DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The rejections of claims 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, and 12-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been withdrawn in light of the Applicants’ amendments.
Claims 1 and 13 have been amended. Thus, claims 1-18 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 9, 10, 11, 16, 17, and 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The most similar art of record, Hakeem et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0025009], discloses an onboard broadcast module used for broadcasting a location where a vehicle was parked to an arriving vehicle (paragraphs 0029, 0035, 0036, and 0037). The second most similar art of record, Uelschen [EP2136346A2], discloses a-parking-space-searching vehicle requesting information for a parking space and the information being evaluated to determine if the space is wanted (paragraphs 0025 and 0026). However, no art of record discloses predetermined conditions being when the second vehicle does not have information about the vacancy status of the first parking lot and the second vehicle does not have information about the vacancy status of the first parking lot generated after a predetermined timing. Additionally, no art of record discloses the first vehicle broadcasting the second data at predetermined time intervals until a predetermined period elapses after the first vehicle exits from the first parking lot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakeem et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0025009] in view of Kim et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0045369], and in further view of Khim [U.S. Patent Publication 2009/0303079]
With regard to claim 1, Hakeem et al. meets the limitations of:
an information processing method comprising acquiring first data about a vacancy status of a first parking lot by a first vehicle when exiting from the first parking lot [an onboard broadcast module used for broadcasting a location where a vehicle was parked to an arriving vehicle (paragraphs 0029, 0035, 0036, and 0037)]
broadcasting second data including an identifier of the first parking lot by the first vehicle having exited from the first parking lot [an onboard broadcast module used for broadcasting a location where a vehicle was parked to an arriving vehicle (paragraphs 0029, 0035, 0036, and 0037) where the location is the identifier for the location of the spot where the vehicle was parked]
However, Hakeem et al. fails to disclose of transmitting, in response to a request transmitted from a second vehicle having received the second data, the first data to the second vehicle by the first vehicle. In the field of vehicle parking systems, Kim et al. teaches:
transmitting, in response to a request transmitted from a second vehicle having received the second data, the first data to the second vehicle by the first vehicle [a request received from a target vehicle requesting parking information about an empty parking space (paragraph 0047)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Hakeem et al. and Kim et al. to create a parking management system where a vehicle broadcasts and sends information relating to a parking spot it vacated to a second vehicle requesting the parking information in order to allow the operator of the second vehicle to determine if the parking spot is needed. However, the combination of Hakeem et al. and Kim et al. fails to disclose of a value that represents a number of vehicles that can be parked in the first parking lot. In the field of parking management systems, Khim teaches:
a value that represents a number of vehicles that can be parked in the first parking lot [a parking management server transmitting the amount of available parking spaces information for a parking area in the form of a signal (paragraph 0038)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Hakeem et al., Kim et al., and Khim to create a parking management system where a vehicle broadcasts and sends information relating to a parking spot it vacated and the number of vacated parking spots to a second vehicle that is requesting the parking information in order to allow the operator of the second vehicle to determine if the parking spot is needed wherein the motivation to combine is to create a system for vacant parking spot notification (Hakeem et al., paragraph 0001).
