DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on 01/12/2026. Claims 1-30 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 8, 16 and 23 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-13, 15-19, 22-27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohalik (US PGPub 20210165690), in view of Wang (US PGPub 20180266717), in view of Kim (US PGPub 20160106616), in view of Heimlich (US Patent 5903886), and further in view of Murrish (US Patent 10431336), and further in view of Chbat (US PGPub 20130290231).
As per Claim 1. Mohalik teaches of a method of configuring finite state machines (FSMs) for applications, comprising: receiving, by at least one server, for an application, a configuration file for an application, the configuration file including human-readable instructions defining a plurality of FSMs, (Par 12, Each task may be defined as a Finite State Machine (FSM). For example, FIG. 2 depicts the FSM for a Firmware Update, as defined in the LWM2M Specification (V1_0-20170208-A, p. 117). Par 19, Configuration information regarding events and conditions to observe and report to the TOM is received from the TOM. Par 16, A finite state machine (FSM) specification associated with the task is retrieved from a service hosted at a task uniform resource locator (tURL), based on the task-ID. Successively for each of a plurality of states in the FSM, one or more actions associated with the state, and events and conditions for all transitions out of the state, are ascertained; it is determined that at least one action can be performed by the M2M device. Par 15, The tasks are specified using Finite State Machine (FSM) syntax, which defines a plurality of states, actions performed within each state or during state transitions, and the events and conditions (indicated by state variables) that specify transitions between the states. Par 36, As used herein, a task is one or more actions, which are performed in response to conditions and events, in a predetermined manner to accomplish a specific function. Examples of tasks include firmware update, bootstrapping, rebooting, location update, status check, and the like.)
each of the plurality of FSMs comprising: (i) a plurality of states including at least a first state and a second state, each of plurality of transactions specifying an output to provide via the application, and (ii) a plurality of transitions, each of which specifies an event to be detected via the application to transition from the first state to the second state, the event corresponding to a user action to be performed via the application for the respective activity; (Par 15, The tasks are specified using Finite State Machine (FSM) syntax, which defines a plurality of states, actions performed within each state or during state transitions, and the events and conditions (indicated by state variables) that specify transitions between the states. Par 36, As used herein, a task is one or more actions, which are performed in response to conditions and events, in a predetermined manner to accomplish a specific function. Par 12, In the FSM diagram, states are represented as rounded rectangles, and transitions between states are drawn as arrows. The labels on state transition arrows have the syntax of trigger [guard]/behavior, where trigger is an event that may cause a state transition, guard is a condition, and behavior is an activity that executes while the transition takes place. States may also include assertions and variable assignments. For example, the IDLE state asserts that the variable “Update Result” (abbreviated “Res”) must be between 0 and 9. The IDLE state also sets the State variable to 0.)
Mohalik does not specifically teach, however Wang teaches of generating, by the at least one server, using the human-readable instructions of the configuration file, an intermediary instructions defining the plurality of FSMs; and (Fig. 1 and 6A and Par 34, In an embodiment according to the present invention, the state machine definition text-file T1, for example, is based on an Extensible Markup Language (XML) format. In another embodiment according to the present invention, the state machine definition text-file T1, for example, is based on a JavaScript Object Notation (JSON) format. Par 9-11, Users are not required to learn the program languages corresponding to the mechanical execution codes of air-conditioning equipment and allowed to use simple texts to define the required multiple states and switching conditions among the states, which are automatically transformed by the system for creating corresponding finite-state machine enabling the operation of the air-conditioning equipment to meet the user's requirements and deliver convenient usages.)
transmitting, by the at least one server, the intermediary instructions generated from the configuration file to the application to generate machine-readable instructions defining the plurality of FSMs to be selectively invoked by the application. (Par 8, The cloud control platform receives a state-machine definition text-file written by a user from a user terminal. The state-machine executor module translates a description content of the state-machine definition text-file into mechanical execution codes which is compatible with the air-conditioning equipment, and executes the mechanical execution codes for creating a finite state-machine. The ICS therefore controls the air-conditioning equipment according to the created finite state-machine. Claim 1, receiving the state machine definition text-file from the cloud control platform, and translating the description content of the state-machine definition text-file into a mechanical execution code which is compatible with the air-conditioning equipment. Par 27, After transforming the description content of the state machine definition text-file T1 into the mechanical execution codes, the state machine executor module 12 further executes the mechanical execution codes to create a finite-state machine F1 corresponding to the description content (i.e. The above mentioned states and conditions). Par 28, Specifically, the mechanical execution codes are generated via the state machine executor module 12 compiling the description content of the state machine definition text-file T1, so the created finite-state machine F1 (for example the finite-state machine shown in FIG. 6B) matches the description content of the state machine definition text-file T1. Thus, the intelligent control system 2 assures that the operations of the air-conditioning equipment 3 meet user's requirements (i.e., meet the description content of the state machine definition text-file T1).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add generating, by the at least one server, using the human-readable instructions of the configuration file, an intermediary instructions defining the plurality of FSMs; and providing, by the at least one server, the intermediary instructions generated from the configuration file to the application to generate machine-readable instructions defining the plurality of FSMs to be selectively invoked by the application, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Wang, into that of Mohalik because this modification can help modify the states, the conditions, the events and the transitions of the FSMs using human-readable instructions and compile them in machine-executable code via GUI in order to facilitate the FSM updates.
