Response to Amendment and Argument
1. This communication is in response to applicant's 06/16/2026 communications in the application of Yang et al. for the "SOUNDING REFERENCE SIGNAL (SRS) PORT NUMBER ADAPTION FOR UPLINK SWITCH ENHANCEMENT" filed 04/10/2024. This application Claims Priority from Provisional Application 63581031, filed 09/07/2023. The amendment and response have been entered and made of record. Claims 1-30 are pending in the present application.
2. Applicant’s remarks and argument to the rejected claims are insufficient to distinguish the claimed invention from the cited prior arts or overcome the rejection of said claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed below. Applicant’s argument with respect to the pending claims have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive for at least the following reasons.
3. In response to applicant's argument that the combination of cited references fails to present a prima facie case of obviousness. In response, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of applicant’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). It is not necessary that a “prima facie” case of unpatentability exist as to the claim in order for “a substantial new question of patentability” to be present as to the claim. Thus, “a substantial new question of patentability” as to a patent claim could be present even if the examiner would not necessarily reject the claim as either fully anticipated by, or obvious in view of, the prior art patents or printed publications. As to the importance of the difference between “a substantial new question of patentability” and a “prima facie” case of unpatentability see generally In re Etter, 756 F.2d 852, 857 n.5, 225 USPQ 1, 4 n.5 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Also, See MPEP § 2141.01(a) for a discussion of analogous and nonanalogous art in the context of establishing a prima facie case of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103. See MPEP § 2131.05 for a discussion of analogous and nonanalogous art in the context of 35 U.S.C. 102. 904.02. It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose, the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. See MPEP 2144.06 and In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
4. In response to Applicant’s argument that the reference does not teach or reasonably suggest the functionality upon which the Examiner relies for the rejection. The Examiner first emphasizes for the record that the claims employ a broader in scope than the Applicant’s disclosure in all aspects. In addition, the Applicant has not argued any narrower interpretation of the claim limitations, nor amended the claims significantly enough to construe a narrower meaning to the limitations. Since the claims breadth allows multiple interpretations and meanings, which are broader than Applicant’s disclosure, the Examiner is required to interpret the claim limitations in terms of their broadest reasonable interpretations while determining patentability of the disclosed invention. See MPEP 2111. In other words, the claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification and the interpretation that those skilled in the art would reach. See In re Hyatt, 211 F.3d 1367, 1372, 54 USPQ2d 1664, 1667 (Fed. Cir. 2000), In re Cortright, 165 F.3d 1353, 1359, 49 USPQ2d 1464, 1468 (Fed. Cir. 1999), and In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 2004 WL 1067528 (Fed. Cir. May 13, 2004). Any term that is not clearly defined in the specification must be given its plain meaning as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2111.01. See also In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989), Sunrace Roots Enter. Co. v. SRAM Corp., 336 F.3d 1298, 1302, 67 USPQ2d 1438, 1441 (Fed. Cir. 2003), Brookhill-Wilk 1, LLC v. Intuitive Surgical, Inc., 334 F.3d 1294, 1298 67 USPQ2d 1132, 1136 (Fed. Cir. 2003). The interpretation of the claims by their broadest reasonable interpretation reduces the possibility that, once the claims are issued, the claims are interpreted more broadly than justified. See In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-551 (CCPA 1969). Also, limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, the failure to significantly narrow definition or scope of the claims and supply arguments commensurate in scope with the claims implies the Applicant intends broad interpretation be given to the claims. The Examiner has interpreted the claims in parallel to the Applicant in the response and reiterates the need for the Applicant to distinctly define the claimed invention.
