DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the range" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner interprets the range of claim 10 to be in reference to pH because it depends from claim 9, but clarification is requested.
Examiner suggests changing the term to “the pH range”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3–8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luo et al. CN114917743A (Luo).
The Examiner has provided a machine translation of CN114917743A. The citation of the prior art in this rejection refers to the machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, Luo discloses a method for controlling ammonia escape of an ammonia process decarburization system, wherein, ammonia is used as a desulfurization and decarburization agent (Luo, Abstract), wherein the system contains a particulate matter control section (Luo, [0008]) (i.e. a method of controlling ammonia escape and soluble particulate matter formation in an ammonia-based carbon capture process),
wherein, process gas 1 containing sulfur oxides and CO2 enters the desulfurization functional zone 2 and passes through the desulfurization washing using acidic ammonium sulfate solution and acidic washing solution in ammonia desulfurization (Luo, claim 2), i.e. to remove sulfur oxides, (i.e. removing SO2, using ammonium salt solution, in an ammonia-based desulfurization vessel) to produce ammonium sulfate fertilizer (i.e. to obtain ammonium sulfate) (Luo, [0008], [0076], Figure 1),
wherein, after desulfurization, the tail gas 12 (i.e. process gas) enters the decarbonization absorption tower 13 (i.e. an ammonia-based carbon capture vessel), wherein, the ammonium sulfate solution (i.e. ammonium salt solution) obtained in ammonia desulfurization is returned to the decarbonization system to remove carbon dioxide and produce ammonium bicarbonate fertilizer (i.e. removing CO2), (Luo, [0008], [0009], [0076], Figures 1 and 2, claim 3)
wherein, after decarbonization, the tail gas 17 (i.e. a process gas) enters the ammonia washing tower 18 (i.e. an ammonia removal vessel), and passes through the process water washing section 18-1 to remove free ammonia, wherein an acidic water washing solution with a pH of not greater than 8, which has added acid to adjust the pH, preferably sulfuric acid (i.e. using sulfuric acid solution, to obtain an acid-washing liquid containing ammonium sulfate) (Luo, [0038]– [0040], [0078], Figure 1),
wherein, the particulate matter removal section is divided into two parts. The first part uses a high-concentration solution containing ammonium sulfate for cyclic washing (Luo, [0019]), the acidic desulfurization particulate matter control section solution 23 serves as makeup water for the acidic water washing section 18-3 (i.e. to obtain a water-washing liquid containing ammonium sulfate), of the ammonia washing tower (i.e. the ammonia removal vessel) (Luo, [0076]– [0079], Figure 1 and 2, Examples) (i.e. removing both free ammonia and soluble particulate matter, using water-washing liquid, from the process gas),
wherein, the acidic ammonium sulfate solution exits the ammonia washing tower 18 through outlet 21 (i.e., the desulfurization liquid) and is returned to the desulfurization circulation tank 6 (Luo, [0078]– [0080], Figure 1 and 2) (i.e. sending: the acid-washing liquid containing ammonium sulfate to the ammonia-based desulfurization vessel as part of ammonium salt solution)
wherein, the acidic ammonium sulfate solution exits the ammonia washing tower 18 and is recirculated through pump 22 back into the acid washing section 18-3 (Luo, [0078]– [0080], Figure 1 and 2), wherein, the process water has added acid to adjust the pH, preferably sulfuric acid (Luo, [0040]) (i.e. sending: the water-washing liquid containing ammonium sulfate to the ammonia removal vessel as part of sulfuric acid solution.)
Regarding claim 3, Luo discloses wherein the acidic ammonium sulfate solution 20 enters the ammonia washing tower 18 with a pH of 6.4 (Luo, [0076], [0079]) (i.e. the removing free ammonia, to obtain a water-washing liquid containing ammonium sulfate) The acidic water washing solution 23 has a pH 3.8 in the acidic water washing section 18-3 of the ammonia washing tower (Luo, [0080]), wherein, the process water has added acid to adjust the pH, preferably sulfuric acid (Luo, [0040]) (i.e. in the removing both free ammonia and soluble particulate matter, using sulfuric acid solution). The pH of solution 23 is less than the pH of solution 20 (i.e. the sulfuric acid solution used in the removing both free ammonia and soluble particulate matter is less than the sulfuric acid solution used in the removing free ammonia.)
