DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR101121650 to Yun.
In re claim 1, Yun teaches a notching apparatus (100) for a secondary battery, the notching apparatus comprising:
a lower body (110) configured to support an electrode plate which comprises a first area coated with an active material and a second area not coated with the active material, the electrode plate to be transferred in a first direction;
an upper body (10) configured to vertically move above the lower body (along 70,160)
a die (151, see Annotated Figure 1, below) on the lower body and arranged to face the second area;
a punch hole passing through the die (as shown in at least Figure 3) and comprising a first punch hole (see Annotated Figure 1), a second punch hole (see Annotated Figure 1), and a third punch hole sequentially arranged in the first direction; and
a punch (61) on the upper body, insertable into the punch hole as the upper body moves downward, and configured to cut the second area,
wherein the die comprises:
a die body (body of 151) fixed to the lower body (110);
a first extension (see Annotated Figure 1, below) extending from the die body and comprising a first surface;
a second extension (see Annotated Figure 1, below) extending from the die body and comprising a second surface arranged to face the first surface in the first direction;
a first tab support (see Annotated Figure 2) arranged between the first extension and the second extension; and
a second tab (see Annotated Figure 2) support arranged between the first extension and the second extension and spaced apart from the first tab support in the first direction,
wherein
the first punch hole (see Annotated Figure 1) is arranged between the first extension and the first tab support,
the second punch hole (see Annotated Figure 1) is arranged between the first tab support and the second tab support, and
the third punch hole (see Annotated Figure 1) is arranged between the second tab support and the second extension,
wherein the punch hole further includes a notching hole (see Annotated Figure 1) extending from the third hole in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and the notching hole extends to the second surface along the first direction.
Per the state of the art, notching is defined as cutting of a discrete product from a workpiece through the thickness of the workpiece with the line of cut starting at an edge of the workpiece and returning to the same edge. The edge of the workpiece may be either an exterior edge or an interior edge. A cut which extends solely along a single straight line is not considered to be a notching cut. It has been interpreted Yun performs this particular cutting of a workpiece and is a notching apparatus. Further, the notching hole extends to the second surface along the first direction, in as much as Applicant’s notching hole.
In re claim 4, wherein
longitudinal directions of the first extension, the second extension, the first tab support, and the second tab support extend in a direction parallel to the second direction (as shown in Annotated Figure 1, above), and
a length of the first tab support in the longitudinal direction thereof and a length of the second tab support in the longitudinal direction thereof are smaller than a length of the first extension in the longitudinal direction thereof and a length of the second extension in the longitudinal direction thereof (as shown in Annotated Figure 1, above).
In re claim 6, wherein longitudinal directions of the first punch hole, the second punch hole, and the third punch hole are parallel to the second direction, and
a length of the first punch hole is smaller than a length of the third punch hole (see Annotated Figure 3, below).
In re claim 13, wherein a surface of the notching hole (as shown in Annotated Figure 1, above) is in contact with the second surface.
Note, a surface of the notching hole is in contact with the second surface via at least one line of the slope of the V which intersects the second surface.
In re claim 14, wherein a width of the notching hole (as shown in Annotated Figure 4, above) becomes narrower in the second direction (the width tapers in the second direction).
In re claim 15, wherein the electrode plate further comprises a third area not coated with the active material and arranged on a side opposite to the second area, and the notching apparatus further comprises a sub die (132,133) on the lower body and arranged to face the third area, a sub punch hole (as shown in at least Figure 3) passing through the sub die, and a sub punch (60) on the upper body, insertable into the sub punch hole as the upper body moves downward, and configured to cut the third area.
Note, the preamble is directed to a notching apparatus and not the workpiece. Therefore, the electrode plate merely has to be capable of comprising a third area.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101121650 to Yun in view of KR20190112379 to Yeo et al. or KR20160076139 to Shin.
In re claim 8, wherein the upper body (10) is (capable of being) movable downward after the electrode plate is transferred by a distance in the first direction.
