Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, 13-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sesia et al. (U.S. Pub. No.20140293818A1) in view of Kuo (U.S. Pub. No. 20130163538A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sesia teaches wherein the aggregated bandwidth is obtained by aggregating at least the first bandwidth and a second bandwidth, and a spectrum of the first bandwidth and a spectrum of the second bandwidth are spaced by a spectrum of a third bandwidth ([0004]: Scenarios A to C being applicable in Band I. Each carrier occupies 5 MHz of spectrum, and the gap between those carriers that may be used for carrier aggregation is, 5 MHz. The gaps may be occupied by carriers belonging to a different communications network. In scenario A, two carriers separated by a 5 MHz gap are aggregated, and this configuration is denoted C-5-C.); determining, based on the first channel quality information and the second channel quality information, interference ([0183]: The base station can compare the statistic of the reported CQI on the different carriers and estimate the average CQI, which provides information about a long term bias that provides information about the presence of the interferer. [0004]: A carrier that occupies the gap will be referred to as an interferer, interference signal or an unwanted signal, as it carries no information intended for a receiver using the non-contiguous carriers for communication.) and sending, to the terminal device based on the interference , bandwidth configuration information indicating an operating bandwidth of the terminal device ([0004]: A carrier that occupies the gap will be referred to as an interferer, interference signal or an unwanted signal, as it carries no information intended for a receiver using the non-contiguous carriers for communication. Two carriers separated by a 5 MHz gap are aggregated, and this configuration is denoted C-5-C. [0205]: In a first, basic example the carriers can be: C1xC2, where carriers C1 and C2 belong to operator A and x carrier belongs to another operator e.g. operator B. [0042]: use network radio resource management (RRM) strategies to attempt to detect and avoid such a scenario. The UE could be configured to two-carrier (2C) or single-carrier (1C) operation in locations where the operator B signal was too strong to allow non-contiguous four-carrier operation.). Sesia fails to teach receiving, from a terminal device, first channel quality information corresponding to a first bandwidth the terminal device accesses, receiving, from the terminal device, second channel quality information corresponding to an aggregated bandwidth the terminal device accesses, and occurred when the terminal device accesses the aggregated bandwidth.
However, Kuo does teach receiving, from a terminal device, first channel quality information corresponding to a first bandwidth the terminal device accesses ([0069]: CQI report configuration for an Scell is delivered to a UE when the Scell is configured to the UE. The UE would start CQI reporting for the Scell when it is activated. The CQI report configuration could be updated during the activated state of the Scell. [0072]: In step 510, a first CQI reporting configuration is configured to the UE for the first downlink carrier.); receiving, from the terminal device, second channel quality information corresponding to an aggregated bandwidth the terminal device accesses ([0069]: CQI report configuration for an Scell is delivered to a UE when the Scell is configured to the UE. The UE would start CQI reporting for the Scell when it is activated. [0072]: In step 520, a second CQI reporting configuration is configured to the UE for both the first downlink carrier and the carrier segment. In step 525, the carrier segment is activated. In step 530, the UE starts applying the second CQI report configuration for CQI reporting for both the first downlink carrier and the carrier segment when the carrier is activated.), and occurred when the terminal device accesses the aggregated bandwidth ([0069]: CQI report configuration for an Scell is delivered to a UE when the Scell is configured to the UE. The UE would start CQI reporting for the Scell when it is activated. [0072]: In step 520, a second CQI reporting configuration is configured to the UE for both the first downlink carrier and the carrier segment. In step 525, the carrier segment is activated. In step 530, the UE starts applying the second CQI report configuration for CQI reporting for both the first downlink carrier and the carrier segment when the carrier is activated.). Sesia fails to teach a terminal device sending first channel quality information corresponding to a first bandwidth it accesses and a second channel quality information corresponding to an aggregated bandwidth it accesses to a network device. However, Kuo teaches that a UE served by a first downlink carrier sends a first CQI report to the network corresponding to that first carrier, and an associated new bandwidth, applies and sends a second CQI report covering the combined bandwidth to the network device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sesia’s method of non-contiguous carrier aggregation with Kuo’s CQI and channel access method in order to improve energy efficiency (Kuo [0051]).
