DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Claims 1, 10 and 17 are independent Claims.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imoto (U.S. 9,939,894 hereinafter Imoto) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. 2022/0155857 hereinafter Lee) in further view of Ambrus et al. (U.S. 2022/0155857 hereinafter Ambrus).
As Claim 1, Imoto teaches a method comprising:
at a computing system including non-transitory memory and one or more processors (Imoto (col. 20 line 49-57), memory and processing apparatus), wherein the computing system is communicatively coupled to a display device (Imoto (col. 21 line 17), display device) and one or more input devices via a communication interface (Imoto (col. 21 line 17), communication interface):
while a first user interface (UI) element is currently selected (Imoto (col. 9 line 30-37), first object is selected), detecting a first gaze direction not directed to the first UI element (Imoto (col. 9 line 57-67), cancellation is determined when user line of sight is inside the second region for a second setting time or longer);
in response to detecting the first gaze direction not directed to the first UI element (Imoto (col. 9 line 57-67), cancellation is determined when user line of sight is inside the second region for a second setting time or longer),
Imoto may not explicitly disclose:
decreasing a first attention accumulator value associated with the first UI element based on a length of time that the first gaze direction is not directed to the first UI element;
Lee teaches:
decreasing a first attention accumulator value associated with the first UI element based on a length of time that the first gaze direction is not directed to the first UI element (Lee (¶0031 line 12-15), attention for second object increases while attention for the first object decreases);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an attention accumulation of Imoto instead be an attention accumulation taught by Lee, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would be to allow “the spatial intent model correctly determine the selected entity” (Lee (¶0029 last 5 lines)).
Imoto in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose:
in accordance with a determination that the first attention accumulator value associated with the first UI element is below a first threshold, deselecting the first UI element; and
in accordance with a determination that the first attention accumulator value associated with the first UI element is not below the first threshold, maintaining selection of the first UI element.
in accordance with a determination that the first attention accumulator value associated with the first UI element is above a second threshold different from the first threshold, selecting the first UI element; and
in accordance with a determination that the first attention accumulator value associated with the first UI element is not above the second threshold, maintaining deselection of the first UI element.
Ambrus teaches:
in accordance with a determination that the first attention accumulator value associated with the first UI element is below a first threshold, deselecting the first UI element (Ambrus (¶0023 line 8-11), object remains being selected if the accumulative time spent is greater than a threshold. It is construed that if the accumulative time spent is below a threshold, the object is de-selected); and
in accordance with a determination that the first attention accumulator value associated with the first UI element is not below the first threshold, maintaining selection of the first UI element (Ambrus (¶0023 line 8-11), object remains being selected if the accumulative time spent is greater than a threshold. It is construed that if the accumulative time spent is below a threshold, the object is de-selected).
in accordance with a determination that the first attention accumulator value associated with the first UI element is above a second threshold (Ambrus (¶0023 line 4), three seconds) different from the first threshold (Ambrus (¶0023 line 13), 5 seconds), selecting the first UI element (Ambrus (¶0023 line 1-4), In one embodiment, a selectable object (e.g., a selectable real object or a selectable virtual object) may be selected by an end user if the end user gazes at the selectable object for a first period of time (e.g., for three seconds) (second threshold)); and
in accordance with a determination that the first attention accumulator value associated with the first UI element is not above the second threshold, maintaining deselection of the first UI element (Ambrus (¶0023 line 1-4), In one embodiment, a selectable object (e.g., a selectable real object or a selectable virtual object) may be selected by an end user if the end user gazes at the selectable object for a first period of time (e.g., for three seconds) (second threshold)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an attention accumulation of Imoto in view of Lee instead be an attention accumulative time spent taught by Ambrus, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would be to allow “compensate for distractions to the end user while they are focusing on the selectable object” (Ambrus (¶0023 line 6-8)).
As Claim 2, besides Claim 1, Imoto in view of Lee in further view of Ambrus teaches wherein the first gaze direction is directed to no UI element (Imoto (col. 10 line 13-16), second area does not have any activated element).
