DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on April 10, 2024 Claims 1-20 havebeen examined in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 4/10/2024, has been acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suchowski et al. (US 2019/0310441 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Suchowski discloses a laser optics experiment kit ([0106] According to an aspect of some embodiments of the invention, there is provided a kit for an interferometer (laser) including: … a plurality of modular optical units), comprising:
a baseplate ([0106] at least four mounting platforms including at least two bases (baseplate));
an adapter plate configured to directly attach to the baseplate ([0102] there is provided a connector (adapter plate) for attaching a modular optical unit to a platform (baseplate));
a plurality of adapter components configured to releasably attach at varying angular positions to the adapter plate ([0236] An aspect of some embodiment of the current invention relates to a connector for attaching a modular optical element (adapter components) to a platform. The connector may include holes for at least two pins and at least one tightening element, [0340] In some embodiments, a connector is invariant to rotation over a certain angle, for example 180 degrees, 90 degrees, 60 degrees 30 degrees (varying angular positions)), including:
a mirror mount assembly ([0106] a plurality of modular optical units, including at least four modular mirror units each the mirror unit including an optical portion defining an optical axis);
a beamsplitter assembly ([0109] interferometer (interferometer splits beams of light));
an iris mount assembly ([0240] In some embodiments, standard optical elements are mounted to frames, … For example an optical element may include a mirror and/or a lens, and/or a filter, and/or a beam splitter, and/or an iris);
a lens mount assembly ([0240] In some embodiments, standard optical elements are mounted to frames, … For example an optical element may include a mirror and/or a lens); and
a viewing panel ([0410] For example, unit 4018 (viewing panel) catches a light beam from unit 1118 and reflects it parallel to the surface of platform 800b at a height of 0.5 inches off the board (fit for a board of 1 inch fixation locations that may be receive the beam)).
Regarding Claim 2, Suchowski discloses a plurality of baseplate components, including:
a laser holder (Fig. 43 Element 800c (laser holder), [0415] For example, platform 800a is located directly in front an outlet of an ultrashort pulsed laser light source 4681); and
a rotation plate assembly ([0225] a polarization rotator).
Regarding Claim 3, Suchowski discloses wherein each of the plurality of baseplate components is configured to be positioned at varying angular positions at a plurality of baseplate locations on the baseplate ([0056] According to an aspect of some embodiments of the invention, there is provided a system of optical units including: a first platform including 1st plurality of fixation locations (baseplate locations), each fixation location having a connector (adapter plate) a second platform including a 2nd plurality of fixation locations, [0213] In some embodiments, the angle between the complementary base and the mounted optical portion (baseplate component) is 90 degrees. Alternatively, the angle between the complementary base and the mounted optical portion is more or less than 90 degrees, for example, ranging between about 90 and about 120 (varying angular positions), or ranging between about 90 and about 45 and/or ranging between 0 to 45 degrees).
Regarding Claim 4, Suchowski discloses wherein the adapter plate is configured to be positioned at varying angular positions at a plurality of baseplate locations on the baseplate ([0236] An aspect of some embodiment of the current invention relates to a connector for attaching a modular optical element (adapter components) to a platform. The connector may include holes for at least two pins and at least one tightening element, [0340] In some embodiments, a connector is invariant to rotation over a certain angle, for example 180 degrees, 90 degrees, 60 degrees 30 degrees (varying angular positions)).
Regarding Claim 5, Suchowski discloses wherein the baseplate is configured to receive the adapter plate at a plurality of baseplate locations on the baseplate ([0056] According to an aspect of some embodiments of the invention, there is provided a system of optical units including: a first platform including 1st plurality of fixation locations (baseplate locations), each fixation location having a connector (adapter plate) a second platform including a 2nd plurality of fixation locations, [0213] In some embodiments, the angle between the complementary base and the mounted optical portion (baseplate component) is 90 degrees. Alternatively, the angle between the complementary base and the mounted optical portion is more or less than 90 degrees, for example, ranging between about 90 and about 120 (varying angular positions), or ranging between about 90 and about 45 and/or ranging between 0 to 45 degrees).
Regarding Claim 6, Suchowski discloses wherein the adapter plate is configured to releasably attach in varying angular positions to each of the plurality of adapter components ([0046] releasably connecting a first set of the plurality of modular optical units at the fixation locations of the at least one base (releasably attached), [0137] a prismatic optical unit including: an angled face; an optical element mounted on the angled face; a first mounting surface at an angle of between 25 to 75 degrees to the angled face (varying angular positions)).
