DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on April 10, 2024. The earliest effective filing date of the application is April 17, 2023.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d), filed on April 17, 2023.
Status of Application
The amendment filed June 5, 2026 with the Remarks has been entered. The status of the claims upon entry of the present amendment stands as follows:
Pending claims: 1 – 6
Withdrawn claims: None
Amended claims: 1 – 3
Claims currently under examination: 1 – 6
By not repeating the previously presented objection/rejection(s), it is sufficiently clear that said objection/rejection(s) are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O’Connor et al. (US 20070286933 A1).
Regarding claim 1, the preamble of the claims recites “A beverage” which is interpreted to indicate the composition is an edible liquid.
O’Connor teaches an aerosol food product comprising pancake mix and water in a pressurized spray can ([0005]; Example 6, [0063]; [0068]). O’Connor teaches the water activity of the aerosol food product is 0.96 ([0068]). O’Connor teaches the pancake batter comprises iron (i.e., a functional component – Table 1, Iron). O’Connor treats the aerosol food product as if it is a liquid, and measures its viscosity and liquid separation characteristics, therefore the aerosol food product is a liquid (Example 17). O’Connor teaches a can or container can be sealed and pressurized with a mixture of water soluble and non water-soluble gasses to form the aerosol food product (i.e., the aerosol type spraying container comprises a spraying gas – [0014]).
With respect to the recitation “wherein the beverage is injected directly into a mouth from the aerosol type spraying container”, this recitation is deemed to be an intended use in so far as the structure of the product is concerned. A claimed intended use must result in structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See MPEP § 2111.02. Given that the aerosol food product of O’Connor is identical to that of the presently claimed in terms of structure and composition, it meets the intended use of the claimed composition.
Regarding claim 3, O’Connor teaches the serving size of the pancake batter is 100g ([0021]). While O’Connor does not explicitly disclose the volumetric serving of the aerosol food product (i.e., pancake batter), one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that 100g of pancake batter is inherently of a greater volume than 0.3 mL.
Regarding claim 6, the instant specification states the flavoring as used herein means a substance that can impart fragrance or taste to the target beverage ([0025]). Therefore, pancake mix is considered a flavoring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Connor et al. (US 20070286933 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of MNT (A complete guide to B vitamins. Medical News Today. (2020). Retrieved from Wayback Machine Archive - https://web.archive.org/web/20201121164400/https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/325292).
O’Connor teaches the pancake mix comprises 0% DV thiamin ([0021]; Table 1).
O’Connor does not teach the pancake mix comprises 0.01 g/L of vitamin B1.
MNT teaches the daily recommended dose of thiamin (vitamin B1) is 12 – 14 mg/ day (p. 3, Table, Thiamin (B-1). MNT teaches thiamin deficiency (i.e., too little thiamin) can result in weight loss, little or no appetite, memory problems or confusion, heart problems, tingling and numbness in the hands and feet, loss of muscle mass, and/or poor reflexes (p. 4, paragraph 2).
O’Connor and MNT are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely, vitamin B1. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included at least 0.01 g/L of vitamin B1 in the pancake mix of O’Connor, as taught by MNT, because supplementing vitamin B1 helps prevent the undesirable effects of vitamin B1 deficiency.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Connor et al. (US 20070286933 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of BOV Solutions (How the Bag-On-Valve Works. BOVsolutions. (2020). Retrieved from: https://bovsolutions.com/products/how-the-bag-on-valve-works/).
O’Connor does not disclose the type of aerosol spraying container.
BOV Solutions teaches The Bag-On-Valve (B.O.V.) is a barrier packaging technology for liquid or viscous products (p. 1, paragraph 1). BOV Solutions teaches B.O.V. packaging completely separates the product from the eco-friendly air or nitrogen propellant (p. 1, paragraph 1). BOV teaches this separation keeps the product pure (p. 1, paragraph 1). BOV Solutions teaches B.O.V. packaging is 100% recyclable and offers both convenience and reliability for the consumer (p. 1, paragraph 1). BOV Solutions teaches B.O.V. packaging is suitable for both liquid and some viscous product types, including beverages (p. 2, bullet 10; p. 3, Food, bullet 8).
