The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
DETAILED ACTION
The following NON-FINAL Office action is in response to application 18631473 filed 04/10/2024 and the election response dated 09/08/2025.
37 CFR § 1.105 - Requirement for Information
Applicant and the assignee of this application are required under 37 CFR 1.105 to provide the following information that the examiner has determined is reasonably necessary to the examination of this application. Examiner’s search appears to suggest Applicant publicly used the Automated, Collaborative Workflows with Actionable Items as evidenced by at least the following
-> #1 moxo.com product, archives org, April 7, 2024: showing a Play Video button and a statement Moxo Flow Workspaces blend a workflow automation layer with a complete, contextual interaction suite.
-> #2 Experience Moxo, The service orchestration platform for customer, vendor, and partner workflows, October 30, 2024, reciting at its excepts below the capabilities to easily create moxo flows workflow template that include business actions like forms tasks approvals and more. We know controls are important. Assign roles and responsibilities etc. as evidenced by at least:
The information is required to identify products and services embodying the disclosed subject matter of Automated, Collaborative Workflows with Actionable Items and identify the properties of similar products and services found in the prior art.
-> In response to this requirement, please provide any additional citation and a copy of each publication that any of the applicants relied upon to develop the disclosed subject matter that describes the applicant’s invention, particularly as to Automated, Collaborative Workflows with Actionable Items.
For each publication, please provide a concise explanation of the reliance placed on that publication in the development of the disclosed subject matter. Specifically, the Examiner requests brochures, manuals, white papers, training materials, demos, sales presentations or the like related to the aforementioned product(s) software and/or other software directed to the Automated, Collaborative Workflows with Actionable Items.
-> In response to this requirement, please provide the citation and a copy of each publication that any of the applicants relied upon to draft the claimed subject matter. For each publication, please provide a concise explanation of the reliance placed on that publication in distinguishing the claimed subject matter from the prior art.
-> In response to this requirement, please provide the names of any products or services that have incorporated the disclosed prior art of Automated, Collaborative Workflows with Actionable Items.
-> In response to this requirement, please provide the names of any products or services that have incorporated the claimed subject matter.
In responding to those requirements that require copies of documents, where the document is a bound text or a single article over 50 pages, the requirement may be met by providing copies of those pages that provide the particular subject matter indicated in the requirement, or where such subject matter is not indicated, the subject matter found in applicant’s disclosure. The fee and certification requirements of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97 are waived for those documents submitted in reply to this requirement. This waiver extends only to those documents within the scope of this requirement under 37 C.F.R. § 1.105 that are included in the applicant’s first complete communication responding to this requirement. Any supplemental replies subsequent to the first communication responding to this requirement and any information disclosures beyond the scope of this requirement under 37 C.F.R. § 1.105 are subject to the fee and certification requirements of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97. The applicant is reminded that the reply to this requirement must be made with candor and good faith under 37 CFR 1.56. Where the applicant does not have or cannot readily obtain an item of required information, a statement that the item is unknown or cannot be readily obtained will be accepted as a complete response to the requirement for that item. This requirement is an attachment of the enclosed Office action. A complete response to the enclosed Office action must include a complete response to this requirement. The time period for reply to this requirement coincides with the time period for reply to the enclosed Office action, which is 3 months.
/PATRICIA H MUNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3624
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Status of Claims
- Claims 1-20 are currently pending of which:
= Claims 13-18 are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Spices Grouping 2, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 09/08/2025.
= Claims 1-12, 19-20 are currently under examination and have been rejected as follows.
IDS
The information disclosure statement filed on 04/10/2024 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 and is considered by the Examiner.
Election/Restriction
Claims 12-18 are withdrawn from further consideration as drawn to a nonelected invention. Applicant’s election with traverse of Species Group I representing Claims 11-12 in the reply filed on 09/08/2025 is acknowledged. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed 09/08/2025 and is acknowledged. The traversal is on grounds that
-> # 1. The prior office action dated 07/08/2025 does not identify whether the requirement is a restriction requirement or a species-election requirement
-> # 2. Species Grouping 1 and Species Grouping 2 are not mutually exclusive as required by MPEP 806.04(f).
Examiner fully considered the Applicant’s rebuttal arguments with respect to the election/restriction requirement but respectfully disagrees finding them unpersuasive.
-> #1. Examiner reconciliatory submits that election of species, as required here, is a type of a restriction requirement. See MPEP 806.04: “Where an application includes claims directed to different embodiments or species that could fall within the scope of a generic claim, restriction between the species may be proper if the species are independent or distinct” [bolded emphasis added]. MPEP 803 II ¶4 last sentence also corroborates: Insofar as the criteria for restriction or election practice relating to claims to genus-species, see MPEP § 806.04 - § 806.04(i) and § 808.01(a)”. Applicant himself points to MPEP 806.04(f) which again confirms that an election of species is an example of a restriction requirement. Thus, there is preponderance of evidence showing that the election of species is a type of restriction requirement. Accordingly, the Applicant’s rebuttal argument #1 is found to be unpersuasive.
-> # 2. Examiner also reconciliatorily submits that a restriction between mutually exclusive species, as raised by Applicant above, with respect to MPEP 806.04(f), is merely one non-limiting example of a case of an election of species. This is because the same MPEP 806.04 states at MPEP 806.04(b) that species may be related inventions, rebutting the requirement for mutual exclusivity asserted by Applicant above. In this instant case, consistent with the MPEP guidelines, the Examiner presented the election/resection requirement, as dated 08/08/2025, and found:
Specie Grouping 1 representing Claims 11-12, distinctively directed to:
a) electronically receiving reassignment instructions, the reassignment instructions comprising a request to reassign one or more of the actionable items from a first user to a second user;
b) automatically generating an updated workflow based on the reassignment instructions; and
c) electronically communicating updated workflow presentation instructions to the user device, the updated workflow presentation instructions configured to present the updated workflow.
These correspond to the embodiment of Original Specification ¶ [0044];
Specie Grouping 2 representing Claims 13-18, distinctively directed to:
a) electronically communicating first feed instructions to the user device, the first feed instructions configured to present a collaboration feed to the user;
b) electronically receiving collaboration instructions from the user device, the collaboration instructions comprising a request to add a collaboration item to the collaboration feed;
c) automatically generating a modified collaboration feed based on the collaboration instructions;
d) electronically communicating second feed instructions to the user device, the second feed instructions configured to present the modified collaboration feed to the user.
These correspond to the embodiment of Original Specification ¶¶ [0047], [0060], [0064].
The species were found as independent or distinct because they recite distinct forms of
a) electronically receiving reassignment instructions, the reassignment instructions comprising a request to reassign one or more of the actionable items from a first user to a second user;
b) automatically generating an updated workflow based on the reassignment instructions; and
c) electronically communicating updated workflow presentation instructions to the user device, the updated workflow presentation instructions configured to present the updated workflow.
