DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/05/2025 has been fully considered and made of record.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is not in narrative form (should be written in multiple short sentences) and appears to be in claim format.
Claim Objections
Claims 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The following amendment to claim 17 is suggested to overcome any potential 112(b) issues.
17. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 16, further comprising:
forming a first grooved pipe end and a second grooved pipe end from the at least two pipe ends, each having the respective peripherally extending groove; and
surrounding the first grooved pipe end and the second grooved pipe end with the mechanical joint.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3, recites the limitation of “wherein the mechanical joint is formed from a pipe coupling” in line 1-2. However, independent claim 12 which claim 3 directly depends from recites the limitation of “wherein the mechanical joint includes a pipe coupling having a fastener” in lines 4-5. Therefore, it is unclear if there are multiple pipe couplings or the pipe coupling in claim 3 is the same as the coupling in claim 12.
Examiner’s Note
Due to Applicant’s amendment, the rejection of independent claim 12 will be followed by the rejection of dependent claims 2-10 and 13 and 15-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 5, 9, 12-13 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Lupke et al. (US 4,141,576, hereinafter “Lupke”) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lupke et al. (US 4,141,576, hereinafter “Lupke”) in view of Ingram (US 7,063,358).
As applied to claim 12, Lupke teaches a method of encasing a pipe arrangement, the pipe arrangement comprising a pipe joint (embodiment of Fig. 4 and Annotated Fig. 5, col. 2, lines 25-48) which has at least two pipe ends (ends of pipes 10 and 11) which are fixed together by a mechanical joint (auxiliary sleeve of heat shrinkable thermoplastic material 16/17, Figs. 4 and 5) and in which the at least two pipe ends and also the mechanical joint are enclosed with a hollow body (heat shrinkable sleeve 12, Fig. 5), wherein the mechanical joint includes a pipe coupling (mechanical joint includes pipe coupling which includes outer cylindrical portion of relatively hard material and an internal annular portion 17 of relatively soft material) having a fastener on a periphery of the pipe coupling (silicon-rubber O-rings 18 positioned on external surface of 16/17 are considered as fasteners, Fig. 5), the method comprising steps of deforming the hollow body by a thermal treatment for thermal deformation of the hollow body (heat-shrinkable sleeve 12); and simultaneously shrinking (col. 2, lines 9-24) an entire periphery of the hollow body to achieve a homogeneous shrinkage process of the hollow body and seal the hollow body against the pipe ends and the mechanical joint (uniform shrinkage at an entire periphery, see Lupke, col. 2, lines 13-14 disclosing “the sleeve is heated so as to shrink to its stable state” reads on the claimed “simultaneously shrinking an entire periphery of the hollow body” since does not disclose local heating).
Alternatively, if Applicant does not agree that Lupke teaches it is well-known in the art to simultaneously shrink an entire periphery of a heat shrinkable sleeve around a mechanical joint made at the ends of a pair of pipes, then Ingram teaches a method referring to FIG. 6, wherein after a length of heat shrink tubing 60 is positioned over the proximal end 56 of the end piece 54 and the distal end of the length of corrugated tubing 52, a radiation source 62 is utilized to heat the length of heat shrink tubing 60. Heating of the length of heat shrink tubing 60 causes the heat shrink tubing 60 to retract or shrink into rigid engagement with the distal end of the length of corrugated tubing 52 and the proximal end of the end piece 54 thereby securing the distal end of the length of corrugated tubing 52 in engagement with the proximal end of the end piece 54 (col. 4, lines 49-59, Figs. 5 and 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the at the time the invention was filed to employ into the method of Lupke a heat source to simultaneously heat and shrink the entirety of the heat shrinkable sleeve, as taught by Ingram, as an effective means of providing a secured, uniform and enhanced joint between the pipe ends resulting in a homogenous joint with a single heating step which results in substantial manufacturing cost saving.
As applied to claim 2, Lupke as modified by Ingram teaches the invention cited including Lupke further teaches wherein the deformed hollow body comprises a shrink tube (12, Figs. 1 and 5).