As Claim 3, besides Claim 1, Imoto in view of Lee in further view of Ambrus teaches wherein the first gaze direction is directed to a second UI element different than the first UI element (Imoto (col. 10 line 1-5), second UI element is different than first UI element).
As Claim 4, besides Claim 3, Imoto in view of Lee in further view of Ambrus teaches wherein the first threshold is based on a second attention accumulator value associated with the second UI element (Imoto (col. 10 line 44-46), second setting time is based on the size of movement eyes of the user).
As Claim 5, besides Claim 1, Imoto in view of Lee in further view of Ambrus teaches further comprising:
while the first UI element is not selected, detecting a second gaze direction directed to the first UI element (Imoto (col. 7 line 23-34), selection criteria is based on gaze time);
in response to detecting the second gaze direction directed to the first UI element, increasing the first attention accumulator value associated with the first UI element based on a length of time that the second gaze direction is directed to the first UI element (Imoto (col. 7 line 23-34), selection criteria is based on gaze time);
in accordance with a determination that the first attention accumulator value associated with the first UI element is above a second threshold, selecting the first UI element (Imoto (col. 7 line 23-34), selection criteria is based on gaze time); and
in accordance with a determination that the first attention accumulator value associated with the first UI element is not above the second threshold, forgoing selection of the first UI element (Imoto (col. 7 line 23-34), selection criteria is based on gaze time).
As Claim 6, besides Claim 5, Imoto in view of Lee in further view of Ambrus teaches wherein the second threshold is different than the first threshold (Imoto (col. 10 line 44-46), second setting time is based on the size of movement eyes of the user).
As Claim 7, besides Claim 6, Imoto in view of Lee in further view of Ambrus teaches wherein deselecting the first UI element includes changing an appearance of the first UI element (Imoto (col. 13 line 22-23), user can distinguish between selection and non-selection mode).
As Claim 8, besides Claim 1, Imoto in view of Lee in further view of Ambrus teaches wherein the first UI element is deselected after the first attention accumulator value associated with the first UI element is reduced over at least two successive time periods (Lee (¶0031 line 12-15), attention for second object increases while attention for the first object decreases).
As Claim 9, besides Claim 1, Imoto in view of Lee in further view of Ambrus teaches wherein the first UI element corresponds to one of a selectable affordance, a selectable button, an interactive UI element, a notification, or an extended reality (XR) object (Imoto (col. 16 line 44-56), object is selectable).
As Claim 10, the Claim is rejected for the same reasons as Claim 1.
As Claim 11, the Claim is rejected for the same reasons as Claim 2.
As Claim 12, the Claim is rejected for the same reasons as Claim 3.
As Claim 13, the Claim is rejected for the same reasons as Claim 4.
As Claim 14, the Claim is rejected for the same reasons as Claim 5.
As Claim 15, the Claim is rejected for the same reasons as Claim 6.
As Claim 16, the Claim is rejected for the same reasons as Claim 8.
As Claim 17, the Claim is rejected for the same reasons as Claim 1.
As Claim 18, the Claim is rejected for the same reasons as Claim 2.
As Claim 19, the Claim is rejected for the same reasons as Claim 3.
As Claim 20, the Claim is rejected for the same reasons as Claim 4.
Response to Arguments
As Claim 1, Applicants argue that Ambrus fail to disclose “in accordance with a determination that the accumulator … below a first threshold, deselecting the first UI element” and “ in accordance with a determination that the first attention accumulator … is not below the first threshold, maintaining selection …” (fourth paragraph of page 8 in the remarks).
Applicants’ arguments are not persuasive. (Ambrus (¶0023 line 8-11) teaches that object remains being selected if the accumulative time spent is greater than a threshold. It is construed that if the accumulative time spent is below a threshold, the object is de-selected.
As Claim 1, Applicants argue that Imoto, Lee and Ambrus fail to disclose “in accordance with a determination that the first attention accumulator …” (last paragraph of page 8 in the remarks).
Applicants’ arguments are not persuasive because Ambrus teaches both thresholds. See the current rejection(s) for details.
Conclusion
/NHAT HUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2147