DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 and 21-26 of US Application No. 18/631,694 are currently pending and have been examined. Applicant amended claims 1-14 and 25. Applicant previously canceled claims 15-20.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 17 September 2026 has been considered. An initialed copy of form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the previous rejections of claims 1-14 and 25-26 under 35 U.S.C. 103, see REMARKS, filed 17 September 2026, have been fully considered and are partially persuasive.
First, Applicant argues that the previously-cited prior art fails to teach “obtaining a first plurality of potential paths, wherein the first plurality of potential paths includes a preferred path identified by the first vehicle”. In particular, Applicant suggests that Choi does not disclose generating a plurality of candidate paths based on a provided point-of-intent and that Choi discloses that an operator selects an optimal path as opposed to a vehicle identifying a preferred path.
However, the Examiner maintains that combination of Liu and Choi teaches “wherein the first plurality of paths includes a preferred path identified by the first vehicle”. In this regard, Liu discloses that a teleoperator may provide seeds of a possible trajectory, i.e., point-of-intent. These seeds may be sent to a teleoperation command handling process on an AV system, where the AV system may then construct a trajectory from the current location to the new goal, i.e., seed. See Fig. 9 and ¶ [0158]-[0159]. The AV system is part of the vehicle. See Fig. 1. In other words, Liu discloses obtaining one potential path, from the vehicle AV system, in response to receiving a point of intent, i.e., seed. Liu simply does not disclose providing a plurality of potential paths, including a preferred path, such that a potential path may be selected from the plurality of paths. However, Choi discloses that one or more candidate paths may be received from the vehicle, where a processor may distinguish, such as by color, between a main path having a high priority and other candidate paths. A main path having a high priority is a preferred path, i.e., has priority among the candidate paths. See ¶ [0115]. Contrary to Applicant’s argument, the identified path, as claimed, is not an optimal path. Rather, the claim requires that the path is a preferred path. Therefore, the Examiner concludes that the combination of Liu and Choi teaches obtaining, in response to providing the point-of-intent to the autonomy system, a first plurality of potential paths (i.e., generating a potential path based on a seed provided to a vehicle autonomy system – Liu; receiving a plurality of candidate paths from the vehicle – Choi), wherein the first plurality of potential paths includes a preferred path identified by the first vehicle (i.e., distinguish a main path having a high priority from other candidate paths – Choi).
Second, Applicant argues that the previously-cited prior art fails to teach “providing, using the teleoperations indirect control arrangement, information associated with the first situation and the first potential path to the one or more additional vehicles”, as recited in the amended claims. This claim limitation is not taught by Liu or Choi. Therefore, the previous rejections of claims 1-14 and 25-26 under § 103 are withdrawn. However, new rejections of claims 1-14 and 25-26 under § 103 are set forth below.
Claim Interpretation
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. See MPEP 2111.04.