Regarding claim 4, Luo discloses the ammonia-containing solution generated from washing with acidic ammonium sulfate solution and acidic water washing solution in ammonia desulfurization (i.e. water washing the process gas to obtain a water washing liquid containing ammonia), is returned to the decarbonization system (i.e. sending the liquid containing ammonia to the ammonia based carbon capture vessel for decarbonization) (Luo, claim 3), wherein the decarbonization absorption tower 13 is before the ammonia washing tower 18 (i.e. before removing free ammonia, (Luo, [0008], [0009], [0076], Figure 1 and 2)
Regarding claim 5, Luo discloses the acidic solution 23, which comes from the ammonia based desulfurization absorption circulation section 2-2, is used as make up water for the acidic water washing section 18-3 of the ammonia washing tower (i.e. using the water-washing liquid containing ammonia as water replenishment in the removing both free ammonia and soluble particulate matter) is circulated through circulation pump 22 back acid washing section tank distributor; 31-3 of the ammonia washing tower 18 (Luo, [0076], [0080], Figure 1) (i.e. after the removing both free ammonia and soluble particulate matter, water- washing the process gas to obtain a water-washing liquid containing ammonia).
Regarding claim 6, Luo discloses removing free ammonia in an ammonia washing tower 18, wherein, the acidic process water containing ammonium sulfate, is sent through washing circulation pump 22, recycled through wash solution 24 and returns to the desulfurization circulating tank 6 (i.e. sending the solution containing ammonium sulfate from the ammonia removal vessel to the desulfurization vessel). Wherein, the ammonium sulfate solution desulfurizes process gas 1 in desulfurization absorption circulation section 2 (i.e. to an absorption of the desulfurization vessel), producing ammonium sulfate and while cooling the tail gas, the ammonium sulfate solution is concentrated. The concentrated ammonium sulfate slurry that precipitates solids is sent out as ammonium sulfate 26 through the ammonium sulfate discharge pump 9 (i.e. concentrating and crystallizing the solution containing ammonium sulfate together with the ammonium sulfate obtained in the desulfurization vessel using heat from the process gas; and producing solid ammonium sulfate) (Luo, [0076]– [0078], Figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Luo discloses removing free ammonia in an ammonia washing tower 18, wherein, the acidic process water containing ammonia and sulfuric acid, is sent through washing circulation pump 22, recycled through washing solution 24 and returns to the desulfurization circulating tank 6 (i.e. sending the solution containing ammonium sulfate from the ammonia removal vessel to the desulfurization vessel). Wherein, the ammonium sulfate solution desulfurizes process gas 1 in desulfurization absorption circulation section 2 (i.e. the solution containing ammonium sulfate together with the ammonium sulfate obtained in the desulfurization vessel) producing ammonium sulfate and while cooling the tail gas, the ammonium sulfate solution is concentrated (i.e. a cooling and concentrating section). The concentrated ammonium sulfate slurry that precipitates solids is sent out as ammonium sulfate 26 through the ammonium sulfate discharge pump 9 (i.e. concentrating and crystallizing the solution containing ammonium sulfate
Regarding claim 8, Luo discloses collecting ammonium bicarbonate solid in the bottom of decarbonization absorption tower 13, through ammonium bicarbonate discharge pump 15 (i.e. producing solid ammonium bicarbonate in the carbon capture vessel), which is upstream of the ammonia washing tower 18, where free ammonia is treated (Luo, Figure 1, [0076]– [0078]) (i.e. before the removing free ammonia).
Regarding claim 11, Luo discloses, wherein, the ammonium sulfate concentration is 10– 38 wt.%, and most preferably 17– 28 wt.% (Luo, [0009]) (i.e. wherein the acid-washing liquid has an ammonium sulfate mass concentration that is not less than 15%).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Novek US 2019/0233296 A1 (Novek).
Regarding claim 2, Luo teaches acidifying the replenished process water for free ammonia capture using, preferably, sulfuric acid (Luo, [0040], [0078]).
However, Luo does not teach (A) before the sending: subjecting the water-washing liquid containing ammonium sulfate to membrane separation to produce a concentrated solution and a dilute solution; and sending: (B) the concentrated solution to the ammonia removal vessel as part of the sulfuric acid solution; and (C) the dilute solution to the ammonia removal vessel as part of the water- washing liquid.