With regard to claim 12, Hakeem et al. meets the limitation of:
a non-transitory storage medium storing a program causing a computer to execute the information processing method according to claim 1 [a memory used for storing instructions for execution by a processor (paragraphs 0019 and 0020)]
With regard to claim 13, Hakeem et al. meets the limitation of:
an information processing device associated with a first vehicle, comprising a control unit configured to acquire first data about a vacancy status of a first parking lot when the first vehicle exits from the first parking lot [an onboard broadcast module used for broadcasting a location where a vehicle was parked to an arriving vehicle where the arriving vehicle has a notification module used for alerting the user of the second vehicle of the vacant parking spot (paragraphs 0029, 0035, 0036, and 0037)]
broadcast second data including an identifier of the first parking lot via a communication device mounted on the first vehicle [an onboard broadcast module used for broadcasting a location where a vehicle was parked to an arriving vehicle (paragraphs 0029, 0035, 0036, and 0037) where the location is the identifier for the location of the spot where the vehicle was parked]
However, Hakeem et al. fails to disclose of transmitting, in response to a request transmitted from a second vehicle having received the second data, the first data to the second vehicle. In the field of vehicle parking systems, Kim et al. teaches:
transmitting, in response to a request transmitted from a second vehicle having received the second data, the first data to the second vehicle [a request received from a target vehicle requesting parking information about an empty parking space (paragraph 0047)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Hakeem et al. and Kim et al. to create a parking management system where a vehicle broadcasts and sends information relating to a parking spot it vacated to a second vehicle requesting the parking information in order to allow the operator of the second vehicle to determine if the parking spot is needed. However, the combination of Hakeem et al. and Kim et al. fails to disclose of a value that represents a number of vehicles that can be parked in the first parking lot. In the field of parking management systems, Khim teaches:
a value that represents a number of vehicles that can be parked in the first parking lot [a parking management server transmitting the amount of available parking spaces information for a parking area in the form of a signal [(paragraph 0038)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Hakeem et al., Kim et al., and Khim to create a parking management system where a vehicle broadcasts and sends information relating to a parking spot it vacated and the number of vacated parking spots to a second vehicle that is requesting the parking information in order to allow the operator of the second vehicle to determine if the parking spot is needed wherein the motivation to combine is to create a system for vacant parking spot notification (Hakeem et al., paragraph 0001).
With regard to claim 14, Hakeem et al. fails to disclose of the control unit is configured to receive the first data from a server device associated with the first parking lot. In the field of vehicle parking systems, Kim et al. teaches:
the control unit is configured to receive the first data from a server device associated with the first parking lot [a server providing occupancy state information to a vehicle via a V2V communications system (paragraphs 0008-0011)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Hakeem et al., Kim et al., and Khim to create a parking management system where a vehicle receives parking spot information from a server related to a parking lot in order to notify the vehicle operator of a vacant parking spot that is available wherein the motivation to combine is to create a system for vacant parking spot notification (Hakeem et al., paragraph 0001).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 6, 8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakeem et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0025009] in view of Kim et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0045369], and in further view of Khim [U.S. Patent Publication 2009/0303079] and Uelschen [EP2136346A2]
With regard to claim 2, Hakeem et al. meets the limitation of:
at least the identifier of the parking lot included in the second data [an onboard broadcast module used for broadcasting a location where a vehicle was parked to an arriving vehicle (paragraphs 0029, 0035, 0036, and 0037) where the location is the identifier for the location of the spot where the vehicle was parked]
However, Hakeem et al. fails to disclose of the second vehicle determines whether to request the first vehicle to transmit the first data. In the field of vehicle parking systems, Uelschen teaches:
the second vehicle determines whether to request the first vehicle to transmit the first data [a-parking-space-searching vehicle requesting information for a parking space and the information being evaluated to determine if the space is wanted (paragraphs 0025 and 0026)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Hakeem et al., Kim et al., Khim, and Uelshcen to create a parking management system where a vehicle broadcasts and sends information relating to a parking spot it vacated to a second vehicle requesting the parking information in order to allow the operator of the second vehicle to determine if the parking spot is needed wherein the motivation to combine is to create a system for vacant parking spot notification (Hakeem et al., paragraph 0001).
With regard to claim 3, the combination of Hakeem et al. and Kim et al. fails to disclose of the second vehicle requests the first vehicle to transmit the first data when the first parking lot meets a predetermined condition. In the field of vehicle parking systems, Uelschen teaches:
the second vehicle requests the first vehicle to transmit the first data when the first parking lot meets a predetermined condition [a parking-space-searching vehicle requesting information for a parking space and the information regarding a free space being evaluated to determine if the space is wanted when the parking-space-exploring vehicle is within range of the parking-space-searching vehicle (paragraphs 0025 and 0026)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Hakeem et al., Kim et al., Khim, and Uelshcen to create a parking management system where a vehicle broadcasts and sends information relating to a parking spot it vacated to a second vehicle requesting the parking information in order to allow the operator of the second vehicle to determine if the parking spot is needed wherein the motivation to combine is to create a system for vacant parking spot notification (Hakeem et al., paragraph 0001).