(Species Group 1)
- versus -
a) electronically communicating first feed instructions to the user device, the first feed instructions configured to present a collaboration feed to the user;
b) electronically receiving collaboration instructions from the user device, the collaboration instructions comprising a request to add a collaboration item to the collaboration feed;
c) automatically generating a modified collaboration feed based on the collaboration instructions;
d) electronically communicating second feed instructions to the user device, the second feed instructions configured to present the modified collaboration feed to the user
(Species Group 2)
While the Applicant’s rebuttal argument # 2 points, at Remarks 09/08/2025 p.2, to Fig.2 showing reassignment instructions 252 and first feed instructions and to Fig.7 similarly showing reassignment instructions 753 and feed instructions 746, the claims themselves clearly separate among two distinct concepts. MPEP 2103 I C is clear that “[T]he name of the game is the claim”1 and MPEP 806.04(b) is also clear that species may be related inventions. Thus, the Examiner submits that given the distinct claim language between Specie Group 1 and Species Group 2, as analyzed at the Restriction/Election requirement dated 07/08/2025, there is a preponderance of evidence demonstrating that the restriction/election requirement is proper. Accordingly, the
Applicant’s rebuttal arguments #1 and #2 are unpersuasive and the election/restriction requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea, here abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) describe, or set forth the abstract fundamental practices (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) II A), and/or interactions or relationships (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) II B) and managing such interactions or relationships (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)II C) summarized by the Invention Title as Automated, Collaborative Workflows with Actionable Items, and set forth in more detailed throughout the claims as: “workflow modification” or management of “a workflow having a sequence of actionable items” (independent Claims 1,19), such as: “a) a form; b) a file request; c) an approval; d) an acknowledgement; e) signature; f) calendar item; g) a task; or h) an integration” (dependent Claim 3), with said “workflow modification” or management further exemplified as: “adding an actionable item” (dependent Claim 4), “removing an actionable item” (dependent Claim 5), “marking an actionable item as complete” (dependent Claim 6). Equally important, per MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) ¶6, 4th sentence the sub-groupings of fundamental practices, interactions or relationships and managing such collaborative interactions or relationships, encompass both activity of a single person and activity that involves multiple people, and thus, certain activity between a person and a computer may still fall within the "certain methods of organizing human activity" grouping. It follows that here, the management or assign[ment] of relationships that involve multiple people such as “wherein one or more of the actionable items is assignable to one or more users” (dependent Claim 9) and “reassignment instructions comprising a request to reassign one or more of the actionable items from a first user to a second user”, “generating an updated workflow based on the reassignment instructions”; “and “communicating updated workflow presentation instructions to the user device, the updated workflow presentation instructions configured to present the updated workflow” (dependent Claim 11), would similarly set forth the abstract Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity grouping. As per recitation of “wherein the workflow modification instructions are received from the user device while the sequence of actionable items remain actionable to the user” (dependent Claims 2,20), the Examiner points to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) II C ¶8 citing Interval Licensing LLC, v. AOL, Inc., 896 F.3d 1335, 127 USPQ2d 1553 (Fed. Cir. 2018), to state that providing information to a person without interfering with the person’s primary activity including acquiring content from an information source, controlling the timing of the display of acquired content, displaying the content, and acquiring an updated version of the previously-acquired content when the information source updates its content [akin here to the modif[ied] or updat[ed] workflow] did not preclude the claims from reciting, describing or setting forth the abstract exception. In a similar vein, MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) II C ii cites BSG Tech. LLC v. Buyseasons, Inc., 899 F.3d 1281, 1286, 127 USPQ2d 1688, 1691 (Fed. Cir. 2018) to state that considering historical usage information while inputting data, also did not preclude the claims from reciting, describing or setting forth the abstract exception. It then follows that here, the analogous recitation of “wherein the workflow modification instructions are received from the user device while the sequence of actionable items remain actionable to the user” (dependent Claims 2,20), would similarly not preclude the claims to recite, describe or set forth the fundamental practices, interactions or relationships and/or managing such interactions or relationships of the broad abstract grouping of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities. Additionally or alternatively, computer-aided observations, evaluations, and judgments, were found by MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III C not to preclude the claims to recite, describe or set for the abstract exception when performed: #1 on generic computer, # 2. in a computer environment and/or #3 using a computer as tool. Thus here, use of a “user device”, “audit database” etc. as tools or computer environments to perform the above steps of observations, evaluations and judgments for workflow management or modification, would also not preclude the current claims to recite, describe or set forth the abstract exception. In an abundance of caution, the Examiner will next granularly test the involvement of such computerization at the subsequent steps below. For now, it is clear that, given the preponderance of legal evidence above, the character a whole of the claims is undeniably abstract. Step 2A prong one.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because per Step 2A prong two, the individual, or combination, of the additional, computer-based elements are represented by “memory” and instruct[ed] “processor” (Claim 1) and possibly and arguably by: “user device” (Claims 1,2,11,19,20), “workflow template database” (Claims 1,19), “audit database” (Claim 8). When tested at step 2A prong two, they are found to merely apply the above abstract exception [MPEP 2106.05(f)] and/or narrow it to an automat[ed] and electronical[…] technological environment [MPEP 2106.05(h)]. For once, when tested as additional computer-based elements, the “memory” “processor”, “user device” and databases would merely apply the aforementioned abstract collaborative workflows with actionable items, as a business practice. Yet, MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)(i) is clear that a business method being applied on a general-purpose computer, represents mere invocation of computers or machinery as a tool to perform an existing process which does not integrate the abstract exception into a practical application. Also, as stated by MPEP 2106.05(f)(2) ¶1, the use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks to #1 receive, #2 store and #3 transmit data, also do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application2. It then follows the here, the analogous capabilities of the computer elements above in:
#1 “electronically receiving workflow modification instructions from the user device” (independent Claims 1,19), and the analogous capabilities of the
#2 “a workflow template database configured to store a plurality of workflow templates” (independent Claim 1) and equally “accessing a workflow template database configured to store a plurality of workflow templates” (independent Claim 19), and “storing the workflow modification instructions in the audit database” (dependent Claim 8) and finally,
#3 “electronically communicating first workflow presentation instructions to a user device, the first workflow presentation instructions configured to present the workflow to a user of the user device”; “electronically communicating second workflow presentation instructions to the user device, the second workflow presentation instructions configured to present the modified workflow to the user” (independent Claims 1,19), “electronically communicating updated workflow presentation instructions to the user device, the updated workflow presentation instructions configured to present the updated workflow” (dependent Claim 11)
do all apply the abstract exception of collaborative workflow management without integrating it into a practical application based on at least the MPEP 2106.05(f)(2) ¶1, test above.
Equally important, as stated by MPEP 2106.05(f)(2) ¶1, even claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer would not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept3. For example, MPEP 2106.05(f)(2) iii4 states that a process for monitoring audit log data that is executed on a general-purpose computer where the increased speed in the process comes from capabilities of the general-purpose computer5 is an example of invoking computers or machinery as a tool to perform an existing process which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. It then follows that here, recitations of “wherein the workflow modification instructions are received from the user device while the sequence of actionable items remain actionable to the user”, (dependent Claims 2,20) would similarly not integrate the abstract exception into a practical application.
Last but not least per, “automatically generating a modified workflow based on the workflow modification instructions” and “electronically communicating second workflow presentation instructions to the user device, the second workflow presentation instructions configured to present the modified workflow to the user” at independent Claims 1,19; and further narrowed at dependent Claims 4-6, the Examiner points to MPEP 2106.05(f)(2) (v)6 which states that requiring use of a computer component to tailor information and provide it to the user on a computer, is another example of invoking computers or machinery as a tool to perform an existing process which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. More to the point, according to MPEP 2106.05(h) vi, even limiting the combination of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis to data related to a field of use or technological environment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application7. It then follows that here, the narrowing of the combination of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis (here “second workflow presentation instructions configured to present the modified workflow”), to a technological environment as represented by “user device” and electronic communication etc. could also be argued as narrowing the abstract idea to a field of use, with respect to the aforementioned abstract exception. Thus, no matter which of the MPEP 2106.05(f) or (h) tests are employed, the result is the same, namely, that no additional elements integrate, either alone or in combination, the aforementioned abstract idea into a practical application. Step 2A prong two.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as shown above, the additional computer-based elements merely apply the already recited abstract idea and/or link use of the abstract idea to a field of use or technological environment. Specifically, the Examiner follows MPEP 2106.05 (d) II guidelines and carries over the findings tested per MPEP 2106.05 (f) and/or (h) to submit that the additional computer-based elements also do not provide significantly more
without having to rely on the conventionality test of MPEP 2106.05(d) Yet, assuming arguendo, that further evidence would be required to demonstrate conventionality of the additional, computer-based elements, the Examiner would further point as evidence to the high level of generality of the additional elements as read in light of Original Disclosure as based on the MPEP 2106.05(d).I.2 test:…”in many instances, the specification of the application may indicate that additional elements are well-known or conventional”. In this instant case:
- Original Specification ¶ [0065] 4th - 9th sentences recite, at high level of generality: “Thus, the materials, methods, and examples are illustrative only and are not intended to be necessarily limiting. As will be appreciated by one skilled in the art, the components and arrangement of components included in the disclosed systems and devices may vary. For example, an automated workflow system may further include other components or devices not depicted in the accompanying drawings that perform or assist in the performance of one or more processes consistent with the disclosed embodiments. For example, a user device may further include other components or devices not depicted in the accompanying drawings that perform or assist in the performance of one or more processes consistent with the disclosed embodiments. For example, a computing device may further include other components or devices not depicted in the accompanying drawings that perform or assist in the performance of one or more processes consistent with the disclosed embodiments. The components and arrangements shown in the accompanying drawings are not intended to limit the disclosed embodiments, as the components used to implement the disclosed processes and features may vary”.