Neither Mohalik nor Wang specifically teaches, however Kim teaches of based on a condition to be addressed in a user of the application; a plurality of FSMs for a corresponding plurality of activities to be performed to address the condition of the user; a user action performed via the application corresponding to the respective event; … the plurality of FSMs to be selectively invoked by the application to provide one or more of the plurality of outputs to address the condition of the user (Par 13-14, The recognizing may include recognizing the motion, using a finite state machine (FSM) based on a relationship between motions of the user. The FSM may include at least one state based on a motion of the user, and a transition condition between the at least one state may be based on the motion event. Par 72-76, The motion of the user may include but is not limited to, for example, a standing motion, a walking motion, a sitting motion, a sit-to-stand motion, or a stand-to-sit motion, etc. For instance, another motion of the user may be a jumping motion. To distinguish and recognize the above-described motions, the motion recognizer 240 may use a finite state machine (FSM) based on a relationship between motions of the user. The FSM may include at least one state based on motions of the user. For example, each of the standing motion, the walking motion, the sitting motion, the sit-to-stand motion, and the stand-to-sit motion may each correspond to a single state. Additionally, a transition condition between states of the FSM may be based on a motion event. Motions of the user may be consecutively performed as described above, and may transition to each other based on a desired and/or predetermined motion event. Accordingly, based on the above relationship between the motions, the transition condition may be set to be a motion event. For example, when the previous motion is a standing motion, and when a swing event occurs, the current motion may be recognized as a walking motion. In this example, when a descending event occurs, the current motion may be recognized as a sitting state. The motion recognizer 240 may recognize the motion of the user using the FSM. As described above, the FSM may include at least one state based on the motion of the user, and a transition condition between states of the FSM may be based on a motion event. A method by which the motion recognizer 240 recognizes the motion of the user using the FSM will be further described with reference to FIG. 6.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a plurality of FSMs for a corresponding plurality of activities to be performed to address the condition of the user; the plurality of FSMs to be selectively invoked by the application to provide one or more of the plurality of outputs to address the condition of the user, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Kim, into that of Mohalik and Wang because this modification can help determine the user’s condition based on the activities of the user via transitions of the FSMs in order to facilitate the FSM updates.
None of Mohalik, Wang and Kim specifically teaches, however Heimlich teaches of the output comprising at least one of (a) content to be provided as a user interface element via a user interface of the application, or (b) an instruction corresponding to the content (Fig. 6 and col 24, lines 10-17, The fuzzy neural nets contained within the virtual tools are created through a user interface (UI) provided as part of the invention. The UI may or not be graphical. The UI allows the user to create, configure, and train fuzzy neural nets for inclusion within one or more virtual tools. The UI also allows the user to create, configure, and edit the configurable finite state machines that control the execution of the virtual tools. Col 18, lines 53-57, FIG. 6 depicts the elements of the Tool Manager. The legend or description of the elements of FIG. 6 follows: a) Element A "State Machine"--a software component of the invention, a finite state machine which controls the interaction of all other software components and the flow of data into and out of those components. Col 27, lines 25-31, This system could be further configured with means for accepting input information from an end user into the user interface, such as a keyboard, means for presenting output information to an end user, such as a printer and/or display, means for control by the dynamically reloadable finite state machine, and means for self-learning through the model-free estimator. Col 10, lines 8-18, The operation of the virtual tools is supervised and sequenced by the state machine elements of the Tool Manager of FIG. 6, as shown in FIG. 12. The state machine component of the Tool Manager provides the inputs to the virtual tools, monitors its progress toward completion by way of the Events in FIG. 11, and manages the virtual tools' outputs. Upon completion, the outputs [instructions] are stored such that they can be accessed by virtual tools to be executed later in the process emulation. Col 7, lines 49-52, Each task represents an elementary unit of work for which inputs and outputs are clearly defined and are finite and manageable in terms of their number and ease of representation in the normal course of the task [instructions]. Col 7, line 65-Col 8, line 1, As shown in FIG. 10a, the purpose of the task in a process is such as to perform a unit transformation from the Inputs X to the Outputs, Y. Element Task (actual) refers to the process by which the task is performed.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the output comprising at least one of (a) content to be provided as a user interface element via a user interface of the application, or (b) an instruction corresponding to the content, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Heimlich, into that of Mohalik, Wang and Kim because this modification can help analyze the output of FSMs via graphical user interface based on the activities of the user via transitions of the FSMs in order to facilitate the FSM updates and analysis.
None of Mohalik, Wang, Kim and Heimlich specifically teaches, however Murrish teaches of (a) content to be provided as a user interface element via a user interface of the application, the content corresponding to at least one operation, or (b) an instruction corresponding to the content corresponding to the at least one operation, wherein the at least one operation comprises at least one of a therapeutic activity, a psychoeducation lesson, or a treatment-related user interaction (Fig. 7 and col 17, lines 19-23, For example, a finite state machine solver may have states determined by the resolved patient information and the transitions between states determined by parameters specified in a content table. An example instantiated finite state machine solver is illustratively provided in FIG. 7. Col 19, line 56, Col 20, line 40, Once solvers are instantiated, they are applied at a step 420 to determine a patient condition or recommended treatment. For example, in one embodiment, a finite state machine solver is evaluated. In this example, the content tables, such as example content tables illustratively provided in FIG. 6B, provide parameters specifying the transition conditions for each state of the finite state machine, while the discretized patient information, such as the illustrative example of discretized patient information provided in FIG. 6A, provides the states of the finite state machine. Accordingly, the states of the finite state machine correspond to conditions of the patient. Based on this, the finite state machine maybe traversed and the current state (i.e., condition) of the patient determined. FIG. 7 provides an illustrative example of a finite state machine suitable for use in this example. In one embodiment, each vertical column of the finite state machine corresponds to a different condition-type of the patient, and each state within each column corresponds to a specific condition. For example, one of the columns of the finite state machine of FIG. 7 corresponds to a DM (diabetes) condition-type. Within this column, three states are present: euglycemia, hypoglycemia, and hyperglycemia. Adjacent to each state are transition parameters specifying conditions necessary to transition to another state. For example, a patient will be in the Hyperglycemia state when the discretized patient information indicates that “GLU 140 mg/dL.” In some instances, evaluating each state of the finite state machine may require invoking another solver, such as a mixed integer solver—a type of linear solver. The output of step 420 is a determined condition or recommended treatment for the patient. Once patient conditions and recommended treatments are determined, at a step 422, an action or patient disposition is determined. The action, which can include orders, results, notifications, plans, or other actions, or patient disposition is determined based on the conditions or recommended treatments. In one embodiment, this is determined using an expert rules engine, such as the expert rules engine described in connection to FIG. 1A. In another embodiment, an agent or a non-agent decision process is used to determine one or more actions, based on the determined patient conditions and recommended treatments. In some instances a determined patient disposition or action may specify running another plan, performing additional testing, or based on a determined patient condition, may specify that additional problems are present. In these cases, the process provided in FIG. 4A may repeat, as described in FIG. 2 at step 260. In some embodiments, the determined action or patient disposition may be formatted and presented to a physician, other health care personnel, or user, using a user interface, such as user interface 140 described above in connection to FIG. 1A.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add (a) content to be provided as a user interface element via a user interface of the application, the content corresponding to at least one operation, or (b) an instruction corresponding to the content corresponding to the at least one operation, wherein the at least one operation comprises at least one of a therapeutic activity, a psychoeducation lesson, or a treatment-related user interaction, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Murrish, into that of Mohalik, Wang, Kim and Heimlich because this modification can help improve clarity and prediction for patient treatment by modeling patient conditions and physician’s recommendation by breaking down complex procedures into states and transitions in FSM.
