DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-9 of the response, filed 08/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) made under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) and §103, have been fully considered and are persuasive. As discussed in the interview conducted on 08/25/2026, the cited shaft is not concentric with or arranged inside of the cited rotary drive (see attached interview summary). Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Shimanckas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 13-15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimanckas (US Patent No: 3,310,021).
Regarding Claim 1: Shimanckas discloses propulsion system (Figure 2) for a marine vessel (Column 1, Lines 9-10), the propulsion system comprising a propulsion unit (123), a transom bracket (Figures 3-4, No. 125) to rotatably attach the propulsion unit to the marine vessel about an axis (Figure 6, No. 254), the transom bracket being adapted to be secured to the marine vessel (Figures 3-4; Column 2, Lines 54-59), a rotary drive (271) arranged to rotate the propulsion unit about the axis by applying a torque about the axis, a shaft (177) to which the propulsion unit is secured (Figure 6), the rotary drive being arranged to rotate the shaft, and thereby the propulsion unit, about the axis (Column 4, Lines 57-63), wherein the rotary drive and the shaft are concentric (Figure 6) and the shaft is arranged inside the rotary drive (Figure 6); and a slip clutch assembly (273) operationally arranged between the propulsion unit and the rotary drive to allow a rotational motion between the propulsion unit and the rotary drive about the axis in case the propulsion unit impacts an obstacle (Column 4, Line 75; Column 5, Lines 1-4).
Regarding Claim 3: Shimanckas discloses the propulsion system of Claim 1, wherein the slip clutch assembly is configured to allow a rotational motion between the propulsion unit and the rotary drive when a torque between the propulsion unit and the rotary drive about the axis exceeds a threshold torque value (Column 4, Line 75; Column 5, Lines 1-4).
Regarding Claim 4: Shimanckas discloses the propulsion system of Claim 1, wherein the slip clutch assembly is configured to allow a rotational motion along a predetermined slip rotation angle when a torque between the propulsion unit and the rotary drive exceeds a threshold torque value at the beginning of the rotational motion, the slip clutch assembly optionally being configured to allow a stepwise rotational motion along predetermined slip rotation angles (Column 4, Line 75; Column 5, Lines 1-4).
Regarding Claim 13: Shimanckas discloses the propulsion system of Claim 1, wherein the rotary drive comprises an input interface that is adapted to engage a drive unit (175) such that the drive unit may rotate the rotary drive (Column 4, Lines 56-59), wherein the rotary drive comprises an engaging member or a receiving recess that forms part of the slip clutch assembly (Column 5, Lines 65-69).
Regarding Claim 14: Shimanckas discloses the propulsion system of Claim 1, wherein the rotary drive has the shape of a circular cylinder (Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 15: Shimanckas discloses the propulsion system of Claim 1, comprising a drive unit (175) arranged to rotate the rotary drive (Column 4, Lines 56-59).
Regarding Claim 17: Shimanckas discloses the propulsion system of Claim 15, comprising an electric trim motor (175; Column 3, Lines 61-62) that is arranged to rotate the drive unit.
Regarding Claim 18: Shimanckas discloses the propulsion system of Claim 1, wherein the propulsion unit is rotatably attached to the marine vessel about a trim axis (254) that is horizontal.
Regarding Claim 19: Shimanckas discloses the propulsion system of Claim 1, wherein the propulsion unit comprises a support part (283) and a thrust part (279; Column 5, Lines 50-51), wherein the thrust part is rotatable with respect to the support part about a steering axis to direct the thrust of the propulsion unit (Figure 10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to disclose a propulsion system as claimed in Claim 1, wherein the slip clutch assembly is formed by the shaft and the rotary drive, wherein the slip clutch assembly is operationally arranged between the shaft and the rotary drive, wherein the slip clutch assembly comprises an engaging member and a receiving recess, which may be engaged or disengaged, and wherein the slip clutch assembly is configured such that the rotational motion between the propulsion unit and the rotary drive about the axis is allowed when the engaging member and the receiving recess are disengaged, or wherein the drive unit comprises a worm gear and the rotary drive comprises an input interface that is adapted to engage the worm gear. Shimanckas discloses a propulsion system as claimed in Claim 1; however, the slip clutch is formed separately from the shaft and rotary drive and is not arranged between the shaft and rotary drive, and the drive unit is not disclosed to contain a worm gear (wheel 275 comprises a worm gear, but wheel 275 is not the disclosed drive unit). The prior art fails to disclose a propulsion system as claimed in Claims 6-10 and 16; therefore, Claims 6-10 and 16 contain allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L SEHN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745