- Original Specification ¶ [0092] recites at high level of generality: “Some embodiments may employ processing hardware. Processing hardware may comprise one or more processors, microprocessors, computer equipment, embedded systems, machines, and/or the like. Processing hardware may comprise one or more single core or multiple core processors that executes parallel processes simultaneously. For example, a processor may be a single core processor configured with virtual processing technologies. In some embodiments, a processor may use logical processors to simultaneously execute and control multiple processes. Processing hardware may implement virtual machine technologies, or other known technologies to provide the ability to execute, control, run, manipulate, and/or store multiple software processes, applications, programs, and/or the like. In another example, a processor may include a multiple core processor arrangement (e.g., dual core, quad core, etc.) configured to provide parallel processing functionalities to allow execution of multiple processes simultaneously. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that other types of processor arrangements could be implemented that provide for the capabilities disclosed herein. The disclosed embodiments are not limited to any type of processor”.
- Original Specification ¶ [0093] 9th-10th sentences, recite at high level of generality: “A memory (e.g. automated data medium) may be a medium configured to store data in a machine-readable format that may be accessed by an automated sensing device. According to some embodiments, a memory may include a volatile or nonvolatile, magnetic, semiconductor, optical, removable, non-removable, or other type of storage device or tangible (i.e., non-transitory) computer readable medium, consistent with disclosed embodiments. A memory may comprise data, instructions, programs, and/or other components”.
- Original Specification ¶ [0094] last two sentences recite, at high level of generality: “Additionally, it should be noted that, for example purposes, several of the various embodiments include instructions. However, one skilled in the art will recognize that many various languages and frameworks may be employed to build and use embodiments of the present invention”. etc.
Given the preponderance of evidence in the legal analysis above and/or the high level of generality of the additional computer-based elements in the claims above, as read in light of the Applicant’s own Original Disclosure, the Examiner submits that such additional computer-based elements also do not provide significantly more.
In conclusion, Claims 1-12,19-20 although directed to statutory categories (“system” or machine at Claims 1-12, and “method” or process at Claim 19,20) they still recite, or at least describe or set forth the abstract idea (Step 2A prong one), with their additional, computer-based elements not integrating it into a practical application (Step 2A prong two) or providing significantly more than the abstract idea itself (Step 2B). Therefore, Claims 1-12,19-20 are patent ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10,19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention as disclosed by: Haramati et al, US 20210150489 A1, by Applicant or Assignee Monday.com, hereinafter Haramati. As per,
Claims 1,19 Haramati teaches “An automated workflow system coupled to a computer network” (Haramati ¶ [0002] 1st sentence: systems, methods, and readable media enabling and optimizing workflows in collaborative work systems. ¶ [0179] 3rd sentence, ¶ [0254] 1st sentence, ¶ [0383] 1st sentence, ¶ [0482] 1st sentence, ¶ [0624] 1st sentence, ¶ [0743] 1st sentence: examples of collaborative work system utilize workflow management software enables members of a team to cooperate via a common online platform (e.g. website) ), “the system comprising”: / “A method for automating workflow, the method comprising”
- “a workflow template database” / “accessing a workflow template database” “configured to store a plurality of workflow templates, each of the workflow templates comprising a workflow having a sequence of actionable items”; (Haramati teaches several examples: Fig.4, 401 and
Haramati ¶ [0010] 1st sentence: store a template in a repository.
Haramati ¶ [0219] 1st sentence memory 120 as repository to store a customized template.
Haramati ¶ [0220] 1st-2nd sentences: processor integrate the customized template into user-facing applications. Once the customized template is stored in the repository and the user has met the criteria for accessing the customized template, a user may be enabled to integrate the customized template into his or her own user-facing application. Similarly see
Haramati ¶ [0016] 2nd sentence: maintain logical templates, each logical template of including predefined requirements & user-definable requirements, enable formation of a table.
Haramati ¶ [0437] 11th-13th sentences, ¶ [0554] 6th-8th sentence: The table also include a sub-board that may have a different structure from the table and contain sub-items that may be related to the items (i.e. workflows) within the table. ¶ [0016] 3rd sentence: The processor execute logic operations defined by the selected logical template to operate on the row in response to the association of the selected logical template with the row. Similarly, ¶ [0483]: processor maintains logical templates, each logical template including predefined requirements and user-definable requirements. A logical template include logical organization of elements for implementing a conditional action. In some embodiments, the logical organization of elements may be a semantic statement or rule (e.g. a sentence). An instance of the logical template may be referred to as an automation herein. For example, at Fig. 37 When this happens, do something.
Haramati ¶ [0545] 2nd sentence: Each logical template of the plurality of logical templates include predefined requirements (e.g. requirement 3906 in Fig.39,40 [When this happens]) and user-definable requirements (e.g. user-definable requirement 4106 in Fig.41,42 [do something]).
- “at least one memory storing instructions” (Haramati ¶ [0009] 3rd sentence: non-transitory computer-readable storage media may store program instructions); “and”
- “at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to perform operations, the operations comprising” (Haramati ¶ [0009] 3rd sentence: non-transitory computer-readable storage media may store program instructions, which may be executable by at least one processing device and perform any of the steps and/or methods described herein):
= “electronically communicating first workflow presentation instructions to a user device, the first workflow presentation instructions configured to present the workflow to a user of the user device”; (Haramati teaches several examples as follows: ¶ [0254] the collaborative work system utilize workflow management software that enables members of a team to cooperate via a common online platform (e.g. website). Aspects of this disclosure may display a table with items (i.e. workflows per ¶ [0437] 11th-13th sentences, ¶ [0554] 6th-8th sentence) on a screen of a computing device. A table may be presented, via a display screen associated with a computing device such as PC, laptop, tablet, projector, cell phone, or personal wearable device, or virtually through AR or VR glasses. Aspects of this disclosure enable a user (e.g., an individual operating the computing device) to establish a relationship between two columns of the table based on their column headings, may associate a logical rule with the two columns, and may monitor entries in the two columns and alter a display in the table when the logical rule is triggered.
Haramati [0450] in Fig.32, time-based graphic 3212 is illustrated as a progress bar of time elapsed between April 20-27. to determine the progress of the time elapsed, the embodiment access a centralized time management system to perform a lookup that current date is April 25 to determine progress and alter the display of time-based graphic 3212 to show the item progress.
Haramati ¶ [0454] As described above in connection with Fig.32, the time-based graphic 3212 illustrates an example embodiment of a progress bar reflecting the time elapsed since the start of an item on April 20. In order to determine the progress of the time elapsed, the embodiment may access a current time by performing a lookup or calculation that the current date is April 25 and alter the display of the time-based graphic 3212 to show the item progress.
Haramati ¶ [0457] altering, in a display of the table, the item-associated variable time-based graphic to correspond to the current point in time, to thereby reflect within the at least one of the plurality of cells adjacent to at least one cell containing the item-associated alphanumeric data, a graphical indication of the extent of progress at the current point in time. Altering may include changing the representation of the item-associated variable time-based graphic in the table to be up-to-date. For example, as shown on board (also referred to as table) 3300 in Fig.33, various projects including item 1, 3302; item 2, 3304; item 3, 3306; item 4, 3308; and item 5, 3310 may have been entered by a user. Each of these items has a status 3312, a due date 3314, a timeline 3322, and a world clock time 3332 reflecting the local time associated with the item.
Haramati ¶ [0459] in Fig.33, Item 2 (3304) is marked as stuck. While due date Jan 8 (3316) has passed, the project is not complete. Even so, the item-associated variable time-based graphic 3324 representing item progress shows a greyed-out progress bar because the selected completion date has passed. In some embodiments, the item-associated variable time-based graphic 3324 indicate (using graphics) that the due date has passed and that the project is not complete. In some embodiments, the item-associated variable time-based graphic 3324 may be altered on board 3300 to correspond to the current point in time as shown by world clock 3334, to reflect a graphical indication of the extent of progress at the current point in time.
