DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 13-16, 18-20, 22, 24-29 and 31-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (hereinafter Islam, US 2023/0114289 A1) in view of Majeed et al. (hereinafter Majeed, US 5,332,061 A).
For claim 1, Islam discloses a method of controlling operation of at least a first electric machine of at least one electric machine on board a vehicle (Figs. 1-2 of Islam discloses a system 10/100 and method of controlling operation of at least a first electric machine (40a/140a) of at least one electric machine 140 on board a vehicle 10 – see Islam, Figs. 1-2, paragraph [0029]), wherein the vehicle has at least one vibration resonance frequency (Fig. 8 of Islam discloses some curves having peaks which show the vibration resonance frequency -- see Islam, Fig. 8, paragraph [0053]), the method comprising:
directing pulsed operation of the first electric machine to deliver an average output, wherein the pulsed operation causes the first electric machine to alternate between a first output level that is greater than the average output and a second output level that is less than the average output (Figs. 1-2 of Islam disclose directing pulsed operation of the first electric machine 40a/140a to deliver an average output 24, wherein the pulsed operation causes the first electric machine 40a/140a to alternate between a first output level that is greater than the average output 24 and a second output level that is less than the average output 24 -- see Islam, Figs. 1-2, claims 1, 3 and 5-6; paragraphs [0022]-[0023], [0028], [0033] and [0035]-[0036]);
controlling transitions between the first output level and second output level (see Islam, Fig. 1, paragraph [0028]).
Islam is silent for providing at least one notch filter at the at least one vibration resonance frequency of the vehicle.
However, Majeed discloses providing at least one notch filter at the at least one vibration resonance frequency of the vehicle (see Majeed, Figs. 4, 8-9 and 11A-11B; col. 7, lines 31-35; col. 8, lines 65-68, col. 13, lines 3-19 and 59-63; and col. 14, lines 47-58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Islam to include one notch filter as teaching of Majeed for purpose of minimizing vibration of the vehicle.
For claim 2, Islam in view of Majeed disclose the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising providing a pulsing frequency wherein the controlling transitions is dependent on the pulsing frequency (see Islam, Figs. 1-2 and 7C, claim 29, paragraphs [0047], [0065] and [0067]).
For claim 3, Islam in view of Majeed disclose the method, as recited in claim 2, wherein the pulsing frequency is determined by taking into account Noise, Vibration, and Harshness (NVH) either caused by a measurable parameter of the vehicle or a feature on the vehicle that adjusts an amount of the NVH that is acceptable (see Islam, Fig. 1, Claim 6, paragraphs [0007] and [0039]-[0040]).
For claim 4, Islam in view of Majeed disclose the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the second output level is zero torque (see Islam, claim 2, paragraph [0022], lines 11-12).
For claim 5, Islam in view of Majeed disclose the method as recited in claim 4 wherein the first electric machine is controlled by a first inverter and in at least some operating states, the first inverter is turned off during at least a portion of a time that the first electric machine is caused to output zero torque (Figs 1-2 of Islam disclose the first electric machine 40a/140a is controlled by a first inverter30/130a and in at least some operating states, the first inverter 30/130a is turned off during at least a portion of a time that the first electric machine 40a/140a is caused to output zero torque – see Islam, Figs. 1-2, paragraphs [0028], [0035], [0050] and [0065]).
For claim 6, Islam in view of Majeed disclose the method as recited in claim 1 wherein the transitions between the first output level and the second output level are controlled by controlling a torque generated by the first electric machine (see Islam, Figs. 1-2, claim 5, paragraphs [0006], [0026] and [0035]).
For claim 7, Islam in view of Majeed disclose the method as recited in claim 1 wherein the transitions between the first output level and the second output level are controlled by controlling current supplied to the first electric machine (see Islam, Figs. 1-2, paragraphs [0025]-[0026]).
For claims 8 and 32, Islam in view of Majeed disclose the method, as recited in claim 1 and/or claim 31, further comprising receiving vehicle vibration resonance data from at least one of a sensor and a lookup table (see Islam, Figs. 1-2 and 4, paragraphs [0034], [0036] and [0057]).
