Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watkins (US 8668592).
In claims 1 and 10, and 19, Watkins discloses
A communication interface A processor coupled with the communication interface and a computer readable storage medium comprising instructions that enable the processor to: (column 4 lines 56-67, column 5 lines 37-50)
Detect a content generation event (column 69 lines 10-46, a variety of content is being generated such as NPCs, PCs, platforms and other objects)
Determine a set of group content preferences based on different sets of content preferences with different players in a group of players (column 10 lines 36-61, the group content preferences are the locations of each player who is logged in.)
In response to the detected content generation event, generate, from at least part of the set of group content preferences, content for presentation by a reality altering device of each player in the group of players (column 10 lines 36-61, the content is generated for each of the players in the group, such as making plot nodes available based on the location of the players playing. With respect to the term “reality altering device”, it is noted by examiner that the specification of the instant application describes this in paragraph [0039] as “augmented, simulated, mixed, extended, or computer mediated reality”, meaning that a standard video game would read on the term “reality altering”, as it is, at minimum, “simulated”.)
Select content in the generated content for presentation by the reality altering device of each player in the group of players to represent a sensory characteristic of a selected object in a set of objects, each reality altering device being in communication with the communication interface (column 10 lines 36-61, column 11 lines 41-60. The content presented is changed such as the skyline of NY instead of the skyline of Tokyo, or a “underground urban fight scene” vs a “bear fight scene”, which would represent a sensory characteristic, and this would be “a sensory characteristic” as the player would be able to see the change)
Determine, relative to a coordinate system, a respective spatial location of each player in the group of players (column 8 lines 54-67, column 9 lines 1-2)
Watkins fails to disclose a respective spatial location of the selected object, and based on the respective spatial location of each player in the group of players relative to the respective spatial location of the selected object, cause at least a respective portion of the selected content to be presented by a corresponding relative altering device of the player, however McCoy discloses a respective spatial location of the selected object, and based on the respective spatial location of each player in the group of players relative to the respective spatial location of the selected object, cause at least a respective portion of the selected content to be presented by a corresponding relative altering device of the player (figure 3, #402 determines the user’s location/pose, #404 presents virtual counterparts to real world at equivalent virtual locations from the user.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Watkins with McCoy in order to allow for the invention of Watkins to be used in different gaming environments including AR and VR.
In claims 2 and 11, McCoy discloses each reality altering device provides an augmented reality gaming experience for each player in the group of players wherein the sensory characteristic comprises a visual appearance, an auditory sound, haptic feedback, somatosensory sensation, and olfactory smell, (it is noted by examiner that application is claiming a Markush group, as such only 1 of the limitations listed must be disclosed. Paragraph 22 discloses augmented reality headsets, figure 3 shows a display of the virtual world which would include a visual appearance) wherein each reality altering device comprises a processor, display, sensor to sense a location or activity of a corresponding player and input device (figure 1) wherein the respective portion of the selected content is different than a respective portion of the selected content presented by a second reality altering device to a second player at a different spatial location and wherein objects in the set of object comprises real objects (paragraph 54 discloses multiple players each having their own physical environment. As the virtual environment is affected by the users location/pose, it would mean that a second player would have different content)
In claims 4 and 13, McCoy discloses each reality altering device provides a virtual reality gaming experience for each player in the group of players (paragraph 53) wherein the sensory characteristic comprises one of a visual characteristic, an auditory sound, haptic feedback, somatosensory sensation, and olfactory smell, (it is noted by examiner that application is claiming a Markush group, as such only 1 of the limitations listed must be disclosed. Paragraph 22 discloses augmented reality headsets, figure 3 shows a display of the virtual world which would include a visual appearance) wherein each reality altering device comprises a processor, display, sensor to sense a location or activity of a corresponding player, and input device, (figure 1), wherein objects in the set of objects comprises virtual objects and is free of real objects, (paragraph 53, it is noted that although the virtual objects have corresponding physical objects, the set of virtual objects are free of real objects) wherein the respective portion of the selected content is different than a respective portion of the selected content provided by a second reality altering device to a second player at a different spatial location (paragraph 54 discloses multiple players each having their own physical environment. As the virtual environment is affected by the users location/pose, it would mean that a second player would have different content), and wherein the selected object comprises one of a virtual character, player character, a non player character, and an inanimate virtual object (paragraph 94)