Haramati ¶ [0461] Item 3 (3306) is marked as working on it. Due date Aug 20 (3318) has not yet passed and the project is not complete. The item-associated variable time-based graphic 3326 representing item progress shows a partially greyed-out progress bar depicting progress as of the current date, July 7, at 9:32 AM shown on world clock 3336. Greyed out portion of progress bar 3326 may indicate number of days since project has started and blacked out portion of progress bar 3326 may indicate number of days until due date 3318. In some embodiments, the item-associated variable time-based graphic 3326 may indicate (using graphics) that the due date has not passed and that the project is not complete.
Haramati ¶ [0462] Item 4 (3308) is marked as “done.” Due date July 31 (3320) has not yet passed but the project is already complete as stated in status column 3312. The item-associated variable time-based graphic 3328 representing item progress shows a partially greyed-out progress bar depicting progress as of the current date, July 7, at 9:32 AM shown on world clock 3338. Greyed out portion of progress bar 3328 may indicate number of days since project has started and blacked out portion of progress bar 3328 may indicate number of days until due date “July 31” 3320. In some embodiments, the item-associated variable time-based graphic 3328 may indicate (using graphics) that the due date has not passed and that the project is complete.
Haramati ¶ [0463] Item 5 (3310) is marked as “working on it.” While there is no due date listed in the column for due date 3314, the user entered a journey spanning from Washington, DC to New York City. Item-associated variable time-based graphic 3330 of board 3300 indicates the project is still being worked on. Additionally, the item-associated variable time-based graphic 3330 representing item progress shows a progress bar that is one-third greyed-out, indicating that at present, the GPS of the truck is ⅓ the distance between DC and NYC. Item 5 (3310) indicates 2/3 of a journey left between DC and NYC before the item can be considered completed. As shown in Fig.33, the item-associated variable time-based graphic 3330 may depict, using graphics such as a vehicle, the vehicle's relative progress on the journey.
Haramati ¶ [0472] An item-associated variable time-based graphic reflect multiple types of information (qualitative or quantitative) in the same cell based on outside triggers. In some embodiments, in response a user action (e.g. cursor hover), the system may provide an audio indication in conjunction with, or in place of, a graphical indication. For example, a message such as “three stuck items may be holding up this project” may be presented in response to a timeline click. Or, the sound of rain or “It will begin raining in Washington at 8 PM this evening” may be presented in response to a click on a cell that tracks local weather.
Haramati ¶ [0484] 2nd sentence: The processor of the system may execute the program codes or instructions to perform the conditional action in accordance with the logical template
Haramati ¶ [0787] Groups as defined herein may be user-defined groupings of one or more items. In non-limiting examples, items may be grouped together by a user where they share a common project, process, work period, owner, status, and so forth. In some implementations, groups are displayed in GUI 13136 as tables with items as rows and columns as columns. In some implementations, PMS 13110 maintains items and columns in a table data structure.
Haramati ¶ [0790] PMS 13110 include a messaging module 13114 for sending messages to users over common messaging formats and/or for providing messaging interface via local PMS module 13140 on GUI 13136 for messaging related to items, groups, boards and/or workspaces
Haramati ¶ [0806] the system may maintain for presentation in a 1st table, a 1st group of items including 1st item with 1st status and 2nd item with 2nd status, and maintaining for presentation in a 2nd table, a 2nd group of items including a 3rd item with the 1st status and a 4th item with the 2nd status. In other embodiments, a system may maintain for presentation in a 1st table form, a 1st group of items associate with a 1st project, wherein at least one 1st item from the 1st group of items is assigned to an entity and has an associated 1st status. The system may further maintain for presentation, in a 2nd table form, a 2nd group of items associated with a 2nd project, wherein at least one 2nd item from the 2nd group of items is assigned to the entity and the at least one 2nd item has an associated status different from the 1st status.
Haramati ¶ [0811] 1st sentence: a user enabled to select two projects of interest and output a graphical indicator out including a 1st graphical element aggregating, based on a shared 1st status, the 1st item and the 3rd item, and a 2nd graphical element aggregating, based on a shared 2nd status, the 2nd item and 4th item. ¶ [0823] Consistent with the descriptions of Figs.102A-102E, may include a method 1318-100, in Fig.103, with block 1318-200 for maintaining for presentation in a first table, a first group of items. The first group of items may include a first item with a first status and a second item with a second status as previously discussed. At block 1318-300, the method 1318-100 may include maintaining for presentation in a second table, a second group of items. The second group of items may include a third item with the first status and a fourth item with the second status as previously discussed).
= “electronically receiving workflow modification instructions from the user device, the workflow modification instructions comprising a request to modify the workflow”;
(Haramati Fig.4, ¶ [0190] 2nd sentence: input may be a change [modification] of information contained in a user's table, in another table, across multiple tables, across multiple user devices
Haramati ¶ [0190] 2nd -3rd sentence: The input may be from a user action or from a change of info contained in user's table, in another table, across multiple tables, across multiple user devices, or from third-party applications).
= “iii) automatically generating a modified workflow based on the workflow modification instructions”; (Haramati teaches many examples starting with ¶ [0010] 1st sentence, ¶ [0199] 1st,4th sentences: automatically apply changed templates across user-facing applications. Embodiments involve how those updates are disseminated to users who have already integrated the template into their computer apps. ¶ [0045] Fig.4 is a diagram for automatically apply changed templates across user apps. ¶ [0190] 2nd -3rd sentences: The input may be from user action or from a change of info contained in user’s table, in another table, across multiple tables, across multiple user devices, or from 3rd party apps. Triggering may be caused automatically, such as through a logical rule, logical combination rule, or logical templates associated with a board
Haramati ¶ [0339] once selection is made, the selection may propagate to multiple items. For example, if an item has a sub-item, an assignment apply to the sub-items associated with the item. In one example, the responsibility cell of the item may automatically apply to sub-items associated with the item. Sub-items may be similar to items but include an additional association with particular items in a board. The items that the sub-items are associated with may be parent items. A parent item may itself be a sub-item. A parent item may share permission and notification settings with associated sub-items. This association may be established by a rule or automatically established when a sub-item is created. For example, a sub-item may be generated adjacent the item that the sub-item is associated with such that responsibilities or alterations made to the item may automatically be applied to the sub-item. This may be useful, in complex tasks involving multiple steps or when bulk assignment of items/tasks is needed.
Haramati ¶ [0582] 1st sentence: Fig.58 also illustrates personalized communications rule 5803 which may enable the collaborative work system or a third-party provider like WhatsApp or Viber to automatically call John Doe when a status changes to overdue in the collaborative work system, say a message and update an item to “called” in the collaborative work system.
Haramati ¶ [0588] the trigger in communications rule 5807 in Fig.58, automatically activate when a specific value in the specific cell meets a specified criterion. In this example, trigger activates when an item is created (the item cell may be defined in the communications rule.
Haramati ¶ [0591] Personalized communications rule 5811 in Fig.58 enable the automatic initiation of a periodic video call via a third-party provider when a status has a predefined value. When setting up this communications rule, the user may have defined the time period (such as every day, two-weeks, or month), the status value, the type of videocall, and the one or more persons to whom the call should be placed. In some embodiments, the user may have specified a videocall third-party provider and one or more recipients as shown in Fig.57.
Haramati ¶ [0592] The trigger of communications rule 5811 automatically activate when specific values in the specific cells meet their respective criterion. In the case of communications rule 5811, a video call is triggered when the status equals the predefined value for that status, and the time period criterion is met.
Haramati ¶ [0596] a trigger may automatically cause a communications rule to be initiated. In some embodiments, the triggering may occur unknowingly when a value in one or more cells is matter-of-factly updated by a user, when a combination of criterion is met, or when an automatically calculated value is automatically updated. In other embodiments, the trigger may occur knowingly when a user purposefully updates one or more values in a cell to cause initiation of a communications rule. For example, the trigger in communications rule 5801 in FIG. 58, automatically activates when an interview status cell changes to Stuck (the specific status cell and stuck value may be defined in the communications rule).