None of Mohalik, Wang, Kim, Heimlich and Murrish specifically teaches, however Chbat teaches of the plurality of FSMs to be selectively invoked by a logic engine of the application, the logic engine configured to provide one or more of the plurality of outputs (Par 7, inputting clinical definition-based logic flows, pre-ICU information, and ICU data into a state machine. The method further includes aggregating output information from each of the inference algorithm, the Bayesian network, and the state machine to determine whether the patient has the specified medical condition, and outputting the determination of whether the patient has the specified condition to a user. Par 20, The logic flow generated by the logic flow generation module 128 is used by the processor 102 to configure a state machine 138. Par 23, For instance, the interface algorithm 134 deals with imprecise and/or subjective values (e.g., warm or cool, large or small, etc.), while the Bayesian network deals with discrete values, such as heart rate, respiratory rate, etc. The state machine accounts for logical if-then flows or information, and outputs a status (e.g., yes or no).)
wherein the output corresponds to presentation on the application for at least one operation to address the condition and (Par 5, The instructions further comprise determining whether a patient has the medical condition based at least in part on the aggregated output information, and controlling a display to display the determination of whether the patient has the medical condition to a user on a display. Par 19, The inputs 112 are analyzed and/or manipulated by a plurality of algorithms [application] 114 executed and/or maintained by the processor 102 to generate a plurality of outputs 116 that are presented to a user on the display 110.)
wherein the at least one operation … to address the condition (Par 20, Pre-ICU data may include without limitation data related to patient demographics, chronic diseases and conditions, and events data. Par 6, The method further includes aggregating output information from each of the inference algorithm, the Bayesian network, and the finite state machine, determining whether a patient has the medical condition based at least in part on the aggregated output information, and controlling a display to display the determination of whether the patient has the medical condition to a user on a display.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the plurality of FSMs to be selectively invoked by a logic engine of the application, the logic engine configured to provide one or more of the plurality of outputs; wherein the output corresponds to presentation on the application for at least one operation to address the condition and wherein the at least one operation … to address the condition, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Chbat, into that of Mohalik, Wang, Kim, Heimlich and Murrish because this modification can help display the patient condition executed by FSM and logic engine from the application to provide physician’s recommendation by breaking down complex procedures into states and transitions in FSM.
As per Claim 2, Mohalik does not specifically teach, however Wang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein each transition of the plurality of transitions in at least one FSM of the plurality of FSMs specifies the event to be detected via a user interface element of the application, the event corresponding to the user action to be performed for the respective routine. (Fig 1 and Par 35, the user terminal 4 is, for example, a personal computer or a laptop computer, wherein a user may edit or write the state machine definition text-file T1 via a browser or other editing interfaces (such as editing applications for XML files or JSON files) of the user terminal 4. In another embodiment, the user terminal 4, for example, is a smart mobile device, wherein a user may edit or write the state machine definition text-file T1 via specific applications installed on the user terminal 4.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add each transition of the plurality of transitions in at least one FSM of the plurality of FSMs specifies the event to be detected via a user interface element of the application, the event corresponding to the user action to be performed for the respective routine, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Wang, into that of Mohalik because this modification can help modify the states, the conditions, the events and the transitions of the FSMs using human-readable instructions and compile them in machine-executable code via GUI in order to facilitate the FSM updates.
As per Claim 3. Mohalik further teaches of the method of claim 1, wherein at least one transition of the plurality of transition in a first FSM of the plurality of FSMs specifies the event to invoke a second FSM of the plurality of FSMs defined by the human-readable instructions of the configuration file. (Fig. 5 and Par 39, The FSM may be returned through a JavaScript Object Notation (JSON) object, as depicted in FIG. 5. The TOM 32 may optionally perform various tests on the FSM, such as a syntax check, to verify that the FSM specification is proper.)
As per Claim 4. Mohalik does not specifically teach, however Wang teaches of the method of claim 1, wherein at least one state of the plurality of states in at least one FSM of the plurality of FSMs identifies one or more user interface elements for presentation of the output via the application. (Fig 1 and Par 35, the user terminal 4 is, for example, a personal computer or a laptop computer, wherein a user may edit or write the state machine definition text-file T1 via a browser or other editing interfaces (such as editing applications for XML files or JSON files) of the user terminal 4. In another embodiment, the user terminal 4, for example, is a smart mobile device, wherein a user may edit or write the state machine definition text-file T1 via specific applications installed on the user terminal 4. It’s obvious that FSM states and transitions as in Fig 1 and 6A are represented as the graphical user interface elements to be edited or modified.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add at least one state of the plurality of states in at least one FSM of the plurality of FSMs identifies one or more user interface elements for presentation of the output via the application, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Wang, into that of Mohalik because this modification can help modify the states, the conditions, the events and the transitions of the FSMs using human-readable instructions and compile them in machine-executable code via GUI in order to facilitate the FSM updates.
