DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is in response to the communication filed on 11/13/2025.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments filed on 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument: Muddu does not disclose “determining a first mapping between a first endpoint identifier associated with the first modality and a user account associated with an entity; determining a second mapping between a second endpoint identifier associated with the second modality and the user account associated with the entity; determining, based at least in part on the first mapping and the second mapping, that the first abnormal event and the second abnormal event are each associated with a same entity; based at least in part on the first abnormal event and the second abnormal event being associated with the same entity.”
Examiner’s response: The examiner respectfully directs applicant’s attention to see Muddu, paras. 214-215, where relationships between entities are discovered and recorded from data/event data associated with data sources; see para. 408 where security threats are identified by correlating the anomalies across the relationships; see paras. 424 and/or 602-606 where anomalous/security events/activities/threat associated with entities are detected based on the relationships, wherein entities include physical computing devices, users, user accounts, and identifiers/identifications associated with entities, and wherein two or more identifiers/identifications are associated with same entity (same user account and/or same user). In other words, determining relationships (i.e., first relationship/mapping and second relationship/mapping) between physical computing devices’ identifiers (i.e., first endpoint identifier and second endpoint identifier) associated with data sources (i.e., a first modality and a second modality) and a user account associated with a user (i.e., entity); determining, based on the relationships, that anomalous events/activities are associated with the same entity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Muddu et al. (US 2017/0134415 A1, hereafter Muddu).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 9, and 18:
Muddu discloses a system comprising: one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see fig. 1 and para. 139 where a security platform comprises one or more computers), cause the system to perform operations comprising:
receiving telemetry data associated with at least a first modality and a second modality, the second modality being different from the first modality; detecting, in the telemetry data, a first abnormal event and a second abnormal event associated with security incidents, the first abnormal event associated with the first modality and the second abnormal event associated with the second modality (see fig. 4 and paras. 135-137, 147-148, 163 where data/event data/machine data (i.e., telemetry data) is received from various data sources (i.e., modalities include a first modality and a second modality), wherein events/activities are derived from the data to be analyzed to detect anomalous events/activities (i.e., a first abnormal event and a second abnormal event) associated with threats/attacks/malwares (i.e., security incidents));
determining a first mapping between a first endpoint identifier associated with the first modality and a user account associated with an entity; determining a second mapping between a second endpoint identifier associated with the second modality and the user account associated with the entity; determining, based at least in part on the first mapping and the second mapping, that the first abnormal event and the second abnormal event are each associated with a same entity; based at least in part on the first abnormal event and the second abnormal event being associated with the same entity, determining that a correlation between the first abnormal event and the second abnormal event is indicative of a security incident (see paras. 214-215 where relationships between entities are discovered and recorded from data/event data associated with data sources; see para. 408 where security threats are identified by correlating the anomalies across the relationships; see paras. 424 and/or 602-606 where anomalous/security events/activities/threat associated with entities are detected based on the relationships, wherein entities include physical computing devices, users, user accounts, and identifiers/identifications associated with entities, and wherein two or more identifiers/identifications are associated with same entity (same user account and/or same user). In other words, determining relationships (i.e., first relationship/mapping and second relationship/mapping) between physical computing devices’ identifiers (i.e., first endpoint identifier and second endpoint identifier) associated with data sources (i.e., a first modality and a second modality) and a user account associated with a user (i.e., entity); determining, based on the relationships, that anomalous events/activities are associated with the same entity, determining that a correlation between anomalous events/activities is indicative of a security threat); and
based at least in part on the correlation, outputting an indication of the security incident (see para. 171).
Regarding claim(s) 2:
Muddu discloses:
wherein the first modality and the second modality are associated with at least one of: a web proxy log, a file execution log, a firewall log, a network connection log, an endpoint log, an email activity tog, or an instant messaging log (see paras. 135, 163, 278, and/or 326).
Regarding claim(s) 3:
Muddu discloses:
wherein the indication of the security incident includes information associated with the first modality and the second modality (see fig. 4, and paras. 171, 173).
Regarding claim(s) 4:
Muddu discloses:
determining that the first abnormal event and the second abnormal event originated from the same entity, wherein determining that the first abnormal event and the second abnormal event are each associated with the same entity is based at least in part on the first abnormal event and the second abnormal event having originated from the same entity (see para. 408 where security threats are identified by correlating the anomalies across the relationships; see paras. 424 and/or 602-606 where anomalous/security events/activities/threat associated with entities are detected based on the relationships, wherein entities include physical computing devices, users, user accounts, and identifiers/identifications associated with entities, and wherein two or more identifiers/identifications are associated with same entity (same user account and/or same user)).
Regarding claim(s) 5:
Muddu discloses:
wherein the first abnormal event is detected by a first unimodal detector that is specific to the first modality and the second abnormal event is detected by a second unimodal detector that is specific to the second modality (see paras. 158, 161, 163, and/or 193 where a plurality of components/applications/analyzers are used to detect anomalies/threats/attacks/malwares from various data sources).
Regarding claim(s) 6:
Muddu discloses:
wherein determining that the first abnormal event and the second abnormal event are each associated with the same entity comprises determining that the first abnormal event and the second abnormal event are each associated with a same server (see paras. 215 where a user is using a machine with an IP address to visit a certain website; see para. 244 where a machine is used as a server; see paras. 604-606 where detected anomalous events/activities are associated with entities, and wherein the identifications are associated with same entity (i.e., same user account, same server having same IP address)).