Regarding claim 2, Sesia in view of Kuo teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 1. Sesia further teaches wherein in case that an interference value of the interference is greater than a preset interference value ([0183]: trigger the average method in a NodeB if the CQI of some of the carriers is hitting a very low zone, less than a threshold, that is, if the performance on a certain carrier is bad, the NodeB may decide to deactivate some of the carrier. ), the bandwidth configuration information indicates that the operating bandwidth of the terminal device is the first bandwidth ([0042]: The UE could be configured to two-carrier (2C) or single-carrier (1C) operation in locations where the operator B signal was too strong to allow non-contiguous four-carrier operation.).
Regarding claim 3, Sesia in view of Kuo teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 1. Sesia further teaches wherein in case that an interference value of the interference is less than or equal to the preset interference value, the bandwidth configuration information indicates that the operating bandwidth of the terminal device is the aggregated bandwidth ([0004]: A carrier that occupies the gap will be referred to as an interferer, interference signal or an unwanted signal, as it carries no information intended for a receiver using the non-contiguous carriers for communication. Two carriers separated by a 5 MHz gap are aggregated, and this configuration is denoted C-5-C. [0205]: In a first, basic example the carriers can be: C1xC2, where carriers C1 and C2 belong to operator A and x carrier belongs to another operator e.g. operator B. [0042]: The UE could be configured to two-carrier (2C) or single-carrier (1C) operation in locations where the operator B signal was too strong to allow non-contiguous four-carrier operation. Examiner note: the converse of the citation in [0042] teaches claim 3.).
Regarding claim 5, Sesia in view of Kuo teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 1. Sesia further teaches wherein both the first bandwidth and the second bandwidth correspond to a first operator, and the third bandwidth corresponds to a second operator ([0004]: Scenarios A to C being applicable in Band I. Each carrier occupies 5 MHz of spectrum, and the gap between those carriers that may be used for carrier aggregation is, 5 MHz. The gaps may be occupied by carriers belonging to a different communications network. In scenario A, two carriers separated by a 5 MHz gap are aggregated, and this configuration is denoted C-5-C.).
Regarding claim 6, Sesia in view of Kuo teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 1. Sesia further teaches receiving capability information of the terminal device from the terminal device, wherein the capability information indicates that the terminal device supports accessing the aggregated bandwidth ([0062]: method of operating a user equipment, UE, comprising signaling to a network node a capability of the UE to perform measurements in a non-contiguous carrier aggregation measurement mode); and determining, based on the capability information, that the terminal device supports accessing the aggregated bandwidth ([0078], [0079]: method of operating a network node, comprising configuring a user equipment, UE, to perform a measurement in a non-contiguous carrier aggregation measurement mode. The configuring may be in response to receiving from the UE a report of measurement capability and the configuring may comprise using the received report of measurement capability to select parameters for a measurement configuration and sending a request for a measurement to the UE.).
Regarding claim 7, Sesia in view of Kuo teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 1. Sesia further teaches the first bandwidth and the aggregated bandwidth correspond to a same cell ([0206]: In Example 2, the UE is served by the radio network node on carrier C4. The radio network node serving the UE would like to serve the UE on additional carriers, for example on carriers C1, C2 and C3. This may be required for instance if the UE has to receive more data, such as if the DL buffer in the radio network node is above threshold.). Kuo further teaches wherein the first channel quality information is based on a first channel state information reference signal corresponding to the first bandwidth ([0072]: In step 510, a first CQI reporting configuration is configured to the UE for the first downlink carrier.); the second channel quality information is based on a second channel state information reference signal corresponding to the aggregated bandwidth ([0072]: In step 530, the UE starts applying the second CQI report configuration for CQI reporting for both the first downlink carrier and the carrier segment when the carrier is activated.). Sesia fails to teach a terminal device sending first channel quality information corresponding to a first bandwidth it accesses and a second channel quality information corresponding to an aggregated bandwidth it accesses to a network device. However, Kuo teaches that a UE served by a first downlink carrier sends a first CQI report to the network corresponding to that first carrier, and an associated new bandwidth, applies and sends a second CQI report covering the combined bandwidth to the network device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sesia’s method of non-contiguous carrier aggregation with Kuo’s CQI and channel access method in order to improve energy efficiency (Kuo [0051]).
