DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BUXBAUM (Publication 2012/0054255) in view of KOSCHE (Publication 2008/0177756) in view of PRABHAKAR (Patent 11,126,574).
As to claim 1, BUXBAUM teaches a system for providing insight for performance debugging of dataflow graphs on an execution environment, comprising a tool configured to: generating and analyze performance data for identifying and diagnosing performance bottlenecks for providing tuning recommendations and annotating a traceable dataflow graph with runtime information ([0039-0045, 0049, 0051, 0062-0071], EN: environment has a monitor module and execution module that takes a dataflow graph and convert it for execution on the execution module wherein performance characteristics are tracked and recorded in the dataflow graph.)
However, BUXBAUM does not explicitly teach the diagnosing of performance bottlenecks is in memory bandwidth and compute resources.
KOSCHE teaches a KNOWN system for providing actionable insights for the performance debugging of dataflow graphs on an execution environment ([0260—0261]), comprising a tool configured to:
generate and analyze performance data for identifying and diagnosing performance bottlenecks in memory, bandwidth, and compute resources, and for providing tuning recommendations ([0067, 0070, 0311 - 0325]); and
provide hierarchical traceable graph transformation of dataflow graph and annotated with runtime information after the compilation and execution back onto higher levels of stack from hardware metrics 0069, 0149, 0169, 0201-0204, 0209, 0259-0260, 0306, 0311 - 0325]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply KNOWN performance monitoring technique within the environment of BUXBAUM in order to record different types of performance bottlenecks as proper under MPEP 2143, Rationale D.
However, KOSCHE does not demonstrate the execution environment the tool operates on is a CGRA.
PRABHAKAR teaches a KNOWN performance monitoring associated with CGRA environments (col. 3, lines 4—30, col. 13, lines 18-56, col. 14, line 1-67, col. 15, lines 34-48, col. col. 16, line 9-54). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the KOSCHE-BUXBAUM teachings are applied to a CGRA environment in order to monitor the performance of the data graphs in a CGRA environment.
As to claim 8, KOSCHE teaches the hierarchical traceable graph transformation tool is configured for tagging and measuring various stages of computation within the execution environment, generating detailed performance reports that provide insights into execution time, latency, and throughput of different stages ([0311 - 0325]).
However, KOSCHE does not demonstrate the execution environment the tool operates on is a CGRA.
PRABHAKAR teaches a KNOWN performance monitoring associated with CGRA environments (col. 3, lines 4—30, col. 13, lines 18-56, col. 14, line 1-67, col. 15, lines 34-48, col. col. 16, line 9-54). Refer to claim 1 for the motivation to combine.
As to claim 9, KOSCHE teaches the performance monitoring and tuning tool comprises a browser-based graphical user interface (GUI) that provides intuitive, context-based navigation and interactivity, allowing users to visualize data in tabular, chart, or graph form (EN: performance data shown in a graphical format( e.g. bar graphs or histograms) and may be ordered and/or aggregated according to current presentation options and/or aggregation guidelines, [0069, 0169, 0259-0260, 0306, 0311 - 0325]). Refer to claim 1 for the motivation to combine.
As to claim 10, PRABHAKAR teaches the hierarchical traceable graph transformation tool is configured to propagate runtime profile information from the lowest level of execution on processing memory units (PMUs) and processing control units (PCUs) on the CGRA to the intermediate levels of representation, extending to the framework level neural operators (via processing of the dependencies associated with the data flow that are executed by corresponding configurable units (EN: AGs, CUs, PMUs, PCUs and recording the performance / profile information associated with stage based processing / profiling) [col. 25, line 13-67; col. 35, line 58 – col. 36, line 13]. Refer to claim 1 for the motivation to combine.
In the interest of Compact Prosecution
Currently the claims are worded from a generic performance monitoring system applied to CGR accelerators. To better illustrate the functionality of how the system is established to create the graph performance monitoring as intended, Applicant should consider amending the claims to articulate paragraphs 0083-0084.
Conclusion
/LEWIS A BULLOCK JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2199