DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202310423049.7, filed on April 19, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on September 10, 2024, April 08, 2025, October 14, 2025, January 30, 2026 and July 24, 2026 have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copies of form PTO-1449).
Drawings
Twelve (12) sheets of drawings were filed on April 04, 2024.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become
aware in the specification.
Inventorship
the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is
advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of
each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in
order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35
U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed June 26, 2026 has been fully considered and entered.
Applicant has cancelled claim 2-3 and 10-12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216. However, for the purpose of expediting prosecution, a new ground of rejection has been made in view of Nguyen et al. (US20140334780A1 – cited by Applicant).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-9, 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “ wherein the first connection unit has a second protrusion and a second recess, the second protrusion is at the front portion of the first side wall of the first adapter body, and the second recess is at the rear portion of the first side wall of the first adapter body; wherein the second connection unit has a third protrusion and a third recess, the third protrusion is at a front portion of the second side wall of the second adapter body, and the third recess is at a rear portion of the second side wall of the second adapter body; or wherein the second connection unit has a fourth recess and a fourth protrusion, the fourth recess is at the front portion of the second side wall of the second adapter body, and the fourth protrusion is at the rear portion of the second side wall of the second adapter body”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because the applicant’s figures show only a single protrusion and a single recess on each side wall, rather than the multiple distinct pairs (first through fourth) recited in the claim. The applicant appears to use these alternative groupings merely to describe interchangeable front and rear positions for the same single protrusion and recess on a given side wall.
For the purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation as:
wherein the first connection unit has a recess and a protrusion, the recess is at a front portion of the first side wall of the first adapter body, and the protrusion is at a rear portion of the first side wall of the first adapter body; or wherein the protrusion is at the front portion of the first side wall of the first adapter body, and the recess is at the rear portion of the first side wall of the first adapter body; wherein the second connection unit has a protrusion and a recess, the protrusion is at a front portion of the second side wall of the second adapter body, and the recess is at a rear portion of the second side wall of the second adapter body; or wherein the recess is at the front portion of the second side wall of the second adapter body, and the protrusion is at the rear portion of the second side wall of the second adapter body.
Claim 1 further recites “wherein the first engaging portion is between the first recess and the first protrusion or between the second protrusion and the second recess, the second engaging portion is between the third protrusion and the third recess or between the fourth recess and the fourth protrusion.” This limitation renders the claim indefinite because the applicant’s figures show only a single protrusion and a single recess on each side wall, rather than the multiple distinct pairs (first through fourth) recited in the claim. The applicant appears to use these alternative groupings merely to describe interchangeable front and rear positions for the same single protrusion and recess on a given side wall.
For the purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation as: “wherein the first engaging portion is between the recess and the protrusion of the first side wall of the first adapter body, and the second engaging portion is between the protrusion and the recess of the second side wall of the second adapter body”.
Claim 4 recites “a width of the first recess is greater than or equal to a width of the third protrusion, and a width of the first protrusion is less than or equal to a width of the third recess.” This limitation renders the claim indefinite for the reasons addressed for indefinites of claim 1.
For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation as: “a width of the recess on the first side wall of the first adapter body is greater than or equal to a width of the protrusion on the second side wall of the second adapter body, and a width of the protrusion on the first side of the first adapter body is less than or equal to a width of the recess on the second side wall of the second adapter body.”
Claim 5 recites “a width of the second protrusion is less than or equal to a width of the fourth recess, and a width of the second recess is greater than or equal to a width of the fourth protrusion.” This limitation renders the claim indefinite for the reasons addressed for indefinites of claim 1. Further this claim appears to address interchangeable front and rear positions for the same single protrusion and recess of claim 4.
For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be addressed in the same manner as claim 4. Any prior art that meets the limitation of claim 4 would also meet the limitation of claim 5 since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 4-9 and 13-20 inherit the deficiencies of claim 1 from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 8-9, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US20160011383A1) in view of Nguyen et al. (US20140334780A1), hereafter Nguyen.
