DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borsoi (US12279341B2) in view of Zhao (CN 207279793) in further view of Puzenat (US20220374031A1) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Regarding claim 1, Borsoi teaches a method for controlling a heating device having a PTC heating resistor (Col. 1 lines 50-55 PTC), the method comprising:
applying a pulse width modulated voltage to the PTC heating resistor (Col. 1 lines 50-55, Col. 3 lines 20-25 PWM), said pulse width modulated voltage having a first time period (Col. 4lines 20-30 This ratio will be referred to hereinafter as the duty cycle. When it has value 1 (100%), all of the power available from the power supply device 4 is transmitted to the heating elements 2; understood to have a first time period by nature of a pulse), wherein condition A requires that
power is below a power threshold (Col. 6 lines 5-15 voltage is below 9 V) and a gradient of power is below a power gradient threshold (Col. 6 lines 5-15 If this voltage is below 9 V, the power available for the heating elements 2 is low and (option N) the duty cycle PWM_DC is kept at 100%; no power gradient).
Borsoi is silent on switching off the voltage for a second time period that is at least a hundred times larger than the first time period, if a condition A or a condition B are fulfilled, wherein condition B requires that electrical resistance is above a resistance threshold for a third time period that is larger than the first time period, but smaller than the second time period.
Zhao teaches switching off the voltage for a second time period that is at least a hundred times larger than the first time period ([0011] controls the PTC heater after sequentially receiving a detection signal and a zero-crossing signal. Disconnected; where a disconnection is understood to be a turning off which is understood to be greater than a switching on period by a hundred times or more), if a condition is fulfilled ([0011] detection signal).
Borsoi and Zhao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heaters. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified method using condition A as taught Borsoi to incorporate the teachings of Zhao to switch off a voltage for a second time period according based on a first condition in order to prevent the temperature from continuing to rise, avoiding the circuit board from being burned out, and eliminating the safety hazards caused by the overheating of the circuit board (Zhao [0008]).
Borsoi and Zhao is silent on wherein condition B requires that electrical resistance is above a resistance threshold for a third time period that is larger than the first time period, but smaller than the second time period.
Puzenat teaches wherein condition B requires that
electrical resistance is above a resistance threshold for a third time period ([0033-0035] A fourth phase is one of monitoring the electrical resistance of said at least one subset of resistive elements, and of generating a command to stop the electrical supply of the resistive elements for a predetermined time, if the electrical resistance has reached or passed beyond a predefined threshold value; stoppage time in the fourth or the fifth phase is for example of the order of 130 s.)
third time period that is larger than the first time period ([0144] Either or both of the regulating phases A, B is advantageously iterated or reiterated with a predefined period, which may be less than 10 s, and for example of the order of 4 s.) but smaller than the second time period (stoppage of device).
Borsoi, Zhao, and Puzenat are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heaters. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method using condition A as taught by Borsoi and Zhao to incorporate the teachings of Puzenat, to include a second condition, to turn off the device if electrical resistance is above a resistance threshold for a period greater than a first time and less than a second time in order to protect against excessive overheating and to avoid degrading surrounding components (Puzenat [0011]).
Regarding claim 2, Borsoi, Zhao, and Puzenat teach the method according claim 1, but Borsoi and Zhao are silent on wherein the resistance threshold is voltage dependent.
Puzenat teaches wherein the resistance threshold is voltage dependent ([0158] The electrical resistance is computed on the basis of preliminary measurements of supply voltage and of electrical current).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Borsoi and Zhao to incorporate the teachings of Puzenat to have resistance threshold be voltage dependent in order to be able to set a command to protect against excessive overheating and to avoid degrading surrounding components (Puzenat [0011, 0158]).
Regarding claim 3, Borsoi, Zhao, and Puzenat teach the method according claim 1, and Borsoi teaches wherein condition A also requires duty cycle to be 100% (Col. 6 lines 5-15 If this voltage is below 9 V, the power available for the heating elements 2 is low and (option N) the duty cycle PWM_DC is kept at 100% ).
Regarding claim 4, Borsoi, Zhao, and Puzenat teach the method according claim 3, and Borsoi teaches wherein condition A also requires duty cycle to be 100% for a predefined number of PWM periods (Col. 7 lines 25-35 with a duty cycle of 1 or 100% of the pulse width modulation setting, insofar as the temperature of the liquid is below a first threshold temperature; understood to have a number of PWM periods).