Regarding claim(s) 7:
Muddu discloses:
wherein determining that the first abnormal event and the second abnormal event are each associated with the same entity comprises determining that the first abnormal event and the second abnormal event are each associated with a same user device (see paras. 215 where a user is using a machine (i.e., user device) with an IP address to visit a certain website; see paras. 604-606 where detected anomalous events/activities are associated with entities, and wherein the identifications are associated with same entity (i.e., same user account, same user device having same IP address)).
Regarding claim(s) 8:
Muddu discloses:
assigning the first abnormal event and the second abnormal event to a same network address; and determining the correlation between the first abnormal event and the second abnormal event based at least in part on the assigning (see para. 408 where security threats are identified by correlating the anomalies across the relationships; see paras. 604-606 where detected anomalous events/activities are associated with entities, physical computing devices, users, user accounts, IP addresses, and identifiers/identifications associated with entities, and wherein the identifications are associated with same entity (i.e., same IP address)).
Regarding claim(s) 10:
Muddu discloses:
determining that the telemetry data associated with the first modality indicates that the same entity is affected by the first abnormal event; and determining that the telemetry data associated with the second modality indicates that the same entity is affected by the second abnormal event, wherein the correlation is associated with determining that the same entity is affected by the first abnormal event and the second abnormal event (see paras. 604-606 where detected anomalous events/activities are associated with entities, wherein each of the entities includes identifications comprising user account, identifier, and IP addresses, and wherein the identifications are associated with same entity (i.e., same user account); see para. 136 where a compromised account is used to conduct malicious activities; see para. 186 where anomalies/threats are detected based on time-series analysis (e.g., number of log-ins per hour); see para. 350 where an anomaly associated with an account is detected; see paras. 442-443 where anomalies/threats are identified from even data generated from user log-ins to an account).
Regarding claim(s) 11:
Muddu discloses:
wherein: the telemetry data associated with the first modality includes a first timestamp associated with the first abnormal event, the telemetry data associated with the second modality includes a second timestamp associated with the second abnormal event, and determining that the correlation is indicative of the security incident is further based at least in part on the first timestamp and the second timestamp (see fig. 4 and paras. 135-137, 147-148, 163 where data/event data/machine data is received from various data sources (i.e., modalities include a first modality and a second modality), wherein events/activities are derived from the data to be analyzed to detect anomalous events/activities (i.e., a first abnormal event and a second abnormal event) associated with threats/attacks/malwares; see paras. 409, 412, 428, and/or 434 where anomalous events/activities are detected based on timestamps from the event data).
Regarding claim(s) 12:
Muddu discloses:
determining a length of a period of time between the first timestamp and the second timestamp, wherein determining that the correlation is indicative of the security incident is further based at least in part on the length of the period of time (see paras. 186, 217, 221, 224 and/or 317).
Regarding claim(s) 13:
Muddu discloses:
wherein the telemetry data associated with the first modality is different from the telemetry data associated with the second modality, the telemetry data associated with the first modality comprising at least one of: a web proxy log, a file execution log, a firewall log, a network connection log, an endpoint log, an email activity log, or an instant messaging log (see paras. 135, 163, 278, and/or 326).
Regarding claim(s) 14:
Muddu discloses:
inputting, into a machine-learned model, first telemetry data associated with the first abnormal event and second telemetry data associated with the second abnormal event; and receiving, from the machine-learned model, an output indicating that the first abnormal event and the second abnormal event are indicative of the security incident (see fig. 4 and paras. 170, 182).
Regarding claim(s) 15:
Muddu discloses:
wherein determining that the first abnormal event and the second abnormal event are each associated with the same entity is based at least in part on a mapping between endpoint identifiers associated with the first modality and the second modality and at least one network address associated with the same entity (see paras. 604-606 where detected anomalous events/activities are associated with entities, wherein each of the entities includes identifications comprising user account, identifier, and IP addresses, and wherein the identifications are associated with same entity (i.e., same user account, same identifiers, same IP addresses)).
Regarding claim(s) 16:
Muddu discloses:
wherein detecting the first abnormal event comprises employing a first unimodal detector specifically configured for the first modality and wherein detecting the second abnormal event comprises employing a second unimodal detector specifically configured for the second modality (see fig. 4 and paras. 135, 158, 161, and/or 170 for various applications/analyzers/machine learning models used for detecting anomalous events/activities from various data sources).
Regarding claim(s) 17:
See the rejection to claim 6 or 7.
Regarding claim(s) 19:
Muddu discloses:
wherein: the telemetry data associated with the first modality includes a first indication of the same entity affected by the first abnormal event, the telemetry data associated with the second modality includes a second indication of the same entity affected by the second abnormal event, and determining that the first abnormal event and the second abnormal event are each associated with the same entity is based at least in part on the first indication and the second indication (see paras. 604-606 where detected anomalous events/activities are associated with entities, wherein each of the entities includes identifications comprising user account, identifier, and IP addresses, and wherein the identifications are associated with same entity; see para. 136 where a compromised account is used to conduct malicious activities; see para. 186 where anomalies/threats are detected based on time-series analysis (e.g., number of log-ins per hour); see para. 350 where an anomaly associated with an account is detected; see paras. 442-443 where anomalies/threats are identified from even data generated from user log-ins to an account).
Regarding claim(s) 20:
See the rejection to claim 11.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUAN V DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499