For claims 9 and 33, Islam in view of Tao disclose the method as recited in claim 1 and/or claim 31, wherein the at least one vibration resonance frequency of the vehicle is variable and wherein the notch filter is adjustable to match changes in the at least one vibration resonance frequency (see Majeed, Fig. 7-9 and 11A-11B; Col. 12, line 39 through col. 13, line 19; col. 14, lines 11-58 and col. 17, lines 1-5).
For claims 10, 20, 29 and 34, Islam in view of Majeed disclose the method, as recited in claim 1, claim 13, claim 24 and/or claim 31, wherein the vehicle has at least two vibration resonance frequencies (Figs. 1-8 of Islam in view of Majeed disclose the vehicle having at least two resonance frequencies – see Islam, Figs. 1 and 8, paragraph [0053] and Majeed, Figs. 8-9, col. 13, lines 3-19; col. 13, line 59 through col. 14, line 47) and wherein at least two vibration notch filters are provided at the at least two vibration resonance frequencies (Fig. 9 of Majeed discloses at least two vibration notch filters 122, 124 which are provided at the at least two vibration resonance frequencies -- see Majeed, Figs. 8-9, col. 13, line 59 through col. 14, line 47).
For claim 13, Islam discloses a controller arranged to control at least a first electric machine of at least one electric machine on board a vehicle (Figs. 1-2 of Islam disclose a controller 10/100 arranged to control at least a first electric machine 40a/140aof at least one electric machine on board a vehicle 10 -- see Islam, Figs. 1-2, paragraph [0029]), wherein the vehicle has at least one vibration resonance frequency (Fig. 8 of Islam discloses some curves having peaks which show the resonance frequency -- see Islam, Fig. 8, paragraph [0053], lines 6-20), the controller comprising:
a pulse controller that directs a pulsed operation of the first electric machine, wherein the pulsed operation causes the first electric machine to alternate between a first output level that is greater than an average output and a second output level that is less than the average output (similar as claim 1 above, the explanation is omit), the pulse controller comprising:
a transition profile generator that controls transitions from the second output level to the first output level (similar as claim 1 above, the explanation is omit); and
a notch filter controller that provides at least one notch filter for the at least one vibration resonance frequency (similar as claim 1 above, the explanation is omit).
Claims 14 and 25 is “an apparatus” claims which are either same or similar to combination of “a method” claim 1 and claim 8. The explanation is omitted.
For claims 15 and 26, Islam in view of Majeed disclose the controller as recited in claim 14 and/or claim 25, wherein the pulse controller (Fig. 1 of Islam discloses the controller 20 having the pulse controller 22) further comprises a frequency controller that provides a pulsing frequency wherein the transition profile generator provides a transition profile that is dependent on the pulsing frequency (see Islam, Figs. 1-2 and 7C, claim 29, paragraphs [0047], [0065] and [0067]).
For claims 16 and 27, Islam in view of Majeed disclose the controller as recited in claim 15 and/or claim 25, wherein the frequency controller is adapted to receive vehicle input or a feature on the vehicle and adjust the pulsing frequency to provide an amount of Noise, Vibration, Harshness (NVH) that is acceptable (see Islam, Fig. 1, Claim 6, paragraphs [0007] and [0039]-[0040]).
For claim 18, Islam in view of Majeed disclose the controller as recited in claim 13, further comprising a pulsing decision module that determines when the pulsed operation of the first electric machine is desirable and when continuous operation of the first electric machine is desirable to deliver the average output, wherein the pulse controller directs the pulsed operation of the first electric machine when the pulsing decision module determines that the pulsed operation of the first electric machine is desirable (see Islam, Figs. 1-2, Abstract, paragraphs [0005], [0020],[0022]-[0025], [0028] and [0035]. It is noted that Islam discloses controller 20 which is silent for including a pulsing decision module. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include a pulsing decision module into Islam’s controller 20, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179. Besides, using separately control units instead of only one controller to enhance performance).
For claims 19 and 28, Islam in view of Majeed disclose the controller as recited in claim 13 and/or claim 24, wherein the at least one vibration resonance frequency of the vehicle is variable and wherein the notch filter controller adjusts the at least one notch filter to match changes in the at least one vibration resonance frequency (similar as claim 9 above, the explanation is omitted).