Regarding claim 9, Sesia teaches a processor; and a memory storing computer readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, enable the apparatus to perform ([0206]: the UE is served by the radio network node, such as a RNC, base station. Examiner note: A base station necessarily has a processor and a memory storing computer readable instructions that can be executed by the processor), wherein the aggregated bandwidth is obtained by aggregating at least the first bandwidth and a second bandwidth, and a spectrum of the first bandwidth and a spectrum of the second bandwidth are spaced by a spectrum of a third bandwidth ([0004]: Scenarios A to C being applicable in Band I. Each carrier occupies 5 MHz of spectrum, and the gap between those carriers that may be used for carrier aggregation is, 5 MHz. The gaps may be occupied by carriers belonging to a different communications network. In scenario A, two carriers separated by a 5 MHz gap are aggregated, and this configuration is denoted C-5-C.); determining, based on the first channel quality information and the second channel quality information, interference ([0183]: The base station can compare the statistic of the reported CQI on the different carriers and estimate the average CQI, which provides information about a long term bias that provides information about the presence of the interferer. [0004]: A carrier that occupies the gap will be referred to as an interferer, interference signal or an unwanted signal, as it carries no information intended for a receiver using the non-contiguous carriers for communication.), and sending bandwidth configuration information to the terminal device based on the interference, wherein the bandwidth configuration information indicates an operating bandwidth of the terminal device ([0004]: A carrier that occupies the gap will be referred to as an interferer, interference signal or an unwanted signal, as it carries no information intended for a receiver using the non-contiguous carriers for communication. Two carriers separated by a 5 MHz gap are aggregated, and this configuration is denoted C-5-C. [0205]: In a first, basic example the carriers can be: C1xC2, where carriers C1 and C2 belong to operator A and x carrier belongs to another operator e.g. operator B. [0042]: The UE could be configured to two-carrier (2C) or single-carrier (1C) operation in locations where the operator B signal was too strong to allow non-contiguous four-carrier operation.). Sesia fails to teach receiving first channel quality information corresponding to a first bandwidth from a terminal device, receiving second channel quality information corresponding to an aggregated bandwidth from the terminal device, and occurred when the terminal device accesses the aggregated bandwidth.
However, Kuo does teach receiving first channel quality information corresponding to a first bandwidth from a terminal device ([0069]: CQI report configuration for an Scell is delivered to a UE when the Scell is configured to the UE. The UE would start CQI reporting for the Scell when it is activated. The CQI report configuration could be updated during the activated state of the Scell. [0072]: In step 510, a first CQI reporting configuration is configured to the UE for the first downlink carrier.); receiving second channel quality information corresponding to an aggregated bandwidth from the terminal device ([0069]: CQI report configuration for an Scell is delivered to a UE when the Scell is configured to the UE. The UE would start CQI reporting for the Scell when it is activated. [0072]: In step 520, a second CQI reporting configuration is configured to the UE for both the first downlink carrier and the carrier segment. In step 525, the carrier segment is activated. In step 530, the UE starts applying the second CQI report configuration for CQI reporting for both the first downlink carrier and the carrier segment when the carrier is activated.), and occurred when the terminal device accesses the aggregated bandwidth ([0069]: CQI report configuration for an Scell is delivered to a UE when the Scell is configured to the UE. The UE would start CQI reporting for the Scell when it is activated. [0072]: In step 520, a second CQI reporting configuration is configured to the UE for both the first downlink carrier and the carrier segment. In step 525, the carrier segment is activated. In step 530, the UE starts applying the second CQI report configuration for CQI reporting for both the first downlink carrier and the carrier segment when the carrier is activated.). Sesia fails to teach a terminal device sending first channel quality information corresponding to a first bandwidth it accesses and a second channel quality information corresponding to an aggregated bandwidth it accesses to a network device. However, Kuo teaches that a UE served by a first downlink carrier sends a first CQI report to the network corresponding to that first carrier, and an associated new bandwidth, applies and sends a second CQI report covering the combined bandwidth to the network device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sesia’s method of non-contiguous carrier aggregation with Kuo’s CQI and channel access method in order to improve energy efficiency (Kuo [0051]).