5. In response to Applicant’s argument that there is no suggestion to combine the references, i.e., Harrison et al. (US#2025/0062796) in view of Jacobsson et al. (US#2024/0187188) as proposed in the office action. The Examiner recognizes that references cannot be arbitrarily combined and that there must be some reason why one skilled in the art would be motivated to make the proposed combination of primary and secondary references. In re Nomiya, 184 USPQ 607 (CCPA 1975). However, there is no requirement that a motivation to make the modification be expressly articulated. The test for combining references is what the combination of disclosures taken as a whole would suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re McLaughlin, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). It must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
6. Applicant's argument with respect to the rejected claims that the cited reference fails to teach or suggest the use of “SRS port pattern that defines a series of transmissions” (page 11, first paragraphs). In response to the above-mentioned argument, examiner respectively disagrees. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, as required by MPEP 2111, the reference of are applied herein for the teaching of a system and method for managing SRS port patterns for single-port and multi-port SRS transmission, according to the essential features of the claims. Applicant’s attention is directed to Fig. 6 & para [0047]-[0049] of Harrison (US#2025/0062796) for managing SRS port pattern for single/multiple port SRS, in which the UE transmit a number of SRS resources, where each of the resources comprises a number of SRS port for SRS transmission. Examiner interprets as multiple SRS port patterns that defines a series of SRS transmission. Furthermore, as seen in Fig. 6 & para [0039], [0054], [0082] where the UE receives multiple TPMIs, where each TPMI corresponds to one of the plurality of SRS resources and determine which effective antenna patterns can be transmitted simultaneously by the UE based on the use of multiple SRS ports and resources.
Since no substantial amendments have been made and the Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, the claims are drawn to the same invention and the text of the prior art rejection can be found in the previous Office Action. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that the references cited and applied in the last office actions for the rejection of the claims are maintained in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was
commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
9. Claims 1, 8-10, 15-17, 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison et al. (US#2025/0062796) in view of Jacobsson et al. (US#2024/0187188).
Regarding claims 1, 10, the references disclose an apparatus for managing SRS port patterns for single-port and multi-port SRS transmission, according to the essential features of the claim. Harrison et al. (US#2025/0062796) discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE)/network entity, comprising: a memory comprising instructions; and one or more processors configured, individually or in any combination, to execute the instructions (see Figs. 8, 10 for the structures of the UE/network node includes processors and memories) and cause the apparatus to: transmit/receive UE capability information indicating support for multiple sounding reference signal (SRS) port patterns (Fig. 6; para [0051], [0057] & [0079]-[0080]: The UE/network node transmits/receives capability information indicating that the UE is capable of transmitting simultaneously on multiple RS resources and/or receives first and second RS configurations), wherein each SRS port pattern defines a series of SRS transmissions (Fig. 6; para [0080]: transmitting an SRS Transmission Request to the UE, informing the UE which SRS resources should be transmitted); and receive a configuration of the multiple SRS port patterns, in accordance with the UE capability information (Fig. 6; para [0039], [0054]: UE receives multiple TPMIs, where each TPMI corresponds to one of the plurality of SRS resources and determine which effective antenna patterns can be transmitted simultaneously by the UE based on the use of multiple SRS ports and resources).
However, Jacobsson reference does not disclose expressly wherein whether each SRS transmission is a single-port SRS transmission or a multi-port SRS transmission. In the same field of endeavor, Jacobsson et al. (US#2024/0187188) discloses sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission with comb eight.for SRS for single-port as well as multi-port SRS resources (para [0042], [0083]: SRS transmission is a single-port SRS transmission or a multi-port SRS transmission).
One skilled in the art would have recognized the need for effectively and efficiently performing techniques and apparatuses for sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission configuration in wireless communications, and would have applied Jacobsson’s SRS transmission for single-port or multi-port SRS resources into Harrison’s techniques and apparatuses for SRS transmission for wireless devices with multiple antennas, including transmitting and receiving on different antenna subsets in wireless device. Therefore, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to apply Jacobsson’s SRS transmission comb eight into Harrison’s multi resource UL sounding and antenna subset transmission with the motivation being to provide a method and system for managing SRS port pattern for single-port and multi-port SRS transmission.
Regarding claims 8, 15, Harrison in view of Jacobsson teaches the apparatus of claims 1, 10 examined above, Harrison et al. (US#2025/0062796) further teaches wherein receive an indication enabling a first SRS port pattern of the multiple SRS port patterns, via at least one of a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), a downlink control information (DCI) or radio resource control (RRC) signaling (para [0027]-[0029]: LTE control signaling can be carried in a variety of ways, including in MAC CEs, or in RRC) signaling, DCI/UCI), wherein the first SRS port pattern defines a first series of SRS transmissions and indicates a sequence of a first set of SRS ports configured for single-port SRS transmissions of the first series of SRS transmissions and a second set of SRS ports configured for multi-port SRS transmissions of the first series of SRS transmissions (para [0033]-[0034]: the UE may apply a beamformer and/or a precoder to the SRS ports within the SRS resource such that they are transmitted with the same effective antenna pattern).