Regarding Claim 7, Suchowski discloses wherein the baseplate includes a plurality of baseplate modules that are configured to releasably connect with one another ([0111] wherein a releasable attachment of some of the plurality of modular optical units (base plate modules) at the fixation locations of the at least one base defines a first set of optical paths, [0215] In some embodiments, modular optical units are releasably attachable to each other).
Regarding Claim 8, Suchowski discloses a laser optics experiment kit ([0106] According to an aspect of some embodiments of the invention, there is provided a kit for an interferometer (laser) including: … a plurality of modular optical units), comprising:
a baseplate ([0106] at least four mounting platforms including at least two bases (baseplate));
an adapter plate configured to attach to the baseplate ([0102] there is provided a connector (adapter plate) for attaching a modular optical unit to a platform (baseplate));
a plurality of baseplate components configured to directly attach to the baseplate ([0236] An aspect of some embodiment of the current invention relates to a connector for attaching a modular optical element (adapter components) to a platform (baseplate). The connector may include holes for at least two pins and at least one tightening element), including:
a laser holder (Fig. 43 Element 800c (laser holder), [0415] For example, platform 800a is located directly in front an outlet of an ultrashort pulsed laser light source 4681); and
a rotation plate assembly ([0225] a polarization rotator).
Regarding Claim 9, Suchowski discloses a plurality of adapter components configured to releasably attach in varying angular positions to the adapter plate ([0236] An aspect of some embodiment of the current invention relates to a connector (adapter plate) for attaching a modular optical element (adapter components) to a platform. The connector may include holes for at least two pins and at least one tightening element, [0340] In some embodiments, a connector is invariant to rotation over a certain angle, for example 180 degrees, 90 degrees, 60 degrees 30 degrees (varying angular positions)), including:
a mirror mount assembly ([0106] a plurality of modular optical units, including at least four modular mirror units each the mirror unit including an optical portion defining an optical axis);
a beamsplitter assembly ([0109] interferometer (interferometer splits beams of light));
an iris mount assembly ([0240] In some embodiments, standard optical elements are mounted to frames, … For example an optical element may include a mirror and/or a lens, and/or a filter, and/or a beam splitter, and/or an iris);
a lens mount assembly ([0240] In some embodiments, standard optical elements are mounted to frames, … For example an optical element may include a mirror and/or a lens); and
a viewing panel ([0410] For example, unit 4018 (viewing panel) catches a light beam from unit 1118 and reflects it parallel to the surface of platform 800b at a height of 0.5 inches off the board (fit for a board of 1 inch fixation locations that may be receive the beam)).
Regarding Claim 10, Suchowski discloses wherein the baseplate includes a plurality of baseplate insertion areas ([0068] A first platform and a second platform (baseplates), each of the first platforms and the second platform having a plurality of fixation locations, to form repeatedly arranged, thereby defining a discrete position coordinate system; a plurality of modular optical units, each including an optical portion defining an optical axis, the optical portion fixedly attached to at least one mounting surface including complementary geometry to the fixation locations (insertion areas)).
Regarding Claim 11, Suchowski discloses wherein the adapter plate is configured to be releasably inserted into the insertion areas ([0106] the optical portion fixedly attached to at least one mounting surface including complementary geometry to the fixation locations; and wherein a releasable attachment of the plurality of modular mirror units at the fixation locations defines a first set of optical axes defining the interferometer).
Regarding Claim 12, Suchowski discloses wherein the baseplate includes a plurality of baseplate modules that each have releasable connectors at perimeter edges thereof ([0306] For example, boards may connect to preserve a pattern of fixation locations over the combined boards. Optionally boards may have connector to attach them edge to edge (for example as illustrated in Figs. 6B, 6C)).
Regarding Claim 13, Suchowski discloses wherein each of the baseplate components is configured to be releasably connected to the baseplate ([0111] wherein a releasable attachment of some of the plurality of modular optical units (base plate modules) at the fixation locations of the at least one base defines a first set of optical paths, [0215] In some embodiments , modular optical units are releasably attachable to each other).
