The filed IDS filed on 04/10/2024 have been received and considered.
Claims 1-5 are currently pending.
Please refer to the action below.
Examiner Notes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 requires “a terminal that allows a user to use”.
In relying on the claim languages, and that of the disclosure, the limitations of “allows a user to use” as cited above are ambiguous and unclear in the terms what it is the said terminal allow the user to use or how the design itself ensures said usage. Therefore, it is unclear and ambiguous how it allows such usage. The claimed limitations appear to lack or miss critical or essential elements that appear to be not included in the claim(s). The claim as currently understood is rejected as being indefinite and unclear for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Applicant needs to positively recite the necessary elements, and novel subject matter to more effectively claim the subject matter which applicant regards as his invention.
Dependent claims 2-4 are further rejected since they depend from the rejected base claims and as they fail to solve the above problems.
Examiner respectfully advises applicant to review all pending claims and to positively and particularly point out the claimed subject matter which the applicant regards as the invention, in order to expedite the precaution of the application and shorten the time of examining process.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter of this application as currently claimed is unpatentable under the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Therefore, the above claim is rejected under USC 112 second, as best understood by examiner as indicated in this office action above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Rosario et al. (US 2020/0311357, A1), in view of KO et al. (KR 2014/0033677, A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rosario teaches an image forming system (at least Fig. 1 and para. 0173-0175 teaches an image forming system including systems and means to transmit print image data and job list data to the image forming apparatus 100 from the terminal device 200) comprising:
a terminal that allows a user to use (terminal 200 of at least Fig. 1);
an image forming apparatus that allows the user to use, the image forming apparatus including a wireless communication tag (image forming apparatus 100 of at least Figs. 1 and para. 0034 that allows the user to use, the image forming apparatus 100 including a wireless communication tag 101); and
a network access point (AP) that allows the image forming apparatus to connect to and communicate over a network (para. 0038 and 0058 further teaches the system is configured to include further a network access point (AP) that may be external or internal of the apparatus 100 that allows the image forming apparatus to connect to and communicate over a network, said network access point (AP) (Emphasis Added) is further understood in the art in a case as a network repeater);
wherein the network (AP) includes a network (AP)’s communication device that transmits identification information identifying the network (AP) (Further, a case exists when the multifunction machine 100 itself is used as an access point, and thereby comprises said wireless access point information and said implied communication device that transmits identification information of at least para. 0058 identifying the device or network (AP), said information comprising at least an SSID information, random number including an encrypted key as noted further in para. 0165, and other stored connection data further identifying the device or network (AP));
the image forming apparatus includes a writer that writes the identification information received to the wireless communication tag (the Abstract and para. 0105 further teaches the apparatus 100 further configures to write with an obvious writing means identification information received to the wireless communication tag 101);
the terminal includes
a reader that reads the identification information from the wireless communication tag (the terminal 200 of at least Fig. 1 and para 0037 reads the identification information from the wireless communication tag 101 with an implied NFC reader);
a display device that presents the identification information read by the reader (the at least display device 210 is at least configured to present the identification information of para. 0037 read by the reader);
a terminal’s communication device that is allowed to connect to and communicate with the image forming apparatus (terminal’s communication device 201/202 of at least Fig. 1 and 10 that is allowed to connect to and communicate with the image forming apparatus);
an input device that receives an encryption key that is information associated with the identification information and required for connection with the network (AP) (an implied further input device of the terminal of at least para. 0058 further supported by para. 0040 that receives an encryption key in the form of the random number that is information associated with the identification information and required for connection with the network (AP)); and
a transmitter that transmits, to the image forming apparatus, the identification information selected by the user from one or more pieces of identification information presented on the display device and the encryption key entered by the user (transmitting identification/authentication information of further Figs. 10-12, and 15-16 and para. 0085-0089 to the image forming apparatus 100, the identification information of para. 0085-0089 and 0092-0093 in a case inputted or selected by the user from one or more pieces of identification information presented on the display device and the encryption key entered by the user); and
the image forming apparatus configures a connection with the network (AP) (the apparatus 100 of further para. 0058 and Fig. 16 is further configured to configure a connection in at least step S220 with the network (AP) of para. 0058 based on at least on successful authentication including identification information and the encryption key transmitted from the transmitter of the terminal).