Regarding claim 10, Sesia in view of Kuo teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 9. Sesia further teaches wherein in case that an interference value of the interference is greater than a preset interference value ([0183]: trigger the average method in a NodeB if the CQI of some of the carriers is hitting a very low zone, less than a threshold, that is, if the performance on a certain carrier is bad, the NodeB may decide to deactivate some of the carrier. ), the bandwidth configuration information indicates that the operating bandwidth of the terminal device is the first bandwidth ([0042]: The UE could be configured to two-carrier (2C) or single-carrier (1C) operation in locations where the operator B signal was too strong to allow non-contiguous four-carrier operation.).
Regarding claim 11, Sesia in view of Kuo teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 9. Sesia further teaches wherein in case that the interference value of the interference is less than or equal to a preset interference value, the bandwidth configuration information indicates that the operating bandwidth of the terminal device is the aggregated bandwidth ([0004]: A carrier that occupies the gap will be referred to as an interferer, interference signal or an unwanted signal, as it carries no information intended for a receiver using the non-contiguous carriers for communication. Two carriers separated by a 5 MHz gap are aggregated, and this configuration is denoted C-5-C. [0205]: In a first, basic example the carriers can be: C1xC2, where carriers C1 and C2 belong to operator A and x carrier belongs to another operator e.g. operator B. [0042]: The UE could be configured to two-carrier (2C) or single-carrier (1C) operation in locations where the operator B signal was too strong to allow non-contiguous four-carrier operation. Examiner note: the converse of the citation in [0042] teaches claim 3.).
Regarding claim 13, Sesia in view of Kuo teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 9. Sesia further teaches wherein both the first bandwidth and the second bandwidth correspond to a first operator, and the third bandwidth corresponds to a second operator ([0004]: Scenarios A to C being applicable in Band I. Each carrier occupies 5 MHz of spectrum, and the gap between those carriers that may be used for carrier aggregation is, 5 MHz. The gaps may be occupied by carriers belonging to a different communications network. In scenario A, two carriers separated by a 5 MHz gap are aggregated, and this configuration is denoted C-5-C.).
Regarding claim 14, Sesia in view of Kuo teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 9. Sesia further teaches receiving capability information of the terminal device from the terminal device, wherein the capability information indicates that the terminal device supports accessing the aggregated bandwidth ([0062]: method of operating a user equipment, UE, comprising signaling to a network node a capability of the UE to perform measurements in a non-contiguous carrier aggregation measurement mode); and determining, based on the capability information, that the terminal device supports accessing the aggregated bandwidth ([0078], [0079]: method of operating a network node, comprising configuring a user equipment, UE, to perform a measurement in a non-contiguous carrier aggregation measurement mode. The configuring may be in response to receiving from the UE a report of measurement capability and the configuring may comprise using the received report of measurement capability to select parameters for a measurement configuration and sending a request for a measurement to the UE.).
Regarding claim 15, Sesia in view of Kuo teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 9. Sesia further teaches the first bandwidth and the aggregated bandwidth correspond to a same cell ([0206]: In Example 2, the UE is served by the radio network node on carrier C4. The radio network node serving the UE would like to serve the UE on additional carriers, for example on carriers C1, C2 and C3. This may be required for instance if the UE has to receive more data, such as if the DL buffer in the radio network node is above threshold.). Kuo further teaches wherein the first channel quality information is based on a first channel state information reference signal corresponding to the first bandwidth ([0072]: In step 510, a first CQI reporting configuration is configured to the UE for the first downlink carrier.); the second channel quality information is based on a second channel state information reference signal corresponding to the aggregated bandwidth ([0072]: In step 530, the UE starts applying the second CQI report configuration for CQI reporting for both the first downlink carrier and the carrier segment when the carrier is activated.). Sesia fails to teach a terminal device sending first channel quality information corresponding to a first bandwidth it accesses and a second channel quality information corresponding to an aggregated bandwidth it accesses to a network device. However, Kuo teaches that a UE served by a first downlink carrier sends a first CQI report to the network corresponding to that first carrier, and an associated new bandwidth, applies and sends a second CQI report covering the combined bandwidth to the network device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sesia’s method of non-contiguous carrier aggregation with Kuo’s CQI and channel access method in order to improve energy efficiency (Kuo [0051]).
