DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
This communication is in response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed 7/29/26. Claims 1, 11, 21, and 22 have been amended. Claims 8 and 18 are canceled. Claims 23 and 24 are newly added. Claims 1-7, 9-17, and 19-24 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 23 and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities: It is unclear from the claim language whether the “the signal” recited in claims 23 and 24 refers to the “signal” recited in the independent claims, or to the “each signal” recited in claims 23 and 24. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 9-14, 16, 17, 19, 20, 23, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Church et al. (US 2020/0397931 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2024/0047048 A1), and further in view of JP-2022537458-A.
(A) Referring to claim 1, Church discloses A biological fluid processing system, comprising (see abstract of Church; systems, methods, and apparatuses for treating biological fluids.):
a processing device including a display screen and a controller configured to operate the processing device to implement a biological fluid processing procedure having a plurality of steps (see Figs. 1 & 2A, and para. 62 & 48 of Church; FIG. 2A illustrates an exemplary system 200 for treating biological fluids. In some embodiments, the system 200 is substantially similar to system 100, as illustrated in FIG. 1. Power switch 210 can correspond to power switch 110. Display 220 can correspond to display 120. The display 120 is configured to receive input on the GUI. For example, a GUI object of a plurality of GUI objects displayed on the GUI can be selected by providing a user's manual input (e.g., touch input or hover input) on the touchscreen. In response to receiving the input, the system 100 can perform an operation associated with the selected GUI object. For example, a GUI object may be associated with initiation of a biological fluid treatment, and in response to receiving an input selecting the GUI object, the system 100 initiates a process to treat a biological fluid. In some embodiments, the display 120 is configured to display instructions to a user operator (e.g., operator instructions) on the GUI.);
a scanner (Fig. 2A, item 230, para. 63 & 71 of Church; the system 200 includes an external scanner 230.); and
a data management system (para. 51 and Fig. 1 of Church), wherein
the controller is configured to control the display screen to display an image (para. 51 & 52 of Church; the multi-scanner or the system 100 is configured to recognize (and/or convert into another form recognized by the multi-scanner or system 100) the captured multiple sets of identifying information (e.g., recognizing (and/or deciphering) barcodes, QR codes, alphanumeric text and/or symbols, images) captured in a multi-scan operation. After capturing multiple sets of identifying information (e.g., in captured image(s), performed scan(s)), a multi-scanner can convey or communicate them (e.g., via a wired or wireless connection) to the system 100 in recognized (and/or converted) form (e.g., in a language form that the system 100 can already recognize, for example as parameter data) or in unrecognized form (e.g., captured image(s), performed scan(s)). If in unrecognized form, the system 100 can process the captured multiple sets of identifying information into a recognized form. The system 100 can assign the multiple sets of identifying information to corresponding fields (e.g., auto-populating information fields) of the GUI of the display 120 when displaying the GUI for the treatment chamber associated with the biological fluid to be treated.),
to retrieve data from the image and to transmit the data to the data management system (para. 45, 51, 54, and 55 of Church; the multi-scanner or the system 100 is configured to recognize (and/or convert into another form recognized by the multi-scanner or system 100) the captured multiple sets of identifying information (e.g., recognizing (and/or deciphering) barcodes, QR codes, alphanumeric text and/or symbols, images) captured in a multi-scan operation. After capturing multiple sets of identifying information (e.g., in captured image(s), performed scan(s)), a multi-scanner can convey or communicate them (e.g., via a wired or wireless connection) to the system 100 in recognized (and/or converted) form (e.g., in a language form that the system 100 can already recognize, for example as parameter data) or in unrecognized form (e.g., captured image(s), performed scan(s)). If in unrecognized form, the system 100 can process the captured multiple sets of identifying information into a recognized form. The system 100 can assign the multiple sets of identifying information to corresponding fields (e.g., auto-populating information fields) of the GUI of the display 120 when displaying the GUI for the treatment chamber associated with the biological fluid to be treated.),
the scanner and/or the data management system is configured to transmit a signal to the controller based on the data (para. 51 and 96 of Church; After capturing multiple sets of identifying information (e.g., in captured image(s), performed scan(s)), a multi-scanner can convey or communicate them (e.g., via a wired or wireless connection) to the system 100 in recognized (and/or converted) form (e.g., in a language form that the system 100 can already recognize, for example as parameter data) or in unrecognized form (e.g., captured image(s), performed scan(s)). If in unrecognized form, the system 100 can process the captured multiple sets of identifying information into a recognized form. The system 100 can assign the multiple sets of identifying information to corresponding fields (e.g., auto-populating information fields) of the GUI of the display 120 when displaying the GUI for the treatment chamber associated with the biological fluid to be treated. Thus, a multi-scan operation may provide data entry of all or most parameter data for a biological fluid into multiple specific data fields via an auto-population technique that may be convenient, efficient, and time-saving.),