In claims 5 and 14, Watkins discloses the detected content generation event comprises one of successful authentication of a player of the group of players by the gaming system, detection of a spatial location of a player of the group of players, detection of at least a threshold level of gameplay by a player of the group of players, detection of occurrence of a predetermined state of the gaming system, detection of occurrence of a predetermined player loyalty activity by the gaming system, detection that gameplay on another reality altering device currently presenting different selected content is below a threshold level of gameplay, detection that a presentation duration of the different selected content is at least a threshold duration, detection of new a new content preference associated with a player of the group of players, occurrence of a predetermined random or pseudorandom number, occurrence of at least a threshold loyalty point balance or loyalty status associated with a player of the group of players, occurrence of predetermined clock setting, entrance of a player of the group of players into a defined area of the gaming system, occupancy of at least a threshold number of players of the group of players in a defined area of the gaming system, and departure of a player of the group of players from a defined area of the gaming system (column 8 lines 54-67, column 9 lines 1-2 it is noted by examiner that application is claiming a Markush group, as such only 1 of the limitations listed must be disclosed.) and wherein the processor, based on the respective locations of first and second players in the group of players relative to the respective spatial location of the selected object, causes a first respective portion of the selected content to be presented by a first reality altering device of the first player and a different second respective portion of the selected content to be presented by a second reality altering device of the second player. (paragraph 54 discloses multiple players each having their own physical environment. As the virtual environment is affected by the users location/pose, it would mean that a second player would have different content)
In claims 6 and 15, Watkins discloses the processor causes common selected content to be incorporated into the presentation of the selected object by multiple reality altering devices, wherein the processor renders different objects in spatial proximity to the group of players using different selected content, and wherein the processor, based on the different first and second preferences of first and second players of the group of players, and wherein the first and second respective portions of the selected content are related to a common game theme. (column 10 lines 36-61) McCoy discloses causes a first respective portion of the selected content to be presented by a first reality altering device of the first player and a different second respective portion of the selected content to be presented by a second reality altering device of the second player (paragraph 54 discloses multiple players each having their own physical environment. As the virtual environment is affected by the users location/pose, it would mean that a second player would have different content)
In claims 7 and 16, McCoy discloses based on the respective spatial locations of first and second players in the group of players relative to the respective spatial location of different first and second selected objects, causes first selected content to be presented by first and second reality altering devices of the first and second players, respectively, for the first selected object, monitors behavior of the first and second players in response to presentation of the first selected content, and based on monitored behavior, selects and causes second selected content to be presented by the first and second reality altering devices of the first and second players, respectively, for the second selected object. (paragraph 54 discloses multiple players each having their own physical environment. As the virtual environment is affected by the users location/pose, it would mean that a second player would have different content)
In claims 8 and 17, Watkins discloses the set of group content preferences comprises a preference regarding one of a text, image, music, audio, color, style, animation , and video information, (column 8 lines 54-67, column 9 lines 1-2 it is noted by examiner that application is claiming a Markush group, as such only 1 of the limitations listed must be disclosed.) wherein the processor determines the set of group content preferences by weighting a first set of content preferences of a first player of the group of players more than a second set of content preferences of a second player of the group of players, (column 10 lines 58-61, the second player is given no weight as another player from the same location is already engaged) and wherein in selecting the content in the generated content, the processor determines a relatedness of the generated content against a current game theme of the gaming system (column 10 lines 58-61, the relatedness determines if the content is already being included)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 12, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watkins in view of McCoy in view of Rao (US 20240424405)
In claim 19, Watkins discloses
Detect, by a processor (column 4 lines 56-67, column 5 lines 37-50)a content generation event (column 69 lines 10-46, a variety of content is being generated such as NPCs, PCs, platforms and other objects)
Determining by the processor, a set of group content preferences based on different sets of content preferences with different players in a group of players (column 10 lines 36-61, the group content preferences are the locations of each player who is logged in.)
