Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruzzo (US 20180001216) in view of Maeda (US 20080167122)
In claims 1, 11, and 20 Bruzzo discloses
Displaying a first gameplay of a game controlled by a player to a user (paragraph 132, the first gameplay is the gameplay of the broadcaster, see paragraph 104. The gameplay of the first character is shown in figure 12A #1204 and 12B #1204’, for example)
Determining contextual information from the first gameplay of the game (It is noted by examiner that the term “contextual information” is extremely broad, and may be taught by any information related to the game which initiates second gameplay, thus may be taught by a number of teachings of the prior art, such as paragraph 123, wherein the contextual information is the broadcaster providing an option of user interaction, or the particular race which the broadcaster is racing in, or the game that the broadcaster is playing, etc)
Determining, by the processing circuitry, second gameplay of the game controlled by the user based on the contextual information of the first gameplay of the game and (paragraph 133, the second gameplay is the “second player vehicle” #1206. Although the images show the broadcaster car as being the “ghost” car, it is noted by examiner that paragraph 133 further discloses “a second player vehicle ghost may be displayed within the first instance”, which is to say that the second player’s ghost may be displayed upon the broadcaster’s gameplay.)
Displaying the second gameplay of the game with the first gameplay of the game (figure 12B)
Wherein the first game play is live streamed (paragraphs 103-104)
Bruzzo fails to disclose that the second gameplay is pre-recorded, however Maeda discloses use of ghost data from historical (aka pre recorded) sources (paragraph 139). As Bruzzo teaches that the second player may be shown as a ghost upon the broadcast, this combination would teach modifying Bruzzo to allow for the second player’s displayed ghost to be based upon historical/pre recorded data as taught by Maeda. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Bruzzo with Maeda in order to allow for the second player to compare their top performance to the performance of the broadcaster, or in order to allow for the second player to more easily participate without needing to actively play the game.
In claims 2 and 12, Maeda discloses that the second gameplay is from a plurality of pre-recorded gameplays of the user based on the contextual information (paragraph 140, the contextual information is the racecourse, and there is ghost data for each racecourse)
In claims 3 and 13, Bruzzo discloses the player is first user and the user is a second user, the second user being different from the first user (as described above, there is a first player who is the broadcaster, and a second player)
In claims 4 and 14, Bruzzo discloses the first and second gameplay include at least one of: a same game character of the game, a same game mode of the game, a same progress of the game, a same state of the game, or a same game scene of the game (it is noted by examiner that this is a Markush group, and only one of these limitations needs to be disclosed. Figures 12A and 12B)
In claims 5 and 15 Bruzzo discloses displaying the second gameplay with the first gameplay in response to a user selection of a control element during the displaying of the first gameplay and synchronizing the display of the first and second gameplay based on the current gameplay information of the first gameplay (paragraph 123 discloses the user selection, figures 12A and 12B shows synchronized gameplay based on the current gameplay information of the first gameplay)
In claims 6 and 16 Bruzzo discloses displaying caption information fo the game actions performed in at least one of the first gameplay or the second gameplay during the display of the first gameplay and second gameplay (It is noted by examiner that the definition of “caption” includes an explanatory comment of an image, figure 11 #1130. Shows an explanatory comment o the image “NICE RACE!”)
In claims 7 and 17, with respect to displaying caption information of a game operation performed by the player, the game operation being determined based on a keyword extraction from speech information for that player, It is first noted by examiner that this is non-functional descriptive material, as per MPEP 2111.05 III, as the caption is as a whole directed to conveying a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the intended computer system, as such the limitation has no weight, and thus Bruzzo and Maeda still teaches the invention as claimed, however even if this were not the case, although Bruzzo and Maeda do not explicitly disclose keyword extraction from speech information of the player, Official notice is taken that providing automated captioning of speech was notoriously well known in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Bruzzo and Maeda with this well known technique in order to allow for deaf players, or players who have muted their device to be able to follow along with the gameplay.
In claims 8 and 18, Bruzzo discloses first caption information indicating a first strategy of the player that controls the first gameplay and second caption information indicating a second game strategy of the user that controls the second gameplay (It is first noted by examiner that this is non-functional descriptive material, as per MPEP 2111.05 III, as the caption is as a whole directed to conveying a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the intended computer system, however the prior art teaches this limitation, figure 11 #1130, the first strategy is “NICE RACE” and the second strategy is “I ROCKED THAT CHALLENGE”)
In claims 9 and 19, Bruzzo discloses the caption information of the game actions performed in the at least one of the first gameplay or the second gameplay information is based on a difference between attribute parameters of a game character in the first gameplay and a game character in the second gameplay at the same reference point (It is first noted by examiner that this is non-functional descriptive material, as per MPEP 2111.05 III, as the caption is as a whole directed to conveying a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the intended computer system, however the prior art teaches this limitation, figure 11 #1130, the first attribute information is having a “NICE RACE” and the second attribute information is to “ROCK THAT CHALLENGE”)
In claims 10 and 20 Bruzzo discloses comparing first game metrics of the game in the first gameplay and second game metrics of the game in the second gameplay including an action recommendation based on comparison of the first game metrics and the second game metrics (figure 12A, the metrics are the locations of the car, with one player being in the front, the recommendation would be the line that the player who is ahead has taken). With respect to the information being a caption, It is first noted by examiner that this is non-functional descriptive material, as per MPEP 2111.05 III, as the caption is as a whole directed to conveying a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the intended computer system, as such the limitation has no weight, and thus Bruzzo and Maeda still teaches the invention as claimed, however even if this were not the case, although Bruzzo and Maeda do not explicitly disclose captioning the recommendation to the player, Official notice is taken that providing a text recommendation was notoriously well known in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Bruzzo and Maeda with this well known technique in order to allow for clearer and easier to follow advice.
Conclusion
/THOMAS H HENRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715