As per Claim 5, Mohalik does not specifically teach, however Wang teaches of the method of claim 1, wherein identifying the configuration file further comprises receiving, from a computing device, a script including the human-readable instructions generated using a development application. (Par 8-10, The cloud control platform receives a state-machine definition text-file written by a user from a user terminal. The state-machine executor module translates a description content of the state-machine definition text-file into mechanical execution codes which is compatible with the air-conditioning equipment, and executes the mechanical execution codes for creating a finite state-machine. Users are not required to learn the program languages corresponding to the mechanical execution codes of air-conditioning equipment and allowed to use simple texts to define the required multiple states and switching conditions among the states, which are automatically transformed by the system for creating corresponding finite-state machine)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add receiving, from a computing device, a script including the human-readable instructions generated using a development application, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Wang, into that of Mohalik because this modification can help modify the states, the conditions, the events and the transitions of the FSMs using human-readable instructions and compile them in machine-executable code via GUI in order to facilitate the FSM updates.
As per Claim 6. Mohalik does not specifically teach, however Wang teaches of the method of claim 1, wherein providing the intermediary instructions further comprises sending, to a client device, the intermediary instructions to be loaded by the application installed on the client device. (Fig 6A and Par 58, When the state machine definition text-file T1 is completely written or generated, the state machine executor module 12 installed on the cloud control platform 1 or the state machine executor module 21 installed on the intelligent control system 2 may process the state machine definition text-file T1, and transforms the description content of the state machine definition text-file T1 to the mechanical execution codes compatible with the air-conditioning equipment 3 and executes the transformed mechanical execution codes to create a corresponding finite-state machine F1.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add sending, to a client device, the intermediary instructions to be loaded by the application installed on the client device, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Wang, into that of Mohalik because this modification can help modify the states, the conditions, the events and the transitions of the FSMs using human-readable instructions and compile them in machine-executable code via GUI in order to facilitate the FSM updates.
As per Claim 7. Mohalik does not specifically teach, however Wang teaches of the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, by the at least one server, from the application on a client device, a record entry identifying the user action associated with the event detected via a user interface element of the application. (Par 25, In the embodiment, the description content of the state machine definition text-file T1 records at least two states and the switching conditions of the at least two states (for example records “state 0”, “state 1”, “switch from state 0 to state 1 when the condition 1 is meet”, and “switch from state 1 to state 0 when the condition 2 is meet”). In another embodiment, the description content of the state machine definition text-file T1 may be contents directly recording specific control actions executed on the air-conditioning equipment 3 at specific time points (for example, “turning on the air-conditioning equipment 3 on a first time point”, “turning off the air-conditioning equipment 3 on a second time point”, etc.).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add receiving, by the at least one server, from the application on a client device, a record entry identifying the user action associated with the event detected via a user interface element of the application, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Wang, into that of Mohalik because this modification can help modify the states, the conditions, the events and the transitions of the FSMs using human-readable instructions and compile them in machine-executable code via GUI in order to facilitate the FSM updates.
Re Claim 8, it is the method claim, having similar limitations of claim 1. Thus, claim 8 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 1.
Re Claim 9, it is the method claim, having similar limitations of claim 2. Thus, claim 9 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 2.
Re Claim 10, it is the method claim, having similar limitations of claim 3. Thus, claim 10 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 3.
Re Claim 11, it is the method claim, having similar limitations of claim 4. Thus, claim 11 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 4.
Re Claim 12, it is the method claim, having similar limitations of claim 5. Thus, claim 12 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 5.
Re Claim 13, it is the method claim, having similar limitations of claim 6. Thus, claim 13 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 6.
Re Claim 15, it is the system claim, having similar limitations of claim 7. Thus, claim 15 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 7.
As per Claim 16, Mohalik teaches of a method of handling finite state machines (FSMs) on applications, comprising: identifying, by the application, the plurality of FSMs [defined by the machine-readable instructions], (Par 12, Each task may be defined as a Finite State Machine (FSM). For example, FIG. 2 depicts the FSM for a Firmware Update, as defined in the LWM2M Specification (V1_0-20170208-A, p. 117). Par 19, Configuration information regarding events and conditions to observe and report to the TOM is received from the TOM. Par 16, A finite state machine (FSM) specification associated with the task is retrieved from a service hosted at a task uniform resource locator (tURL), based on the task-ID. Successively for each of a plurality of states in the FSM, one or more actions associated with the state, and events and conditions for all transitions out of the state, are ascertained; it is determined that at least one action can be performed by the M2M device. Par 15, The tasks are specified using Finite State Machine (FSM) syntax, which defines a plurality of states, actions performed within each state or during state transitions, and the events and conditions (indicated by state variables) that specify transitions between the states. Par 36, As used herein, a task is one or more actions, which are performed in response to conditions and events, in a predetermined manner to accomplish a specific function. Examples of tasks include firmware update, bootstrapping, rebooting, location update, status check, and the like.)