the controller is configured to control the processing device to initiate or continue at least one step of the biological fluid processing procedure upon receiving the signal (para. 51 and 96 of Church; After capturing multiple sets of identifying information (e.g., in captured image(s), performed scan(s)), a multi-scanner can convey or communicate them (e.g., via a wired or wireless connection) to the system 100 in recognized (and/or converted) form (e.g., in a language form that the system 100 can already recognize, for example as parameter data) or in unrecognized form (e.g., captured image(s), performed scan(s)). If in unrecognized form, the system 100 can process the captured multiple sets of identifying information into a recognized form. The system 100 can assign the multiple sets of identifying information to corresponding fields (e.g., auto-populating information fields) of the GUI of the display 120 when displaying the GUI for the treatment chamber associated with the biological fluid to be treated. Thus, a multi-scan operation may provide data entry of all or most parameter data for a biological fluid into multiple specific data fields via an auto-population technique that may be convenient, efficient, and time-saving. Control circuitry 520 may receive control instructions and/or control signals from computer system 524 and send control instructions and/or control signals to various components of treatment chambers 502 and 504 to adjust or set various parameters associated with various components of chambers 502 and 504. Adjustment of various parameters of chambers 502 and 504 may be desirable to ensure that the chamber's treatment parameters are in accordance with the treatment profiles of the one or more biological fluids 510.).
Church does not expressly disclose the scanner is configured to scan the image while the image is displayed on the display screen to retrieve data from the image and said at least one step of the biological fluid processing procedure includes flow and/or processing and/or treatment of a fluid.
Li discloses the scanner is configured to scan the image while the image is displayed on the display screen to retrieve data from the image (see Fig. 4G and para. 61 & 90 of Li; display a two-dimensional bar code on the user terminal, operable to initiate a file transmission process, upon the two-dimensional bar code being scanned by a customer terminal, transmitting the physiological parameter report to the customer terminal. Referring to FIG. 4G, the two-dimensional bar code may be a quick response bar code, which may be scanned by a customer A's mobile phone.).
JP-2022537458-A discloses said at least one step of the biological fluid processing procedure includes flow and/or processing and/or treatment of a fluid (see pages 15, 26, & 34 of JP-2022537458-A; a second graphical user interface instructing the user to perform a scanning process; wherein the one or more identification fields are associated with one or more identification information elements associated with the one or more biological fluids; the second graphical user interface includes a first button; Initiating and displaying a biological fluid treatment process when a button is selected by a user and displaying a third graphical user interface when the first button of the second graphical user interface is selected by a user. A third graphical user interface including an image for performing a scanning process to manipulate one or more input when the scanner scans one or more identifying information elements associated with one or more biological fluids. and, when the third button is active, displaying a fourth graphical user interface, the fourth graphical user interface performing one or more user-engaged steps. displaying, including an image of performing the second platform loading process of the first processing chamber on the electronic device by visually depicting and, when the fourth button is active, a fifth graphical user interface; displaying an interface of the electronic device, the fifth graphical user interface including a first visual panel configured to visually represent the status of the first processing chamber of the electronic device; The fifth graphical user interface includes a second visual panel configured to visually represent the status of the second processing chamber, the fifth graphical user interface including a first button, which when selected by a user causes the electronic device to: displaying, which is configured to initiate processing of the one or more biological fluids by the first processing chamber of the device. In the example graphical user interface 700, button 704 indicates that the process is in a scanning (e.g., barcode scanning) phase in the process of processing a biological fluid, or is ready for its scanner phase. (eg by being highlighted). In some embodiments, the user may be able to select button 704 to initiate the next step in the process of processing the biological fluid.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the aforementioned features of Li and JP-2022537458-A within Church. The motivation for doing so would have been to initiate a file transmission process (para. 61 of Li) and to implement graphical user interfaces that can facilitate efficient and appropriate interaction for treating biological fluids (page 2 of JP-2022537458-A).
(B) Referring to claims 2 and 12, Church discloses wherein the image is a barcode and the scanner is a barcode scanner (para. 51 & 52 of Church).