Haramati ¶ [0891] last 3 sentences: The system may also be configured to enable automated sequential viewing of items in the subgroup. Automated sequential viewing may involve the system automatically creating a logical order of display of items according to an attribute of the items, such as a due date, a priority, responsible person, or any other attribute associated with the items. For example, the system may render a common view of items associated with a cluster marker and sequentially display the items according to due date (e.g., an item due next in a subgroup may be displayed first on a list and an item with the latest deadline in the subgroup may be displayed last on the list) “and”
- “electronically communicating second workflow presentation instructions to the user device, the second workflow presentation instructions configured to present the modified workflow to the user” (Haramati teaches several examples such as:
Haramati ¶ [0218] 1st sentence: subsequent updates after the initial creation are automatically disseminated to the members who may have integrated the customized templates into their own user-facing applications, as enabled by the disclosed embodiments
Haramati ¶ [0226] integrate customized template into user-facing applications generate link between the customized template in the repository and the integrated customized template, so future updates to the customized template may be disseminated to the integrated customized template. The link may be implemented, as record of user accounts that integrated the customized template or a record of unique template identifier for the integrated customized template.
Haramati ¶ [0234] 2nd sentence: pushing the update may include sending a notification to every user device associated with the customized template, informing the users that an update has been made. ¶ [0240] 1st -2nd sentences: tailoring of data result in a display of the updated customized template. For example, upon update, a new or modified presentation appear on a user device, presenting data in a new or modified way. If user had previously accessed the integrated customized template on user device, the manipulation of data may prompt the user device to display the updated customized template so that the user may continue accessing the integrated customized template in the updated form.
Haramati ¶ [0516] By way of example, with reference to Fig.44, after changing logical template 4304 to logical template 4404, the system present (e.g. display) an option for adding an additional user-definable requirement in interface 4402 as interactive element 4408 (add). For example, if the user selects the interactive element 4408, the system directly adds the additional user-definable requirement (e.g. status) to the logical template 4404 such that changing “when due date changes, do something” to “when due date and status changes, do something”.
Haramati ¶ [0517], ¶ [0519], ¶ [0520], ¶ [0522], ¶ [0531], noting other different examples
Haramati ¶ [0538] By way of example, with reference to Figs.44 and 47, the system may change the logical template 4404 to logical template 4704 in accordance with a decision tree. For example, based on statistics of past user behaviors, the system may determine that when a user selects interactive element 4308 (Due Date) from user interface 4302 to configure the dynamic user-definable requirement 4306 (column), the probable actions (e.g. determined based on frequencies of past user selections) the user intends to do may include notifying someone, changing a status, pushing a date, and starting time tracking. The system may then predict that a next element (e.g. action) for logic template 4404 to possibly include such as notify, change status, push date, and start time tracking. Based on the prediction, the system may display the interactive elements 4410 “notify”, “change status,” “push date,” and “start time tracking,” among other interactive elements, in the user interface 4402 for the user's selection to change the logical template 4404. For example, if the user selects the interactive element 4410, the system may change the logical template 4404 to the logical template 4704).
Haramati ¶ [0582] 1st sentence: Fig.58 also illustrates personalized communications rule 5803 which may enable the collaborative work system or a third-party provider like WhatsApp™ or Viber™ to automatically call John Doe when a status changes to overdue in the collaborative work system, say a message and update an item to “called” in the collaborative work system).
Haramati Figs. 43-49 in support of rejection arguments
Claims 2,20 Haramati teaches all the limitations in claims 1,19 above. Furthermore,
Haramati teaches “wherein the workflow modification instructions are received from the user device while the sequence of actionable items remain actionable to the user”.
(Haramati ¶ [0199] 4th sentence: Embodiments involve how updates [or modification] are disseminated to users who have already integrated the template into their computer apps.
Haramati ¶ [0240] 3rd sentence: If the user had previously accessed the integrated customized template on a user device, the manipulation of data may prompt the user device to display the updated customized template so that the user may continue accessing the integrated customized template in the updated form. ¶ [0241] 2nd sentence: any changes to the customized template may be stored in the repository (located in the computing deice 100, network 210, or remote repository 230-1) automatically in real time or at a predetermined interval after the change is made, which may keep the integrated customized templates in sync with the customized template at all times in real-time or near real-time.
Haramati ¶ [0218] 1st-2nd sentences: the customized templates may be freely updatable by the original author, where subsequent updates after the initial creation are automatically disseminated to the members who may have integrated the customized templates into their own user-facing applications. In this way, when the original author makes updates to the customized template, the updates may be passed to every secondary user of the customized template, so that all the integrated templates may be reconfigured [or actionable] based on a single update by the original author. Specifically, per ¶ [0226] integrating the customized template into user-facing applications generate link between the customized template in the repository and the integrated customized template, so that future updates to the customized template may be disseminated to the integrated customized template. The link may be implemented, as a record of user accounts that integrated the customized template or a record of unique template identifier for the integrated customized template).Specifically per ¶ [0181] 1st sentence, ¶ [0241] 2nd,5th,6th sentences: any changes to the customized template may be stored in the repository (located in computing deice 100, network 210, or remote repository 230-1) automatically in real time or at a predetermined interval after the change is made, which may keep the integrated customized templates in sync with the customized template at all times in real-time or near real-time. any changes to the original customized template 340 may result in displaying the updated customized template 3410 on a user device 220 containing the customized template so that the user may see a preview of the updated customized template and how it may alter or tailor the user's data or current customized template. In this way, the user may decide whether to accept or reject the updated customized template based on the preview. ¶ [0543] noting a different example at Fig.49, where the next intended element of the logical template 4904 may include a word assign, and provide three options (i.e., assign person, assign team, and assign creator) for the user to select for completing the typing. The user may select from one of the three options, or continue typing such that the system may continue predicting what the next element will be.
¶ [0561] 8th sentence: by clicking add to board link 5111, an item may be automatically created and future updates from the ticketing website may be synced to the user's board each time a new registration is made to an event organized by a specific organizer. Also see MPEP 2111.04 with respect to patentable weight of a wherein limitation and USPTO’s training entitled Focus on Computer/Software-related Claims dated May 2015 at slides 16-17,20-21, which cites MPEP 2111.04, with respect to the patentable weight of intended use or result).
Claim 3 Haramati teaches all the limitations in claim 1 above. Furthermore,
Haramati teaches wherein the actionable items comprise one or more of the following:
a) a form; (Haramati ¶ [0240] 3rd sentence: If the user had previously accessed the integrated customized template on a user device, the manipulation of data may prompt the user device to display the updated customized template so that the user may continue accessing the integrated customized template in the updated form)
b) a file request; (Haramati ¶ [0615] 1st-3rd sentences: a communications rule may be set up using a third-party application such as Gmail™. For example, a first communications rule may be: when a new item is created, send an email (via Gmail™) to someone. The body of the email may request or provide a reminder for the recipient to send in an application, for example)
c) an approval; (Haramati ¶ [0358] 1st-5th sentences: Some disclosed embodiments may be used for restricting permission access via tablature. Permission access, refers to approval, consent, authorization, or any other means of controlling or regulating an ability to view, change, link, or otherwise interact with or see specific data. Permissions may be granted, revoked, or otherwise restricted. As used herein, restricting permissions may refer to configuring access to data, to impose such a limitation. Permissions may be said to relate to tablature when they apply to or otherwise relate to information contained within a tablature, which, as used herein, may refer to any organized manner of displaying information in two dimensions, three dimensions, or more)
d) an acknowledgement; (Haramati mid-¶ [0587] Please confirm that you will you attend the conference on Apr. 1, 2022. Press 1 for yes, press 2 for no)
e) a signature;
f) a calendar item; (Haramati ¶ [0471] 2nd sentence: calendar 3502 may be interactive, permitting the user to change the date range of the associated timeline 3326).
g) a task; (Haramati ¶ [0256] 3rd sentence: The table 500A may be associated with a project to display and may include, in the multiple columns, tasks included in the project, persons assigned to the tasks, details of the tasks, statuses of the tasks, due dates of the tasks, and timelines of the tasks) or
h) an integration (Haramati ¶ [0010] 4th sentence: processor may integrate the customized template into the user-facing applications, wherein the integrated customized template enables tailoring of data associated with the user-facing applications into which the template is integrated)
Claim 4. Haramati teaches all the limitations in claim 1 above. Furthermore,
Haramati teaches the request to modify the workflow comprises adding an actionable item.