With regard to claim 6, the combination of Hakeem et al. and Kim et al. fails to disclose of the first data include a map that indicates the vacancy status of the first parking lot. In the field of vehicle parking systems, Uelschen teaches:
the first data include a map that indicates the vacancy status of the first parking lot [a navigation map providing directions to a user to a vacant parking spot (paragraph 0025)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Hakeem et al., Kim et al., Khim, and Uelshcen to create a parking management system where a vehicle broadcasts and sends information relating to a parking spot it vacated to a second vehicle requesting the parking information in order to allow the second vehicle’s navigation system to provide navigational instructions to the spot to the vehicle’s operator wherein the motivation to combine is to create a system for vacant parking spot notification (Hakeem et al., paragraph 0001).
With regard to claim 8, Hakeem et al. meets the limitation of:
the first data received from the first vehicle [an onboard broadcast module used for broadcasting a location where a vehicle was parked to an arriving vehicle (paragraphs 0029, 0035, 0036, and 0037)]
However, Hakeem et al. fails to disclose of the second vehicle provides a driver with guidance on a parking compartment. In the field of vehicle parking systems, Uelschen teaches:
the second vehicle provides a driver with guidance on a parking compartment [a navigation map providing directions to a user to a vacant parking spot (paragraph 0025)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Hakeem et al., Kim et al., Khim, and Uelshcen to create a parking management system where a vehicle broadcasts and sends information relating to a parking spot it vacated to a second vehicle requesting the parking information in order to allow the second vehicle’s navigation system to provide navigational instructions to the spot to the vehicle’s operator wherein the motivation to combine is to create a system for vacant parking spot notification (Hakeem et al., paragraph 0001).
With regard to claim 15, the combination of Hakeem et al. and Kim et al. fails to disclose of the first data include a map that indicates the vacancy status of the first parking lot. In the field of vehicle parking systems, Uelschen teaches:
first data include a map that indicates the vacancy status of the first parking lot [a navigation map providing directions to a user to a vacant parking spot (paragraph 0025)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Hakeem et al., Kim et al., Khim, and Uelshcen to create a parking management system where a vehicle broadcasts and sends information relating to a parking spot it vacated to a second vehicle requesting the parking information in order to allow the second vehicle’s navigation system to provide navigational instructions to the spot to the vehicle’s operator wherein the motivation to combine is to create a system for vacant parking spot notification (Hakeem et al., paragraph 0001).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakeem et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0025009] in view of Kim et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0045369], and in further view of Khim [U.S. Patent Publication 2009/0303079], Uelschen [EP2136346A2], and Shoda et al. [U.S. Patent 10,858,014]
With regard to claim 7, Hakeem et al. meets the limitation of:
the first data received from the first vehicle [an onboard broadcast module used for broadcasting a location where a vehicle was parked to an arriving vehicle (paragraphs 0029, 0035, 0036, and 0037)]
However, Hakeem et al. fails to disclose of the second vehicle performs parking control for the vehicle. In the field of automated parking systems, Shoda et al. teaches:
the second vehicle performs parking control for the vehicle [an automated parking operation taking place to for a vehicle to park itself in a parking space (column 13, lines 48-63)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Hakeem et al., Kim et al., Khim, Uelshcen, and Shoda et al. to create a parking management system where a second vehicle receives parking space information from a first vehicle and the second vehicle automatically navigates and parks itself in the parking space without any human intervention in order to streamline the parking operation by the second vehicle wherein the motivation to combine is to create a system for vacant parking spot notification (Hakeem et al., paragraph 0001).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, and 12-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Khim [U.S. Patent Publication 2009/0303079].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PAMESHANAND MAHASE whose telephone number is (571) 270-7223. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday- Friday 8:00AM - 5:00PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Davetta Goins can be reached on 571-272-2957. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PAMESHANAND MAHASE/Examiner, Art Unit 2689
/DAVETTA W GOINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2689