Regarding claim 17, Sesia teaches a processor; and a memory storing computer readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, enable the apparatus to perform ([0078]: a user equipment, UE, to perform a measurement in a non-contiguous carrier aggregation measurement mode. Examiner note: A UE necessarily has a processor and a memory storing computer readable instructions that can be executed by the processor.), wherein the aggregated bandwidth is obtained by aggregating at least the first bandwidth and a second bandwidth, and a spectrum of the first bandwidth and a spectrum of the second bandwidth are spaced by a spectrum of a third bandwidth ([0004]: Scenarios A to C being applicable in Band I. Each carrier occupies 5 MHz of spectrum, and the gap between those carriers that may be used for carrier aggregation is, 5 MHz. The gaps may be occupied by carriers belonging to a different communications network. In scenario A, two carriers separated by a 5 MHz gap are aggregated, and this configuration is denoted C-5-C.), determining, based on the first channel quality information and the second channel quality information, interference ([0183]: The base station can compare the statistic of the reported CQI on the different carriers and estimate the average CQI, which provides information about a long term bias that provides information about the presence of the interferer. [0004]: A carrier that occupies the gap will be referred to as an interferer, interference signal or an unwanted signal, as it carries no information intended for a receiver using the non-contiguous carriers for communication.), and receiving, from the network device, bandwidth configuration information indicating that an operating bandwidth is the first bandwidth or the aggregated bandwidth ([0042]: The UE could be configured to two-carrier (2C) or single-carrier (1C) operation in locations where the operator B signal was too strong to allow non-contiguous four-carrier operation.), wherein the operating bandwidth is determined by the network device based on the first channel quantity information and the second channel quantity information ([0183]: The base station can compare the statistic of the reported CQI on the different carriers and estimate the average CQI, which provides information about a long term bias that provides information about the presence of the interferer. The advantage of this method is that it does not require changes into the legacy network or UE behaviour, while the drawback is that the network may decide to de-active one of the carriers.). Sesia fails to teach sending, to a network device, first channel quality information corresponding to a first bandwidth, sending, to the network device, second channel quality information corresponding to an aggregated bandwidth, and occurred when the terminal device accesses the aggregated bandwidth.
However, Kuo does teach sending, to a network device, first channel quality information corresponding to a first bandwidth ([0069]: CQI report configuration for an Scell is delivered to a UE when the Scell is configured to the UE. The UE would start CQI reporting for the Scell when it is activated. The CQI report configuration could be updated during the activated state of the Scell. [0072]: In step 510, a first CQI reporting configuration is configured to the UE for the first downlink carrier.); sending, to the network device, second channel quality information corresponding to an aggregated bandwidth ([0069]: CQI report configuration for an Scell is delivered to a UE when the Scell is configured to the UE. The UE would start CQI reporting for the Scell when it is activated. [0072]: In step 520, a second CQI reporting configuration is configured to the UE for both the first downlink carrier and the carrier segment. In step 525, the carrier segment is activated. In step 530, the UE starts applying the second CQI report configuration for CQI reporting for both the first downlink carrier and the carrier segment when the carrier is activated.), and occurred when the terminal device accesses the aggregated bandwidth ([0069]: CQI report configuration for an Scell is delivered to a UE when the Scell is configured to the UE. The UE would start CQI reporting for the Scell when it is activated. [0072]: In step 520, a second CQI reporting configuration is configured to the UE for both the first downlink carrier and the carrier segment. In step 525, the carrier segment is activated. In step 530, the UE starts applying the second CQI report configuration for CQI reporting for both the first downlink carrier and the carrier segment when the carrier is activated.). Sesia fails to teach a terminal device sending first channel quality information corresponding to a first bandwidth it accesses and a second channel quality information corresponding to an aggregated bandwidth it accesses to a network device. However, Kuo teaches that a UE served by a first downlink carrier sends a first CQI report to the network corresponding to that first carrier, and an associated new bandwidth, applies and sends a second CQI report covering the combined bandwidth to the network device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sesia’s method of non-contiguous carrier aggregation with Kuo’s CQI and channel access method in order to improve energy efficiency (Kuo [0051]).
