DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The present Office action is responsive to the application as filed on 04-10-2026. As directed, claims 1-29 are currently pending examination.
Priority
Benefit to earlier provisional filing 10-13-2021 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the wearable assembly “configured for a lower extremity” in claim 16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5, 7, 10, 12, 14, 17, 21, and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Note that claims 2-16, 18-22, and 24-27 are objected to by virtue of their dependence on claims 1, 17, and 23.
At claim 1, line 6, it is suggested that “couples” be replaced with “is configured to couple” to avoid positive recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 1, line 7, it is suggested that “actuates” be replaced with “is configured to actuate” to avoid positive recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 1, line 12, it is suggested that “thereby” be added before “decoupling” for clarity.
At claim 2, line 2, it is suggested that “contacts” be replaced with “is configured to contact” to avoid positive recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 3, line 5, it is suggested that “moves” be replaced with “is configured to move” to avoid positive recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 3, line 6, it is suggested that “withdraws” be replaced with “is configured to withdraw” to avoid positive recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 4, line 3, it is suggested that “sense” be replaced with “is configured to sense” to avoid positive recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 5, line 1, it is suggested that “senses” be replaced with “is configured to sense” to avoid positive recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 5, line 2, it is suggested that “moves” be replaced with “is configured to move” to avoid positive recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 7, line 1, it is suggested that “controls” be replaced with “is configured to control” to avoid positive recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 7, line 3, it is suggested that “moves” be replaced with “is configured to move” to avoid positive recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 7, line 5, it is suggested that “moves” be replaced with “is configured to move” to avoid positive recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 7, line 7, it is suggested that “senses” be replaced with “is configured to sense” to avoid positive recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 10, line 3, it is suggested that “slides” be replaced with “is configured to slide” to avoid positive recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 12, line 2, it is suggested that “locks” be replaced with “is configured to lock” to avoid positive recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 14, line 1, it is suggested that “is controlled by brain signals” be replaced with “is configured to be controlled by brain signals” to avoid positive recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim and to more explicitly avoid recitation of the human organism.
At claim 17, line 4, it is suggested that “moves” be replaced with “is configured to move” to avoid positive recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 21, line 4, it is suggested that “slides” be replaced with “is configured to slide” to avoid positive recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 23, line 1, it is suggested that “couples” be replaced with “is configured to couple” to avoid positive recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 23, line 10, it is suggested that “protrudes” be replaced with “is configured to protrude” to avoid positive recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A/the tension element in claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9-10, 17, and 20-21, which is interpreted relative to the instant specification at paragraphs 50 and 56 to be a wire and/or a tension wire and functional equivalents thereof.
A/the engagement element in claims 3 and 23 which is interpreted relative to the instant specification at paragraphs 44 and 61 to be ball bearings and functional equivalents thereof.
A/the locking mechanism of claims 12, 19, and 27 which is interpreted relative to the instant specification at paragraphs 34-36 to be levers, a sliding lock, or a sliding latch, posts, notches, protrusions and functional equivalents thereof.
A/the locking feature of claims 12 and 27 which is interpreted relative to the instant specification at paragraphs 34-36 to be levers, a sliding lock, or a sliding latch, posts, notches, protrusions and functional equivalents thereof.
A/the securing feature of claims 17, 20, and 28 which is interpreted relative to the instant specification at paragraphs 44 and 54 to be a knob or a ball and functional equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bae (KR 2017/0006816).
Examiner notes that the citations are derived from the provided translation.
Regarding claim 1, Bae discloses a user replaceable orthosis effector assembly (100) that couples to a wearable assembly (“glove”) (page 3: “As shown, the exoskeleton device 100 using a cable according to the present invention includes a joint 110, a sensing module 120 coupled to the rear of the joint 110; The joint connection part 110 and the sensing module 120 may be coupled to a wearable member such as a glove that can be worn by a user, and may be mounted on the user's hand”, note that donning and doffing of the glove by the user would effect replacement and displacement of the effector assembly on the hand; Fig. 1), the effector assembly (100) comprising:
an effector portion (110) (page 3: “As shown, the exoskeleton device 100 using a cable according to the present invention includes a joint joint 110”; Fig.);
a tension element (142) that moves within the effector portion (110) to actuate the effector portion (110) (pages 3-4: “The joint connection part 110 of each finger is connected to the sensing module 120 and the motor 130 through a cable 140. The cable 140 is divided into a position measuring cable 141 for measuring joint movements and joint positions of the fingers and a joint control cable 142 for maintaining a proper tension in the joint joints 110 of the fingers. One end of the position measuring cable 141 is connected to the sensing module 120 and one end of the joint control cable 142 can be connected to the motor 130. The sensing module 120 can measure the bending angle of the joint with respect to the flexion and extension of the finger at each joint connection part 110 through the position measuring cable 141. The sensor module 120 So that appropriate tension is applied to each of the joint joints 110 through the joint control cable 142. That is, the force transmitted to the joint joints 110 can be controlled through the driving force of the motor 13; Fig. 1), the tension element (142) having a first end extending out of an end surface of the effector assembly (100) and a second end attached within the effector portion (110) (see Fig. 1, where 142 extends out of an end surface defined by the face of pulley 131 at an end of the assembly 100, and the opposite end of 142 connects within effector portion 110); and
a securing feature (see the winch portion of pulley 131 in Fig. 1) at the first end (page 5: “The motor 130 is provided with a pulley 131 at its front side and the joint control cable 142 connected to the motor 130 is wound around the pulley 131”, note that the portion of pulley 131 on which cable 142 is wound upon is functionally equivalent to the knob of the instant application; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Bae discloses the effector assembly of claim 17, as discussed above.
