DETAILED ACTION
Currently, claims 1-5 are pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujita 2022 (Fujita et al; A report to explore the druggable gene mutations from cytological samples of High sensitivity detection test for multiple gene mutations; MINtS”, 62nd Annual Meeting of the Japanese Respiratory Society; Kyoto, Japan, April 22, 2022; cited in the IDS filed 6/6/2024).
With regard to claim 1, Fujita 2022 teaches (see page 3 “Flow of Test Preparation)
treating a biopsy sample from a lung cancer patient with negative pressure in an isotonic solution (saline), collecting the solution, and mixing it with a cytological specimen (lavage fluid after scraping brush, bronchial lavage fluid) to form a liquid mixture. Fujita 2022 teaches analysis of the samples for tumor cells.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita 2022 in view of Oh (Oh et al; BioMed Research International, doi.org/10.1155/2013/546727; 2013, pages 1-10;).
Fujita 2022 teaches (see page 3 “Flow of Test Preparation”) treating a biopsy sample from a lung cancer patient with negative pressure in an isotonic solution (saline), collecting the solution, and mixing it with a cytological specimen (lavage fluid after scraping brush, bronchial lavage fluid) to form a liquid mixture. Fujita 2022 teaches analysis of the samples for tumor cells. With regard to claims 4 and 5, Fujita 2022 teaches analysis of nucleic acids in the tumor samples from the liquid using next generation sequencing. Fujita 2022 does not teach treating cells in the liquid mixture with a solution containing ammonium sulfate. However Oh teaches analysis of obtaining amplifiable DNA in a small number of cells, such as the cytological specimen liquid taught by Fujita 2022, by treating with ammonium sulfate (see whole document). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have included the use of ammonium sulfate as taught by Oh, in the method of Fujita 2022 because Oh teaches that it allowed for the best DNA quality and yield.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (Inoue et al; PLOS One 12(4): e0176525; April 27, 2017, pages 1-14) in view of Fujita 2021 (Fujita et al; Cancer Medicine, vol 10, pages 8595-8603, 2021) and Goodacre (Goodacre et al; Ann Thorac Surg, vol 74, pages 276-277; 2002).
With regard to claim 1, Inoue teaches obtaining (see page 2, “Samples”) debris from fine needle aspirate biopsy (biopsy tissue taken from a lung cancer patient with negative pressure), as well as bronchial wash or bronchial brushing isolated during bronchoscopy (cytological specimen containing tumor cell). Inoue teaches that part of each sample was submitted for pathological examination to confirm the presence of cancer cells, while the rest was centrifuged and stored in RNAlater (claims 2 and 3) stabilizing solution. As evidenced by the teachings in the instant specification RNAlater solution necessarily contains ammonium sulfate (see para 0024). With regard to claims 4 and 5, Inoue teaches analysis of nucleic acids from the tumor cells using next generation sequencing (see page 3).
With regard to claim 1, Inoue does not teach that the needle aspirate specimen was obtained using negative pressure in an isotonic solution, however Goodacre teaches that using saline (isotonic solution) during fine needle aspiration reduced complications from bronchoscopy (see abstract, whole document). Goodacre teaches (figure 1) introducing a needle into a lesion, injecting saline, and then withdrawal of the needle (negative pressure) to obtain the sample. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan prior to the effective filing date to have included fine needle aspirate samples obtained as taught by Goodacre in the method of Inoue with a reasonable expectation of success because Goodacre teaches the protocol resulted in high diagnostic yield.
With regard to claim 1, Inoue in view of Goodacre does not teach samples were obtained from the same patient, however Fujita 2021 teaches analysis of different types of specimens for genetic analysis from the same lesion including cytological samples and tissue samples (page 8597, col 2 “Clinical samples”). Fujita 2021 teaches that these were considered a “sample set”. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have included samples taught by Inoue from the same lesion for the purpose of obtaining as much sample as possible for mutation analysis. Although Fujita 2021 does not teach that the components of the sets were combined into a single cell suspension, as set forth in the MPEP 2144.06 I, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.).”. Further, given that Inoue teaches that the samples produced small amounts of DNA, the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to combine samples from the same lesion so as to increase the number of cells in the sample being processed.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/JEHANNE S SITTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682