Election/Restrictions
In response to a restriction requirement dated 6/3/2025 the applicant elected to pursue claims drawn to a species wherein the hemp seed oil is 5 percent of the solution and biodiesel is 95 percent of the solution. Claim 8 has been amended to read “wherein said hemp seed oil is at least about 15% of the solution”. This does not read upon the elected species and as such claim 8 is currently withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cobham et al. (USPGPub 2011/0039031) in view of Taylor (US2783159).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Cobham teaches that it is known to treat wood (abstract) with a composition comprising biodiesel as an extender and a drying oil (claim 1) wherein the composition does not require the presence of penta or copper. Cobham fail to teach wherein the drying oil may be hemp seed oil. However, Taylor teaches that hemp seed oil is a known drying oil (col. 1, lines 34-36) used in the manufacture of protective coatings (claim 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the hemp seed oil of Taylor as the drying oil of Cobham as a simple substitute of one drying oil for another in a protective coating wherein the substitution would be predictable based on the teachings of Taylor. Further, claiming that an ingredient is an active ingredient in a composition is a recitation of intended use of said ingredient but the claims are not drawn to method of using the composition but rather to the composition itself. Therefore, so long as the prior art composition is capable of being used in a manner such that the components are active ingredients then the prior art would meet the limitations of the current claims. Further the composition of Cobham in view of Taylor would necessarily be as solution as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, the composition of Cobham in view of Taylor would reasonably only necessarily require the hemp seed oil and the biodiesel.
Regarding claims 3-4 and 7, Cobham teaches wherein the components provided read upon the ranges claimed (claims 51-52).
Regarding claim 10, Cobham teaches that it is known to treat wood (abstract) with a composition comprising biodiesel as an extender and a drying oil (claim 1) wherein the composition does not require the presence of penta of copper. Cobham fail to teach wherein the drying oil may be hemp seed oil. However, Taylor teaches that hemp seed oil is a known drying oil (col. 1, lines 34-36) used in the manufacture of protective coatings (claim 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the hemp seed oil of Taylor as the drying oil of Cobham as a simple substitute of one drying oil for another in a protective coating wherein the substitution would be predictable based on the teachings of Taylor. Further, claiming that an ingredient is an active ingredient in a composition is a recitation of intended use of said ingredient but the claims are not drawn to method of using the composition but rather to the composition itself. Therefore so long as the prior art composition is capable of being used in a manner such that the components are active ingredients then the prior art would meet the limitations of the current claims.
Regarding claim 11, the composition of Cobham in view of Taylor would reasonably only necessarily require the hemp seed oil and the biodiesel.
Regarding claims 12-13 and 16, Cobham teaches wherein the components provided read upon the ranges claimed (claims 51-52).
Regarding claim 17, biodiesel is a “natural compound” as is hemp seed oil, although Cobham teaches the use of other “natural compounds”.
Regarding claim 18-20, Cobham teaches that it is known to treat wood (abstract) with a composition comprising biodiesel as an extender and a drying oil (claim 1) wherein the composition does not require the presence of penta of copper. Cobham fail to teach wherein the drying oil may be hemp seed oil. However, Taylor teaches that hemp seed oil is a known drying oil (col. 1, lines 34-36) used in the manufacture of protective coatings (claim 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the hemp seed oil of Taylor as the drying oil of Cobham as a simple substitute of one drying oil for another in a protective coating wherein the substitution would be predictable based on the teachings of Taylor. Further, claiming that an ingredient is an active ingredient in a composition is a recitation of intended use of said ingredient but the claims are not drawn to method of using the composition but rather to the composition itself. Therefore so long as the prior art composition is capable of being used in a manner such that the components are active ingredients then the prior art would meet the limitations of the current claims. Further hemp oil is not required in the composition of Cobham in view of Taylor.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that the compositions of Cobham necessarily require copper and therefore do not read upon the current claims. However, this is not accurate. First, in one embodiment, Cobham claims only a carrier composition (claim 45). This composition comprises only biodiesel and an oil. The copper agents of Cobham are preservatives claimed in a separate embodiment (claim 56) and are not a requirement of one of the invention of Cobham that reads upon the current claims. Further the preservative portion of Cobham is not limited to copper compounds and they are not a requirement of the perseverative composition. For example, claim 57-58 provide wherein a plurality of the compounds listed as preservatives are not copper containing compounds. As such, the rejection of the claims remains proper.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW J BOWMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717