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses a combinable optical-fiber adapter assembly (FIG 1. Stackable optical fiber adapter) adapted to be installed on an adapter cassette (FIG 11. Rack mount panel) and connected to an optical-fiber cable (Par. [0029]: Optical fiber connector) and a terminal device (Par. [0009]), wherein the combinable optical-fiber adapter assembly (FIG 1, 3, and 11) comprises: a first optical-fiber adapter comprising a first adapter body (Shell member 1), wherein two ends of the first adapter body have a first connecting end (Par. [0029]: Connecting features on the front and back end. See annotated FIG. 1 below) and a first inserting end (accommodating cavity 120), the first connecting end is inside the adapter cassette and extends toward the terminal device (FIG 3 and 11), and the first inserting end is outside the adapter cassette (FIG. 11) and adapted to be inserted by the optical-fiber cable (Par. [0029]); four side walls (Side walls Par. [0030] and top and bottom walls Par. [0031]) of the first adapter body (Shell member 1) define a first receiving cavity (Socket 1201), and the first inserting end (accommodating cavity 120) of the first adapter body (Shell member 1) has a first insertion opening in communication with the first receiving cavity (FIG. 1); the four side walls of the first adapter body are a first side wall, a second side wall, a first blocking wall, and a first combining base wall, respectively; the first side wall and the second side wall of the first adapter body respectively extend from two sides of the first combining base wall toward a same direction away from the first combining base wall, the first blocking wall is connected to the first side wall and the second side wall of the first adapter body, the first blocking wall is spaced apart from the first combining base wall, and the first side wall of the first adapter body has a first connection unit (positioning part 13) (see annotated FIG. 1 below); and a second optical-fiber adapter comprising a second adapter body, wherein two ends of the second adapter body have a second connection and a second inserting end, the second connecting end is inside the adapter cassette and extends toward the terminal device, and the second inserting end is outside the adapter cassette and adapted to be inserted by the optical-fiber cable (FIG 1, 3 and 11 and all elements associated with first optical-fiber adapter and annotated FIG. 1 below); four side walls of the second adapter body define a second receiving cavity, and the second inserting end of the second adapter body has a second insertion opening in communication with the second receiving cavity; the four side walls of the second adapter body are a first side wall, a second side wall, a second blocking wall, and a second combining base wall, respectively; the first side wall and the second side wall of the second adapter body respectively extend from two sides of the second combining base wall toward a same direction away from the second combining base wall, the second blocking wall is connected to the first side wall and the second side wall of the second adapter body, the second blocking wall is spaced apart from the second combining base wall, and the first side wall of the second adapter body has a second connection unit (FIG 1,3 and 11 and all elements associated with first optical-fiber adapter and annotated FIG. 1 below); the second connection unit is docked with the first connection unit, so that the first adapter body and the second adapter body adjacent to the first adapter body are assembled with each other side-by-side (FIG. 6 and 7), wherein the first connection unit has a protrusion (See annotated FIG. 6) ; and wherein the second connection unit has a recess (See annotated FIG. 6);
Lee fails to discloses the recess is at a front portion of the first side wall of the first adapter body, and the protrusion is at a rear portion of the first side wall of the first adapter body; or wherein the protrusion is at the front portion of the first side wall of the first adapter body, and the recess is at the rear portion of the first side wall of the first adapter body; and wherein the protrusion is at a front portion of the second side wall of the second adapter body, and the recess is at a rear portion of the second side wall of the second adapter body; or wherein the recess is at the front portion of the second side wall of the second adapter body, and the protrusion is at the rear portion of the second side wall of the second adapter body; and wherein a first engaging portion is between the recess and the protrusion of the first side wall of the first adapter body, and a second engaging portion is between the protrusion and the recess of the second side wall of the second adapter body.