(C) Referring to claims 3 and 13, Church discloses wherein the barcode is a one-dimensional barcode (para. 16 & 51 of Church).
(D) Referring to claims 4 and 14, Church discloses wherein the barcode is a two-dimensional barcode (para. 16 & 51 of Church).
(E) Referring to claims 6 and 16, Church discloses wherein the image is configured to include data regarding an operator or technician operating the processing device (para. 48 of Church).
(F) Referring to claim 7, Church discloses wherein the controller is configured to initiate an automated portion of the biological fluid processing procedure upon receiving the signal (para. 85, 96, and 99 of Church).
(G) Referring to claims 9 and 19, Church discloses wherein the display screen is configured as an interactive touch screen (para. 24 of Church).
(H) Referring to claims 10 and 20, Church discloses wherein the display screen is not configured as an interactive touch screen (para. 120 of Church).
(I) Referring to claim 11, Church discloses A method of executing a biological fluid processing procedure using a biological fluid processing system including a processing device, a scanner, and a data management system, the method comprising (para. 6 and 24 of Church; systems, methods, and apparatuses for treating biological fluids. The biological fluid treatment system includes a treatment chamber configured to receive biological fluids, a platform configured to carry the biological fluid to be positioned in the treatment chamber, an array of light sources positioned to illuminate the biological fluid in the treatment chamber, and a display configured for displaying a graphical user interface (GUI). The biological fluid treatment system includes a scanner configured to obtain identifying information associated with a first biological fluid, a second biological fluid, or both the first biological fluid and the second biological fluid. The display is a touchscreen configured to display the GUI including the plurality of GUI objects, and the GUI objects are responsive to touch inputs on the touchscreen. In some embodiments, the method further comprises: receiving an input associated with a selection of a GUI object; and in response to receiving the input, performing a biological fluid treatment operation.):
displaying an image on a display screen of the processing device (para. 51 of Church; the multi-scanner or the system 100 is configured to recognize (and/or convert into another form recognized by the multi-scanner or system 100) the captured multiple sets of identifying information (e.g., recognizing (and/or deciphering) barcodes, QR codes, alphanumeric text and/or symbols, images) captured in a multi-scan operation. After capturing multiple sets of identifying information (e.g., in captured image(s), performed scan(s)), a multi-scanner can convey or communicate them (e.g., via a wired or wireless connection) to the system 100 in recognized (and/or converted) form (e.g., in a language form that the system 100 can already recognize, for example as parameter data) or in unrecognized form (e.g., captured image(s), performed scan(s)). If in unrecognized form, the system 100 can process the captured multiple sets of identifying information into a recognized form. The system 100 can assign the multiple sets of identifying information to corresponding fields (e.g., auto-populating information fields) of the GUI of the display 120 when displaying the GUI for the treatment chamber associated with the biological fluid to be treated.);
transmitting the data from the scanner to the data management system (see Figs. 1 & 2A and para. 51 of Church; the multi-scanner or the system 100 is configured to recognize (and/or convert into another form recognized by the multi-scanner or system 100) the captured multiple sets of identifying information (e.g., recognizing (and/or deciphering) barcodes, QR codes, alphanumeric text and/or symbols, images) captured in a multi-scan operation. After capturing multiple sets of identifying information (e.g., in captured image(s), performed scan(s)), a multi-scanner can convey or communicate them (e.g., via a wired or wireless connection) to the system 100 in recognized (and/or converted) form (e.g., in a language form that the system 100 can already recognize, for example as parameter data) or in unrecognized form (e.g., captured image(s), performed scan(s)). If in unrecognized form, the system 100 can process the captured multiple sets of identifying information into a recognized form. The system 100 can assign the multiple sets of identifying information to corresponding fields (e.g., auto-populating information fields) of the GUI of the display 120 when displaying the GUI for the treatment chamber associated with the biological fluid to be treated.); and
transmitting a signal based on the data from the scanner and/or from the data management system to the processing device so as to cause the processing device to initiate or continue at least one step of the biological fluid processing procedure upon receiving the signal (para. 51 and 96 of Church; After capturing multiple sets of identifying information (e.g., in captured image(s), performed scan(s)), a multi-scanner can convey or communicate them (e.g., via a wired or wireless connection) to the system 100 in recognized (and/or converted) form (e.g., in a language form that the system 100 can already recognize, for example as parameter data) or in unrecognized form (e.g., captured image(s), performed scan(s)). If in unrecognized form, the system 100 can process the captured multiple sets of identifying information into a recognized form. The system 100 can assign the multiple sets of identifying information to corresponding fields (e.g., auto-populating information fields) of the GUI of the display 120 when displaying the GUI for the treatment chamber associated with the biological fluid to be treated. Thus, a multi-scan operation may provide data entry of all or most parameter data for a biological fluid into multiple specific data fields via an auto-population technique that may be convenient, efficient, and time-saving.).