In response to the detected content generation event, generating, by the processor, from at least part of the set of group content preferences, generated content (column 10 lines 36-61, the content is generated, such as making plot nodes available based on the location of the players playing.)
Watkins fails to disclose determining relative to a 3d coordinate system, a respective spatial location of each player in the group of players and a respective spatial location of a selected virtual object in a set of virtual objects, and based on the respective spatial locations of each player in the group of players relative to the respective spatial location of the selected virtual object, causing by the processor, at least a portion of the generated content to be presented by one of an AR and a VR output device to represent a sensory characteristic of the selected object, however McCoy discloses relative to a 3d coordinate system, a respective spatial location of each player in the group of players and a respective spatial location of a selected virtual object in a set of virtual objects, and based on the respective spatial locations of each player in the group of players relative to the respective spatial location of the selected virtual object, causing by the processor, at least a portion of the generated content to be presented by one of an AR and a VR output device to represent a sensory characteristic of the selected object, (figure 3, #402 determines the user’s location/pose, #404 presents virtual counterparts to real world at equivalent virtual locations from the user.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Watkins with McCoy in order to allow for the invention of Watkins to be used in different gaming environments including AR and VR.
Watkins in view of McCoy fails to disclose providing a prompt to a generative model and then receiving generated content generated by the generative model, however Rao discloses providing a prompt to a generative model and then receiving generated content generated by the generative model (paragraph 54). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Watkins in view of McCoy with Rao in order to allow for the invention of Watkins and McCoy to be able to cover a wider range of generated specific content with a lower overhead.
In claims 3, 12 and 20, Watkins in view of McCoy fails to disclose providing a prompt to a generative model and then receiving generated content generated by the generative model, wherein the prompt and received content each comprise one of text, image, music, audio, and video information, wherein the content is generated by a generative model comprising one of a variational autoencoder (VAE), generative adversarial network (GAN), autoregressive model, and transformer-based model, and wherein the prompt comprises one of a content preference associated by a player profile with a player of the group of players, a content preference associated with a social website posting of a player of the group of players, a content preference received from a mobile device of a player of the group of players, a game theme associated with a game, a player activity detected by the gaming system, input received from a player of the group of players, a captured image of a player of the group of players, a loyalty level of a player of the group of players, and a loyalty point balance of a player of the group of players. however Rao discloses providing a prompt to a generative model and then receiving generated content generated by the generative model (paragraph 54). wherein the prompt and received content each comprise one of text, image, music, audio, and video information, wherein the content is generated by a generative model comprising one of a variational autoencoder (VAE), generative adversarial network (GAN), autoregressive model, and transformer-based model, (abstract. it is noted by examiner that this is a Markush group, so only 1 limitation needs to be disclosed) and wherein the prompt comprises one of a content preference associated by a player profile with a player of the group of players, a content preference associated with a social website posting of a player of the group of players, a content preference received from a mobile device of a player of the group of players, a game theme associated with a game, a player activity detected by the gaming system, input received from a player of the group of players, a captured image of a player of the group of players, a loyalty level of a player of the group of players, and a loyalty point balance of a player of the group of players. (paragraph 14. it is noted by examiner that this is a Markush group, so only 1 limitation needs to be disclosed) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Watkins in view of McCoy with Rao in order to allow for the invention of Watkins and McCoy to be able to cover a wider range of generated specific content with a lower overhead.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THOMAS H HENRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715