Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II claims 18-20 in the reply filed on December 11, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 18, it is unclear whether the terms “the content on display” in line 9 and “content of the first live stream” in line 7 are different.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pontiff et al. (US 10,616,666 B1).
Regarding claim 18, Pontiff teaches a computer-readable storage device storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
receiving analytics data from a first plurality of network components of a stream network, the analytics data associated with the first plurality of network components used to stream a first live stream (receiving metric data from streaming back-end system 110 and/or sentiment analysis system 600, the metric data associated with streaming back-end system 110 and/or sentiment analysis system 600 used to provide a live broadcast – see FIGs. 7-10, abstract; col. 8, lines 6-20; col. 16, line 63 to col. 17, line 45; col. 28, lines 37-61; col. 31, lines 40 to col. 32, line 48);
generating a graphical user interface (GUI) based on the analytics data, the GUI including a display element to display content of the first live stream, wherein the GUI further displays a portion of the analytics data corresponding to a portion of the content on display by the display element (generating a GUI, as shown in FIGs. 7-10, based on the metric data, wherein tile 762 in the GUI displays video corresponding to the live broadcast and further displays a portion of the metric data such as statistics related to the video, statistics related to viewer engagement of the video as shown in FIG 10 – see FIGs 7-10; col. 31, lines 40 col. 32, line 8); and
providing the GUI to a display device (providing the GUI to a display device, e.g.,104 and/or 120 - see FIGs. 5 & 10; col. 17, lines 11-16).
Regarding claim 19, Pontiff teaches that wherein the GUI is generated subsequent to an end of streaming of the first live stream (for instance, the GUI is generated with statistics of video 2 after the live broadcast – see FIG. 10, col. 17, lines 6-11; col. 31, line 61 to col. 32, line 6; col. 32, 28-41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pontiff et al. (US 10,616,666 B1) in view of Yang et al. (US 10,114,689 B1).
Regarding claim 20, Pontiff does not explicitly teach that the GUI is generated during streaming of the first live stream. However, Yang teaches generating GUI 1000 during a live streaming event as illustrated in FIG. 10. See FIG. 10 and col. 25, lines 15-50. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pontiff by generating GUI during streaming of a live stream as taught or suggested by Yang for monitoring the status of publishing live feed to efficiently improve live stream quality.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Feamster et al. (US 20180278500 A1) teaches systems and methods providing a closed-loop system that enables network operators to perform streaming analytics for network monitoring applications at scale.
Chakarapani et al. (US 20160021164 A1) teaches systems and/or methods providing a live media stream validation client that validates live media streams to ensure that the media streams play normally (i.e., according to a set or expected routine for playback of the media streams).
/NGOC K VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421