Church does not expressly disclose scanning the image with the scanner while the image is displayed on the display screen to retrieve data from the image and wherein said at least one step of the biological fluid processing procedure includes flow and/or processing and/or treatment of a fluid.
Li discloses scanning the image with the scanner while the image is displayed on the display screen to retrieve data from the image (see Fig. 4G and para. 61 & 90 of Li; display a two-dimensional bar code on the user terminal, operable to initiate a file transmission process, upon the two-dimensional bar code being scanned by a customer terminal, transmitting the physiological parameter report to the customer terminal. Referring to FIG. 4G, the two-dimensional bar code may be a quick response bar code, which may be scanned by a customer A's mobile phone.).
JP-2022537458-A discloses wherein said at least one step of the biological fluid processing procedure includes flow and/or processing and/or treatment of a fluid (see pages 15, 26, & 34 of JP-2022537458-A; a second graphical user interface instructing the user to perform a scanning process; wherein the one or more identification fields are associated with one or more identification information elements associated with the one or more biological fluids; the second graphical user interface includes a first button; Initiating and displaying a biological fluid treatment process when a button is selected by a user and displaying a third graphical user interface when the first button of the second graphical user interface is selected by a user. A third graphical user interface including an image for performing a scanning process to manipulate one or more input when the scanner scans one or more identifying information elements associated with one or more biological fluids. and, when the third button is active, displaying a fourth graphical user interface, the fourth graphical user interface performing one or more user-engaged steps. displaying, including an image of performing the second platform loading process of the first processing chamber on the electronic device by visually depicting and, when the fourth button is active, a fifth graphical user interface; displaying an interface of the electronic device, the fifth graphical user interface including a first visual panel configured to visually represent the status of the first processing chamber of the electronic device; The fifth graphical user interface includes a second visual panel configured to visually represent the status of the second processing chamber, the fifth graphical user interface including a first button, which when selected by a user causes the electronic device to: displaying, which is configured to initiate processing of the one or more biological fluids by the first processing chamber of the device. In the example graphical user interface 700, button 704 indicates that the process is in a scanning (e.g., barcode scanning) phase in the process of processing a biological fluid, or is ready for its scanner phase. (eg by being highlighted). In some embodiments, the user may be able to select button 704 to initiate the next step in the process of processing the biological fluid.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the aforementioned features of Li and JP-2022537458-A within Church. The motivation for doing so would have been to initiate a file transmission process (para. 61 of Li) and to implement graphical user interfaces that can facilitate efficient and appropriate interaction for treating biological fluids (page 2 of JP-2022537458-A).
(J) Referring to claim 17, Church discloses wherein the processing device is configured to initiate an automated portion of the biological fluid processing procedure upon receiving the signal (para. 85, 96, and 99 of Church).
(K) Referring to claim 23, Church and Li do not disclose wherein the controller is configured to control the display screen to sequentially display a plurality of images, with each signal transmitted from the scanner and/or the data management system to the controller due to one of said plurality of images being scanned by the scanner while said one of said plurality of images is displayed on the display screen causing the controller to control the processing device to initiate a different step of the biological fluid processing procedure upon receiving the signal or to continue a different step of the biological fluid processing procedure upon receiving the signal.