However, Rosario is silent regarding specifically a network repeater that allows the image forming apparatus to connect to and communicate over a network, wherein the network repeater includes a network repeater’s communication device that transmits identification information identifying the network repeater,
and receives encryption key that is information associated with the identification information and required for connection with the network repeater, and the image forming apparatus configures a connection with the network repeater based on the identification information and the encryption key transmitted from the transmitter of the terminal.
KO teaches a case in the disclosure a network repeater 110 that allows the first device 100 to connect to and communicate over a network to second devices 120, the devices of at least Figs. 7-9 further configured to exchange data via the network repeater 110 which obviously comprises a network repeater’s communication device that transmits identification information identifying the network repeater to the device 100 and/or the device 120 as each device 100/120 is configured with a storage means to store connection history information for a device and for a network repeater 110, such as cited “Using the NFC communication method, the first device 100 transmits the relay 110 connection information to the second device 120, information for the second short range communication connection from the first device 100, a connection request signal, and the like. Can transmit but is not limited to this. In this case, the first device 100 may be referred to as writing the above-described information to the NFC tag of the second device 120, but is not limited thereto…… The connection information of the repeater 110 is information necessary for connecting with the repeater 110. For example, the connection information of the relay 110 may include Service Set Identifier (SSID), channel information, Security and Authentication key information, Encryption key information, IP (Internet Protocol) address, and MAC ( Media Access Control) address and the like, but is not limited thereto”; …… In operation S710, the first device 100 requests a connection to the repeater 110 using the connection information for the repeater 110. On the other hand, when receiving the connection acceptance from the repeater 110 in step S711, in step S712, the first device 100 executes the application…..The repeater 110 refers to a wireless relay base station. The repeater 110 may be configured to be linked with a wired LAN. In this case, the repeater 110 may be referred to as a wired or wireless Internet router having an internet sharing function. The repeater 110 may be configured as an access point having a function of interworking wireless and wired or a wireless router having an internet sharing function with the access point.”; the devices further configured as illustrated above for comprising means for transmitting identification information identifying a network repeater, and an encryption key that is required for connection with the network repeater; both devices include transmitting means to transmit at least a connection request to the network repeater if one is not yet connected to the repeater where the said transmitted identification information which in a case of Figs. 7-9 may be selected by a user from one or more pieces of identification information presented for further sending a connection request with the network repeater 110 based on the received or selected identification information and the encryption key transmitted through said terminal. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Rosario in view of KO to include wherein said network repeater that allows the image forming apparatus to connect to and communicate over a network, wherein the network repeater includes a network repeater’s communication device that transmits identification information identifying the network repeater, and receives encryption key that is information associated with the identification information and required for connection with the network repeater, and the image forming apparatus configures a connection with the network repeater based on the identification information and the encryption key transmitted from the transmitter of the terminal, as discussed above, as Rosario in view of KO are in the same field of endeavor of configuring at least one or more second communication connection method of a network base station, a router or a repeater with at least two or more network devices which are predetermined to establish at least a first Near Field connection method to exchange connection and authentication data, KO’s transmitted stored network repeater’s connection information and the device’s connection request to the said network repeater complements the established second communication connection method of the image forming apparatus of Rosario to the terminal device in the sense that said stored historical connection information stored in a case in a storage of a printer or the like, when combined with the established second connection communication request of Rosario, enables the system to transfer to transfer or write previously held/stored connection data of the device, and of a repeater to a wireless tag or the like where the stored connection data comprising at least as cited both in Rosario and KO at least an SSID information and an encryption key which may be used to connect each of the said at least two network devices via the said network repeater and/or a network Access Point corresponding to the cited connection request to the said repeater thereby establishing other than the first established NFC connection a second or more secured wireless connection of these at least two wireless devices via the network repeater where data communication may be realized advantageously via a distance longer than the established NFC connection, according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 4 (according to claim 1), Rosario is silent regarding wherein the terminal is allowed to connect to and communicate with the network repeater, the terminal further including storage that stores an identification information history about the network repeater in a history, which the terminal includes, of previous connections made by the terminal and an encryption key history associated with the identification information history, and the transmitter extracts the encryption key associated with the identification information selected by the user from the encryption key history and transmits the encryption key extracted to the image forming apparatus when the identification information history includes the identification information selected by the user.