Claim 22 is “an apparatus” claim which is either same or similar to combination of “a method” claim 4 and claim 5. The explanation is omitted.
Claim 24 is “an apparatus” claim which is either same or similar to that of the “an apparatus” claim 13. The explanation is omitted.
Claim 31 is “an apparatus” claim which is either same or similar to that of the “a method” claim 24 or the “an apparatus” claim 13. The explanation is omitted.
For claim 35, Islam in view of Majeed disclose the method, as recited in claim 1, wherein the providing the notch filter provides a notch filter waveform (Figs. 9, 11A and 11B of Majeed disclose the notch filter 122 and 124 which provides a notch filter waveform – see Majeed, Figs. 9, 11A and 11B, col. 14, lines 47-58).
For claim 36, Islam in view of Majeed disclose the method, as recited in claim 1, wherein the controlling transitions and the providing a transition torque profile with the at least one notch filter (see Majeed, Figs. 2-5 and 9, col. 6, lines 3-22 and col. 7, lines 31-51, and col. 8, lines 38-68).
For claim 37, Islam in view of Majeed disclose pulse. (New) The method, as recited in claim 1, wherein the notch filter is provided by a S-curve pulse see Majeed, Figs. 11A and 11B).
Claims 12, 23, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (hereinafter Islam, US 2023/0114289 A1) in view of Majeed et al. (hereinafter Majeed, US 5,332,061 A), further in view of Cho et al. (hereinafter Cho, KR 10-2017-0004406).
For claims 12, 23 and 30, Islam in view of Tao disclose the method, as recited in claim 1, 13 and/or claim 24, wherein the at least one electric machine further comprises a second electric machine, wherein a second inverter controls the second electric machine (Fig. 2 of Islam discloses the at least one electric machine 140 further comprises a second electric machine 140b, wherein a second inverter 130b controls the second electric machine 140b – see Islam, Fig. 2, paragraph [0035]). Islam and Majeed are silent for disclosing at least a second notch filter is provided to the second electric machine. However, Cho discloses at least a second notch filter is provided to the second electric machine (see Cho, Figs. 3a-3b, paragraphs [0071]-[0074]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Islam in view of Majeed to include at least two notch filters as teaching of Cho for purpose of improving the operational stability of the vehicle.
Claims 11, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (hereinafter Islam, US 2023/0114289 A1) in view of Majeed et al. (hereinafter Majeed, US 5,332,061 A), further in view of Miklosovic et al. (hereinafter Miklosovic, US 2022/0182001 A1).
For claims 11 and 21, Islam in view of Majeed disclose all limitations as applied to claim 1 and/or claim 13 above. Islam in view of Majeed disclose controlling transitions between the first output level and the second output level (see Islam, Fig. 1, paragraph [0028]). Islam and Majeed are silent for using a cubic or higher order transition profile. However, Miklosovic discloses controlling transitions between the first output level and the second output level for using a cubic or higher order transition profile (see Miklosovic, Figs. 7-8, Claim 25; paragraphs [0019], [0027], [0032]-[0033] and [0039]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Islam in view of Majeed to incorporate teaching of Miklosovic for purpose of improving the operation of the motor.
For claim 17, Islam in view of Majeed disclose all limitations as applied to claim 13 above. Islam in view of Majeed disclose the transition profile generator controls transitions from the second output level to the first output level (see Islam, Fig. 1, paragraph [0028]). Islam and Majeed are silent for using a quintic or higher transition profile. However, Miklosovic discloses controlling at least some transitions between the first output level and the second output level for using a quintic or higher transition profile (see Miklosovic, Figs. 7-8, Claim 25; paragraphs [0032]-[0033] and [0039]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Islam in view of Majeed to incorporate teaching of Miklosovic for purpose of improving the operation of the motor.
Response to Amendment/Arguments
This action is responsive to the amendment filed on April 8, 2026. The amendment overcomes the previous prior art rejections of claims 1-34. Applicant’s arguments concerning those rejections have been fully considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THAI T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837
Jun 13, 2026