JP 2022537458 A discloses wherein the controller is configured to control the display screen to sequentially display a plurality of images, with each signal transmitted from the scanner and/or the data management system to the controller due to one of said plurality of images being scanned by the scanner while said one of said plurality of images is displayed on the display screen causing the controller to control the processing device to initiate a different step of the biological fluid processing procedure upon receiving the signal or to continue a different step of the biological fluid processing procedure upon receiving the signal (see Figures 8A, 9, & 10 and pages 15, 18, 19, & 21 of JP 2022537458 A; In the example graphical user interface 700, button 704 indicates that the process is in a scanning (e.g., barcode scanning) phase in the process of processing a biological fluid, or is ready for its scanner phase. (eg by being highlighted). In some embodiments, the user may be able to select button 704 to initiate the next step in the process of processing the biological fluid. One or both of the displayed buttons 706 and 708 are not highlighted at this time because the user has not yet completed the required step 704 before proceeding to the process represented by buttons 706 and 708. or may not be selectable (eg, active). In this way, the graphical user interface 700 can ensure that each and every step necessary to properly process the biological fluid is followed by the user. Once the user places the biological fluid into the platform according to the graphical image 710, the user can move on to the next phase of the process. In the example graphical user interface 2300, the fields associated with the identification information display 2306 may be blank because the identification information has not yet been scanned. However, when identification information associated with the biological fluid is scanned, barcode field 2306 may become populated, as shown in the examples provided below. In one or more examples, the graphical user interface 2300 can include a user-selectable button 2308 that, when selected by a user, activates the scanner of the device to produce a living organism to be processed. One or more barcodes associated with the biological fluid(s) can be scanned. In one or more examples, one or more barcodes associated with the biological fluid are scanned in a specific order (eg, sequentially) to allow the user to populate fields 2306 in a particular order. Alternatively, and in one or more examples, the user can allow the system to acquire multiple fields of identification information (eg, substantially simultaneously) and/or populate based on the received scans in field 2306. In the example of graphical user interface 802, button 810 can be de-highlighted and instead includes an indicator (eg, a check mark as shown) that the step associated with button 810 has already been completed. Alternatively, in the example graphical user interface 802, the scan phase button 812 is highlighted to indicate that the application is currently in an operational phase in which identifying information (e.g., barcodes) associated with biological fluids can be scanned. It can be shown that there is Since identification information has not been scanned at the time indicated by graphical user interface 802, it is necessary to obtain or enter identification information before proceeding to the phases associated with buttons 814 and 816. and 816 can be set to not be highlighted and/or selectable by the user. Once all identifying information (eg, each and every barcode) field has been entered, indicator 824 indicates that all identifying information (eg, all barcodes) field 822 has been entered in graphical user interface 820 of FIG. 8B. A pop-up can be displayed to indicate to the user that the In addition to providing indicator 824, button 814 can now be made selectable by graphical user interface 820 to allow the user to proceed to the next phase of the process (e.g., start processing phase, second load phase).).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the aforementioned features of JP 2022537458 A within Church and Li. The motivation for doing so would have been so that the user can move on to the next phase of the process (page 15 of JP 2022537458 A).
(L) Referring to claim 24, Church and Li do not disclose further comprising sequentially displaying a plurality of images on the display screen of the processing device, with each signal transmitted from the scanner and/or the data management system to the processing device due to one of said plurality of images being scanned by the scanner while said one of said plurality of images is displayed on the display screen causing the processing device to initiate a different step of the biological fluid processing procedure upon receiving the signal or to continue a different step of the biological fluid processing procedure upon receiving the signal.
JP 2022537458 A discloses further comprising sequentially displaying a plurality of images on the display screen of the processing device, with each signal transmitted from the scanner and/or the data management system to the processing device due to one of said plurality of images being scanned by the scanner while said one of said plurality of images is displayed on the display screen causing the processing device to initiate a different step of the biological fluid processing procedure upon receiving the signal or to continue a different step of the biological fluid processing procedure upon receiving the signal (see Figures 8A, 9, & 10 and pages 15, 18, 19, & 21 of JP 2022537458 A; In the example graphical user interface 700, button 704 indicates that the process is in a scanning (e.g., barcode scanning) phase in the process of processing a biological fluid, or is ready for its scanner phase. (eg by being highlighted). In some embodiments, the user may be able to select button 704 to initiate the next step in the process of processing the biological fluid. One or both of the displayed buttons 706 and 708 are not highlighted at this time because the user has not yet completed the required step 704 before proceeding to the process represented by buttons 706 and 708. or may not be selectable (eg, active). In this way, the graphical user interface 700 can ensure that each and every step necessary to properly process the biological fluid is followed by the user. Once the user places the biological fluid into the platform according to the graphical image 710, the user can move on to