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 are method claims that recite contingent limitations. The claim limitations “when it is determined that the first mitigation includes providing the point-of- intent to the autonomy system, providing the point-of-intent to the autonomy system and obtaining, in response to providing the point-of-intent to the autonomy system, a first plurality of potential paths between a current location of the first vehicle and the point-of-intent, wherein the first plurality of potential paths includes a preferred path identified by the first vehicle” (claim 1), “when it is determined that the first mitigation does not include providing the point-of-intent to the autonomy system, the method further comprises: determining whether the first mitigation includes providing a blockage indication that identifies a blockage to the autonomy system; and when it is determined that the first mitigation includes providing the blockage indication that identifies the blockage to the autonomy system, the method further comprises providing the blockage indication that identifies the blockage to the autonomy system and obtaining, in response to providing the blockage indication that identifies the blockage to the autonomy system, a second plurality of potential paths that avoids the blockage” (claim 2), “when it is determined that the first mitigation does not include providing the point-of-intent to the autonomy system, the method further comprises: determining whether the first mitigation includes identifying a teleoperations direct control arrangement to remotely control the first vehicle; and when it is determined that the first mitigation includes identifying the teleoperations direct control arrangement to remotely control the first vehicle, the method further comprises communicating to the first vehicle and the teleoperations direct control arrangement that the teleoperations direct control arrangement is to take control of the first vehicle” (claim 4), and “when it is determined that the first mitigation does not include identifying the teleoperations direct control arrangement to remotely control the first vehicle, the method further comprises: determining, using the teleoperations indirect control arrangement, whether an issue associated with the first supervisory request is a false positive issue that does not affect an ability of the first vehicle to operate autonomously; when it is determined that the issue associated with the first supervisory request is a false positive issue, the method further comprises communicating to the first vehicle that the first vehicle is to operate autonomously; and when it is determined that the issue associated with the first supervisory request is not a false positive issue, the method further comprises communicating to the first vehicle that the first vehicle is to be extracted” (claim 5) are contingent limitations and are not required to be performed. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed method does not require these limitation to be taught by the prior art. However, the claim limitations will be addressed in the § 103 rejections below in an effort to provide compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2018/0365908 A1, “Liu”) in view of Choi et al. (US 2022/0413483 A1, “Choi”) and Gate et al. (US 11,644,830 B1, “Gate”).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 25, Liu discloses a method for intervention in operation of a vehicle having autonomous driving capabilities and teaches:
obtaining a first supervisory request at a teleoperations indirect control arrangement, the first supervisory request being originated by a first vehicle (at 302, a teleoperation event is generated by a monitoring process of an AV system and at 303 a teleoperation request is generated by the even handling process which requests the teleoperation system to begin a tele-interaction with the AV system – see at least Fig. 3A and ¶ [0084]), the first vehicle having an autonomy system, the autonomy system configured to enable the first vehicle to operate autonomously (at 301, AV system operates in fully autonomous mode – see at least Fig. 3A and ¶ [0084]);
identifying a first situation associated with the first supervisory request, wherein the first situation is identified by the first vehicle as affecting operation of the first vehicle (Determining that an intervention is appropriate may comprise analyzing the signal. Analyzing the signal may comprise detecting unexpected data or absence of expected data. Analyzing the signal may comprise evaluating a mismatch between a measured quantity and a model-estimated quantity for the hardware component or software. Analyzing the signal may comprise using pattern recognition to evaluate an abnormal pattern in the signal. The abnormal pattern may be learned by a machine learning algorithm. Analyzing the signal may comprise inferring a malfunction in the hardware component or the software. Analyzing the signal may comprise detecting an unknown object present in the environment of the vehicle. Analyzing the signal may comprise inferring an event that is or will be happening in the environment of the vehicle – see at least ¶ [0006]; teleoperation event may be triggered. For instance, a brake malfunctions; a flat tire occurs; the field of view of a vision sensor is blocked; a frame rate of a vision sensor drops below a threshold; an AV system's movement does not match with a current steering angle, a throttle level, a brake level, or a combination of them; a fault software code; a reduced signal strength; an increased noise level; an unknown object perceived in the environment of the AV system; a motion planning process is unable to find a trajectory towards the goal due to a planning error; inaccessibility to a data source (e.g., a database, a sensor, and a map data source); or combinations of them – see at least ¶ [0090]), and wherein the first supervisory request includes an indication that identifies the first situation (request may comprise data associated with status of a related AV system – see at least ¶ [0007]; request may include signals from hardware components of the vehicle or a related AV system – see at least ¶ [0041], [0084], [0114]; request may include relevant information about an AV system failure or other condition – see at least [0130]);
identifying a first mitigation for the first situation (teleoperation command 452 – see at least ¶ [0087]);
determining whether the first mitigation includes providing a point-of-intent to the autonomy system (teleoperator may provide seeds 920 of a possible trajectory – see at least Fig. 9 and ¶ [0158]);
when it is determined that the first mitigation includes providing the point-of-intent to the autonomy system,
providing the point-of-intent to the autonomy system (teleoperator may provide seeds 920 of a possible trajectory – see at least Fig. 9 and ¶ [0158]) and
obtaining, in response to providing the point-of-intent to the autonomy system, a [potential path] between a current location of the first vehicle and the point-of-intent (new trajectory 952 may be determined based on seeds 920 – see at least Fig. 9 and ¶ [0158]; seeds may be sent to teleoperation command handling process on the AV system – see at least ¶ [0158]; teleoperator may interact with motion planning process of the AV system, e.g., issue a new goal, and motion planning process of the AV system may then construct a trajectory from the current location to the new goal – see at least ¶ [0159]);
[ ];
providing, using the teleoperations indirect control arrangement, a first indication that the first vehicle is to use the first potential path (teleoperation command handling process 440 translates the teleoperation command in an AV system command 442 and sends the AV system command to the AV system – see at least Fig. 4A and ¶ [0087]); and
[ ].