(Haramati ¶ [0229] 2nd,4th sentences: authorized user or individual update the customized template by adding building blocks to and from the customized template. updating the customized template may also involve adding rules that associate different building blocks with one another.
Haramati ¶ [0230] 1st sentence: updating the customized template include adding linkage between a 1st column of the customized template and a 2nd column of the customized template.
Haramati ¶ [0286] 2nd sentence: adding an object.
Haramati ¶ [0347] last two sentences: Table 1500 contain a status column 1513 that may contain an indication of the current status of the associated item. Indications of status 1514 may be changed by adding, such statuses, and such status changes may result in sending a notification to users in a responsibility cell 1516.
Haramati ¶ [0969] 2nd sentence: The change may be a result of reassignment of items and units in a particular time period, such as the addition of items and units in the particular time period for a particular resource).
Claim 5. Haramati teaches all the limitations in claim 1 above. Furthermore,
Haramati teach the request to modify the workflow comprises removing an actionable item
(Haramati teaches several examples as follows ¶ [0229] 2nd,4th sentences: authorized user or individual update the customized template by modifying or removing building blocks to and from the customized template. updating the customized template also involve modifying, or removing rules that associate different building blocks with one another. ¶ [0230] 1st sentence: updating the customized template may include removing, or modifying a linkage between 1st column of the customized template and 2nd column of the customized template.
Haramati ¶ [0286] 2nd sentence: Altering as used herein, may refer to processes or procedures of modifying, removing, or any way of changing an object.
Haramati ¶ [0347] last two sentences: Table 1500 may contain a status column 1513 that may contain an indication of the current status of the associated item. Indications of status 1514 may be changed by removing, or altering such statuses, and such status changes may result in sending a notification to users in a responsibility cell 1516.
Haramati ¶ [0357] 1st-4th sentences: Fig.19 illustrates a flow chart of one example of a method for sending notifications for sub-items 1900. At step 1920, method may begin by associating a sub-item row with an item row. The association may be removed in the future and the sub-item row may then become an independent item row. Alternatively, the sub-item row may be reallocated to a different item row, thereby changing association to a different item row.
Haramati ¶ [0969] 2nd sentence: The change may be a result of reassignment of items and units in a particular time period, such as the removal, or alteration of items and units in the particular time period for a particular resource).
Claim 6. Haramati teaches all the limitations in claim 1 above. Furthermore,
Haramati teaches “wherein the request to modify the workflow comprises marking an actionable item as complete” (Haramati teaches several examples as follows
Haramati ¶ [0818] Look-ups for the generated third and fourth tables may occur only after a selection of a graphical element is made. Alternatively, data may be aggregated in advance and the appropriate table displayed upon user selection of a graphical element of the graphical indicator. Regardless of the alternative, a table is said to be “generated” when the information in the table is caused to be displayed to the user.
Haramati ¶ [0819] 1st graphical element may be associated with a completed status and the 2nd graphical element may be associated with an incomplete status. A completed status may include a status containing the word completed or may include similar language such as Done, All set, Finished, a green color, or any other graphical or textual indication that something is completed. The complete and incomplete statuses may be predefined in the system or may be customized and saved for later application by a user. The system may perform language processing or perform a look-up of commonly associated status indicators to determine when a similar indication represents a complete status. A user may also manually designate the similar status indicators in complete groupings of statuses based on the user's preference.
Haramati ¶ [0820] 1st sentence: In Fig.102D, a first graphical element may be graphical element 131730-1 that is associated with a completed status since the associated status indicator is Done. Mid-¶ [0835]: Since segment 13522-1 has been selected, completion label 13528 shows the percentage of the chosen segment 13522-1 corresponding to status 13526-1. In other embodiments, filtering mechanism of the statuses 13526 may include other processes that may include consolidating similar statuses through language processing. For example, similar statuses to Done status 13526-1 may be considered the same, such as a Completed status.
Haramati ¶ [0292] 4th sentence: in Fig.7A, the computing device may alter the display in the table by altering the display of the second column 506, such as by changing a visual effect (e.g., adding a strikethrough line) of a visual object (e.g. texts May 28) to indicate that task 3 is completed in time. Similarly, ¶ [0293] 4th sentence: Compared with the table 700A, in Fig.7B, the computing device may alter the display of the second column 506 by adding visual objects (e.g., a checkmark symbol near the text “May 28,” a clock-like symbol near the text “July 31,” and an exclamation-mark symbol near the text “June 30,” respectively) to indicate that task 3 is completed in time, that task 2 is neither completed nor overdue, and that task 1 is overdue, respectively.
Haramati ¶ [0399], ¶ [0448] 5th-6th sentences: When an item is completed after its scheduled completion date, the graphical representation may have a different appearance than would occur if the item was completed on time. Such difference in appearance may be reflected in color, style, image, or any other manner.
Haramati ¶ [0462] Item 4 (3308) is marked as done. Due date July 31 (3320) has not yet passed but the project is already complete as stated in the status column 3312. The item-associated variable time-based graphic 3328 representing item progress shows a partially greyed-out progress bar depicting progress as of the current date, July 7, at 9:32 AM shown on world clock 3338. Greyed out portion of progress bar 3328 indicate number of days since project has started and blacked out portion of progress bar 3328 may indicate number of days until due date “July 31” 3320. In some embodiments, the item-associated variable time-based graphic 3328 may indicate (using graphics) that the due date has not passed and that the project is complete.
Haramati ¶ [0643] depiction of a battery 6302 shows a battery-shape representation that consolidates all of the statuses of the tasks included in the aggregate table, such as done status value in the aggregate table. Also, the depiction of a battery 6302 includes the text 32.5% done reflecting that 32.5% of the tasks associated with the statuses are Done. That is, of all the tasks included in the aggregate table, 32.5% are completed. This text may be a default or may be configured to present the percentage makeup or any of the status values in the aggregate table.
Haramati ¶ [0762] 6th sentence: the movement parameters may correlate with a common status, such as a celebratory animation by all the moving objects when the status of all tasks represented as objects changes to “completed” or “done. ¶ [0808])
Claim 7. Haramati teaches all the limitations in claim 1 above. Furthermore,
Haramati teaches “wherein one or more of the actionable items includes access to an API associated with a third party service” (Haramati ¶ [0586] 1st sentence: communications rule 5807 in Fig.58 enable collaborative work system or 3rd party provider like WhatsApp or Viber to automatically message, and update a column with a user selection when an item is created in the collaborative work system. For example at ¶ [0530] 2nd-4th sentences: The system may associate logical template 3704 with table 3800 in Fig.38. The system may monitor (e.g., via an API, such as periodic polling API) one or more rows (e.g., any combination of the rows that includes Task 1,2, or 3) of the table 3800 to determine whether “this” happens in one of the rows. If “this” happens, the system may execute “something” as defined in the logical template 3704.
Haramati ¶ [0532] 3rd sentence: In this example, the system may monitor (e.g., via an API, such as a periodic polling API) the table 3800, and if a due date (e.g., in the second column 3806) of a row (e.g. the row including “Task 1”) changes (e.g., from “June 30” to “August 31”), the system may execute the logic operations defined in the logic template 4704 to operate on the row by notifying someone (e.g., sending an email to a person supervising Task 1).
Claim 8. Haramati teaches all the limitations in claim 1 above. Furthermore,
Haramati teaches “further coupled to an audit database, and the operations further comprising storing the workflow modification instructions in the audit database”.