Regarding claim 5, Borsoi, Zhao, and Puzenat teach the method according claim 1, and Borsoi teaches wherein condition A also requires a stable or increasing voltage (Col.6 lines 5-15; where voltage is understood to be increasing).
Regarding claim 6, Borsoi, Zhao, and Puzenat teach the method according claim 5, and Borsoi teaches wherein voltage is considered stable or increasing if the sum of a presently measured voltage value and a tolerance value is at least as large as a voltage value measured a defined time ago (Col.6 lines 5-15; where voltage is understood to be increasing if a voltage is greater than the previous value, where tolerance would be 0).
Regarding claim 7, Borsoi, Zhao, and Puzenat teach the method according claim 1, and Borsoi teaches wherein the power threshold is voltage dependent (Col.6 lines 5-15 voltage is below 9 V).
Regarding claim 8, Borsoi, Zhao, and Puzenat teach the method according claim 1, and Borsoi teaches wherein the power gradient threshold is voltage dependent (Col.6 lines 5-15 the duty cycle PWM_DC is kept at 100%; no power gradient).
Regarding claim 14, Borsoi, Zhao, and Puzenat teach the method according claim 1, but Borsoi and Zhao are silent on wherein, after the voltage has been switched off for the second time period because condition A or a condition B have been fulfilled, heating is resumed with a reduced heating power.
Puzenat teaches wherein, after the voltage has been switched off for the second time period because condition A or a condition B have been fulfilled ([0035] The predetermined stoppage time in the fourth or the fifth phase is for example of the order of 130 s) , heating is resumed with a reduced heating power ([0038] After this stoppage, the setpoint may be set to 100% or alternatively it may be limited for example to 55% of the maximum permitted setpoint).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Borsoi and Zhao to incorporate the teachings of Puzenat to resume heating with a reduce heating power after a stoppage in order to protect against excessive overheating and to avoid degrading surrounding components (Puzenat [0011]).
Regarding claim 15, Borsoi teaches A method for controlling a heating device having a PTC heating resistor, the method comprising:
applying a pulse width modulated voltage to the PTC heating resistor (Col. 1 lines 50-55, Col. 3 lines 20-25 PWM), said pulse width modulated voltage having a first time period (Col. 4lines 20-30 This ratio will be referred to hereinafter as the duty cycle. When it has value 1 (100%), all of the power available from the power supply device 4 is transmitted to the heating elements 2; understood to have a first time period by nature of a pulse), wherein condition A requires that
power is below a power threshold (Col. 6 lines 5-15 voltage is below 9 V) and a gradient of power is below a power gradient threshold as well as that the duty cycle is 100% (Col. 6 lines 5-15 If this voltage is below 9 V, the power available for the heating elements 2 is low and (option N) the duty cycle PWM_DC is kept at 100%; no power gradient).
Borsoi is silent on switching off the voltage for a second time period that is at least a hundred times larger than the first time period, if a condition A or a condition B are fulfilled, wherein condition B requires that electrical resistance is above a voltage dependent resistance threshold for a third time period that is larger than the first time period, but smaller than the second time period.
Zhao teaches switching off the voltage for a second time period that is at least a hundred times larger than the first time period ([0011] controls the PTC heater after sequentially receiving a detection signal and a zero-crossing signal. Disconnected; where a disconnection is understood to be a turning off which is understood to be greater than a switching on period by a hundred times or more), if a condition is fulfilled ([0011] detection signal),
Borsoi and Zhao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heaters. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified method using condition A as taught Borsoi to incorporate the teachings of Zhao to switch off a voltage for a second time period according based on a first condition in order to prevent the temperature from continuing to rise, avoiding the circuit board from being burned out, and eliminating the safety hazards caused by the overheating of the circuit board (Zhao [0008]).
Borsoi and Zhao is silent on wherein condition B requires that electrical resistance is above a voltage dependent resistance threshold for a third time period that is larger than the first time period, but smaller than the second time period.
Puzenat teaches wherein condition B requires that electrical resistance is above a voltage dependent resistance threshold for a third time period ([0033-0035] A fourth phase is one of monitoring the electrical resistance of said at least one subset of resistive elements, and of generating a command to stop the electrical supply of the resistive elements for a predetermined time, if the electrical resistance has reached or passed beyond a predefined threshold value; stoppage time in the fourth or the fifth phase is for example of the order of 130 s.) that is larger than the first time period ([0144] Either or both of the regulating phases A, B is advantageously iterated or reiterated with a predefined period, which may be less than 10 s, and for example of the order of 4 s.) but smaller than the second time period (stoppage of device).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method using condition A as taught by Borsoi and Zhao to incorporate the teachings of Puzenat, to include a second condition, to turn off the device if electrical resistance is above a resistance threshold for a period greater than a first time and less than a second time in order to protect against excessive overheating and to avoid degrading surrounding components (Puzenat [0011]).
