DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jimenez (USPN 7917986) in view of Gutierrez-Caro (USPN 7070354).
Jimenez teaches a toothbrush, comprising: a replaceable head (1) including a housing, the housing having an inner surface defining a receiving volume; a handle (3) including a protruding portion (13), the protruding portion extending axially at an end of the handle (figure 1); and a locking mechanism including the receiving volume of the replaceable head and the protruding portion of the handle, the locking mechanism providing an engagement of the replaceable head with the handle. There is a removable capsule (2) including a motor assembly that is disposed within the handle.
Jimenez teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach that the locking mechanism is a click-lock engagement. Jimenez teaches that the locking mechanism is threading.
Gutierrez-Caro teaches a toothbrush with a head (300) and a handle (20) having a protruding portion (40). There is a locking mechanism providing a click lock engagement (41) of the replaceable head with the handle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the locking mechanism of Jimenez with the locking mechanism of Gutierrez-Caro since both locking mechanisms are equivalent structures known in the art. Therefore, because these two locking mechanisms were art-recognized equivalents at the time of the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute a click lock for a threading. Further, a click lock mechanism provides a faster means to remove the head from the handle.
With regards to claim 2, Gutierrez-Caro teaches that the protruding portion of the handle including a projection (41) supported on the protruding portion of the handle and extending radially from a narrowest outer dimension of the protruding portion of the handle. The inner surface of the housing defines at least one indentation (34) along the receiving volume, the projection includes a corresponding at least one rib (41), and the corresponding at least one rib is flexible into detachable click-lock engagement with the inner surface of the housing within the receiving volume of the replaceable head.
With regards to claim 3, Jimenez in view of Gutierrez-Caro teach that the locking mechanism prevents rotation of the replaceable head about the handle when the handle is in click-lock engagement with the housing in the receiving volume of the replaceable head.
With regards to claim 5, Jimenez in view of Gutierrez-Caro teach a skin (17; Jimenez) on the handle portion. The protruding portion extending axially beyond the skin (figure 1 of Jimenez). The protruding portion of the handle is in detachable click lock engagement with the receiving volume of the housing using the locking mechanism. An outer surface of the replaceable head is in edge-to-edge abutting contact with an outer surface of the skin portion (figure 1 of Jimenez).
With regards to claim 6, Jimenez in view of Gutierrez-Caro teach that the edge-to-edge abutting contact between the outer surface of the replaceable head and the outer surface of the skin portion of the handle is along a widest cross-sectional area of the handle (figure 1 of Jimenez shows largest cross section near the protruding portion).
With regards to claim 7, Jimenez in view of Gutierrez-Caro teach the edge-to-edge abutting contact is continuous about the housing of the replaceable head (figure 1 of Jimenez).
With regards to claim 8, Jimenez in view of Gutierrez-Caro teach the edge-to-edge abutting contact between the outer surface of the replaceable head and the outer surface of the skin portion of the handle is continuous along an enclosed two-dimensional shape.
With regards to claim 10, Jimenez in view of Gutierrez-Caro teach that the protruding portion of the handle includes a projection (41; Gutierrez-Caro) supported on the protruding portion of the handle and extending radially from a narrowest outer dimension of the protruding portion of the handle (figure 1; Gutierrez-Caro), the projection providing the click-lock engagement of the receiving volume of the replaceable head with the inner surface of the bousing.
With regards to claim 11, Jimenez in view of Gutierrez-Caro teaches that the handle includes a skin portion (17; Jimenez), the protruding portion extending axially beyond the skin portion, and wherein the protruding portion of the handle provides the click-lock engagement as the handle is moved axially into the receiving volume in an orientation in which the skin portion of the handle and the inner surface of the housing of the replaceable head enclose the projection and the protruding portion of the handle within the receiving volume.
With regards to claim 12, Jimenez in view of Gutierrez-Caro teaches that the handle includes a skin portion (17; Jimenez), the protruding portion extending axially beyond the skin portion.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jimenez (‘986) in view of Gutierrez-Caro (‘354) further in view of Hammon (PGPub 20080311282).
Jimenez in view of Gutierrez-Caro teach all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fail to teach that the handle has a mounting surface to mount the handle to a vertical surface. Hammon teaches a toothbrush with a mounting surface (116). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handles of Jimenez in view of Gutierrez-Caro so that there is a mounting surface as taught by Hammon to allow the toothbrush brush to be stored on a vertical surface to reduce clutter on a bathroom countertop.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The applicant argues that Gutierrez-Caro and Blaustein fail to teach a removable capsule including a motor assembly. The applicant agrees with this argument and further search was performed to find prior art to teach the new claim limitation. Jimenez was found the meet the majority of the claim limitations, except for a click-lock locking mechanism. Gutierrez-Caro was then used as a secondary reference to teach a click-lock locking mechanism as an alternative equivalent structure to Jimenez’s threading locking mechanism.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAY KARLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723