DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
After the amendments filed 07/23/2026, claims 15-34 are remain pending, of which, 15-17, 22, 25, 27-29, and 31-33 were amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-20, 22-23 and 26-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Isaak et al (U.S. 10,078,410).
Regarding claims 15, 27 and 31, Isaak discloses:
a content interaction system (3:65-4:20, gaming system 100), the system comprising:
one or more processors (3:65-4:20, gaming system 100 includes one or more processors);
a memory comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (3:65-4:20, gaming system 100 includes data storage which stores a game application 110 which is executed by the one or more processors), cause the one or more processors to:
provide interactive content for output (5:29-6:3, game engine 112 executes gameplay application 110 and renders display of the game according to game rules, user inputs and in-game events);
receive data indicating one or more inputs from a user, each of the one or more inputs having a respective associated intent with regard to the interactive content (4:21-67, 6:22-36, 10:23-47, touchscreen 103 receives input from a user and translates the input into input data, the inputs are each associated with actions performed during game play);
determine a count of the one or more inputs from the user (10:23-47, the system counts the number of secondary touches 222 to determine the actions to be performed in the game);
select one or more interactions to be performed with regard to the interactive content at least based on the count of the one or more inputs from the user (7:63-8:19, 10:23-47, two or more of the inputs may be inter-related such that a first number of inputs (e.g., a primary touch 220 and a single tap secondary touch 222) provides a first action (e.g., jump left) and a second number of inputs (e.g., a primary touch 220 and a double tap secondary touch 222) provides a second different action (e.g., run left)), the one or more interactions having a respective associated intent that includes the one or more respective associated intents that are associated with the one or more inputs (¶10:23-47, a primary touch 220 and a single tap secondary touch 222 are associated with providing a first action (e.g., jump left) and a primary touch 220 and a double tap secondary touch 222 is associated with providing a second different action (e.g., run left)) and one or more respective associated intents that are not associated with the one or more inputs (12:63-13:8, actions may occur during the game which are independent of the actions of commands associated with the touch input, for example an input may correspond to a movement and block by a character, wherein the movement of the character is paused while the block action is in effect).
Regarding claims 16 and 28, Isaak discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the instructions further cause the one or more processors to select a number of interactions that is proportional to the count of the one or more inputs from the user (7:5-38, 10:23-47, based on a single touch input 220 the character is caused to move (i.e., 1 input resulting in 1 action) and based on a touch input 220 and a tap input 222 the character is caused to jump and move (i.e., 2 inputs resulting in 2 actions)).
Regarding claims 17 and 29, Isaak discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the instructions further cause the one or more processors to select one or more interactions having a complexity that is proportional to the count of the one or more inputs from the user (7:5-38, 10:23-47, based on a single touch input 220 the character is caused to move and based on a touch input 220 and a tap input 222 the character is caused to jump and move, the examiner interprets 2 inputs causing a jump and move of the character to be a more complex action than 1 input causing movement of the character ).
Regarding claims 18 and 30, Isaak discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the instructions further cause the one or more processors to select the one or more interactions based on one or more non-input actions performed by the user (11:42-55, a movement command associated with the touch input is determined based on touch input parameters such as speed and/or pressure of the input).
Regarding claim 19, Isaak discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the interactive content is a video game (¶3:65-4:20, gaming system 100 which provides a video game to a user).
Regarding claim 20, Isaak discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the one of more inputs comprise at least one of a button press, a trigger pull, a joystick manipulation, a gesture, or a detected motion (4:21-49, the user interacts with touchscreen display by tapping a virtual button or swiping).
Regarding claims 22 and 32, Isaak discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the instructions further cause the one or more processors to select the one or more interactions based on a predetermined threshold count of inputs, such that in response to the count exceeding the predetermined threshold count, the number of selected interactions is reduced (12:1-26, when the game engine 112 determines a directional threshold is exceeded by movement of the touch input the movement buffer is cleared and the replaces the accumulated movement commands with new movement commands).
Regarding claims 23 and 33, Isaak discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the instructions further cause the one or more processors to select the one or more interactions based on a context associated with the interactive content at a time the inputs are received (5:29-47, game engine 112 executes the game actions based on the received inputs and based on a current state of the game).
Regarding claims 26 and 34, Isaak discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the instructions further cause the one or more processors to select the one or more interactions from a list of actions generated by a trained model associated with the interactive content (5:14-28, the game data includes prerecorded motion capture poses/paths, constraints and skeleton models which and is used to determine the generated action).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isaak et al (U.S. 10,078,410) in view of Menard (U.S. 2025/0288903).
Regarding claim 21, Isaak discloses that which is discussed above, however, does not specifically disclose that:
the instructions further cause the one or more processors to select the one or more interactions based on a user profile.
Menard teaches:
a gaming system which renders content of a video game (¶35, game engine 1 executes and displays a video game), wherein a player provides inputs which controls progression of the game (¶53-54, game actions are displayed based at least on inputs received by a player), and wherein the actions which are displayed are based on a user profile (¶53-54, mapping database B stores user programmed information relating to game motions and input parings in a user profile).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, to integrate the profile based input customization, as taught by Menard, into the interaction selection system, as taught by Isaak, in order to yield the predictable result of allowing users to adapt the inputs to their individual preferences without altering the core functionality, thereby improving user experience through personalization.
Regarding claim 24, Isaak discloses that which is discussed above, however, does not specifically disclose that:
the instructions further cause the one or more processors to select the one or more interactions based on a random factor.
Menard teaches:
a gaming system which renders content of a video game (¶35, game engine 1 executes and displays a video game), wherein a player provides inputs which controls progression of the game (¶53-54, game actions are displayed based at least on inputs received by a player), and wherein an interaction is based on a random factor (¶52, based on a user input a random effect is provided as a function of any given action).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, to integrate the random actions, as taught by Menard, into the interaction selection system, as taught by Isaak, in order to yield the predictable result of improving user experience through randomization of game outputs.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isaak et al (U.S. 10,078,410) in view of Vange et al (U.S. 2022/0274023).
Regarding claim 25, Isaak discloses that which is discussed above, however, does not specifically disclose that:
the instructions further cause the one or more processors to select the one or more interactions from a list of possible interactions, wherein the list of possible interactions is ranked according to a likelihood of the input matching an intent of the user.
Vange teaches:
a gaming system which renders content of a video game (¶16), wherein a player provides inputs which controls progression of the game (¶16, artificial intelligence powered game engine which receives user input from a user device and infers an intent of a desired in-game response), and wherein a list of possible interactions is ranked according to a likelihood of the input matching the user's intent (¶23, after a sufficient number of interactions game engine 208 learns various options for meeting an objective for a given operation and ranks and saves for later use).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, to integrate the artificial intelligence action ranking, as taught by Vange, into the interaction selection system, as taught by Isaak, in order to yield the predictable result of improving user experience through providing players with limited controllers the same quality of controls as those with traditional controls (Vange, ¶7-8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments are substantially directed to newly added limitations. The Examiner respectfully submits that the prior art of record discloses these limitations, as discussed in the updated rejections as set forth above. Accordingly, the Applicant is directed to the rejection of the claims above for a detailed response to Applicant's arguments as to the applicability of the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jason Pinheiro/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/JUSTIN L MYHR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715