Nguyen teaches a first adapter body (FIG. 4A. Adaptor 202) with a recess (channel 225) is at a portion of the wall of the first adapter body, and the protrusion (rails 220) is at a portion of the wall of the first adapter body; and second adapter body (FIG. 4B. Adaptor 204) with a recess (Channel 225) is at a portion of the wall of the second adapter body, and the protrusion (Rails 220) is at a portion of the wall of the second adapter body. Nguyen further teaches wherein a wall of the first adapter body (FIG. 4a) has a first engaging portion (Projections 240), the wall of the second adapter body (FIG. 4B) has a second engaging portion (Recess 245), and the first engaging portion is assembled with the second engaging portion (Par. [0038]) ; and wherein the first engaging portion (Projection 240) is between the recess (Channel 225) and the protrusion (Rails 220) of the wall of the first adapter body (FIG. 4A) , and the second engaging (recess 245) portion is between the protrusion (rails 220) and the recess (channel 225) of the wall of the second adapter body (FIG. 4B).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the protrusion and recess of Lee with the alternating protrusion recess configuration of Nguyen since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the adapter assembly of Lee to include the interlocking engaging portions on both the first and second adapter bodies as taught by Nguyen to provide a more secure, stable, and easily assembled interlocking mechanism. A person of ordinary skill in the art, would find it obvious to apply the specific interlocking connection mechanisms of Nguyen to the walls of Lee’s adapters to achieve the expected result of better assembly stability, utilizing known mechanical principles.
Regarding claim 4 and 5, Lee/ Nguyen discloses the device of claim 1. Lee discloses the width of the protrusions on the first adapter body is less than or equal to the width of the recesses on the second adapter body (See annotated FIG. 6). Lee fails to discloses a width of the recess on the first side wall of the first adapter body is greater than or equal to a width of the protrusion on the second side wall of the second adapter body, and the width protrusion on the first side of the first adapter body is less than or equal to a width of the recess on the second side wall of the second adapter body.
Nguyen further discloses a width of the recess (Channels 225) on the first side wall of the first adapter body is greater than or equal to a width of the protrusion (Rails 220) on the second side wall of the second adapter body , and the width protrusion (Rails 220) on the first side of the first adapter body is less than or equal to a width of the recess (Channels 225) on the second side wall of the second adapter body (FIG. 7).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Lee with the alternating protrusion recess configuration of Nguyen that have dimension that allow the protrusion to fit within the recesses in a way that secures the adapter to one another. Adjusting protrusion and recess widths is known to a person of ordinary skill in the arts and a routine design choice for stable parts.
Regarding claim 8, Lee/Nguyen discloses the device of claim 1. Lee further discloses the first connection unit (FIG. 2. Positioning part 13) is on the first side wall of the first adapter body along an axial direction, the axial direction is perpendicular to an insertion direction of the first receiving cavity, the second connection unit is on the first side wall of the second adapter body along the axial direction, and the axial direction is perpendicular to an insertion direction of the second receiving cavity (FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 9, Lee/Nguyen discloses the device of claim 1. Lee further discloses the first connection unit (FIG. 2. Positioning part 13) extends from a side portion of the first blocking wall of the first adapter body to a side portion of the first combining base wall of the first adapter body, and the second connection unit (FIG. 2. Positioning part 13) extends from a side portion of the second blocking wall of the second adapter body to a side portion of the second combining base wall of the second adapter body (FIG 6 and annotated FIG 1 and 6 above).
Regarding claim 16, Lee/ Nguyen discloses the device of claim 1. Lee further discloses the first blocking wall of the first adapter body is flush with the second blocking wall of the second adapter body, and the first combining base wall of the first adapter body is flush with the second combining base wall of the second adapter body (FIG 6 and annotated FIG 1 and 6 above).
Regarding claim 19, Lee/Nguyen discloses the device of claim 1. Lee further discloses wherein a first length of the first blocking wall is less than a first length of the first combining base wall, and a second length of the second blocking wall is less than a second length of the second combining base wall (FIG 1 and annotated FIG 1 above).