each FSM of the plurality of FSMs identifying: (i) a respective first state of a plurality of states, each of the plurality of states specifying an output to provide via the application, and (ii) a plurality of transitions from the respective current state, each transition of the plurality of transitions specifying a respective event to be detected via application to transition a corresponding FSM from the first state to a second state, the respective event corresponding a user action to be performed via the application for the respective routine; (Par 15, The tasks are specified using Finite State Machine (FSM) syntax, which defines a plurality of states, actions performed within each state or during state transitions, and the events and conditions (indicated by state variables) that specify transitions between the states. Par 36, As used herein, a task is one or more actions, which are performed in response to conditions and events, in a predetermined manner to accomplish a specific function. Par 12, In the FSM diagram, states are represented as rounded rectangles, and transitions between states are drawn as arrows. The labels on state transition arrows have the syntax of trigger [guard]/behavior, where trigger is an event that may cause a state transition, guard is a condition, and behavior is an activity that executes while the transition takes place. States may also include assertions and variable assignments. For example, the IDLE state asserts that the variable “Update Result” (abbreviated “Res”) must be between 0 and 9. The IDLE state also sets the State variable to 0.Par 39, The FSM defines the task in terms of states and state transitions, actions performed within states or during transitions, and conditions and events triggering state transitions and the task completion. Events are either external events or the end of the execution of an action. Conditions are based on state variable exposed by the M2M device 20. Par 40, The TOM 32 then successively steps through each state in the FSM, according to the FSM state transition definitions. At each state, the TOM 32 ascertains one or more actions associated with the state, and events and conditions for all transitions out of the state. When a device is in a particular state and an action associated with the state is being executed, the state transition depends upon.)
updating, by the application, responsive to the detection of the user action, the FSM to from the respective first state to the second state to provide the output provided by the second state. (Par 67, As tasks are added and/or task definitions change, the relevant FSM can be updated and tested off-line. The revised FSM is then added to the service 38 at the tURL host 36. If the actions, events, and conditions specified can be implemented using library functions 22 in the M2M device 20, no reflashing or rebooting of the M2M device 20 is required. Par 17, Successively for each of a plurality of states in the FSM, the processing circuitry is operative to: ascertain one or more actions associated with the state, and events and conditions for all transitions out of the state; determine that at least one action can be performed by the M2M device;)
Mohalik does not specifically teach, however Wang teaches of loading, by an application upon execution on a client device, machine-readable instructions defining a plurality of FSMs for a corresponding plurality of routines to address a condition of the user; the plurality of FSMs defined by the machine-readable instructions (Par 8, The cloud control platform receives a state-machine definition text-file written by a user from a user terminal. The state-machine executor module translates a description content of the state-machine definition text-file into mechanical execution codes which is compatible with the air-conditioning equipment, and executes the mechanical execution codes for creating a finite state-machine. The ICS therefore controls the air-conditioning equipment according to the created finite state-machine. Claim 1, receiving the state machine definition text-file from the cloud control platform, and translating the description content of the state-machine definition text-file into a mechanical execution code which is compatible with the air-conditioning equipment. Par 27, After transforming the description content of the state machine definition text-file T1 into the mechanical execution codes, the state machine executor module 12 further executes the mechanical execution codes to create a finite-state machine F1 corresponding to the description content (i.e. The above mentioned states and conditions). Par 28, Specifically, the mechanical execution codes are generated via the state machine executor module 12 compiling the description content of the state machine definition text-file T1, so the created finite-state machine F1 (for example the finite-state machine shown in FIG. 6B) matches the description content of the state machine definition text-file T1. Thus, the intelligent control system 2 assures that the operations of the air-conditioning equipment 3 meet user's requirements (i.e., meet the description content of the state machine definition text-file T1).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add loading, by an application upon execution on a client device, machine-readable instructions defining a plurality of FSMs for a corresponding plurality of routines to address a condition of the user; the plurality of FSMs defined by the machine-readable instructions, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Wang, into that of Mohalik because this modification can help modify the states, the conditions, the events and the transitions of the FSMs using human-readable instructions and compile them in machine-executable code via GUI in order to facilitate the FSM updates.
Neither Mohalik nor Wang specifically teaches, however Kim teaches of a plurality of FSMs for a corresponding plurality of activities to be performed to address a condition in a user; based on the condition in the user to be addressed, each FSM of the plurality of FSMs; responsive to the user action performed via the application corresponding to the respective event, the corresponding FSM from the respective first state to the second state to provide the output of the plurality of outputs to address the condition of the user provided by the second state (Par 13-14, The recognizing may include recognizing the motion, using a finite state machine (FSM) based on a relationship between motions of the user. The FSM may include at least one state based on a motion of the user, and a transition condition between the at least one state may be based on the motion event. Par 72-76, The motion of the user may include but is not limited to, for example, a standing motion, a walking motion, a sitting motion, a sit-to-stand motion, or a stand-to-sit motion, etc. For instance, another motion of the user may be a jumping motion. To distinguish and recognize the above-described motions, the motion recognizer 240 may use a finite state machine (FSM) based on a relationship between motions of the user. The FSM may include at least one state based on motions of the user. For example, each of the standing motion, the walking motion, the sitting motion, the sit-to-stand motion, and the stand-to-sit motion may each correspond to a single state. Additionally, a transition condition between states of the FSM may be based on a motion event. Motions of the user may be consecutively performed as described above, and may transition to each other based on a desired and/or predetermined motion event. Accordingly, based on the above relationship between the motions, the transition condition may be set to be a motion event. For example, when the previous motion is a standing motion, and when a swing event occurs, the current motion may be recognized as a walking motion. In this example, when a descending event occurs, the current motion may be recognized as a sitting state. The motion recognizer 240 may recognize the motion of the user using the FSM. As described above, the FSM may include at least one state based on the motion of the user, and a transition condition between states of the FSM may be based on a motion event. A method by which the motion recognizer 240 recognizes the motion of the user using the FSM will be further described with reference to FIG. 6.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a plurality of FSMs for a corresponding plurality of activities to be performed to address a condition in a user; based on the condition in the user to be addressed, each FSM of the plurality of FSMs; responsive to the user action performed via the application corresponding to the respective event, the corresponding FSM from the respective first state to the second state to provide the output of the plurality of outputs to address the condition of the user provided by the second state, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Kim, into that of Mohalik and Wang because this modification can help determine the user’s condition based on the activities of the user via transitions of the FSMs in order to facilitate the FSM updates.