Regarding Claim 14, Suchowski discloses wherein each of the adapter components is configured to be releasably attached at varying angular positions to the adapter plate ([0046] releasably connecting a first set of the plurality of modular optical units at the fixation locations of the at least one base (releasably attached), [0137] a prismatic optical unit including: an angled face; an optical element mounted on the angled face; a first mounting surface at an angle of between 25 to 75 degrees to the angled face (varying angular positions)).
Regarding Claim 15, Suchowski discloses a laser optics experiment kit ([0106] According to an aspect of some embodiments of the invention, there is provided a kit for an interferometer (laser) including: … a plurality of modular optical units), comprising:
a modular baseplate ([0106] at least four mounting platforms including at least two bases (baseplate));
an adapter plate configured to releasably attach to the baseplate ([0102] there is provided a connector (adapter plate) for attaching a modular optical unit to a platform (baseplate));
at least one of a plurality of components configured to releasably attach in varying angular positions to the adapter plate ([0236] An aspect of some embodiment of the current invention relates to a connector for attaching a modular optical element (adapter components) to a platform. The connector may include holes for at least two pins and at least one tightening element, [0340] In some embodiments, a connector is invariant to rotation over a certain angle, for example 180 degrees, 90 degrees, 60 degrees 30 degrees (varying angular positions)), including:
a lens holder ([0314] For example, a spacer unit may be sized to hold a modular optical unit (lens) at a fixation location defined in 3D space by orthogonal platforms);
a mirror mount assembly ([0106] a plurality of modular optical units, including at least four modular mirror units each the mirror unit including an optical portion defining an optical axis);
a beamsplitter assembly ([0109] interferometer (interferometer splits beams of light));
an iris mount assembly ([0240] In some embodiments, standard optical elements are mounted to frames, … For example an optical element may include a mirror and/or a lens, and/or a filter, and/or a beam splitter, and/or an iris);
a lens mount assembly ([0240] In some embodiments, standard optical elements are mounted to frames, … For example an optical element may include a mirror and/or a lens);
a viewing panel ([0410] For example, unit 4018 (viewing panel) catches a light beam from unit 1118 and reflects it parallel to the surface of platform 800b at a height of 0.5 inches off the board (fit for a board of 1 inch fixation locations that may be receive the beam)); and
a rotation plate assembly ([0225] a polarization rotator).
Regarding Claim 16, Suchowski discloses wherein the modular baseplate includes a plurality of perimeter edges and a plurality of cross bars ([0328] For example, platform 600a includes 4 complete fixation locations 602 in a central section and 8 half fixation locations along the edges (plurality of perimeter edges) of the platform 600a and four quarter fixation locations on the four corners of the platform 600a . For example, each fixation location includes a square female connector 628 surrounded by four rectangular male connectors 626. The male connectors optionally include holes 624a, [0368] Optionally screw holes 1724b are included through an inner surface of flange 1740b (cross bar), for example to lock platforms together).
Regarding Claim 17, Suchowski discloses wherein the adapter plate is configured to releasably attach to the plurality of perimeter edges and cross bars ([0306] Optionally boards may have connector (adapter plate) to attach them edge to edge (for example as illustrated in FIGS. 6B, 6C), [0368] Optionally screw holes 1724b are included through an inner surface of flange 1740b (cross bars), for example to lock platforms together (can also be used to attach to connectors (a.k.a. adapter plates))).
Regarding Claim 18, Suchowski discloses a laser insertable into the laser holder (Fig. 43 Element 800c (laser insertable into laser holder), [0415] For example, platform 800a is located directly in front an outlet of an ultrashort pulsed laser light source 4681).
Regarding Claim 19, Suchowski discloses a post holder configured to connect at least one of the plurality of components to the adapter plate ([0236] For example, a pin (post holder) and/or pin hole may fix the location of the modular unit along the surface of the platform and/or the tightening element may hold the unit to the pins and/or fix the unit in a direction normal to the surfaced of the platform).
Regarding Claim 20, Suchowski discloses a compartmentalized tray configured to hold at least one of the plurality of components ([0216] In some embodiments, the 3D modular position system is modular (compartmentalized) in size, [0349] fits in a box (tray) sized 4.5 inches by 4.5 inches by 4.5 inches. For example this may be much easier to move and/or to carry, [0421] In some embodiments it may be desired that rows and columns of the table and the modular platform (compartmentalized platform/tray) coincide over small distances).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Qianjun (CN 109215461 A) teaches physics multifunctional optical demonstration equipment for teaching.
/HAMID TARIQ HAFIZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/KANG HU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715