Regarding claim 20, Lee/ Nguyen discloses the device of claim 1. Lee further discloses the first adapter body has a stopping portion adjacent to the first connecting end, the second side wall of the first adapter body has an engaging structure, the engaging structure is engaged with one of two surfaces of the adapter cassette, and the stopping portion is engaged with the other surface of the adapter cassette (See annotated FIG. 14 above).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US20160011383A1) in view of Nguyen et al. (US20140334780A1), hereafter Nguyen, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Cui et al. (CN216083178U), hereafter Cui.
Regarding claim 6, Lee/Nguyen discloses the device of claim 1. Lee further discloses a first and second adapter bodies (FIG 6 and 7. Shell members 1) with first and second connecting ends (Par. [0029]: Connecting features on the front and back end. See annotated FIG. 1 above); the first connector and the second connector are respectively connected to a transmission cable inside the adapter cassette (Par. [0039]). Lee fails to disclose the first adapter body has a plurality of first elastic arms at the first connecting end, and a first connector is adapted to be engaged between each two adjacent first elastic arms among the first elastic arms; the second adapter body has a plurality of second elastic arms at the second connecting end, and a second connector is adapted to be engaged between each two adjacent second elastic arms among the second elastic arms.
Cui teaches an adapter body (first housing 210) has a plurality of elastic arms (clamping arms 230), and a first connector (connector 100) to be engaged between each adjacent first elastic arms (FIGs. 1 and 2).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the adapter of Lee/Nguyen with the elastic arms of Cui to provide a more secure, yet easily removable, engagement mechanism for the connectors. Implementing Cui’s elastic arms at the connecting ends of Lee/Nguyen adapter bodies would constitute a known technique for improving connector retention in a similar fiber optic device, resulting in a more robust and efficient connection with predictable results, such as easier assembly and improved connector stability.
Regarding claim 7, Lee/Nguyen discloses the device of claim 1. Lee discloses a connecting end (Par. [0029]: Connecting features on the front and back end). Lee fails to disclose the first connector comprises a housing, an insertion pin, and a spring, the housing is fitted over the insertion pin and the spring, and two ends of the spring abut against an inner side of the housing and the insertion pin, respectively.
Cui discloses the first connector comprises a housing (housing 110) , an insertion pin (core tube 120) , and a spring (spring 130) , the housing is fitted over the insertion pin and the spring, and two ends of the spring abut against an inner side of the housing and the insertion pin, respectively (FIG. 3).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify device of Lee/Nguyen with the housing, insertion pin, and spring arrangement taught by Cui (FIG. 3) to improve the stability and secure physical contact between the connectors. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to apply this specific spring-loaded housing structure from Cui to provide the necessary axial force to ensure reliable physical connection (PC) of the optical fibers, thereby improving signal transmission and reducing connection loss.
Claims 13-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US20160011383A1) in view of Nguyen et al. (US20140334780A1), hereafter Nguyen, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Xue et al. (WO2013179197A1), hereafter Xue.
Regarding claim 13, Lee/Nguyen discloses the device of claim 1. Lee/Nguyen fails to discloses the second engaging portion has a groove and an insertion hole, each of two sides of the insertion hole has a buckling portion, the first engaging portion has a protruding block, the protruding block is engaged with the groove through the insertion hole, and each of the buckling portions contacts the protruding block and is limited by the protruding block.
Xue teaches the second engaging portion(connection member 32) has a groove and an insertion hole (FIG. 11), each of two sides of the insertion hole has a buckling portion, the first engaging portion (connection member 31) has a protruding block (FIG. 9), the protruding block is engaged with the groove through the insertion hole, and each of the buckling portions contacts the protruding block and is limited by the protruding block (Pg. 10 line 21-Pg. 11 line 6. FIG 12 and 13).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Lee/Nguyen to include the groove, insertion hole, buckling portions, and protruding block as taught by Xue (Pg. 10 line 21-Pg. 11 line 6, FIGS 12, 13). Such a modification would have been obvious to provide a more secure, stable, and easily assembled mechanical connection, which is a predictable variation for improving engaging structures. The resulting combination would have a reasonable expectation of success, as Xue specifically demonstrates the interlocking action of the protruding block engaging with the groove through the insertion hole.
