DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 12-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho (KR 10-2014-014251).
With respect to claim 1, Cho teaches a ventilation system (device of Figures 4-5, see title/abstract provided by Applicant) comprising: a ventilation path (defined by flow path through 20/10/20 and through central opening #32); and a silencer (10) that is disposed at an intermediate position of the ventilation path, wherein the silencer includes a housing (defined by outer housing of silencer #10) that includes an inlet opening (upstream end opening of #10) and an outlet opening (downstream end opening of #10) and that includes an in-housing ventilation path (path through #10) extending from the inlet opening to the outlet opening therein, and a sound absorbing member (30) that is disposed in the housing in a state of surrounding the in-housing ventilation path, the ventilation path has a first ventilation path (path through upstream one of #20) that is adjacent to the inlet opening and that is continuous to the in-housing ventilation path and a second ventilation path (path through downstream one of #20) that is adjacent to the outlet opening and that is continuous to the in-housing ventilation path, the closer to the in-housing ventilation path, the larger a size of a cross section of at least one ventilation path of the first ventilation (path through upstream one of #20) path or the second ventilation path (path through downstream one of #20), and a size of a cross section of an end of the at least one ventilation path (path through one of upstream or downstream ones of #20) on an in-housing ventilation path side and a size of an opening of the inlet opening or the outlet opening, which is adjacent to the end, are identical to each other (clearly seen in Figure 4-5).
With respect to claim 2, Cho teaches wherein the closer to the in-housing ventilation path, the larger a size of a cross section of each of the first ventilation path and the second ventilation path (note that connectors #20 have a larger cross-section on a side adjacent or closer to #10), the size of the cross section of the end of the first ventilation path (path through upstream one of #20) on the in-housing ventilation path side and the size of the inlet opening (upstream end opening of #10) are identical to each other, and the size of the cross section of the end of the second ventilation path (path through downstream one of #20) on the in-housing ventilation path side and the size of the outlet opening (downstream end opening of #10) are identical to each other.
With respect to claims 3 and 12, Cho teaches further comprising: an upstream tube body that forms an upstream ventilation path of the ventilation path (defined by upstream air conditioning pipe connected to #20, not shown in the Figures – see abstract), which is on an upstream side of the first ventilation path (path through upstream one of #20); a downstream tube body (defined by downstream air conditioning pipe connected to #20, not shown in the Figures – see abstract) that forms a downstream ventilation path (path through downstream one of #20) of the ventilation path, which is on a downstream side of the second ventilation path; a tubular first connecting portion (defined by body of upstream one of #20 connecting to air conditioning pipe) that includes the first ventilation path therein and that links the upstream ventilation path and the first ventilation path to each other by being connected to the upstream tube body; and a tubular second connecting portion (defined by body of downstream one of #20 connecting to air conditioning pipe) that includes the second ventilation path therein and that links the downstream ventilation path and the second ventilation path to each other by being connected to the downstream tube body.
With respect to claim 4, Cho teaches wherein the in-housing ventilation path extends along a first direction (defined by flow direction through #20/10/20), the first connecting portion (defined by body of upstream one of #20 connecting to air conditioning pipe) protrudes from one end of the housing in the first direction, and the second connecting portion (defined by body of downstream one of #20 connecting to air conditioning pipe) protrudes from the other end of the housing in the first direction.
With respect to claims 5 and 13, Cho teaches wherein the in-housing ventilation path extends along a first direction (defined by flow direction through #20/10/20), and each of the first connecting portion (defined by body of upstream one of #20 connecting to air conditioning pipe) and the second connecting portion (defined by body of downstream one of #20 connecting to air conditioning pipe) has an outer peripheral surface in which unevenness is formed along the first direction (unevenness defined by tapering outer surfaces of #20).
With respect to claims 8 and 16, Cho teaches wherein the in-housing ventilation path extends along a first direction (defined by flow direction through #20/10/20), a peripheral surface (outer surface of one of #20) surrounding the at least one ventilation path is inclined (defined by incline of taper of #20) with respect to the first direction, and an inclined angle of the peripheral surface with respect to the first direction is 0.1 degrees or more and 45 degrees or less (angle clearly seen).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 9-11, 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (KR 10-2014-014251).