KO further teaches at least in the disclosure and Figs. 7-9 the device 100 indicative of a terminal is allowed to connect to and communicate with the network repeater 110, the terminal 100 further including in a case a storage that stores stored identification information and connection information further indicative of the identification information history about the network repeater in a history, which the terminal includes, of obviously previous connections made by the terminal and an encryption key history associated with the identification information history, and a transmitter of the terminal may transmit to a device 120 the encryption key associated with the identification information selected by the user from the encryption key history and transmits the encryption key extracted to the apparatus 120 when the identification information history includes the identification information selected by the user. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Rosario in view of KO to include wherein said terminal is allowed to connect to and communicate with the network repeater, the terminal further including storage that stores an identification information history about the network repeater in a history, which the terminal includes, of previous connections made by the terminal and an encryption key history associated with the identification information history, and the transmitter extracts the encryption key associated with the identification information selected by the user from the encryption key history and transmits the encryption key extracted to the image forming apparatus when the identification information history includes the identification information selected by the user, as discussed above, as Rosario in view of KO are in the same field of endeavor of configuring at least one or more second communication connection method of a network base station, a router or a repeater with at least two or more network devices which are predetermined to establish at least a first Near Field connection method to exchange connection and authentication data, KO’s terminal’s transmitter and the storage storing identification information history about the network repeater in a history, and an encryption key history associated with the identification information history complements the established second communication connection method of the image forming apparatus to the terminal device of Rosario in the sense that said stored historical connection information in a storage history of a printer or the like, when combined with the establish second connection communication request of Rosario, enables the system to transfer to transfer or write previously held/stored connection data of the device, and of a repeater to a wireless tag or the like where the stored connection data comprising at least as cited both in Rosario and KO at least an SSID information and an encryption key which may be used to connect each of the said at least two network devices via the said network repeater and/or a network Access Point corresponding to the cited connection request to the said repeater thereby establishing other than the first established NFC connection a second or more wireless connection of these at least two wireless devices via the network repeater where data communication may be realized advantageously via a distance longer than the established NFC connection, according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 5, Rosario teaches an image forming method (at least Fig. 1 and para. 0173-0175 teaches an image forming system including systems and means to transmit print image data and job list data to the image forming apparatus 100 from the terminal device 200) comprising:
transmitting identification information identifying a network Access Point (stored connection history information of at least para. 0040-0043 and 0058 comprises an SSID identification information identifying in a case a wireless Access Point of para. 0038, 0048 which as further illustrated in at least para. 0058 may indicate an Access Point of the printer itself identifying its network Access Point);
writing the identification information transmitted to a wireless communication tag (stored connection history information of at least para. 0040-0043 are said to be written in a case to the printer NFC tag 101);
reading the identification information from the wireless communication tag (the terminal of further para. 0040-0043 is said to read the identification information from the wireless communication tag);
presenting the identification information read (panels of further para. 0041-0042 further comprising means for presenting the identification information read);
transmitting, to an image forming apparatus, identification information selected by a user from one or more pieces of identification information presented and an encryption key that is required for connection with the network Access Point and entered by the user (an implied case as illustrated in at least para. 0043 subsequent to the read identification information by the terminal 200, second communication of at least para. 0050 by the network IF 14 is further configured in the art for transmitting obviously, to an image forming apparatus 100 from the terminal 200, identification information selected by a user from one or more pieces of identification information of further para. 0058 and 0156 representing an encryption key that is required for connection with the device 100 embodying in a case the network Access Point of further para. 0058 and entered by the user); and
configuring a connection with the network Access Point based on the identification information and the encryption key transmitted through a terminal (a terminal as implied in at least para. 0057-0058 is at least obviously further adapted to be configured via at least a built-in network AP connection with the printer 100 of para. 0058, based on the SSID identification information and the random number of para. 0058 indicating the encryption key transmitted in a case through a terminal to establish the second wireless connection of further para. 0063 and 0050).