Claims 9, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borsoi (US12279341B2) in view of Zhao (CN 207279793) in further view of Puzenat (US20220374031A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Goerner (EP1524139A1) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Regarding claim 9, Borsoi, Zhao, and Puzenat teach the method according to claim 1, but are silent on wherein condition B is also fulfilled if electrical resistance is above the resistance threshold and a temperature sensor measures a temperature that is above a temperature threshold.
Goerner teaches wherein condition B is also fulfilled if electrical resistance (Rref) is above the resistance threshold (Rmin) and a temperature sensor measures a temperature (Tref) that is above a temperature threshold (Tmin, Fig. 1).
Borsoi, Zhao, Puzenat, and Goerner are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heaters. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Borsoi, Zhao, and Puzenat to incorporate the teachings of Goerner to satisfy a condition if electrical resistance and temperature are above a respective threshold so that heat may be kept within a permissible range so surrounding parts are not damaged (Goerner [0002]).
Regarding claim 10, Borsoi, Zhao, Puzenat, and Goerner teach the method according to claim 9, but Borsoi, Puzenat, and Goerner are silent on wherein the temperature sensor is arranged on a circuit board that carries a control circuit controlling heating power.
Zhao teaches wherein the temperature sensor (2) is arranged on a circuit board (4) that carries a control circuit controlling heating power ([0027] controller 1 mainly includes a temperature detection circuit 2 and a control circuit 4; to control the on and off of the PTC heater).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Borsoi, Puzenat, and Goerner to incorporate the teachings of Zhao to have a temperature sensor on a circuit board to control heating power in order to prevent the temperature from continuing to rise, avoiding the circuit board from being burned out, and eliminating the safety hazards caused by the overheating of the circuit board (Zhao [0008]).
Regarding claim 13, Borsoi, Zhao, and Puzenat teach the method according to claim 1, but are silent on wherein the resistance threshold is set sufficiently low such that a temperature-resistance characteristic of the PTC resistor is above the resistance threshold at temperatures below a first temperature and above a second temperature.
Goerner teaches wherein the resistance threshold is set sufficiently low such that a temperature-resistance characteristic of the PTC resistor (T) is above the resistance threshold (Rmin) at temperatures below a first temperature (Tmin) and above a second temperature (Tref).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Borsoi, Zhao, and Puzenat to incorporate the teachings of Goerner to satisfy resistance threshold be low so that a temperature-resistance characteristic of the PTC resistor is above the resistance threshold at temperatures below a first temperature and above a second temperature so that heat may be kept within a permissible range so surrounding parts are not damaged (Goerner [0002]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borsoi (US12279341B2) in view of Zhao (CN 207279793) in further view of Puzenat (US20220374031A1) and Goerner (EP1524139A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kuo (US 20120123609 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Borsoi, Zhao, Puzenat, and Goerner teach the method according to claim 9, but are silent on wherein the temperature sensor is an NTC sensor.
Kuo teaches wherein the temperature sensor is an NTC sensor ([0033] a negative temperature coefficient (NTC) thermal probe).
Borsoi, Zhao, Puzenat, Goerner, and Kuo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heaters. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Borsoi, Zhao, Puzenat, and Goerner to incorporate the teachings of Goerner to have a NTC sensor to real-time sense the temperature variation of the heater (Kuo [0014]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borsoi (US12279341B2) in view of Zhao (CN 207279793) in further view of Puzenat (US20220374031A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McCarthy (US 20200314966 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Borsoi, Zhao and Puzenat teach the method according to claim 1, but are silent on wherein the PTC resistor is a ceramic resistor.
McCarthy teaches wherein the PTC resistor is a ceramic resistor ([0009] Another advantageous refinement is that the heating resistor can be a ceramic heating resistor, e.g., a PTC (positive temperature coefficient) resistor).
Borsoi, Zhao, Puzenat, and McCarthy are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heaters. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Borsoi, Zhao, and Puzenat to incorporate the teachings of McCarthy to have the PTC be a ceramic resistor as it is known that they have a marked increase in their electrical resistance at a critical temperature and they are inherently protected from overheating beyond their critical temperature (McCarthy [0009]).
Conclusion
/ABIGAIL H RHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 10/30/2026