Liu fails to teach obtaining a first plurality of potential paths, wherein the first plurality of potential paths includes a preferred path identified by the first vehicle; selecting, using the teleoperations indirect control arrangement, a first potential path of the first plurality of potential paths; providing, using the teleoperations indirect control arrangement, information associated with the first situation and the first potential path to the one or more additional vehicles.
However, Choi discloses an autonomous vehicle and control system for remotely controlling the vehicle and teaches:
obtaining a first plurality of potential paths (generate candidate paths – see at least ¶ [0114]), wherein the first plurality of potential paths includes a preferred path identified by the first vehicle (when receiving one or more candidate paths from the vehicle, the processor may distinguish between a main path having a high priority and other candidate paths – see at least ¶ [0025]);
selecting, using the teleoperations indirect control arrangement, a first potential path of the first plurality of potential paths (operator 230 may select an optimal path amount the candidate paths – see at least ¶ [0114]; display multiple candidate paths 712, 713, 714 – see at least Fig. 7B and ¶ [0116]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method for intervention in operation of a vehicle having autonomous driving capabilities of Liu to provide for obtaining a plurality of paths and selecting one of the paths, as taught by Choi, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow the operator to select an optimal path (Choi at ¶ [0114]).
Gate discloses autonomous vehicle remote teleoperations system with scenario selection and teaches:
providing, using the teleoperations indirect control arrangement, information associated with the first situation and the first potential path to the one or more additional vehicles (after a selected scenario is executed by a vehicle at 420, the scenario selection may be propagated to one or more other vehicles, e.g., vehicles entering the same geographical area – see at least Fig. 8 and 24:11-33; may also be desirable to propagate data collected during a teleoperations session (e.g., data related to lane closures, detected construction or incidents, etc.) to other vehicles in a fleet – see at least 12:9-29).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method for intervention in operation of a vehicle having autonomous driving capabilities of Liu to provide for providing information to additional vehicles, as taught by Gate, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow other vehicles encountering the same conditions that trigger a scenario for the first vehicle to select the same scenario without needing to initiate a teleoperation session (Gate at 24:11-33).
Claims 2, 3, 7, 9, 10, 14, 21-24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. in view of Choi and Gate, as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Bohnsack et al. (US 2024/0319732 A1, “Bohnsack”).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Liu further teaches:
wherein the teleoperations indirect control arrangement is configured to monitor a plurality of vehicles including the first vehicle (teleoperation server 210 can communicate with multiple teleoperation clients, such as AV 200 and AV 250 – see at least Fig. 2A and ¶ [0079]).
Choi further teaches:
a [ ] plurality of potential paths that avoids the blockage (generate candidate paths – see at least Fig. 4 and ¶ [0114]; situation in which it is impossible to follow a path during autonomous driving – see at least Fig. 4 and ¶ [0107]-[0108]).