(Haramati teaches several examples starting with ¶ [0283] 2nd -3rd sentences: Monitoring, refer to processes or procedures of inspecting, checking, or keeping track of statuses or changes of an object. For example, if the object is a computer data object stored in the memory, monitoring the computer data object may be implemented as inspecting it (e.g., continuously or periodically) to determine whether there is any change in the memory space where it is stored. Similarly,
Haramati ¶ [0529] 5th-7th sentences: Monitoring, refer to any process or procedure of inspecting, checking, or keeping track of statuses or changes of an object. For example, if the object is a computer data object stored in the memory, monitoring the computer data object may be implemented by inspecting it (e.g., continuously or periodically) to determine whether the is any change in the memory space where it is stored. The inspection may be implemented via an API (e.g., a periodic polling API or a timer).
Haramat¶ [0713] 3rd sentence: when a task is assigned to an individual, the assignment may be maintained and stored in a repository. ¶ [0725] 2nd sentence: When an indication is received that the current geographical location of the particular individual assigned to a task has changed [or modified] to a new location, the system may send an update to the repository to reflect a new, current location of the computing device associated with the particular individual.
Haramati ¶ [0220] 2nd sentence, ¶ [0222] once a customized template is stored in a repository, a user of computing device 100 may download and integrate the customized template to the computing device 100 for their own user-facing application. In some embodiments the network 210 require the user of computing device 100 to provide an authentication to authorize the download of the customized template from the network 210 or from the repository 230-1.
Haramati ¶ [0243] 1st-2nd sentences: the processor compare the identified authentication with predefined authentication inputs contained in the repository to determine whether the identified authentication corresponds to a predefined authentication input contained in the repository. For example, the predefined authentication inputs in the repository may be based on users who may be verified subscribers to the customized template. ¶ [0365] last two sentences: In order for the user account to access the data in the particular cell, the system would have to determine and verify that the user account has both row and column permissions granted for the particular cell before granting access to the particular cell. The owner or administrator of the table may reconfigure and further grant or customize these permissions according to the owner's preference at any point in time.
Haramati ¶ [0231] Once the original author or other authorized user completed the update to the customized template, the updated customized template may be stored in the repository. In some embodiments, the data record previously associated with the customized template and stored in the repository above may be overwritten with a data record associated with the updated customized template. In other embodiments, a computing device may determine the difference between the existing data record and the updated data record and selectively overwrite the existing data record to reflect the differences. Furthermore, the computing device may store the updated customized template automatically at a predetermined interval, thereby preventing any loss of data due to unexpected crashes or the user's negligence in saving the changes periodical)
Claim 9. Haramati teaches all the limitations in claim 1 above. Furthermore,
Haramati teach one or more of the actionable items is assignable to one or more users
(Haramati ¶ [0709]-¶ [0710], ¶ [0713] 1st-4th sentences: the processor may be configured to, for each task of the plurality of tasks in each of the tables, retrieve from the data structure and display an indication identifying an assigned individual. Identity of individual may be represented by indicators as described herein. For example, when a task is assigned to an individual, the assignment may be maintained and stored in a repository. An identifier representing the individual may also be associated with the task and maintained and stored in the repository. The at least one processor may retrieve the identifier of the individual and display that identifier in a table in order to provide a visual representation of the assignment of the task to the individual.
Haramati ¶ [0717] 1st sentence: the processor may be configured to receive, via a computing device of the particular individual an indication that the assigned current geographical location of the particular individual has changed to a new location. ¶ [0725] 2nd sentence: When an indication is received that the current geographical location of the particular individual assigned to a task has changed to a new location, the system may send an update to the repository to reflect a new, current location of the computing device associated with the particular individual)
Claim 10. Haramati teaches all the limitations in claim 9 above. Furthermore,
Haramati teaches “wherein each of the users is associated with the workflow”.
(Haramati ¶ [0020] 4th-6th sentences: At least one task assigned to a particular individual from the plurality of geographically disbursed individuals may be retrieved from the data structure and displayed in each of a plurality of tables, together with a display of a subgroup of the plurality of tasks assigned to others of the plurality of geographically disbursed individuals. For each task of the plurality of tasks in each of the plurality of tables, an indication identifying an assigned individual may be retrieved from the data structure and displayed. For each individual assigned to each task in each table, an indication identifying an assigned current geographical location may be retrieved from the data structure and displayed.
Haramati ¶ [0179] 1st-3rd sentences: This disclosure presents various mechanisms for collaborative work systems. Such systems involve software that enables multiple users to work collaboratively. By way of one example, workflow management software enable various members of a team to cooperate via a common online platform. ¶ [0383] 1st sentence, ¶ [0482] 1st sentence, ¶ [0624] 1st sentence, ¶ [0743] 1st sentence: collaborative work system utilize workflow management software that enables members of a team to cooperate via a common online platform (e.g., a website). ¶ [0348] 3rd-5th sentences: Each item, row, and/or column may be configured to send a notification to every user associated with the item via the responsibility cell when any change is made to that particular item. A notification may be sent to a single individual or multiple individuals identified within the responsibility cell. If there are multiple individuals in the responsibility cell, the same notification may be sent to each of the individuals, or different notifications may be sent depending on implementation. ¶ [0384] 3rd sentence: the table may provide a technical solution of enhancing displaying more important data in the table, assisting workflow management and content focus for the user, increasing beauty and attractiveness of the table during presentation (in a report meeting), and improve overall user experience of the table
Haramati ¶ [0686] the at least one processor may be configured to enable the plurality of individuals to simultaneously run timers reflecting current work time of each individual. Timers may be simultaneously run by one or more individuals, such that the timers run concurrently. The current work time of each individual may include the total amount of time spent by that individual on a specified project as captured by the timer associated with that project. The system may enable the one or more individuals to run timers separately and simultaneously, which may allow multiple timers to individually capture the current work time of each individual who may be working on each project. The multiple timers may each correspond to the same project for different individuals or may correspond to different projects for a single individual. For example, multiple individuals may each run their own timer to capture the amount of time spent by each of them for common projects across different products. The system may be capable of maintaining multiple individual timers corresponding to each individual working on each common project. The individual timers may run at the same time or independently at different times. Additionally, or alternatively, the individual timers may start and stop simultaneously or independently).
Rejections under 35 § U.S.C. 103
Claims 11,12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Haramati as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of
Ou et al, US 20210349753 A1 hereinafter Ou. As per,
Claim 11. Haramati teaches all the limitations in claim 10 above.
Haramati however does not explicitly recite as claimed the combination of:
a) electronically receiving reassignment instructions, the reassignment instructions comprising a request to reassign one or more of the actionable items from a first user to a second user;
b) automatically generating an updated workflow based on the reassignment instructions”
c) electronically communicating updated workflow presentation instructions to the user device, the updated workflow presentation instructions configured to present the updated workflow
Ou however in analogous art of task assignment teaches or at least suggests:
a) electronically receiving reassignment instructions, the reassignment instructions comprising a request to reassign one or more of the actionable items from a first user to a second user;
(Ou Fig.6C and ¶ [0107] Referring to Fig. 6C, also in response to detecting nearby device, UI may activate one or more gestures for shifting tasks to the nearby user (i.e., the user shown by indictor 610). For example, first task 604 a (Issue A) can be shifted [or reassigned] to nearby user (User B) using a UI gesture, such as by swiping on the task, as shown by arrow 614 in Fig.6C. In other embodiments, tasks can be shifted using a click, tap, or swipe, or other non-UI gestures, such as a quick movement or turn of the device or contact of devices. In response to receiving user input to shift the task 604 a, metadata for the task 604 a can be transmitted to the nearby device via the P2P link. The metadata may include sufficient information to allow the nearby device to displayed the task 604 a in a similar manner as it was displayed by UI 600. As with indictor 610, the task shifting gestures 614 can be deactivated or otherwise removed when the P2P link terminates (e.g., the other device moves out of range to connect via P2P connection with the device). Thus, the illustrative UI 600 dynamically changes in response to nearby devices.
Ou ¶ [0108] In some embodiments, the user device may identify related tasks in the task list 602 and may prompt if the user would like to transfer related tasks in response to shifting a first task. Identification of related tasks may be based on task descriptions, task groups, etc.