O’Connor and BOV Solutions are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely, aerosol beverages. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected BOV packaging for the pancake mix of O’Connor, as taught by BOV Solutions, because BOV packaging keeps the beverage product pure, is 100% recyclable, and is suitable for liquid products, including beverages.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Connor et al. (US 20070286933 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Msomi et al. (Suitability of sugar alcohols as antidiabetic supplements: A review. J Food Drug Anal. Vol 29, Iss (1). Pp. 1–14. (2021)).
O’Connor teaches the serving size of the pancake batter is 100g ([0021]). O’Connor teaches the pancake batter comprises 4g sugar (i.e., disaccharides). Assuming the pancake batter has a similar density to water, one of ordinary skill in the art would estimate the sugar content of the pancake batter of O’Connor to be about 40g/L.
O’Connor does not teach a total content of monosaccharides and disaccharides, excluding sugar alcohols, is 20 g/L or less.
Msomi teaches xylitol is a sugar alcohol with comparable sweetness to sucrose while having only a fraction of the caloric content per gram, and a lower glycemic index than sucrose (p. 2, paragraph 3).
O’Connor and Msomi are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely, sweeteners. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced some or all of the sugar in the pancake batter of O’Connor with xylitol such that the pancake batter has a total content of monosaccharides and disaccharides, excluding sugar alcohols, is 20 g/L or less, as taught by Msomi, because xylitol is a sugar alcohol with comparable sweetness to sucrose while having only a fraction of the caloric content per gram, and a lower glycemic index than sucrose. Furthermore, MPEP § 2144.06.II states an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). One of ordinary skill in the art would have substituted sugar with xylitol before the effective filing date of the application because xylitol, like sugar is a known sweetener suitable for use in foods and beverages.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 5, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues O'Connor does not disclose, expressly or inherently, at least the limitation that "the beverage is injected directly into a mouth from the aerosol type spraying container," as recited in amended claim 1. Therefore, O'Connor does not anticipate amended claim 1 (p. 6, paragraph 3).
Applicant’s argument has been carefully considered however the argument is not persuasive. The limitation “the beverage is injected directly into a mouth from the aerosol type spraying container” is an intended use, and is not considered to limit the composition of claim 1. See MPEP § 2111.02. Given that the aerosol food product of O’Connor is identical to that of the presently claimed in terms of structure and composition, it meets the intended use of the claimed composition.
Applicant argues Li does not disclose that the beverage is filled in "an aerosol type spraying container" that "comprises a spraying gas" (p. 8, paragraph 1).
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered and it is persuasive. The previous rejections of claims 1 – 6 over Li have been withdrawn in light of applicants amendments.
Applicant argues Li does not disclose that "the beverage is injected directly into a mouth from the aerosol type spraying container," (p. 8, paragraph 1).
Applicant’s argument has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues Makdesi does not establish that the beverage of Li inherently has a water activity of 0.94 or above (p. 9, paragraph 5).
Applicant’s argument has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues Makdesi provides no teaching or reasoning to modify Li to arrive at the presently claimed invention (p. 9, paragraph 5).
Applicant’s argument has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues MNT does not remedy the deficiencies of Li and Makdesi (p. 10, paragraph 4).
Applicant’s argument has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues BOV Solutions does not address Li's ultrasonic atomization inhalation beverage and does not provide a reason to replace Li's ultrasonic electronic cigarette atomizer, which is used for inhalation to the upper respiratory tract, with an aerosol type spraying container comprising a spraying gas, wherein "the beverage is injected directly into a mouth from the aerosol type spraying container," (p. 11, paragraph 3).
Applicant’s argument has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1793
/EMILY M LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1793