Regarding claim 18, Sesia in view of Kuo teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 17. Sesia further teaches wherein both the first bandwidth and the second bandwidth correspond to a first operator, and the third bandwidth corresponds to a second operator ([0004]: Scenarios A to C being applicable in Band I. Each carrier occupies 5 MHz of spectrum, and the gap between those carriers that may be used for carrier aggregation is, 5 MHz. The gaps may be occupied by carriers belonging to a different communications network. In scenario A, two carriers separated by a 5 MHz gap are aggregated, and this configuration is denoted C-5-C.).
Regarding claim 19, Sesia in view of Kuo teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 17. Sesia further teaches sending capability information of a terminal device to the network device, wherein the capability information indicates that the terminal device supports accessing the aggregated bandwidth ([0062]: method of operating a user equipment, UE, comprising signaling to a network node a capability of the UE to perform measurements in a non-contiguous carrier aggregation measurement mode).
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sesia et al. (U.S. Pub. No.20140293818A1) in view of Kuo (U.S. Pub. No. 20130163538A1) and further in view of JinQiang (CN Pub. No. 108075865B).
Examiner note: Please refer to CN108075865B_translate.pdf to identify JinQiang citations.
Regarding claim 4, Sesia in view of Kuo teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 1, but Sesia in view of Kuo fails to teach the subject matter in claim 4.
However, JinQiang does teach determining, a ratio of an evaluation value of the second channel quality information to an evaluation value of the first channel quality information as the interference value of the interference occurred when the terminal device accesses the aggregated bandwidth ([0036]-[0038]: IUE represents the interference received after carrier aggregation is configured; N represents an environmental noise signal; IUE = (RSSI1 -N×RSRP1 )-(RSSI0 -N×RSRP0 ); Wherein, N represents the environmental noise signal; RSSI1 and RSRP1 represent the received signal strength indication and reference signal received power in the first measurement information, respectively; RSSI0 and RSRP0 represent the received signal strength indication and reference signal received power in the second measurement information, respectively.). Sesia, as combined with Kuo, teaches determining interference and reporting an aggregated bandwidth and a first bandwidth channel quality measurements to a base station, but fails to specify that interference value is determined by a ratio between the both channel quality measurements. However, JinQiang teaches calculating the interference after carrier aggregation as a ratio derived from the RSSI of the aggregated measurement and the first bandwidth measurement. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Sesia and Kuo with JinQiang's interference computation method in order to improve carrier aggregation performance. (JinQiang [0004]).
Regarding claim 12, Sesia in view of Kuo teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 9, but Sesia in view of Kuo fails to teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 12.
However, JinQiang does teach determining a ratio of an evaluation value of the second channel quality information to an evaluation value of the first channel quality information as the interference value of the interference occurred when the terminal device accesses the aggregated bandwidth ([0036]-[0038]: IUE represents the interference received after carrier aggregation is configured; N represents an environmental noise signal; IUE = (RSSI1 -N×RSRP1 )-(RSSI0 -N×RSRP0 ); Wherein, N represents the environmental noise signal; RSSI1 and RSRP1 represent the received signal strength indication and reference signal received power in the first measurement information, respectively; RSSI0 and RSRP0 represent the received signal strength indication and reference signal received power in the second measurement information, respectively.). Sesia, as combined with Kuo, teaches determining interference and reporting an aggregated bandwidth and a first bandwidth channel quality measurements to a base station, but fails to specify that interference value is determined by a ratio between the both channel quality measurements. However, JinQiang teaches calculating the interference after carrier aggregation as a ratio derived from the RSSI of the aggregated measurement and the first bandwidth measurement. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Sesia and Kuo with JinQiang's interference computation method in order to improve carrier aggregation performance. (JinQiang [0004]).
Claims 8, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sesia et al. (U.S. Pub. No.20140293818A1) in view of Kuo (U.S. Pub. No. 20130163538A1) and further in view of Bao et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20210258991A1).
Regarding claim 8, Sesia in view of Kuo teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 1. Sesia in view of Kuo fails to teach claim 8.