Liu, Choi, and Gate fail to teach but Bohnsack discloses a method of supervised operation of a vehicle and teaches:
determining whether the first mitigation includes providing a blockage indication that identifies a blockage to the autonomy system, wherein the blockage is an area through which the first vehicle may not pass; and when it is determined that the first mitigation includes providing the blockage indication that identifies the blockage to the autonomy system, providing the blockage indication that identifies the blockage to the autonomy system and obtaining, in response to providing the blockage indication that identifies the blockage to the autonomy system, a [ ] paths that avoids the blockage (remote operator can send a nudge 46, which may be an identifier for an object, such as for an object that is lying across a road – see at least ¶ [0096]-[0099]; at S3, nudge 46 may be received from remote station 12 – see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0061]; at S4, updated trajectory may be determined based on the nudge – see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0066]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined method for intervention in operation of a vehicle having autonomous driving capabilities of Liu, Choi, and Gate to provide for providing the blockage indication and obtaining a path, as taught by Bohnsack, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow the vehicle to maintain supervisory control without the operator having to take over control of the vehicle (Bohnsack at ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Liu and Choi teach:
selecting, using the teleoperations indirect control arrangement, a second potential path of the second plurality of potential paths (Liu: generate candidate paths – see at least ¶ [0114]; see claim 1 rejection); and providing, using the teleoperations indirect control arrangement, a second indication that the first vehicle is to use the second potential path (Choi: teleoperation command handling process 440 translates the teleoperation command in an AV system command 442 and sends the AV system command to the AV system – see at least Fig. 4A and ¶ [0087]; see claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Choi further teaches:
wherein the first situation is an obstacle in a first planned path for the first vehicle from a source point to a destination point (situation, e.g., road construction 30, in which it is not possible to continue driving on the driving path – see at least Fig. 4 and ¶ [0107]) and providing the point-of-intent includes identifying the point-of-intent, wherein the point-of-intent is identified between the obstacle and the destination point (operator may adjust the path points – see at least Fig. 5 and ¶ [0110]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method for intervention in operation of a vehicle having autonomous driving capabilities of Liu to provide for the situation being an obstacle in a path and providing a point-of-intent, as further taught by Choi, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow them to identify a path for avoiding the obstacle (Choi at ¶ [0134]).
Liu, Choi, and Gate fail to teach but Bohnsack discloses a method of supervised operation of a vehicle and teaches:
determining a first classification for the first situation; and providing the first classification to the autonomy system (remote operator can send a nudge 46, which may be an identifier for an object, such as for an object that is lying across a road, along with a classifier to go with the identifier – see at least ¶ [0096]-[0099]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined method for intervention in operation of a vehicle having autonomous driving capabilities of Liu, Choi, and Gate to provide for determining and providing a classification, as taught by Bohnsack, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would indicate particular objects that should be avoided but could be driven over to assist the vehicle to maintain supervisory control without the operator having to take over control of the vehicle (Bohnsack at ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claims 21, 23, and 26, Liu further teaches:
wherein the first situation is an on-road situation (object blocking the road by the AV system cannot recognized what the object is – see at least ¶ [0163]).
Liu, Choi, and Gate fail to teach but Bohnsack discloses a method of supervised operation of a vehicle and teaches:
wherein the indication that identifies the first situation is a classification associated with the on-road situation (remote operator can send a nudge 46, which may be an identifier for an object, such as for an object that is lying across a road, along with a classifier to go with the identifier – see at least ¶ [0096]-[0099]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined method for intervention in operation of a vehicle having autonomous driving capabilities of Liu, Choi, and Gate to provide for determining and providing a classification, as taught by Bohnsack, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would indicate particular objects that should be avoided but could be driven over to assist the vehicle to maintain supervisory control without the operator having to take over control of the vehicle (Bohnsack at ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claims 22 and 24, Liu further teaches:
wherein the on-road situation is one selected from a group including a blocked road and an impassable road (object blocking the road by the AV system cannot recognized what the object is – see at least ¶ [0163]).
