DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0234062) in view of Fukushima et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0002244).
Regarding Claims 1, 3, and 5: Tsuchiya et al. teaches a refrigerant composition comprising an HFO (fluorinated hydrocarbon) such as 2,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (fluorinated propene) and a polymer of halogenated propene of formula C3HaFbClc wherein a+b+c=6, a is 1-3, b is 3-5, and c is 0-1 and wherein the polylmer has a molecular weight of 200-900 (abstract and [0024]).
Tsuchiya et al. does not teach the composition wherein the fluorinated hydrocarbon is a fluorinated ethylene. However, Fukushima et al. teaches a refrigerant composition comprising HFO-1123 (1,1,2-trifluoroethylene) and HFC-32 ([0001] and [0037]). Tsuchiya et al. and Fukushima et al. are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely fluorinated refrigerant compositions. At the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include the HFO-1123 and HFC-32 of Fukushima et al. in the composition of Tsuchiya et al. and would have been motivated to do so because Fukushima et al. teaches that the combination has high durability, and excellent cycle performance and energy efficiency ([0032]-[0033]).
Regarding Claim 6: Tsuchiya et al. teaches that the polymer of molecular weight 200-900 (oligomer) is present in 0.1 to 10 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of the refrigerant ([0034]).
Regarding Claim 7: Tsuchiya et al. teaches the refrigerant further comprising a lubricant (refrigeration oil) ([0018]-[0019]).
Regarding Claim 8: Tsuchiya et al. teaches the refrigerant is used for mobile air conditioners, refrigerators, and air conditioners ([0020]).
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0234062) in view of Honma et al. (JPH01225685A and English machine translation thereof).
Tsuchiya et al. teaches a refrigerant composition comprising an HFO (fluorinated hydrocarbon) such as 2,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (fluorinated propene) and a polymer of halogenated propene of formula C3HaFbClc wherein a+b+c=6, a is 1-3, b is 3-5, and c is 0-1 and wherein the polylmer has a molecular weight of 200-900 (abstract and [0024]).
Tsuchiya et al. does not teach the composition wherein the oligomer is a polymer of C2HaFbClc. However, Honma et al. teaches a refrigerant composition comprising a trifluorochloroethylene oligomer of molecular weight 500-800 (English abstract), corresponding to a polymer of a compound of formula C2HaFbClc wherein a=0, b=3, and Cl=1. Tsuchiya et al. and Honma et al. are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely fluorinated refrigerant compositions. At the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add the oligomer of Honma et al. to the composition of Tsuchiya et al. with a reasonable expectation of success and would have been motivated to do so because Honma et al. teaches that the oligomer serves as a lubricating oil with excellent heat resistance, chemical resistance, and the efficiency of a refrigerator or air conditioner can be improved (English abstract), and Tsuchiya et al. teaches that additional lubricants may be added to the composition ([0027]).
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 June 18, 2026