Ou ¶ [0110] Figs.7A-7C show illustrative UI 700 for receiving a shifted task from a nearby computing device, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. The UI 700 can be implemented within a task-based app executable on a user device, such as app 504 of Fig.5. In more detail, UI 700 may be presented by second user device 502 b when receiving a task from nearby, first user device 506 a)
b) automatically generating an updated workflow based on the reassignment instructions
(Ou ¶ [0113] Fig.7C shows a second task 704 b added to the task list 702. The second task 704 b may have been shifted by the nearby device (User A) by sending metadata for the task via a P2P link. For example, task 704 b of Fig.7C may be the same as task 604 a in Fig.6C. Using the received metadata, UI 700 can display the task in its task list and indicate that the task has been reassigned (“Assigned to you by User A”). That is, task 704 b can be rendered in UI 700 using only the P2P-transferred metadata and without waiting for the server to send data for the task 704 a. For example, the metadata can include a task title 706, a task description (not shown), a list of actions that can be performed on the task (e.g., actions corresponding to buttons 708 and 710), and a task id (not shown). It should be understood that other information can be displayed for a shifted task and that the information shown in Fig.7C is merely illustrative. For example, in embodiments where task list 702 includes tasks from one more different microapps, the task's app name and app icon may be included in the metadata and displayed by UI 700.
Ou ¶ [0114] the task list 702 may be ordered or ranked by task priority. In this case, task list 702 may be re-ordered based on priority and in response to a newly received task so that higher priority tasked are position at the top of the list. For example, referring to Fig.7C, new task 704 b may be displayed above existing task 704 a if it has a higher priority); “and”
c) “electronically communicating updated workflow presentation instructions to the user device, the updated workflow presentation instructions configured to present the updated workflow” (Ou ¶ [0095] Using the metadata received via P2P link 550, the second user device 502 b can display the task in its task list, indicating that the task is now assigned to the user of the second device 502 b. In more detail, tasks module 506 of second user device 502 b can use the received metadata to update and display its task list to include the shifted task. ¶ [0097] 1st sentence: If the requested reassignment is valid, server device 520 can update the tasks database 528 to reflect the reassignment and send a push notification or other type of notification to second user device 502 b that the task is now assigned thereto. For example, at
Ou ¶ [0114] the task list 702 may be ordered or ranked by task priority. In this case, task list 702 may be re-ordered based on priority and in response to a newly received task so that higher priority tasked are position at the top of the list. For example, referring to Fig.7C, new task 704 b may be displayed above existing task 704 a if it has a higher priority
Ou ¶ [0122] 8th - 9th sentences: In some embodiments, this can include displaying buttons or other UI controls corresponding to the actions in the list of actions. In some embodiments, the user device can add to transferred task to its displayed task list, such as task list 702 in Fig.7C);
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Haramati to have included Ou’s teachings or suggestions in order to have better mitigated the time consuming and inefficient process of task assignment (Ou ¶ [0003] in view of MPEP 2143 G and/or F). The predictability of such modification would have been corroborated by the broad levels of skills of one of ordinary skills in the art as articulated by Haramati ¶ [0135]-¶ [0139] in view of Ou ¶ [0148]- ¶ [0149].
Further, the claimed invention could have also been viewed as a mere combination of old elements in a similar task assignment field of endeavor. In such combination each element merely would have performed the same analytical and management function as it did separately. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, given the existing technical ability to combine the elements as evidenced by Haramati in view of Ou, the to be combined elements would have fitted together like pieces of a puzzle in a logical, commentary, technologically feasible and/or economically desirable manner. Thus, it would have been reasoned that the combination results would have been predictable (MPEP 2143 A).
Claim 12. Haramati/Ou teaches all the limitations in claim 11 above.
Haramati teaches or suggests “further coupled to an audit database, and the operations further comprising storing the reassignment instructions in the audit database”
(Haramati ¶ [0713] 3rd sentence: when task is assigned to an individual, the assignment may be maintained and stored in a repository. ¶ [0725] 2nd sentence: When an indication is received that the current geographical location of the particular individual assigned to a task has changed [or modified] to a new location, the system may send an update to the repository to reflect a new, current location of the computing device associated with the particular individual.
Ou also teaches or suggests: “further coupled to an audit database, and the operations further comprising storing the reassignment instructions in the audit database”
(Ou ¶ [0080] 2nd -3rd sentences: database 528 may store task groups with which the task is associated or otherwise assigned, and info identifying which user the task is currently assigned to. In some embodiments, tasks database 528 may store priority information for tasks
Ou ¶ [0081] database 526 can be configured to store information about users of the task-based app 504. For example, for a particular user, database 526 may store information describing which task groups the user is assigned to or otherwise associated with, and information describing the user's role or roles within the organization and/or task groups.
Ou ¶ [0082] 1st -2nd sentences: Task management module 524 manage assignments of tasks (e.g., tasks defined within tasks database 528) to users (e.g., users defined within users database 526). Task management module 524 may implement and enforce validation rules regarding which tasks can be assigned to which users, and when such assignments may occur.
Ou ¶ [0086] tasks module 506 may keep track of which application tasks are associated with, for example by storing or otherwise associating an app id with individual tasks in its task list. An “app id” can be any value that uniquely identifies a particular app or microapp from among the set of available apps/microapps available within the system 500
Ou ¶ [0097] 1st sentence: If the requested reassignment is valid, server device 520 can update the tasks database 528 to reflect the reassignment and send a push notification or other type of notification to second user device 502 b that the task is now assigned thereto).
The reasons to have modified/combined Haramati with/and Ou were presented above.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Conclusion
This Office action has an attached requirement for information under 37 C.F.R. § 1.105. A complete response to this Office action must include a complete response to the attached requirement for information. The time period for reply to the attached requirement coincides with the time period for reply to this Office action.
Following art is made of record and considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
WO 2004102454 A2 teaching An end user oriented workflow approach including structured processing of ad hoc workflows with a collaborative process engine
US 20050027585 A1 reciting at
- ¶ [0028] One example of a configurable workflow system 100 is shown in FIG. 1. As illustrated there, users interact with a workflow server 102 via workflow clients 104. As number of different workflow clients are possible, as shown in other figures. In interactions with workflow server 102, users can view tasks, change state of tasks (from pending to done, removed, transferred, obsoleted, etc.) and the like. The tasks, state information and other data needed or used in the workflow process is stored in storage 106. Standard workflows are stored in storage 108 and are typically provided by an administrative system 110, but might be also provided by an external workflow system 124.
- ¶ [0029] last sentence: “To provide some structure for users to start with, templates, stored in storage 122 by administrative system 110, might be coupled to workflow server 102”.
- Fig.4A AND ¶ [0057] “The workflow engine supports changes of workflow templates while they are executing. End users can add steps, change the sequence of steps, and modify steps in the workflow process. Every time the workflow definition is changed, a new version of the workflow definition should be created. The next step of the corresponding workflow instance already adheres to the update workflow process definition”.
Mauricio Aizawa, Zapier, How to Automate Asana Tasks creation using Evernote, youtube excerpts, March 16th 2018, teaching automation of asana using zapper as revealed by following excerpts:
US 20130179208 A1 teaching the use of a user interface to automate tasks as taught at Figs. 5A-B extracted immediately below and associated text
Paul Minors, How to automate your tasks, youtube excerpts, October 18, 2019
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OCTAVIAN ROTARU whose telephone number is (571)270-7950. The examiner can normally be reached on 571.270.7950 from 9AM to 6PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, PATRICIA H MUNSON, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-5396. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from Patent Center. Status information for published applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Patent Center for authorized users only. Should you have questions about access to Patent Center, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) Form at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated- interview-request-air-form.
/OCTAVIAN ROTARU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624 A
April 4th, 2026
1 In re Hiniker Co 150 F3d 1362 1369 47 USPQ2d 1523, 1529 Fed Cir 1998.
2 Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016);
TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016)
3 Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
4 FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., 839 F.3d 1089, 1095, 120 USPQ2d 1293, 1296 (Fed. Cir. 2016);
5 FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., 839 F.3d 1089, 1095, 120 USPQ2d 1293, 1296 (Fed. Cir. 2016);
6 Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1370-71, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1642 (Fed. Cir. 2015);
7 Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016)