Regarding claim 14, Lee/Nguyen discloses the device of claim 1, but fails to disclose the first and second engaging portions is between the first and second side walls of the first and second adapter bodies and the first and second blocking walls of the first and second adapter bodies.
Xue teaches the first engaging portion (Connection member 31) is between the first side wall (vertical wall 11’) of the first adapter body and the first blocking wall (top wall 13’) of the first adapter body (Housing 1. FIG 9 and 10), and the second engaging portion (Connection member 32) is between the first side wall (vertical wall 12’) of the second adapter body and the second blocking wall of the second adapter body (FIG 8 and 11).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Lee/Nguyen by implementing the engaging portions as disclosed by Xue, such that the first engaging portion is between the first side wall of the first adapter body and the first blocking wall of the first adapter body, and the second engaging portion is between the first side wall of the second adapter body and the second blocking wall of the second adapter body, in order to achieve better securement and positioning of the adapter bodies.
Regarding claim 15, Lee/Nguyen discloses the device of claim 1, but fails to disclose the first and second engaging portions is between the first and second side walls of the first and second adapter bodies and the first and second combining walls of the first and second adapter bodies.
Xue teaches the first engaging portion (Connection member 31) is between the first side wall (vertical wall 11’) of the first adapter body and the first combining base wall (Bottom wall 14’) of the first adapter body (Housing 1. FIG 9 and 10), and the second engaging portion (Connection member 32) is between the first side wall (vertical wall 12’) of the second adapter body and the second combining base wall (Bottom wall 14’) of the second adapter body (FIG 8 and 11).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the engaging portion of Lee's device by implementing the specific location of the connection members taught by Xue, such that the first engaging portion is positioned between the first side wall and the first combining base wall of the first adapter body, and the second engaging portion is positioned between the first side wall and the second combining base wall of the second adapter body, in order to enhance the stability and securement of the adapter bodies to the housing.
Regarding claim 17, Lee/Nguyen discloses the device of claim 1. Lee further discloses the second side wall of the second adapter body and the first side wall of the second adapter body are symmetrically arranged at two sides of the second adapter body, the second side wall of the second adapter body has a plurality of third connection units (FIG. 6 and annotated FIG. 6 below); the combinable optical-fiber adapter assembly further comprises a third optical-fiber adapter, the third optical-fiber adapter comprises a third adapter body, four side walls of the third adapter body define a third receiving cavity, two ends of the third adapter body have third insertion openings in communication with the third receiving cavity, and a first side wall of the third adapter body has a plurality of fourth connection units (FIG. 6 and annotated FIG. 6 below); each of the third connection units is assembled with a corresponding one of the fourth connection units (FIG. 6 and annotated FIG. 6 below). Lee fails to disclose an engaging portion on a first, second and third adapter body; and third engaging portion assembled with the fourth engaging portion.
Nguyen discloses an engaging portion (Projection 240 and recess 245) on a wall of a first, second and third adapter body (FIG. 4A-4C. Par. [0038]); and a third engaging portion (Projection 240 and recess 245) assembled with the fourth engaging portion (FIG. 4E. Four connected adapter bodies) .
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee and Nguyen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the combinable optical-fiber adapter assembly of Lee by incorporating the engaging portion (projection 240 and recess 245) as disclosed by Nguyen onto the walls of Lee's adapter bodies to indicate that proper alignment has been attained at disclose by Nguyen (Par. [0038]). A person of ordinary skill in the art, would find it obvious to apply the specific interlocking connection mechanisms of Nguyen to the walls of Lee’s adapters to achieve the expected result of better assembly stability, utilizing known mechanical principles.
Regarding Claim 18, Lee/Nguyen/Xue discloses the device of claim 1. Lee further discloses the first side wall of the second adapter body has a plurality of the second connection units, the second connection units at a front portion and a rear portion of the first side wall of the second adapter body respectively correspond to the third connection units at a front portion and a rear portion of the second side wall of the second adapter body (FIG 6).
Conclusion
/TAJANAE NICOLE GREEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/MICHELLE R CONNELLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874