the maximum signal strength corresponding to a maximum current load measured at the transceiver coil (see para. 0015, 0049; Figs. 4-5, wherein stronger coupling “corresponds to” a greater load at a transceiver coil); and
extracting, using the at least one processor of the audio signal receiving device, information from the first device upon the first device being in the at least one second position (see para. 0058).
Regarding claim 8, Champaneria discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a content of at least one prompt in the one or more prompts is different from at least another prompt in the one or more prompts and is determined based on the determined signal strength (see para. 0049; Figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 9, Champaneria discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the content of the at least one prompt includes at least one of: an audio prompt, a video prompt, a graphics prompt, an image prompt, a textual prompt, and any combinations thereof (see para. 0049; Figs. 4-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Champaneria (US 2015/0278803 A1) in view of Modi (US 2019/0228417 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Binder does not explicitly disclose, but Modi teaches, wherein the audio signal receiving device includes at least one of: one or more earphones, one or more headphones, one or more virtual reality devices, one or more augmented reality devices, one or more virtual reality glasses, one or more augmented reality glasses, and any combinations thereof (see para. 0035, 0064).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bodi to include the feature taught by Modi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to facilitate payments with a virtual reality headset device (see Modi, para. 0064, 0068).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Champaneria (2015/0278803 A1) in view of Moghadam (US 2019/0378117 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Champaneria does not explicitly disclose, but Moghadam teaches wherein the first device is a contactless card (see para. 0016-0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Champaneria to include the features taught by Moghadam.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to enable a user to quickly and easily add an NFC-enabled funding card to a user account or mobile/cloud wallet (see Moghadam, para. 0024).
Regarding claim 4, Moghadam teaches wherein the contactless card, based on the establishing of the NFC exchange communication link, is configured to transmit to the audio signal receiving device a contactless card data, the contactless card data includes at least one of the following: an account number associated with the contactless card, a virtual account number associated with the contactless card, an expiration date associated with the contactless card, a card verification value (CVV) associated with the contactless card, a billing address associated with the contactless card, a name of a user associated with the contactless card, and any combination thereof (see para. 0019).
Regarding claim 5, Moghdam teaches wherein the contactless card includes at least one of the following: a credit card, a debit card, an electronic gift card, a pre-paid credit card, a pre-paid debit card, and any combination thereof (see para. 0016).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Champaneria (2015/0278803 A1) in view of Cordier (US 2022/0239335 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Champaneria does not explicitly disclose, but Cordier teaches wherein the signal strength is determined based on a current load measured at the transceiver coil (see para. 0049-0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Champaneria to include the feature of Cordier.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification in order to guide the user to an optimal target position (see para. 0088).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Royston (US 2015/0229362 A1) discloses an NFC-enabled device including tag emulation circuitry and reader emulation circuitry operates so as to provide a signal strength meter function. The signal strength meter function, in tag emulation mode, measures and reports on how well the tag is coupled to a third party reader field. In reader emulation mode, the signal strength meter function measures and reports how well the reader of the NFC-enabled device couples to a tag that is being read. One exemplary method includes detecting an NFC reader field, operating reader receiver circuitry at the NFC-enabled device so as to at least determine the strength of a signal received from the reader field, generating information representative of the determined strength of the signal received from the reader field at a first time, and performing one or more predetermined actions based at least in part on the one or more signals representative of the determined strength. Predetermined actions may include generating visual, audio, and/or other indications of the received signal strength.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC T WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693
ERIC WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3693