With respect to the difference, Novek teaches a processes and systems for ammonia recovery and/or acid-gas separation, wherein, reverse osmosis or other membranes may be employed (Novek, Abstract).
As Novek explicitly teaches, that membrane concentrating of wash solutions using membrane based processes (e.g. reverse osmosis, forward osmosis, high-pressure reverse osmosis (HPRO), or Disc-Tube Reverse Osmosis (DTRO)) (i.e. (A) membrane separation to produce a concentrated solution and a dilute solution) lower energy costs and minimize capital expenditure (CAPEX) (Novek, [0038] – [0042], [0086], [0099]). Novek further teaches wash solutions need to be concentrated for the precipitation and recovery of valuable ammonium salts e.g. ammonium bicarbonate or ammonium sulfate (i.e. subjecting the water-washing liquid containing ammonium sulfate) (Novek, [0071– [0073]). Novek further teaches that concentrating the wash solutions is beneficial, because it reduces the heat needed by the system lowering the energy requirements and making the system more economical. Novek further teaches that higher concentration and temperature wash solutions are preferred because they increases the kinetic uptake of acid-gases (Novek, [0524]– [0540]).
Novek further teaches feeding wash solution L-3 comprising acid-salts e.g. ammonium sulfate to reverse osmosis “RO”, wherein the permeate solution L-7 is fed through precooled L-8 to the wash column where NH3 rich gas G-1 enters for ammonia removal (i.e. (C) sending the dilute solution to the ammonia removal vessel). Novek further teaches, wherein, the concentrate solutions L-4 enters precipitation vessel M-1/F-1 for salt collection, and the ‘precipitate free’ aqueous solution L-5 is returned to the washing column as L-6, which collects residual ammonia (i.e. (B) sending the concentrated solution to the ammonia removal vessel), where it is returned to pump P-1 and feeds L-3 (Novek, Figure 8, [0561] – [0565], [0628]).
Novek and Luo are analogous art as they are both drawn to the cleaning of exhaust gases in while minimizing ammonia escape and collecting ammonium salts produced in the process.
In light of the motivation of concentrating wash solutions using membrane separation, as taught by Novek.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to (A) use membrane based processes to concentrate wash solutions of Luo, as taught by Novek, (B) to send the concentrated solution after membrane separation to the ammonia removal vessel as part of the sulfuric solution of Luo, and (C) to send the dilute solutions to the ammonia removal vessel as part of the water-washing liquid, in order to, lower energy costs and minimize capital expenditure, while precipitating valuable ammonium salts, and reduces the heat need by the system which would lower the energy requirements of the system, and thereby arrive at the current invention.
Claims 9, 10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo, as applied to claim 1, and obvious over Luo.
Regarding claim 9, Luo teaches the pH of process water is not greater than 8 or it is necessarily equal to or less 8. Wherein, the process water, washing condensate, and acidic washing liquid drainage to adjust the pH, preferably sulfuric acid (obtaining a pH of a gas-liquid contacting solution in the range of 1-6.5). Process water is added to the ammonia removal tower 18 through pipe 28, which supplies trough distributor 31-1 and packing 30-1 (i.e. in removing free ammonia, and before the gas-liquid contacting solution is sprayed from a gas-liquid contacting device included in a gas-liquid contacting device layer.) (Luo, [0038]– [0040], [0078], Figure 1)
As set forth in the MPEP 2144.05, in the case where claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2D 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 10, Luo teaches the pH of process water is not greater than 8, or it is necessarily equal to or less 8. (Luo, [0038]– [0040], [0078], Figure 1) (i.e. the pH ranges is 2– 5.5)
As set forth in the MPEP 2144.05, in the case where claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2D 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 12, Luo further teaches, wherein, the ammonium sulfate concentration is 10– 38 wt.%, and most preferably 17– 28 wt.% (Luo, [0009]) (i.e. wherein the acid-washing liquid has an ammonium sulfate mass concentration that is not less than 20%).
As set forth in the MPEP 2144.05, in the case where claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2D 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 13, Luo further teaches, wherein, the ammonium sulfate concentration is 10– 38 wt.%, and most preferably 17– 28 wt.% (Luo, [0009]) (i.e. wherein the acid-washing liquid has an ammonium sulfate mass concentration that is not less than 25%)
As set forth in the MPEP 2144.05, in the case where claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2D 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
/R.E.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1732
/KELING ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732