the next phase of the process. In the example graphical user interface 2300, the fields associated with the identification information display 2306 may be blank because the identification information has not yet been scanned. However, when identification information associated with the biological fluid is scanned, barcode field 2306 may become populated, as shown in the examples provided below. In one or more examples, the graphical user interface 2300 can include a user-selectable button 2308 that, when selected by a user, activates the scanner of the device to produce a living organism to be processed. One or more barcodes associated with the biological fluid(s) can be scanned. In one or more examples, one or more barcodes associated with the biological fluid are scanned in a specific order (eg, sequentially) to allow the user to populate fields 2306 in a particular order. Alternatively, and in one or more examples, the user can allow the system to acquire multiple fields of identification information (eg, substantially simultaneously) and/or populate based on the received scans in field 2306. In the example of graphical user interface 802, button 810 can be de-highlighted and instead includes an indicator (eg, a check mark as shown) that the step associated with button 810 has already been completed. Alternatively, in the example graphical user interface 802, the scan phase button 812 is highlighted to indicate that the application is currently in an operational phase in which identifying information (e.g., barcodes) associated with biological fluids can be scanned. It can be shown that there is Since identification information has not been scanned at the time indicated by graphical user interface 802, it is necessary to obtain or enter identification information before proceeding to the phases associated with buttons 814 and 816. and 816 can be set to not be highlighted and/or selectable by the user. Once all identifying information (eg, each and every barcode) field has been entered, indicator 824 indicates that all identifying information (eg, all barcodes) field 822 has been entered in graphical user interface 820 of FIG. 8B. A pop-up can be displayed to indicate to the user that the In addition to providing indicator 824, button 814 can now be made selectable by graphical user interface 820 to allow the user to proceed to the next phase of the process (e.g., start processing phase, second load phase).).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the aforementioned features of JP 2022537458 A within Church and Li. The motivation for doing so would have been so that the user can move on to the next phase of the process (page 15 of JP 2022537458 A).
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Church et al. (US 2020/0397931 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2024/0047048 A1), in view of JP-2022537458-A, and further in view of Calderon (US 2019/0340403 A1).
(A) Referring to claims 5 and 15, Church, Li, and JP-2022537458-A do not disclose wherein the image is configured to include data regarding a fluid flow circuit used in combination with the processing device during the biological fluid processing procedure.
Calderon discloses wherein the image is configured to include data regarding a fluid flow circuit used in combination with the processing device during the biological fluid processing procedure (para. 3 of Calderon).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the aforementioned feature of Calderon within Church, Li, and JP-2022537458-A. The motivation for doing so would have been to determine whether a particular fluid flow circuit is suitable for the selected procedure (para. 3 of Calderon).
Claim(s) 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Church et al. (US 2020/0397931 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2024/0047048 A1), in view of JP-2022537458-A, in view of Cahoon et al. (US 2023/0029423 A1), and further in view of Larsen (US 20090281825 A1).
(A) Referring to claim 21, Church, Li, and JP-2022537458-A do not disclose wherein the controller is configured to control the display screen to display a scan to start graphic that instructs an operator to scan the image using the scanner while the image and the scan to start graphic are displayed on the display screen in order to initiate said at least one step of the biological fluid processing procedure.
Cahoon discloses wherein the controller is configured to control the display screen to display a second image that instructs an operator to scan the image using the scanner while the image and the second image are displayed on the display screen in order to initiate said at least one step of the biological fluid processing procedure (Fig. 8, para. 108-112, 115, 177, and 74 of Cahoon).
Cahoon does not expressly disclose that the second image is a scan to start graphic.
Larsen discloses a scan to start graphic (see Fig. 20, item 672 and para. 65 of Larsen).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the aforementioned features of Cahoon and Larsen within Church, Li, and JP-2022537458-A. The motivation for doing so would have been to accurately analyze the data (para. 74 of Cahoon) and to display appropriate icons (para. 65 of Larsen).
(B) Referring to claim 22, Church, Li, and JP-2022537458-A do not disclose further comprising displaying a scan to start graphic on the display screen that instructs an operator to scan the image using the scanner while the image and the scan to start graphic are displayed on the display screen in order to initiate said at least one step of the biological fluid processing procedure.
Cahoon discloses further comprising displaying a second image on the display screen that instructs an operator to scan the image using the scanner while the image and the second image are displayed on the display screen in order to initiate said at least one step of the biological fluid processing procedure (Fig. 8, para. 108-112, 115, 177, and 74 of Cahoon).
Cahoon does not expressly disclose that the second image is a scan to start graphic.
Larsen discloses a scan to start graphic (see Fig. 20, item 672 and para. 65 of Larsen).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the aforementioned features of Cahoon and Larsen within Church, Li, and JP-2022537458-A. The motivation for doing so would have been to accurately analyze the data (para. 74 of Cahoon) and to display appropriate icons (para. 65 of Larsen).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/LENA NAJARIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3687