As applied to claim 3, Lupke as modified by Ingram teaches the invention cited including Lupke further teaches wherein the mechanical joint is formed from a pipe coupling comprising one or more segments (auxiliary sleeve includes outer cylindrical portion 16 and internal annular portion 17 with peripheral grooves formed inside of the portion 16 allowing placement of O-rings 18 and corrugated portions of pipes 10 and 11, see Fig. 5).
As applied to claim 5, Lupke as modified by Ingram teaches the invention cited including Lupke further teaches wherein the hollow body has a sealing function and contains a sealing mass or material (interlocking and registration of corrugated form of hollow body 12 with corrugated portions of the pipe ends functions as sealing mass and material, col. 2, lines 13-21).
As applied to claim 9, Lupke as modified by Ingram teaches the invention cited including Lupke further teaches wherein the hollow body is provided at least at one side with an adhesive layer (13, Fig. 1) provided over a part or a full surface area of the one side.
As applied to claim 13, Lupke as modified by Ingram teaches the invention cited including Lupke further teaches wherein the hollow body comprises a sleeve (12) around the pipe joint (Figs. 1 and 5).
As applied to claim 15, Lupke as modified by Ingram teaches the invention cited including Lupke further teaches steps of placing the hollow body (already formed sleeve 12) over a first pipe end of the at least two pipe ends (10, 11); connecting the first pipe end (10) to a second pipe end (11) of the at least two pipe ends with the mechanical joint (16/17); and placing the hollow body (2) over the first pipe end, the second pipe end, and the mechanical joint (Figs. 1, 4 and 5). Note that the hollow body (12) and mechanical joint (16/17) are each already in sleeve form and not a wrap-around form and as such, the only way they can be assembled with the pipes is by the order of claimed steps.
As applied to claims 16-17, the combination of Lupke and Ingram teaches the invention cited including encasing the arrangement having a pipe joint with at least two pipe ends. Lupke further teaches providing the first pipe end with a peripherally extending groove (end of corrugated pipe 10, Fig. 9); coupling the peripherally extending groove of the first pipe end to a different peripherally extending groove of a second pipe end (end of corrugated pipe 11, Fig. 9) of the at least two pipe ends with the mechanical joint (22, Fig. 9) and forming a first grooved pipe end and a second grooved pipe end of the at least two pipe ends (pipe ends of the corrugated pipes 10 and 11, Fig. 9); and surrounding the first pipe end and the second pipe end with the mechanical joint (22, Fig. 9) and that the mechanical joint comprise a pipe coupling with a plurality of segments (heat shrinkable sleeve 22 can be considered to have a plurality of segments when is heat activated as different parts may heat up at different times during the heating step) with a fastener (separate sealing ring 23, col. 2, lines 61-64, Fig. 9).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lupke et al. (US 4,141,576, hereinafter “Lupke”) in view of Ingram (US 7,063,358) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of in view of Shimizu (US 10,145,498).
As applied to claim 4, the combination of Lupke and Ingram teaches the invention cited including encasing a pipe arrangement comprising a pipe joint of at least two pipe ends but does not explicitly teach the pipe arrangement includes a T-piece with three pipe ends.
Shimizu teaches that is well-known in the art of flow path manufacturing to fabricate a pipe arrangement having a structure defining a T shaped flow path including three connection pipe portions (Fig. 26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have utilized a T-piece including three pipe ends configuration for the pipe arrangement and pipe joint of Lupke/Ingram, as taught by Shimizu, as an effective means of maximizing the usage of the pipe joint in more than two pipes and thus controlling a variety of flow channels.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lupke et al. (US 4,141,576, hereinafter “Lupke”) in view of Ingram (US 7,063,358) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Xu et al. (CN 204512674U, hereinafter “Xu”).
As applied to claim 6, the combination of Lupke and Ingram teaches the invention cited including a heat shrinkable hollow body made of thermoplastic but does not explicitly teach wherein the hollow body has a flame-inhibiting properties.