None of Mohalik, Wang and Kim specifically teaches, however Heimlich teaches of the output comprising at least one of (a) content to be provided as a user interface element via a user interface of the application, or (b) an instruction corresponding to the content (Fig. 6 and col 24, lines 10-17, The fuzzy neural nets contained within the virtual tools are created through a user interface (UI) provided as part of the invention. The UI may or not be graphical. The UI allows the user to create, configure, and train fuzzy neural nets for inclusion within one or more virtual tools. The UI also allows the user to create, configure, and edit the configurable finite state machines that control the execution of the virtual tools. Col 18, lines 53-57, FIG. 6 depicts the elements of the Tool Manager. The legend or description of the elements of FIG. 6 follows: a) Element A "State Machine"--a software component of the invention, a finite state machine which controls the interaction of all other software components and the flow of data into and out of those components. Col 27, lines 25-31, This system could be further configured with means for accepting input information from an end user into the user interface, such as a keyboard, means for presenting output information to an end user, such as a printer and/or display, means for control by the dynamically reloadable finite state machine, and means for self-learning through the model-free estimator. Col 10, lines 8-18, The operation of the virtual tools is supervised and sequenced by the state machine elements of the Tool Manager of FIG. 6, as shown in FIG. 12. The state machine component of the Tool Manager provides the inputs to the virtual tools, monitors its progress toward completion by way of the Events in FIG. 11, and manages the virtual tools' outputs. Upon completion, the outputs [instructions] are stored such that they can be accessed by virtual tools to be executed later in the process emulation. Col 7, lines 49-52, Each task represents an elementary unit of work for which inputs and outputs are clearly defined and are finite and manageable in terms of their number and ease of representation in the normal course of the task [instructions]. Col 7, line 65-Col 8, line 1, As shown in FIG. 10a, the purpose of the task in a process is such as to perform a unit transformation from the Inputs X to the Outputs, Y. Element Task (actual) refers to the process by which the task is performed.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the output comprising at least one of (a) content to be provided as a user interface element via a user interface of the application, or (b) an instruction corresponding to the content, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Heimlich, into that of Mohalik, Wang and Kim because this modification can help analyze the output of FSMs via graphical user interface based on the activities of the user via transitions of the FSMs in order to facilitate the FSM updates and analysis.
None of Mohalik, Wang, Kim and Heimlich specifically teaches, however Murrish teaches of (a) content to be provided as a user interface element via a user interface of the application, the content corresponding to at least one operation, or (b) an instruction corresponding to the content corresponding to the at least one operation, wherein the at least one operation comprises at least one of a therapeutic activity, a psychoeducation lesson, or a treatment-related user interaction (Fig. 7 and col 17, lines 19-23, For example, a finite state machine solver may have states determined by the resolved patient information and the transitions between states determined by parameters specified in a content table. An example instantiated finite state machine solver is illustratively provided in FIG. 7. Col 19, line 56, Col 20, line 40, Once solvers are instantiated, they are applied at a step 420 to determine a patient condition or recommended treatment. For example, in one embodiment, a finite state machine solver is evaluated. In this example, the content tables, such as example content tables illustratively provided in FIG. 6B, provide parameters specifying the transition conditions for each state of the finite state machine, while the discretized patient information, such as the illustrative example of discretized patient information provided in FIG. 6A, provides the states of the finite state machine. Accordingly, the states of the finite state machine correspond to conditions of the patient. Based on this, the finite state machine maybe traversed and the current state (i.e., condition) of the patient determined. FIG. 7 provides an illustrative example of a finite state machine suitable for use in this example. In one embodiment, each vertical column of the finite state machine corresponds to a different condition-type of the patient, and each state within each column corresponds to a specific condition. For example, one of the columns of the finite state machine of FIG. 7 corresponds to a DM (diabetes) condition-type. Within this column, three states are present: euglycemia, hypoglycemia, and hyperglycemia. Adjacent to each state are transition parameters specifying conditions necessary to transition to another state. For example, a patient will be in the Hyperglycemia state when the discretized patient information indicates that “GLU 140 mg/dL.” In some instances, evaluating each state of the finite state machine may require invoking another solver, such as a mixed integer solver—a type of linear solver. The output of step 420 is a determined condition or recommended treatment for the patient. Once patient conditions and recommended treatments are determined, at a step 422, an action or patient disposition is determined. The action, which can include orders, results, notifications, plans, or other actions, or patient disposition is determined based on the conditions or recommended treatments. In one embodiment, this is determined using an expert rules engine, such as the expert rules engine described in connection to FIG. 1A. In another embodiment, an agent or a non-agent decision process is used to determine one or more actions, based on the determined patient conditions and recommended treatments. In some instances a determined patient disposition or action may specify running another plan, performing additional testing, or based on a determined patient condition, may specify that additional problems are present. In these cases, the process provided in FIG. 4A may repeat, as described in FIG. 2 at step 260. In some embodiments, the determined action or patient disposition may be formatted and presented to a physician, other health care personnel, or user, using a user interface, such as user interface 140 described above in connection to FIG. 1A.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add (a) content to be provided as a user interface element via a user interface of the application, the content corresponding to at least one operation, or (b) an instruction corresponding to the content corresponding to the at least one operation, wherein the at least one operation comprises at least one of a therapeutic activity, a psychoeducation lesson, or a treatment-related user interaction, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Murrish, into that of Mohalik, Wang, Kim and Heimlich because this modification can help improve clarity and prediction for patient treatment by modeling patient conditions and physician’s recommendation by breaking down complex procedures into states and transitions in FSM.