Bae further discloses wherein the tension element (142) is a wire (page 3: “a joint control cable 142 for maintaining a proper tension in the joint joints 110 of the fingers”).
Regarding claim 20, Bae discloses the effector assembly of claim 17, as discussed above.
Bae further discloses wherein the tension element (142) has a first diameter and the securing feature (see the winch portion of pulley 131 in Fig. 1) has a second diameter that is greater than the first diameter (see Fig. 1, and note that the pulley 131is shown with a greater diameter at each face and on the winch than cable 142).
Regarding claim 21, Bae discloses the effector assembly of claim 17, as discussed above.
Bae further discloses wherein:
the effector portion (110) comprises a flexible appendage comprising a plurality of baffles (111-113) having openings (112C) (page 4: “The joint control cable 142 is connected to the motor 130 through a single cable connected to the end of the third joint connecting portion 113 via the upper side of the first through third joint connecting portions 111 through 113 And appropriate tensile force can be transmitted to the joint joints 111 to 113 according to the degree of bending of the position measuring cable 141”; Figs. 1 and 4-5; note that flexion of the finger joints 110 is taken to provide a “flexible appendage” by virtue of the bending through flexion and the flexibility of cables 141 and 142); and
the tension element (142) slides through the openings (112C) in the plurality of baffles (111-113) (page 4: “The second joint connecting part 112 shown in FIG. 3 has a cable supporting part 112a protruding upward and supporting a joint control cable 142 at an upper part thereof, and a cable A guide groove 112b is formed. The cable support 112a can support the cable so as to be spaced apart from the finger by coupling the joint control cable 142 through the through hole 112c, so that the movement of the finger can be prevented from being disturbed by the cable. The position measuring cable 141 is coupled to one point of the cable guide groove 112b under the second joint connecting portion 112 and is coupled to the third joint connecting portion 113 forward through the cable guide groove 112b. So as to guide the connection path of the cable. As described above, since the joint connectors used in the present embodiment are attached in the form of independent parts to the joints and the ends of the fingers of the fingers, the cable supports The joint control cable 142 and the position measuring cable 141 are guided along the path through the cable guide groove 112a and the cable guide groove 112b to constitute a small wearable hand exoskeleton structure.” Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 22, Bae discloses the effector assembly of claim 17, as discussed above.
Bae further discloses wherein the effector portion (110) comprises opposing appendages configured to grasp an object (see Fig. 1, where 110 includes finger portions and a thumb portion, any of the fingers taken to be opposite the thumb; page 5: “As shown in the figure, the exoskeleton device of the present embodiment has a function of holding a virtual object by applying a predetermined tension to the joint control cable 142 according to the degree of bending of the finger joint when the finger is bent and held or gripped in a virtual reality To be transmitted to the finger”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (KR 2017/0006816), as applied to claim 17 above, in view of Yin (CN 107648017).
Regarding claim 19, Bae discloses the effector assembly of claim 17, as discussed above.
Bae fails to disclose a locking feature on the end surface.
However, Yin teaches a pulley (32) for an exoskeleton device (Fig. 3) that includes an end surface (65) with a locking feature (651) for connection of the motor (31) to the pulley (32) (page 8: “second side plate 65 in the space surrounded by the exoskeleton driving component of the driving device 3 includes a driving element 31 and a lever 32. driving element 31 is a motor, a lever 32 fixed pulley, lever 32 connected with the extension, the second side 65 has a hole 651, the driving element 31 of the middle shaft 311 outwardly extending shaft is connected with the second side plate 65 of the lever 32 through the hole 651 from the drive element 31”; Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the end surface of Bae’s pulley with an end plate and a locking feature, as taught by Yin, in order to facilitate connection of the motor with the pulley.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 and 23-29 are allowed. Applicant should address and successfully overcome the outstanding claim objections to place these claims in condition for allowance.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest identified prior art with respect to claim 1 is Choi (US 2022/0040845) which describes a removable follower unit 500 that includes a tension element 530 (see paragraphs 25 and 27). However, the removable follower unit 500 only detaches from slider 300, and there is no mention of respective unloading and starting locations of a coupler, and thus the first end of the tension element is not releasable from its receiving space when the unloading location is attained, in order to decouple the effector assembly from the wearable assembly. As claim 23 recites similar language for an unloading and starting location of a coupler provided by a motor, Choi also fails to provide the set of limitations presented in claim 23.
Hunter (CA 3102530) is the closest prior art document found relative to claim 23. Hunter includes a bearing (60), an anchor (30), and a housing (30B) for attachment of pieces in a prosthetic hand. However, Hunter does not provide different motorized conditions for affecting placement of these components as required in claim 23.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sankai (US 2020/0345574) is cited for its baffled hand exoskeleton as seen in Figure 3.
Wei (CN 108652918) is cited for its hand exoskeleton shown in Figure 1.
Cohen (US 2017/0156856) is cited for its cale-based hand exoskeleton as shown in Figure 1A.
Sankai (US 2012/0029399) is cited for its cale-based hand exoskeleton as shown in Figures 1 and 3A.
/PAIGE KATHLEEN BUGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785