Xu teaches a heat shrinkable tube (5) with a flame-retardant sleeve (6) directly sleeved on the heat shrinkable tube (5, English Machine Translation, page 2, Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to employ a fire-inhibiting layer to the shrinkable hollow body of Lupke/Ingram, as taught by Xu, as an effective means of enhancing the flame-inhibiting properties of the hollow body that would withstand the high temperature environment.
Claim(s) 6 in alternative and claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lupke et al. (US 4,141,576, hereinafter “Lupke”) in view of Ingram (US 7,063,358) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Mamish et al. (US 20170343149, hereinafter “Mamish”).
As applied to claim 6, Lupke as modified by Ingram teaches the invention cited including wherein the hollow body has properties (the material is thermoplastic and thermoplastic has properties). However, the combination does not explicitly teach a flame-inhibiting properties for the hollow body.
Mamish teaches two pipe ends being joined together and protected with a heat shrink sleeve, similar to that of Lupke as modified by Ingram. Mamish also teaches a flame-inhibiting properties (see paragraph [0046], element 36 which contains glass material and glass has flame-inhibiting properties). Where such would add strength to mating structures and to aid in the protecting of the underlying structure. Accordingly, Mamish teaches flame-inhibiting properties (see paragraph [0046], element 36 which contains glass material and glass has flame-inhibiting properties), for the purpose of adding strength to mating structures and to aid in the protecting of the underlying structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the method of Lupke/Ingram, to have included a flame-inhibiting properties, as taught by Mamish, with a reasonable expectation of success because an additional layer of protection is being added to the structure of Lupke/Ingram, which structure is similar to Mamish, for the purpose of adding strength to mating structures and to aid in the protecting of the underlying structure.
As applied to claim 7, the combination of Lupke and Ingram teaches the invention cited including a pipe arrangement but does not explicitly teach the pipe arrangement is equipped with a leakage monitoring means.
Mamish teaches two pipe ends being joined together and protected with a heat shrink sleeve, similar to that of Lupke as modified by Ingram. Mamish further teaches a leakage monitoring means (see Figs. 1, 3, 4, and 10, the skin on the hand of the person, or the person’s eyes, or ears, or nose). Where such would be able to ensure that the joint was assembled correctly . Accordingly, Mamish teaches a leakage monitoring means (see Figs. 1, 3, 4, and 10, the skin on the hand of the person, or the person’s eyes, or ears, or nose), for the purpose of providing a means to insure the joint was assembled properly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the method of Lupke as modified by Ingram, to have included a leakage monitoring means, as taught by Mamish, with a reasonable expectation of success because in individual assembling a joint has senses which can detect a leak in the joint, for the purpose of providing a means to insure the joint was assembled properly.
As applied to claim 8, the combination of Lupke and Ingram teaches the invention cited including a pipe arrangement and pipe joint but does not explicitly teach the joint is additionally provided with a wrapping which has at least one or more of the following properties: a) the wrapping is thermally deformable or chemically deformable and shrinks upon deformation, b) the wrapping has self-welding or self-vulcanizing properties, c) the wrapping includes an additional sealing substance, d) the wrapping has flame-inhibiting properties, and e) the wrapping is provided with an adhesive.
Mamish teaches two pipe ends being joined together and protected with a heat shrink sleeve, similar to that of Lupke as modified by Ingram. Mamish further teaches a wrapping (36 and 34) which has at least one or more of the following properties: a) the wrapping is thermally deformable or chemically deformable and shrinks upon deformation, b) the wrapping has self-welding or self-vulcanizing properties, c) the wrapping includes an additional sealing substance, d) the wrapping has flame-inhibiting properties, and e) the wrapping is provided with an adhesive (34). Where such would add strength to mating structures and to aid in the protecting of the underlying structure. Accordingly, Mamish teaches a wrapping (36 and 34) which has at least one or more of the following properties: a) the wrapping is thermally deformable or chemically deformable and shrinks upon deformation, b) the wrapping has self-welding or self-vulcanizing properties, c) the wrapping includes an additional sealing substance, d) the wrapping has flame-inhibiting properties, and e) the wrapping is provided with an adhesive (34), for the purpose of adding strength to mating structures and to aid in the protecting of the underlying structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the method of Lupke as modified by Ingram, to have included a wrapping (36 and 34) which has at least one or more of the following properties: a) the wrapping is thermally deformable or chemically deformable and shrinks upon deformation, b) the wrapping has self-welding or self-vulcanizing properties, c) the wrapping includes an additional sealing substance, d) the wrapping has flame-inhibiting properties, and e) the wrapping is provided with an adhesive (34), as taught by Mamish, with a reasonable expectation of success because an additional layer of protection is being added to the structure of Lupke as modified by Ingram, which structure is similar to Mamish, for the purpose of adding strength to mating structures and to aid in the protecting of the underlying structure.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lupke et al. (US 4,141,576, hereinafter “Lupke”) in view of Ingram (US 7,063,358) and Mamish et al. (US 20170343149, hereinafter “Mamish”) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Wilkins et al. (US 8,297,370, hereinafter “Wilkins”).