None of Mohalik, Wang, Kim, Heimlich and Murrish specifically teaches, however Chbat teaches of the plurality of FSMs to be selectively invoked by a logic engine of the application, the logic engine configured to provide one or more of the plurality of outputs (Par 7, inputting clinical definition-based logic flows, pre-ICU information, and ICU data into a state machine. The method further includes aggregating output information from each of the inference algorithm, the Bayesian network, and the state machine to determine whether the patient has the specified medical condition, and outputting the determination of whether the patient has the specified condition to a user. Par 20, The logic flow generated by the logic flow generation module 128 is used by the processor 102 to configure a state machine 138. Par 23, For instance, the interface algorithm 134 deals with imprecise and/or subjective values (e.g., warm or cool, large or small, etc.), while the Bayesian network deals with discrete values, such as heart rate, respiratory rate, etc. The state machine accounts for logical if-then flows or information, and outputs a status (e.g., yes or no).)
wherein the output corresponds to presentation on the application for at least one operation to address the condition and (Par 5, The instructions further comprise determining whether a patient has the medical condition based at least in part on the aggregated output information, and controlling a display to display the determination of whether the patient has the medical condition to a user on a display. Par 19, The inputs 112 are analyzed and/or manipulated by a plurality of algorithms [application] 114 executed and/or maintained by the processor 102 to generate a plurality of outputs 116 that are presented to a user on the display 110.)
wherein the at least one operation … to address the condition (Par 20, Pre-ICU data may include without limitation data related to patient demographics, chronic diseases and conditions, and events data. Par 6, The method further includes aggregating output information from each of the inference algorithm, the Bayesian network, and the finite state machine, determining whether a patient has the medical condition based at least in part on the aggregated output information, and controlling a display to display the determination of whether the patient has the medical condition to a user on a display.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the plurality of FSMs to be selectively invoked by a logic engine of the application, the logic engine configured to provide one or more of the plurality of outputs; wherein the output corresponds to presentation on the application for at least one operation to address the condition and wherein the at least one operation … to address the condition, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Chbat, into that of Mohalik, Wang, Kim, Heimlich and Murrish because this modification can help display the patient condition executed by FSM and logic engine from the application to provide physician’s recommendation by breaking down complex procedures into states and transitions in FSM.
As per Claim 17, Mohalik does not specifically teach, however Wang teaches of the method of claim 16, further comprising generating, by the application, the machine-readable instructions by compiling intermediary instructions defining the plurality of FSMs received from a server. (Fig 6A and Par 58, When the state machine definition text-file T1 is completely written or generated, the state machine executor module 12 installed on the cloud control platform 1 or the state machine executor module 21 installed on the intelligent control system 2 may process the state machine definition text-file T1, and transforms [compiles] the description content of the state machine definition text-file T1 to the mechanical execution codes compatible with the air-conditioning equipment 3 and executes the transformed mechanical execution codes to create a corresponding finite-state machine F1.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add generating, by the application, the machine-readable instructions by compiling intermediary instructions defining the plurality of FSMs received from a server, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Wang, into that of Mohalik because this modification can help modify the states, the conditions, the events and the transitions of the FSMs using human-readable instructions and compile them in machine-executable code via GUI in order to facilitate the FSM updates.
As per Claim 18. Mohalik does not specifically teach, however Wang teaches of the method of claim 16, further comprising identifying, by the application, the machine-readable instructions for the corresponding plurality of routines to load based on the condition of the user to be addressed. (Fig 6A and Par 58, When the state machine definition text-file T1 is completely written or generated, the state machine executor module 12 installed on the cloud control platform 1 or the state machine executor module 21 installed on the intelligent control system 2 may process the state machine definition text-file T1, and transforms the description content of the state machine definition text-file T1 to the mechanical execution codes compatible with the air-conditioning equipment 3 and executes the transformed mechanical execution codes to create a corresponding finite-state machine F1.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add identifying, by the application, the machine-readable instructions for the corresponding plurality of routines to load based on the condition of the user to be addressed, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Wang, into that of Mohalik because this modification can help modify the states, the conditions, the events and the transitions of the FSMs using human-readable instructions and compile them in machine-executable code via GUI in order to facilitate the FSM updates.
As per Claim 19. Mohalik does not specifically teach, however Wang teaches of the method of claim 16, further comprising replacing, by the application, second machine-readable instructions with the machine-readable instructions, responsive to receiving an configuration update including the machine-readable instructions to address the condition of the user. (Par 8, The cloud control platform receives a state-machine definition text-file written by a user from a user terminal. The state-machine executor module translates a description content of the state-machine definition text-file into mechanical execution codes which is compatible with the air-conditioning equipment, and executes the mechanical execution codes for creating a finite state-machine. The ICS therefore controls the air-conditioning equipment according to the created finite state-machine. Claim 1, receiving the state machine definition text-file from the cloud control platform, and translating the description content of the state-machine definition text-file into a mechanical execution code which is compatible with the air-conditioning equipment. Par 27, After transforming the description content of the state machine definition text-file T1 into the mechanical execution codes, the state machine executor module 12 further executes the mechanical execution codes to create a finite-state machine F1 corresponding to the description content (i.e. The above mentioned states and conditions)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add replacing, by the application, second machine-readable instructions with the machine-readable instructions, responsive to receiving an configuration update including the machine-readable instructions to address the condition of the user, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Wang, into that of Mohalik because this modification can help modify the states, the conditions, the events and the transitions of the FSMs using human-readable instructions and compile them in machine-executable code via GUI in order to facilitate the FSM updates.
As per Claim 22. Mohalik does not specifically teach, however Wang teaches of the method of claim 16, wherein at least one transition of the plurality of transition in a first FSM of the plurality of FSMs specifies the event to invoke a second FSM of the plurality of FSMs defined by the machine-readable instructions of the configuration file. (Par 28, Specifically, the mechanical execution codes are generated via the state machine executor module 12 compiling the description content of the state machine definition text-file T1, so the created finite-state machine F1 (for example the finite-state machine shown in FIG. 6B) matches the description content of the state machine definition text-file T1. Thus, the intelligent control system 2 assures that the operations of the air-conditioning equipment 3 meet user's requirements (i.e., meet the description content of the state machine definition text-file T1).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add at least one transition of the plurality of transition in a first FSM of the plurality of FSMs specifies the event to invoke a second FSM of the plurality of FSMs defined by the machine-readable instructions of the configuration file, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Wang, into that of Mohalik because this modification can help modify the states, the conditions, the events and the transitions of the FSMs using human-readable instructions and compile them in machine-executable code via GUI in order to facilitate the FSM updates.