Regarding claims 9, 16, Harrison in view of Jacobsson teaches the apparatus of claims 1, 10 examined above, Harrison et al. (US#2025/0062796) further teaches wherein the first SRS port pattern is determined for the UE based on at least one of: an uplink signal to interference noise ratio (SINR), a signal-to-interference ratio (SIR), a block error rate (BLER), a power headroom report, or UE assistance information (UAI) of the UE (para [0032]: provide good uplink throughput and/or SINR when the UE uses them for transmission on its uplink antenna array).
Regarding claims 17, 24-26, they are method claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 1, 8-10 examined above. Therefore, claims 17, 24-26 are analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claims 1, 8-10 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 2, 11, 18, 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3-7, 12-14 & 19-23, 28-30 depend on the objected claims above.
11. The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest wherein to measure at least one of: a buffer size of the UE, a transmission power of the UE, or a transmission timing difference between different carriers; and determine a first SRS port pattern from the multiple SRS port patterns based on the measurement, wherein the first SRS port pattern defines a first series of SRS transmissions and indicates a sequence of a first set of SRS ports configured for single-port SRS transmissions of the first series of SRS transmissions and a second set of SRS ports configured for multi-port SRS transmissions of the first series of SRS transmissions; wherein to transmit/receive UE assistance information (UAI) indicating a request to enable the first SRS port pattern from the multiple SRS port patterns, wherein the first SRS port pattern defines a first series of SRS transmissions and indicates a sequence of a first set of SRS ports configured for single-port SRS transmissions of the first series of SRS transmissions and a second set of SRS ports configured for multi-port SRS transmissions of the first series of SRS transmissions, as specifically recited in the claims.
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is indicated in PTO form 892.
13. Applicant's future amendments need to comply with the requirements of MPEP § 714.02, MPEP § 2163.04 and MPEP § 2163.06.
"with respect to newly added or amended claims, applicant should show support in the original disclosure for the new or amended claims." See MPEP § 714.02 and § 2163.06 ("Applicant should * * * specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure."); and MPEP § 2163.04 ("If applicant amends the claims and points out where and/or how the originally filed disclosure supports the amendment(s), and the examiner finds that the disclosure does not reasonably convey that the inventor had possession of the subject matter of the amendment at the time of the filing of the application, the examiner has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasoning to explain why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims."). See In re Smith, 458 F.2d 1389, 1395, 173 USPQ 679, 683 (CCPA 1972) In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d at 262,191 USPQ at 96 (emphasis added). "The use of a confusing variety of terms for the same thing should not be permitted.
New claims and amendments to the claims already in the application should be scrutinized not only for new matter but also for new terminology. While an applicant is not limited to the nomenclature used in the application as filed, he or she should make appropriate amendment of the specification whenever this nomenclature is departed from by amendment of the claims so as to have clear support or antecedent basis in the specification for the new terms appearing in the claims. This is necessary in order to insure certainty in construing the claims in the light of the specification." Ex parte Kotler, 1901 C.D. 62, 95 O.G. 2684 (Comm'r Pat. 1901). See 37 CFR 1.75, MPEP § 608.01 (i) and § 1302.01.
Note that examiners should ensure that the terms and phrases used in claims presented late in prosecution of the application (including claims amended via an examiner's amendment) 07find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description, see 37 CFR 1,75(d)(1 ). If the examiner determines that the claims presented late in prosecution do not comply with 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1), applicant will be required to make appropriate amendment to the description to provide clear support or antecedent basis for the terms appearing in the claims provided no new matter is introduced"
"USPTO personnel are to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure." In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023,1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). MPEP § 2106. "
14. THIS ACTION THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP ' 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
Mphan
July 27, 2026
/MAN U PHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477