With respect to claims 7, 15 and 20, Cho teaches the ventilation system of claims 3-5. Cho further teaches wherein the wherein the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion (defined by body of each of #20) are composed of an obvious, but unspecified material.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion are composed of resin forming products, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In this case, resin forming products, including the list of plastic materials in Applicant’s Specification [0023], are all well-known plastic materials that are widely available and would have been known to one of ordinary skill.
With respect to claims 9 and 17, Cho teaches the ventilation system of claims 1, 2. Cho further teaches wherein the in-housing ventilation path extends along a first direction, and a range in which the inlet opening is present and a range in which the outlet opening is present are the same as each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction and a third direction intersecting both the first direction and the second direction (clearly seen in Figures 4-5).
Cho fails to explicitly teach a range in which the inlet opening is present and a range in which the outlet opening is present are different from each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction.
It would have been an obvious design choice to a range in which the inlet opening is present and a range in which the outlet opening is present are different from each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In this case, changing the size of one of the inlet or outlet openings would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill for a number of reasons including adjusting a flow through the device or tuning purposes.
With respect to claims 10 and 18, Cho teaches the ventilation system of claims 1 and 2. Cho further teaches wherein the ventilation path further includes, on an opposite side to the in-housing ventilation path (path through #10), an adjacent ventilation path (defined by path through air conditioning pipe connected to #20, not shown in the Figures – see abstract) that is adjacent to the at least one ventilation path (path through one of #20), and the farther from the in-housing ventilation path, the size of a cross section of the adjacent ventilation path is unspecified, but obvious.
Cho fails to explicitly teach the farther from the in-housing ventilation path, the larger a size of a cross section of the adjacent ventilation path.
It would have been an obvious design choice to provide wherein the farther from the in-housing ventilation path, the larger a size of a cross section of the adjacent ventilation path, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In this case, defining a size of the unspecified air conditioning pipe connected to #20 (i.e. the adjacent ventilation path), such that the farther from the in-housing ventilation path, the larger a size of a cross section of the adjacent ventilation path, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, so as to define or alter a desired air flow pressure/amount in the air conditioning pipe, relative to the device #20/20/20 of Cho, as is well known in the art.
With respect to claims 11 and 19, Cho teaches the ventilation system of claims 1 and 2. Cho further teaches wherein a diameter of the end of each of the first ventilation path and the second ventilation path (defined by ventilation paths through upstream and downstream ones of #20) on the in-housing ventilation path side is of an unspecified, but obvious amount.
Cho fails to explicitly teach wherein the unspecified diameter is 150 mm or less.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a diameter of the end of each of the first ventilation path and the second ventilation path on the in-housing ventilation path side is 150 mm or less, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, setting the diameters of the ends of connectors #20 connected to silencer body #10 to be 150 mm or less would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, and involves routine skill.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (KR 10-2014-014251) in view of Tsuburaya (JP 2008-144874 A).
With respect to claims 6 and 14, Cho teaches the ventilation system of claims 5 and 13.
Cho fails teach wherein in each of the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion, the farther from the housing, the smaller an outer diameter of a portion where the outer peripheral surface has a convex shape.
Tsuburaya teaches a similar connecting configuration (Figures 1-3), wherein in each of the first connecting portion (defined by #4, when combined with Cho body of upstream one of #20 connecting to air conditioning pipe) and the second connecting portion (defined by #4, when combined with Cho body of downstream one of #20 connecting to air conditioning pipe), the farther from the housing (Cho, outer housing of silencer #10, when combined), the smaller an outer diameter of a portion (defined by tapered portion #42, extending from #41 to #40) where the outer peripheral surface has a convex shape (defined by convex tapered portion #42, similar to Applicant’s).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Cho, with the apparatus of Tsuburaya so as to provide a pipe connection allowing insertion of the pipe fitting, but not allowing movement in a removal direction (see Tsuburaya, Abstract), as Cho does not specify any particular connection configuration between the air conditioning pipe and connectors #20.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/631,524 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter of the current application is contained in the copending claims previously indicated.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pertinent arts of record relating to Applicant’s disclosure are disclosed in the PTO-892.
/JEREMY A LUKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837