Claims 4, 5, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. in view of Choi and Gate, as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of MacGregor et al. (US 2024/0142967 A1, “MacGregor”).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Liu, Choi, and Gate fail to teach but MacGregor discloses techniques for engaging and disengaging a vehicle from an autonomous operation mode and teaches:
determining, at the teleoperations indirect control arrangement, whether the first mitigation includes identifying a teleoperations direct control arrangement to remotely control the first vehicle (teleoperator request to disengage from autonomy – see at least ¶ [0019]; manual driving mode where local or remotely provided commands are used to direct the vehicle in an environment – see at least ¶ [0012]); and when it is determined that the first mitigation includes identifying the teleoperations direct control arrangement to remotely control the first vehicle, communicating to the first vehicle and the teleoperations direct control arrangement that the teleoperations direct control arrangement is to take control of the first vehicle (teleoperator request may be sent to and validated by the teleoperation computing system – see at least ¶ [0021]; the request may be sent to the vehicle computing system if validated – see at least ¶ [0023]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined method for intervention in operation of a vehicle having autonomous driving capabilities of Liu, Choi, and Gate to provide for identifying a teleoperations direct control arrangement and communicating the direct control arrangement, as taught by MacGregor, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow the vehicle to exit autonomous mode to resolve a vehicle fault, such as a road hazard (MacGregor at ¶ [0012]).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Gate further teaches:
determining, using the teleoperations indirect control arrangement, whether an issue associated with the first supervisory request is a false positive issue that does not affect an ability of the first vehicle to operate autonomously (detector overrides generated by a teleoperations system, e.g., to indicate when a detector 246 has likely generated a false positive – see at least 13:8-19);
when it is determined that the issue associated with the first supervisory request is a false positive issue, the method further comprises communicating to the first vehicle that the first vehicle is to operate autonomously (teleoperations control module 208 may communicate detector overrides due to false positives to perception component 240 of the vehicle – see at least 13:8-19; at 264, operator input is received and the input is executed at 274 – see at least Fig. 4 and 15:20-46; input may include, e.g., “disregard a sensed condition” – see at least 15:20-46); and
when it is determined that the issue associated with the first supervisory request is not a false positive issue, the method further comprises communicating to the first vehicle that the first vehicle is to be extracted (at 264, operator input is received and the input is executed at 274 – see at least Fig. 4 and 15:20-46; remote operator assist with resolving irregular/uncommon conditions – see at least 9:29-41).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined method for intervention in operation of a vehicle having autonomous driving capabilities of Liu, Choi, and Gate to provide for determining whether an issue is a false positive, as further taught by Gate, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would the vehicle to disregard the false positive so that the vehicle can determine necessary driving commands (Gate at 15:20-46).
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. in view of Choi, as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Goldman et al. (US 2024/0036571 A1, “Goldman”).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Gate further teaches:
enabling the one or more additional vehicles to avoid a blockage based on the information associated with the first situation and the first potential path (e.g., where the stopped vehicle in the above-described example is disabled or parked for a long time, in which case it may be desirable to propagate the selection of a nudge left scenario to other vehicles so that when those vehicles arrive at the same location and the same vehicle is stopped in that location, they will be biased to drive around the obstruction rather than wait for it to clear – see at least 24:11-33)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined method for intervention in operation of a vehicle having autonomous driving capabilities of Liu, Choi, and Gate to provide for enabling additional vehicles to avoid a blockage, as further taught by Gate, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow other vehicles encountering the same conditions that trigger a scenario for the first vehicle to select the same scenario without needing to initiate a teleoperation session (Gate at 24:11-33).
Liu, Choi, and Gate fail to teach but Goldman discloses teleoperation queueing for autonomous vehicles and teaches:
wherein obtaining the first supervisory request at the teleoperations indirect control arrangement includes selecting the first supervisory request from a plurality of supervisory requests (at 404, remote operation system 112 may generate a queue of remote operation requests from a vehicle as well as other vehicles – see at least Fig. 4 and ¶ [0076]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined method for intervention in operation of a vehicle having autonomous driving capabilities of Liu, Choi, and Gate to provide for selecting a supervisory request from a plurality of supervisory requests, as taught by Goldman, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow requests to be ordered based on time or safety considerations and for selecting an appropriate remote operator for responding to the request (Goldman at ¶ [0015]).
Conclusion
/AARON L TROOST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666