As applied to claim 10, the combination of Lupke, Ingram and Mamish teaches the invention cited including encasing a pipe arrangement including a pipe joint but does not explicitly teach the pipe arrangement is installed in a firefighting installation including a sprinkler installation in the specific claimed facility.
Wilkins teaches that a firefighting installation comprising a sprinkler installation including a variety of pipe joints/arrangement used in a hospital (col. 5, lines 9-16, col. 8, lines 29-34, col. 9, lines 59-67, Figs. 1-2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have installed the pipe arrangement of the Lupke/Ingram/Mamish in a firefighting installation comprising a sprinkler system in a hospital, as taught by Wilkins, as an effective means of providing an enhanced pipe joint arrangement that would withstand the operational environment in the hospital should need arise in case of a fire.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lupke et al. (US 4,141,576, hereinafter “Lupke”) in view of Ingram (US 7,063,358) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Stevens (US 3,223,439).
As applied to claims 18-20, the combination Lupke and Ingram teaches the invention cited including encasing a pipe arrangement with the first and second pipe ends having peripherally extending grooves with the pipe ends being surrounded by a mechanical joint but fails to explicitly teach the mechanical joint comprise a pipe coupling with a plurality of segments connected with a fastener (as in claim 18), the fastener comprising at least one screw (as in claim 19) and the plurality of segments comprising a first half shell-shaped and a second half shell-shaped segment (as in claim 20).
Stevens teaches a method of fabricating a pipe arrangement including a pipe joint which has two pipe ends (5 and 5, Figs. 1-4) surrounded by a mechanical joint wherein the mechanical joint comprises a pipe coupling with a plurality of segments including a first half shell-shaped segment and a second half shell-shaped segment (12 and plurality of shell sections 9’s, Figs. 3-4) connected with a fastener with the fastener further comprising at least one screw (plurality of screws 14’s, Figs. 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the method of Lubke/Ingram, to substitute the mechanical joint for another such as a mechanical joint comprising a coupling having a plurality of segments of coupling and fastened by a plurality of screws, as taught by Stevens, as a matter of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predicable results (see MPEP 2143, KSR, Rationale “B”). The resulting method would predictably produce a pipe coupling in a conventional manner without modification of the principles of operation of Lubke.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2-13 and 15-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of the references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The only relevant argument is that Applicant presents argument that Lupke discloses heat shrinking the sleeve 12 around corrugated pipe sections 10 and 11 which have uniform profile about a center axis of each corrugated pipe and thus, Lupka does not show or describe how the sleeve 12 can be heat shrunk about a non-uniform profile such as the coupling shown and described by Stevens (see Remarks, page 3, 2nd full paragraph). The examiner respectfully disagrees with such argument. First, the combination of Lupke, Ingram and Stevens is only used to reject dependent claims 18-20 and not independent claim 12. Second, the corrugated profile of the pipes 10 and 11 taught by Lupke is not considered to be a uniform profile. Third, the Applicant is claiming similar profile and structure and neither the instant Figures nor the specification discloses how Applicant’s invention is capable of heat shrinking the heat shrinkable sleeve over a non-uniform profile while questioning the merit of the applied art of record to provide such non-uniform heat shrink effect.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARANG AFZALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 03/17/2026