However, Bao does teach sending, to the terminal device, configuration information of a first quantity of channel state information reference signals corresponding to the aggregated bandwidth, wherein each of the first quantity of channel state information reference signals corresponds to one bandwidth included in the aggregated bandwidth ([0097]: a gNB may transmit CSI-RS to a UE on time-frequency resources 752 corresponding to a first component carrier (CC1).), and the first quantity is less than a total quantity of bandwidths included in the aggregated bandwidth ([0097]: The UE may utilize a prediction algorithm to predict the channel state information on CC2 based on the measured channel state information on CC1. [0092]: Use of such prediction algorithm may be extended to reduce the number of CSI-RS transmitted to the UE.). Sesia, as combined with Kuo, teaches CSI-RS-based channel quality reporting across the carriers of the aggregated bandwidth, but fails to specify configuring reference signals for fewer than all of those bandwidths. However, Bao teaches configuring a CSI-RS for a first bandwidth, in an aggregated bandwidth , and predicting the channel state of a second bandwidth, in an aggregated bandwidth, from it, to reduce the number of CSI-RS transmitted to the UE. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Sesia's method of non-contiguous carrier aggregation and Kuo's CSI-RS-based CQI reporting method with Bao's channel state prediction method in order to reduce signaling overhead in the aggregated bandwidth (Bao [0092]).
Regarding claim 16, Sesia in view of Kuo teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 9. Sesia in view of Kuo fails to teach claim 16.
However, Bao does teach sending, to the terminal device, configuration information of a first quantity channel state information reference signals corresponding to the aggregated bandwidth, wherein each of the first quantity of channel state information reference signals corresponds to one bandwidth included in the aggregated bandwidth ([0097]: a gNB may transmit CSI-RS to a UE on time-frequency resources 752 corresponding to a first component carrier (CC1).), the first quantity is less than a total quantity of bandwidths included in the aggregated bandwidth ([0097]: The UE may utilize a prediction algorithm to predict the channel state information on CC2 based on the measured channel state information on CC1. [0092]: Use of such prediction algorithm may be extended to reduce the number of CSI-RS transmitted to the UE.). Sesia, as combined with Kuo, teaches CSI-RS-based channel quality reporting across the carriers of the aggregated bandwidth, but fails to specify configuring reference signals for fewer than all of those bandwidths. However, Bao teaches configuring a CSI-RS for a first bandwidth, in an aggregated bandwidth , and predicting the channel state of a second bandwidth, in an aggregated bandwidth, from it, to reduce the number of CSI-RS transmitted to the UE. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Sesia's method of non-contiguous carrier aggregation and Kuo's CSI-RS-based CQI reporting method with Bao's channel state prediction method in order to reduce signaling overhead in the aggregated bandwidth (Bao [0092]).
Regarding claim 20, Sesia in view of Kuo teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 17. Sesia in view of Kuo fails to teach claim 20.
However, Bao does teach receiving, from the network device, configuration information of a first quantity channel state information reference signals corresponding to the aggregated bandwidth, wherein each of the first quantity of channel state information reference signals corresponds to one bandwidth included in the aggregated bandwidth ([0097]: a gNB may transmit CSI-RS to a UE on time-frequency resources 752 corresponding to a first component carrier (CC1).), the first quantity is less than a total quantity of bandwidths included in the aggregated bandwidth ([0097]: The UE may utilize a prediction algorithm to predict the channel state information on CC2 based on the measured channel state information on CC1. [0092]: Use of such prediction algorithm may be extended to reduce the number of CSI-RS transmitted to the UE.). Sesia, as combined with Kuo, teaches CSI-RS-based channel quality reporting across the carriers of the aggregated bandwidth, but fails to specify configuring reference signals for fewer than all of those bandwidths. However, Bao teaches configuring a CSI-RS for a first bandwidth, in an aggregated bandwidth , and predicting the channel state of a second bandwidth, in an aggregated bandwidth, from it, to reduce the number of CSI-RS transmitted to the UE. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Sesia's method of non-contiguous carrier aggregation and Kuo's CSI-RS-based CQI reporting method with Bao's channel state prediction method in order to reduce signaling overhead in the aggregated bandwidth (Bao [0092]).
Conclusion
/VIJAY K MANNAVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479