In re claim 9, wherein the distance is (capable of being) smaller than a gap between the first punch hole and the third punch hole (as shown in at least Annotated Figure 1)
Note, the distance is directed to the electrode plate, which is the workpiece. The preamble is directed to a notching apparatus, not the workpiece.
In re claim 10, wherein a surface of the first punch hole (see Annotated Figure 1) is in contact with the first surface (of the first extension, see Annotated Figure 2), and a surface of the third punch hole (see Annotated Figure 1) is in contact with the second surface (of the second extension, see Annotated Figure 2), and the distance (is capable of being) is smaller than a gap between the first surface and the second surface.
In re claim 11, wherein the second tab support is arranged to face the second surface (of the second extension, see Annotated Figure 2) in the first direction and includes a third surface (as shown in at least Annotated Figure 2) in contact with another surface of the third punch hole (as shown in at least Figure 1) and the distance is (capable of being) greater than a gap between the first surface and the third surface.
Note, the distance is directed to the electrode plate, which is the workpiece. The preamble is directed to a notching apparatus, not the workpiece.
Regarding claim 3, Yun teaches wherein widths of the first tab support and the second tab support, which are parallel to the first direction, but does not teach the widths are the same (Claim 3) and
Yeo provides a teaching with a die having a first tab having a width to form an electrode tab (32) in a workpiece.
Shin provides a teaching in the art of notching of a press (110) having a shape corresponding to a die (120) in which the electrode tab forming parts (of the press which correspond to the die) have the same length. Shin provides a teaching of sizing the tab forming parts of the punch to having the same length which is advantageous for a simplifying how the tabs are manufactured. Based on the teachings of Shin one would recognize the advantage of sizing the first and second tab supports to have the same widths, as the advantages would be the same as sizing the lengths the same.
In light of the teachings of Yeo and Shin, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to size the first and second tab supports of Yun to have the same widths which is advantageous for simplifying how tabs are manufactured.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101121650 to Yun in view of Yeo et al.
In re claim 7, Yun teaches wherein a width of the third punch hole parallel to the first direction is greater than a width of the first punch hole parallel to the first direction.
Yeo teaches a die having a punch hole (52), a tab (see Annotated Figure 4, below) and another punch hole on the opposite side of the tab having a width that is smaller than a width of the other punch hole (as shown in at least Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to size the punch holes of Yen for the width of the third punch hole to be greater than a width of the first punch hole (parallel to the first direction) as taught by Shin which is advantageous for obtaining a desired final cut. Changing the size of the punch holes does not alter the function of the die, which in conjunction with the punch, is to remove material to achieve a desired final product.
Response to Arguments
The 112, second paragraph rejection in the Office Action mailed March 26, 2026 has been overcome by the amendments field June 9, 2026.
Applicant's arguments filed June 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Yun does not appear to disclose the punch hole further including a notching hole extending from the third punch hole in a second direction interesting a first direction in which the first punch hole, the second punch hole, and the third punch hole are sequentially arranged, and the notching hole extending to the second surface along the first direction.
Yun teaches a punch hole further includes a notching hole, which is the V shape hole which is disposed with in the third punch hole. The notching hole extends in a second direction, as shown in at least Annotated Figure 1 on Page 4, above. The second direction also intersects the first direction.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., first punch hole, the second punch hole, and the third punch hole are sequentially arranged,) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In an effort to advance prosecution, while the above feature is not claimed, Yun teaches first punch hole, the second punch hole, and the third punch hole are sequentially arranged, which is shown in at least Annotated Figure 1 on Pg. 4, above.
Yun further teaches the notching hole extending to the second surface along the first direction, as shown in at least Figure 3 and Annotated Figure 1. The notching hole of Yun extends along a positive slope and then along a negative slope along a first direction. The negative slope of the notching hole extends to the second surface along the first direction. In other words, if a parallel line (as shown below) extends in a first direction, the notch intersects the line in at least two points, with one point being along the second surface.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER S MATTHEWS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724