Re Claim 23, it is the system claim, having similar limitations of claim 16. Thus, claim 23 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 16.
Re Claim 24, it is the system claim, having similar limitations of claim 17. Thus, claim 24 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 17.
Re Claim 25, it is the system claim, having similar limitations of claim 18. Thus, claim 25 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 18.
Re Claim 26, it is the system claim, having similar limitations of claim 19. Thus, claim 26 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 19.
Re Claim 27, it is the system claim, having similar limitations of claim 7. Thus, claim 27 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 7.
Re Claim 30, it is the system claim, having similar limitations of claim 22. Thus, claim 30 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 22.
5. Claims 14, 21 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohalik (US PGPub 20210165690), in view of Wang (US PGPub 20180266717), in view of Kim (US PGPub 20160106616), in view of Heimlich (US Patent 5903886), in view of Murrish (US Patent 10431336), in view of Chbat (US PGPub 20130290231), and further in view of Alexeev (US Patent 8707252).
As per Claim 14, none of Mohalik, Wang, Kim, Heimlich and Murrish specifically teaches, however Alexeev teaches of the system of claim 8, wherein the at least one server is further configured to send a content item for presentation via a user interface element of the application, responsive to the application invoking a first FSM of the plurality of FSMs upon detection of the event to transition from the first state to the second state. (Col 16, lines 31-44, The foregoing XML representation portions included in FIGS. 9, 10, and 11 are examples of XML that may be automatically generated such as using the modeling tool. The generated XML may include information for the various graphical elements of the FSM diagram described where the graphical elements may correspond to various states and transitions. A particular modeling tool or other software may be used to generate an XML representation that may differ from that as described herein. The foregoing tools may also generate a representation other than one using XML where the representation describes the FSM diagram and where the representation has a form that may be understood and processed as an input by a parser code generator such as, for example, described in connection with FIGS. 2 and 3.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add sending a content item for presentation via a user interface element of the application, responsive to the application invoking a first FSM of the plurality of FSMs upon detection of the event to transition from the first state to the second state, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Alexeev, into that of Mohalik, Wang, Kim, Heimlich and Murrish because this modification can help modify the states, the conditions, the events and the transitions of the FSMs using human-readable instructions and compile them in machine-executable code via GUI in order to facilitate the FSM updates.
As per Claim 21. none of Mohalik, Wang, Kim, Heimlich and Murrish specifically teaches, however Alexeev teaches of the method of claim 16, wherein updating further comprises retrieving, from a server, a content item for presentation via a user interface element of the application in accordance with the output specified by the second state of the FSM. (Col 16, lines 31-44, The foregoing XML representation portions included in FIGS. 9, 10, and 11 are examples of XML that may be automatically generated such as using the modeling tool. The generated XML may include information for the various graphical elements of the FSM diagram described where the graphical elements may correspond to various states and transitions. A particular modeling tool or other software may be used to generate an XML representation that may differ from that as described herein. The foregoing tools may also generate a representation other than one using XML where the representation describes the FSM diagram and where the representation has a form that may be understood and processed as an input by a parser code generator such as, for example, described in connection with FIGS. 2 and 3.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add retrieving, from a server, a content item for presentation via a user interface element of the application in accordance with the output specified by the second state of the FSM, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Alexeev, into that of Mohalik, Wang, Kim, Heimlich and Murrish because this modification can help modify the states, the conditions, the events and the transitions of the FSMs using human-readable instructions and compile them in machine-executable code via GUI in order to facilitate the FSM updates.
Re Claim 29, it is the system claim, having similar limitations of claim 21. Thus, claim 29 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 21.
6. Claims 20 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohalik (US PGPub 20210165690), in view of Wang (US PGPub 20180266717), in view of Kim (US PGPub 20160106616), in view of Heimlich (US Patent 5903886), in view of Murrish (US Patent 10431336), in view of Chbat (US PGPub 20130290231), and further in view of Sanders (US PGPub 20190312583).
As per Claim 20, none of Mohalik, Wang, Kim, Heimlich and Murrish specifically teaches, however Sanders teaches of the method of claim 16, wherein detecting further comprises monitoring, using an event bus, an invocation of the FSM in response to the user action corresponding to the respective event specified by the at least one of the plurality of transitions of the respective current state. (Par 34-35, A functional unit of the first set can also be a functional unit of the second set if it is operable to send data to and receive data from the event bus 23. At least one functional unit of the second set (e.g. FSM 26a) is operable to determine switching time instants for the switching converter based on the data received via the event bus. As can be seen from the example of FIGS. 3-5, an intra IC bus such as the event bus 23 allows an efficient communication between functional units of the controller IC serving as data sources such as analog-to-digital converters, comparators or the like and other functional units serving as data sinks such as the finite state machines, which process the received data in order to control the switching time instants of the electronic switches included in the switching converter.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add monitoring, using an event bus, an invocation of the FSM in response to the user action corresponding to the respective event specified by the at least one of the plurality of transitions of the respective current state, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Sanders, into that of Mohalik, Wang, Kim, Heimlich and Murrish because this modification can help modify the states, the conditions, the events and the transitions of the FSMs using human-readable instructions and compile them in machine-executable code via GUI in order to facilitate the FSM updates.
Re Claim 28, it is the system claim, having similar limitations of claim 20. Thus, claim 28 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 20.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s argument of the remark on page 10-11 with respect to claims 1, 8, 16 and 23 with their dependent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAE UK JEON whose telephone number is (571)270-3649. The examiner can normally be reached 10am-6pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/JAE U JEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2193