However, Rosario is silent regarding specifically said transmitting identification information identifying a network repeater;
Transmitting said identification information selected by a user from one or more pieces of identification information presented and an encryption key that is required for connection with the network repeater; and configuring said connection with the network repeater based on the identification information and the encryption key transmitted through said terminal.
KO teaches a case in the disclosure where both of the devices 100/120 may be configured to comprise a storage means to store connection history information for a device and for a network repeater 110, and each device 100/120 is configured with a transmitting means to transmit stored connection history information for at least a repeater and to connect to the network repeater such as “Using the NFC communication method, the first device 100 transmits the relay 110 connection information to the second device 120, information for the second short range communication connection from the first device 100, a connection request signal, and the like. Can transmit but is not limited to this. In this case, the first device 100 may be referred to as writing the above-described information to the NFC tag of the second device 120, but is not limited thereto…… The connection information of the repeater 110 is information necessary for connecting with the repeater 110. For example, the connection information of the relay 110 may include Service Set Identifier (SSID), channel information, Security and Authentication key information, Encryption key information, IP (Internet Protocol) address, and MAC ( Media Access Control) address and the like, but is not limited thereto”; the devices further configured as illustrated above for comprising means for transmitting identification information identifying a network repeater, and an encryption key that is required for connection with the network repeater; both devices include transmitting means to transmit at least a connection request to the network repeater if one is not yet connected to the repeater where the said transmitted identification information which in a case of Figs. 7-9 may be selected by a user from one or more pieces of identification information presented for further sending a connection request with the network repeater 110 based on the received or selected identification information and the encryption key transmitted through said terminal. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Rosario in view of KO to include wherein said transmitting identification information identifying a network repeater; transmitting said identification information selected by a user from one or more pieces of identification information presented and an encryption key that is required for connection with the network repeater; and configuring said connection with the network repeater based on the identification information and the encryption key transmitted through said terminal, as discussed above, as Rosario in view of KO are in the same field of endeavor of configuring at least one or more second communication connection method of a network base station, a router or a repeater with at least two or more network devices which are predetermined to establish at least a first Near Field connection method to exchange connection and authentication data, KO’s transmitting stored repeater’s connection information and the configuring connection request with the network repeater based on the identification information and the encryption key transmitted through said terminal complements the established second communication connection method of the image forming apparatus to the terminal device of Rosario in the sense that said stored historical connection information stored in a storage of a printer or the like, when combined with the establish second connection communication request of Rosario, enables the system to transfer to transfer or write previously held/stored connection data of the device, and of a repeater to a wireless tag or the like where the stored connection data comprising at least as cited both in Rosario and KO at least an SSID information and an encryption key which may be used to connect each of the said at least two network devices via the said network repeater and/or a network Access Point corresponding to the cited connection request to the said repeater thereby establishing other than the first established NFC connection a second or more secured wireless connection of these at least two wireless devices via the network repeater where data communication may be realized advantageously via a distance longer than the established NFC connection, according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Claims Standings
Claims 2-3 are not rejected over the prior arts of record, but are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if all outstanding rejections are overcome. The prior art do not appear to teach: claim 2. The image forming system according to claim 1, wherein in a connectable state with a plurality of network repeaters each of which corresponds to the network repeater, the writer writes respective pieces of identification information of the plurality of network repeaters to the wireless communication tag in descending order of signal strength of each network repeater, and the display device presents the identification information in order in which the respective pieces of identification information have been written to the wireless communication tag.
3. The image forming system according to claim 2, wherein the writer further writes, to the wireless communication tag, image forming apparatus’s identification information identifying the image forming apparatus and an image forming apparatus’s encryption key that is required for connection with the image forming apparatus, and the reader further reads the image forming apparatus’s identification information and the image forming apparatus’s encryption key, and the terminal’s communication device causes the terminal to connect to and communicate with the image forming apparatus based on the image forming apparatus’s identification information and the image forming apparatus’s encryption key.
Conclusion
/MARCELLUS J AUGUSTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682 02/19/2026