DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-21, 23-26 and 28-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukuba (US 2021/0144376) in view of Le Leannec et al. (US 2023/0396805, hereinafter Leannec).
Regarding claim 1, Tsukuba discloses a method of decoding video data (see figs. 27 and 33), the method comprising: receiving a block of video data encoded using an intra mode (e.g. see ¶ [0114]); receiving a multiple transform selection (MTS) index for the block (see 103 in fig. 2; see fig. 3); determining a pair of transforms based on the MTS index for decoding the block using a MTS process (see fig. 3); and decoding the block using the pair of transforms (see 412 in fig. 27).
Although Tsukuba discloses encoding using intra mode, it is noted that Tsukuba does not disclose the particular wherein the intra mode is an intra block copy mode.
However, Leannec discloses a method of decoding intra mode video data wherein the intra mode is an intra block copy mode (see IBC and TMP in fig. 11).
Given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate Leannec teachings of IBC coding into Tsukuba intra coding as an upgrade for the benefit of providing a robust set of intra coding/decoding tools to effectively use multiple transform selection.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Tsukuba further discloses wherein determining the pair of transforms, further comprises: determining the pair of transforms based on the MTS index and a size of the block (see block size into 103 in fig. 2).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Tsukuba further discloses wherein the plurality of pairs of transforms include a vertical type-2 discrete cosine transform (DCT-2) a horizontal DCT-2, and four other pairs of transforms (see fig. 3).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Tsukuba further discloses comprising: determining a number of the plurality of pairs of transforms (see fig. 3).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Tsukuba further discloses wherein determining the number of the plurality of pairs of transforms comprises: decoding a syntax element (see fig. 3) indicating the number of the plurality of pairs of transforms using arithmetic coding (e.g. see ¶ [0083]) and a dedicated context (e.g. see [0084]).
Although it is not explicitly recited, it is conventional in the art for arithmetic coding to be context adaptive binary arithmetic coding. The Examiner takes official notice that context adaptive binary arithmetic coding is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate context adaptive binary arithmetic coding for the benefit of efficiently code data.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Tsukuba further discloses wherein determining the number of the plurality of pairs of transforms comprises: determining an intra mode for the block based on a decoder side intramode derivation (DIMD) process (e.g. see ¶ [0075]-[0076]); and determining the number of the plurality of pairs of transforms based on the intra mode (e.g. see ¶ [0075]-[0076]).
Regarding claims 8, 18, 23 and 28, Leannec further discloses wherein the block of video data is encoded using the IBC mode and the IBC mode is an advance motion vector prediction (AMVP) IBC mode (see fig. 11; e.g. see [0095]).
Regarding claims 9, 19, 24 and 29, Leannec further discloses wherein the block of video data is encoded using the IBC mode and the IBC mode is an advance motion vector prediction (AMVP) IBC mode or a merge IBC mode (see fig. 11; e.g. see [0095]).
Regarding claims 10, 20, 25 and 30, Tsukuba further discloses wherein the video data is natural content video data (e.g. see ¶ [0554]).
Regarding claim 11, the claim(s) recite an apparatus with analogous limitations to claim 1, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 21, the claim(s) recite a method of encoding (see Tsukuba fig. 21) with analogous limitations to claim 1, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 26, the claim(s) recite an apparatus (see Tsukuba 200 in fig. 15) with analogous limitations to claim 1, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claims 31-34, Tsukuba further discloses wherein determining the pair of transforms further comprises: determining the pair of transforms based on the MTS index from a set of transform candidates defined for inter-coded blocks (e.g. see ¶ [0079]-[0080]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 11, 21 and 26 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. (US 2021/0120269 ), discloses multiple transform for video coding.
Conclusion
/RICHARD T TORRENTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485